E90Post
 


The Tire Rack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > DIY Guides > BMW all 3 series Service Reset



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-11-2010, 01:30 AM   #1
Belarus
Brigadier General
Belarus's Avatar
Canada
72
Rep
3,904
Posts

Drives: E93 335i
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: GTA

iTrader: (11)

Garage List
Thumbs up BMW all 3 series Service Reset







EDIT: Added written steps: credit to (http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=51049) thread

EDIT: NOTE:
on the Steptronic AT make sure to hold down the brake pedal while getting into the service menus. (credit beneliezer)


Step 1
Insert key into slot

Step 2

Press start/stop button without depressing clutch/brake and wait for the service reminder to dissapear.

Step 3

Immediately after service reminder goes out, press and hold the odometer reset. After 3 secs a warning triangle will appear, keep the odo. button pressed and after another 2-3 secs the Oil can will appear. I f you hold it too long (10 secs in total) you will overshoot the runway and some German writing will appear giving the software level/ can bus etc. of the car. Go back to the beginning and start again.

Step 4

You are now in the service menu, use the toggle switch on indicator stalk to scroll up/down through the various service items.

Step 5
When you have the item you want to reset showing, press the BC button on end of indicator stalk. Reset should now appear in the display. Press in and hold the BC button for 2-3 secs and a clock will start whirling around and hey presto, its done

Step 6
You can now either scroll up/down to select another item (as in step 4) or you can press the start/stop button to exit.
__________________

12.770 @ 112.81 mph||slip||JB4|FMIC|DPs|DCI|N54 DVs|ER CP|Koni FSD|Eibach-Pro|F Strut-bar|R Sway-bar|Hankooks V12|DPE SP16|BBK|15%Tint|CF Front Lip|CF Diffuser|M3 Spoiler|SmartTop|LUX AE|Debadged

Last edited by Belarus; 08-12-2012 at 12:25 AM.
Appreciate 0
      03-15-2010, 07:35 PM   #2
Castel
Captain
Castel's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
747
Posts

Drives: BMW 335i Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Portland, OR

iTrader: (6)

Dude! This DIY is great, thanks!
__________________

335i Coupe / SG on BK / 6MT / ZSP / ZPP / ZCP / NAV / CA
Alufelgen SF71 19"s | MTech front & rear + CF diffuser + Quads | M3 Sideskirts | OEM SSK | M Interior | LUX H8 | M3 Spoiler | ModmyNav
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2010, 11:00 AM   #3
da1nonly
Private First Class
5
Rep
150
Posts

Drives: E90
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (1)

wow, cool! i was wondering if i needed the bms cable to do basic maintenance stuff on my car, guess not, thanks
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2010, 01:58 PM   #4
E90330iS
Major General
Germany
82
Rep
6,325
Posts

Drives: E90 330i
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arcadia, California

iTrader: (56)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to E90330iS Send a message via MSN to E90330iS Send a message via Skype™ to E90330iS
yup very cool
__________________
1. E90 325i/328i/330i Eisenmann Race Exhaust 2 x 76mm (Used for 30000 miles) $680 OBO
2. E90 M3 Jet Black Front Bumper $120 OBO
3. E90 M3 Style CF Trunk Spoiler $80 OBO
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2010, 07:20 PM   #5
Dackelone
European Editor
Dackelone's Avatar
Germany
4005
Rep
20,480
Posts

Drives: N54 e82
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany

iTrader: (1)

nice to know!
Appreciate 0
      03-17-2010, 01:19 AM   #6
rshew
member
rshew's Avatar
1
Rep
112
Posts

Drives: BMW 325i 2006
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Van

iTrader: (0)

good video
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2010, 04:18 PM   #7
lamia2super
Colonel
lamia2super's Avatar
United_States
53
Rep
2,559
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Miami Beach, FL

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 335i  [5.00]
Send a message via AIM to lamia2super
whats happens when you old the BC button to restart it? because I did it and it erased everything and now shows me I have to replace both brake pads. when I scroll through the options it doesnt show any red, but tells me I need to replace both brake pads. also when I look at the brake pad section it doesnt give me any numbers it just shows ......
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2010, 06:36 PM   #8
lamia2super
Colonel
lamia2super's Avatar
United_States
53
Rep
2,559
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Miami Beach, FL

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 335i  [5.00]
Send a message via AIM to lamia2super
heres a picture
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2010, 08:58 PM   #9
Belarus
Brigadier General
Belarus's Avatar
Canada
72
Rep
3,904
Posts

Drives: E93 335i
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: GTA

iTrader: (11)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by lamia2super View Post
whats happens when you old the BC button to restart it? because I did it and it erased everything and now shows me I have to replace both brake pads. when I scroll through the options it doesnt show any red, but tells me I need to replace both brake pads. also when I look at the brake pad section it doesnt give me any numbers it just shows ......
Sorry bud... don't

Try posting your question under
Suspension | Brakes | Chassis
Discuss different components such as springs, shocks, coilover kits, sway bars, BBK, etc.. here!
__________________

12.770 @ 112.81 mph||slip||JB4|FMIC|DPs|DCI|N54 DVs|ER CP|Koni FSD|Eibach-Pro|F Strut-bar|R Sway-bar|Hankooks V12|DPE SP16|BBK|15%Tint|CF Front Lip|CF Diffuser|M3 Spoiler|SmartTop|LUX AE|Debadged
Appreciate 0
      03-19-2010, 07:51 AM   #10
Chriztofor
Colonel
Chriztofor's Avatar
United_States
58
Rep
2,747
Posts

Drives: '06 325i and '13 X5
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Chicago Burbs

iTrader: (1)

Appreciate 0
      04-03-2010, 12:04 PM   #11
Dr Dave
Zummerzet Zyder Drinker!
Dr Dave's Avatar
United Kingdom
68
Rep
5,541
Posts

Drives: '06 330D Le Mans Blue
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Somerset

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Great How To, thank you very much!
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2010, 10:12 AM   #12
Swish
First Lieutenant
United_States
26
Rep
317
Posts

Drives: 2011 335i Sport
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PA

iTrader: (0)

This doesn't work if you have nav/iDrive!

I tried but have been unsuccessful, so there must be some other steps involved since the service issues show up on the nav screen instead of the dash. I did try the process but had no luck. Help please!
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2010, 01:18 PM   #13
Dr Dave
Zummerzet Zyder Drinker!
Dr Dave's Avatar
United Kingdom
68
Rep
5,541
Posts

Drives: '06 330D Le Mans Blue
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Somerset

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Worked on my 2006 idrive 330d, no problems.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2010, 05:58 PM   #14
Belarus
Brigadier General
Belarus's Avatar
Canada
72
Rep
3,904
Posts

Drives: E93 335i
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: GTA

iTrader: (11)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swish View Post
I tried but have been unsuccessful, so there must be some other steps involved since the service issues show up on the nav screen instead of the dash. I did try the process but had no luck. Help please!
You might be screwing up on the following step:

Step 1
Insert key into slot
Step 2
Press start/stop button without depressing clutch/brake and wait for the service reminder to dissapear.
Step 3
Immediately after service reminder goes out, press and hold the odometer reset. After 3 secs a warning triangle will appear, keep the odo. button pressed and after another 2-3 secs the Oil can will appear. If you hold it too long (10 secs in total) you will overshoot the runway and some German writing will appear giving the software level/ can bus etc. of the car. Go back to the beginning and start again.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=51049
__________________

12.770 @ 112.81 mph||slip||JB4|FMIC|DPs|DCI|N54 DVs|ER CP|Koni FSD|Eibach-Pro|F Strut-bar|R Sway-bar|Hankooks V12|DPE SP16|BBK|15%Tint|CF Front Lip|CF Diffuser|M3 Spoiler|SmartTop|LUX AE|Debadged
Appreciate 0
      07-17-2010, 10:10 AM   #15
cotmfk
Brigadier General
cotmfk's Avatar
159
Rep
4,160
Posts

Drives: M4
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: DC, MD, VA

iTrader: (11)

Thanks very much!!!
__________________
Appreciate 0
      07-17-2010, 09:10 PM   #16
BOSSBMW
Captain
29
Rep
678
Posts

Drives: 2013 X3 35i
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Upstate NY

iTrader: (0)

yes on the steptronic make sure you are holding down the brake pedal while getting into the service menus, i was fooling around with this for about an hour until i got it.
Appreciate 0
      07-25-2010, 03:18 PM   #17
TiAg330i
Second Lieutenant
5
Rep
226
Posts

Drives: F10, E70, E64, and E60
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: East TN

iTrader: (0)

Yes, I wasn't successful until I held down the brake pedal. How crazy is that?

This is really so un-intuitive.
__________________
'12 535i,
'12 X5,
'08 650i
'07 530i (retired), '06 330i (retired), '00 323ciC (retired)
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2010, 05:37 AM   #18
E92K.C10
Brigadier General
E92K.C10's Avatar
England
42
Rep
3,608
Posts

Drives: E92 320D M-Sport Highline
Join Date: May 2010
Location: West Midlands

iTrader: (0)

Garage List



that helped alot
__________________
E92 320D M-Sport Highline 2009/10: Bluetooth, Sun Protection Glass, Heated Electric Seats, Black Dakota Leather, Brushed Aluminum Trim, PDC, 225M Alloys, Sapphire Black Metallic.
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2011, 09:29 AM   #19
leeking
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: not now
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: vn

iTrader: (0)

Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by beneliezer View Post
yes on the steptronic make sure you are holding down the brake pedal while getting into the service menus, i was fooling around with this for about an hour until i got it.
that is real ? can post the video how u do it pls !!!!
Appreciate 0
      06-08-2011, 10:21 PM   #20
M3forJHV
New Member
M3forJHV's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: Nice and RED
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chico

iTrader: (0)

Very easy, took about 5 minutes after messing up the first couple times. Thanks for the write-up.
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2011, 04:38 PM   #21
my bambi on ice
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: bmw 1 series
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: uk

iTrader: (0)

reset will not work

hi

i have a feeling i am going to need this site as my car gets older !

ok.. need help !

warning lights were on for the service. I've managed to reset everything apart from the brakes. When i keep the reset button pushed in it gives me a miles....... like i am supposed to enter the next interval for checking. But how do i enter miles .... i have tried everything ! with and without brakes on.

please help. red warning light is still on the dash until i can resolve this.

cheers
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2011, 02:38 PM   #22
Raptorbh12
New Member
0
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 135i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pensacola FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
hi

i have a feeling i am going to need this site as my car gets older !

ok.. need help !

warning lights were on for the service. I've managed to reset everything apart from the brakes. When i keep the reset button pushed in it gives me a miles....... like i am supposed to enter the next interval for checking. But how do i enter miles .... i have tried everything ! with and without brakes on.

please help. red warning light is still on the dash until i can resolve this.

cheers
Same exact problem here. Anyone know a fix for this??
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:28 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST