E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > AVIC Z110BT - HELP plssss



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-22-2010, 01:39 AM   #1
Undies
Lieutenant
 
Undies's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto

Posts: 517
iTrader: (0)

AVIC Z110BT - HELP plssss

i just finished installing my avic z110bt...however i have the following problems:

1. my EQ settings keep resetting. i checked the power wire and it has constant power even after 20mins i turned off my car. oddd..my splash screen is still there, so is the time and other settings.

2. i do'nt know where to connect the dimmer switch cause my HU doesn't change to night/day mode automatically. this is very annoying much like my EQ settings resetting everytime i turn off my car.

3. i get a prompt in the beginning about my hand brake....i have connected this as well..


I'm located in Toronto, if there is someone that can physically help me, i am willing to pay. or if there is anyone else on this board that know show to fix this, please pm me....greatly appreciated!!

Andy
Undies is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2010, 08:27 AM   #2
fdriller9
Banned
 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

Posts: 7,090
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
There was another thread about this like a week ago. You should search. I beleive the solution was to wire the HU to the fuse box there's also some kind of converter you can buy. Right now you're propably tapping the ACC power which is switched with the car. There is a wire you can use for illumination by the trunk switch. Someone was using this to illuminate a boost gauge. Not sure about the handbrake issue. Have you connected that wire to anything yet?
fdriller9 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2010, 02:37 PM   #3
BRGmatthew
Bausman
 
BRGmatthew's Avatar
 
Drives: around the block
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: SoCal 626/NorCal 650

Posts: 1,796
iTrader: (19)

Send a message via AIM to BRGmatthew
i also have the same problem with wiring to a power source. My presets and stuff gets deleted too. For the dimmer switch i just left it off because when the auto dim kicks in my HU started to flicker like crazy. For the ebrake thing i connceted a switch to the wire and all i do is just flip it on or off when i need to use it. But let me know if you figure out the power source
BRGmatthew is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-23-2010, 07:58 PM   #4
Undies
Lieutenant
 
Undies's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto

Posts: 517
iTrader: (0)

someone told me that i can run a power wire directly from my batter to my HU....this cna't be right...wouldn't this drain my battery?
Undies is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-23-2010, 09:11 PM   #5
fdriller9
Banned
 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

Posts: 7,090
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Undies View Post
someone told me that i can run a power wire directly from my batter to my HU....this cna't be right...wouldn't this drain my battery?
Not only would it drain your battery, it would stay on all the time. Unless you used a relay or something.
fdriller9 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-23-2010, 09:16 PM   #6
fdriller9
Banned
 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

Posts: 7,090
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Undies View Post
someone told me that i can run a power wire directly from my batter to my HU....this cna't be right...wouldn't this drain my battery?
Not only would it drain your battery, it would stay on all the time. Unless you used a relay or something.
fdriller9 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-24-2010, 06:49 AM   #7
Lee Rambler
Captain
 
Drives: 07 e92 335 6mt, 04 e53 x5 4.4
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: PA

Posts: 605
iTrader: (0)

no, that's the whole point of having a separate constant power and switched ignition power... the radio uses the constant power (ie from the battery, though there are definitely power sources up front so you don't have to run a power wire back to the battery, think fuse box) to keep memory, and the switched ignition to know when to turn on. So cars use a negative dimmer lead and some use positive, not sure about our e9x's. Most aftermarket radios want a positive. If our cars use a negtive, that could be what is causing your issue. You can change it to positive with a standard ae-5080 relay. Or just not use the dimmer.
Lee Rambler is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-24-2010, 12:48 PM   #8
BRGmatthew
Bausman
 
BRGmatthew's Avatar
 
Drives: around the block
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: SoCal 626/NorCal 650

Posts: 1,796
iTrader: (19)

Send a message via AIM to BRGmatthew
I left the dimmer wire unconnected but I still lose my presets and memory and stuff. But suprisingly my nav remembers the last location
BRGmatthew is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-27-2010, 10:27 AM   #9
srcstc
Major
 
Drives: 09 TiAg E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

Posts: 1,322
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ********* View Post
Not only would it drain your battery, it would stay on all the time. Unless you used a relay or something.
wrong

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee Rambler View Post
no, that's the whole point of having a separate constant power and switched ignition power... the radio uses the constant power (ie from the battery, though there are definitely power sources up front so you don't have to run a power wire back to the battery, think fuse box) to keep memory, and the switched ignition to know when to turn on. So cars use a negative dimmer lead and some use positive, not sure about our e9x's. Most aftermarket radios want a positive. If our cars use a negtive, that could be what is causing your issue. You can change it to positive with a standard ae-5080 relay. Or just not use the dimmer.
right. Since The E9X doesn't have a true constant in the dash, you need to pull constant from the battery.
__________________
2009 E92 335i M-Sport TiAg|Black|Aluminum -ZMP|ZPP|NAV|CA|Heated Seats|6MT
BMW Performance Exhaust|Rear Fogs|OEM Black Grills|Cobb AP|ETS 5" FMIC|DCI
Installer for BimmerTech

Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT:
srcstc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-27-2010, 11:28 AM   #10
BRGmatthew
Bausman
 
BRGmatthew's Avatar
 
Drives: around the block
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: SoCal 626/NorCal 650

Posts: 1,796
iTrader: (19)

Send a message via AIM to BRGmatthew
Quote:
Originally Posted by srcstc View Post
wrong



right. Since The E9X doesn't have a true constant in the dash, you need to pull constant from the battery.
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=319976
Post 9
BRGmatthew is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-27-2010, 11:47 AM   #11
srcstc
Major
 
Drives: 09 TiAg E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

Posts: 1,322
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pimpax56 View Post
make sure you use a relay on that.
__________________
2009 E92 335i M-Sport TiAg|Black|Aluminum -ZMP|ZPP|NAV|CA|Heated Seats|6MT
BMW Performance Exhaust|Rear Fogs|OEM Black Grills|Cobb AP|ETS 5" FMIC|DCI
Installer for BimmerTech

Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT:
srcstc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-27-2010, 12:07 PM   #12
Lee Rambler
Captain
 
Drives: 07 e92 335 6mt, 04 e53 x5 4.4
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: PA

Posts: 605
iTrader: (0)

your nav has flash memory..

if you are loosing presets there is 1 of 2 problems: 1) your unit is defective. 2) your installation is incorrect. I'd guess 2 is more likely.... if you don't have a multi-meter and some know how, then you should have someone who does help you. ie someone who does it for a living...
Lee Rambler is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2010, 12:29 PM   #13
BRGmatthew
Bausman
 
BRGmatthew's Avatar
 
Drives: around the block
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: SoCal 626/NorCal 650

Posts: 1,796
iTrader: (19)

Send a message via AIM to BRGmatthew
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee Rambler View Post
your nav has flash memory..

if you are loosing presets there is 1 of 2 problems: 1) your unit is defective. 2) your installation is incorrect. I'd guess 2 is more likely.... if you don't have a multi-meter and some know how, then you should have someone who does help you. ie someone who does it for a living...
just use pin three in the thread i posted earlier with a relay trust me it works
BRGmatthew is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST