E90Post
 


Bimmertech
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > USA - Florida > Help with vishnu in Orlando =)



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-25-2010, 10:23 PM   #1
arhim22
Lieutenant
 
Drives: Turbo Scion tc. e92 335i 6mt
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Orlando FL/UCF

Posts: 533
iTrader: (0)

Help with vishnu in Orlando =)

Hey guys, I go to school at UCF and live around Universal area in Orlando. I'm having a bit of problem setting up the usb-serial cable to the computer because the cables don't seem to work well with xp and vista. Can anyone help me update the firmware and upload stage 1 map onto my vishnu? its a v3 rev.1.

Will I have to install it first to be able to update and upload maps?

Let me know.
arhim22 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-25-2010, 11:02 PM   #2
ianbiz
4th E90
 
ianbiz's Avatar
 
Drives: German
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Melbourne/Orlando, Florida

Posts: 5,137
iTrader: (7)

Send a message via AIM to ianbiz
what color 335? good too see another E90post member here at UCF.
__________________
Ian
06 325 06 330 06 330 07 335 11 335 Msport
ianbiz is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-25-2010, 11:41 PM   #3
arhim22
Lieutenant
 
Drives: Turbo Scion tc. e92 335i 6mt
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Orlando FL/UCF

Posts: 533
iTrader: (0)

space grey with black tail lights=) black csl reps on the way
arhim22 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-25-2010, 11:46 PM   #4
335iheLLraiseR
اوليسيس
 
335iheLLraiseR's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: sfl

Posts: 4,660
iTrader: (8)

Garage List
2007 e92 335  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by arhim22 View Post
Hey guys, I go to school at UCF and live around Universal area in Orlando. I'm having a bit of problem setting up the usb-serial cable to the computer because the cables don't seem to work well with xp and vista. Can anyone help me update the firmware and upload stage 1 map onto my vishnu? its a v3 rev.1.

Will I have to install it first to be able to update and upload maps?

Let me know.
unless you want to hook it up to a power suppy, yes you have to install it first.

which cables are you using? make sure you have drivers for it. also, are you using 64 bit?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawdude View Post
Anyone who can transition seamlessly from defending one vendor and bashing another vendor to bashing the one he formally defended and defending the one he formally bashed has a instant credibility problem.
<---Sign up Now for Bonus Storage! Up to 10gb!
335iheLLraiseR is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-26-2010, 12:29 AM   #5
arhim22
Lieutenant
 
Drives: Turbo Scion tc. e92 335i 6mt
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Orlando FL/UCF

Posts: 533
iTrader: (0)

I have a 64 bit laptop with vista. not sure what my other mini laptop is but this one has xp, its a hp mini. I ordered the usb-serial from online with the driver but it was not compatible with the computer. I also have a radioshack one but I don't have the driver for it. Is there one in particular I should get that works with both 32 and 64 bit?
arhim22 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-26-2010, 11:55 PM   #6
335iheLLraiseR
اوليسيس
 
335iheLLraiseR's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: sfl

Posts: 4,660
iTrader: (8)

Garage List
2007 e92 335  [5.00]
is the software opening up at all on the vista machine? if not Shiv has a thread dedicated to 64bit users. it simply removes the installer package and you run it as a standalone application.

now, after it runs you have to mess with the com ports to get it to work.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawdude View Post
Anyone who can transition seamlessly from defending one vendor and bashing another vendor to bashing the one he formally defended and defending the one he formally bashed has a instant credibility problem.
<---Sign up Now for Bonus Storage! Up to 10gb!
335iheLLraiseR is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2010, 10:47 AM   #7
arhim22
Lieutenant
 
Drives: Turbo Scion tc. e92 335i 6mt
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Orlando FL/UCF

Posts: 533
iTrader: (0)

ya the vishnu software opens up fine but i'm just having a bit of problem with the usb-serial computer loading up to my computer with the driver.
arhim22 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST