E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > DIY Guides > Can someone make a digital coolant temperature display?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-09-2016, 12:06 PM   #1
Guido S
Private
Guido S's Avatar
0
Rep
52
Posts

Drives: 2011 328ix
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Chicago Burbs

iTrader: (0)

Can someone make a digital coolant temperature display?

Yep, that's the question. Coming from 2 E46's both of which had sudden expansion tank explosions at the most inconvenient of times I'd like a way to monitor coolant temp. I have zilch electrical skills but I bet there must be a way to tap into the sensor wire so I could visually keep an eye on the cooling system.
People have told me the E90 is much less likely to overheat due to sensor controls, nevertheless coming from perhaps an older school of thought I want proof of actual coolant temp. I'm envisioning a small digital display placed inconspicuously somewhere in the cockpit yet easily viewed.
So how can I do it?
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2016, 02:11 PM   #2
Cdutch513
Lieutenant
Cdutch513's Avatar
United_States
40
Rep
464
Posts

Drives: 2010 E90 BMW 328i
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Oak Harbor, WA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2010 BMW 328I  [0.00]
Awron gauge has this
__________________
Murdered 2010 E90 328i
ESS VT1+ | BMW PE | K Sport Kontrol Pro | + More
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2016, 02:49 PM   #3
tadaska
Enlisted Member
tadaska's Avatar
United Kingdom
1
Rep
38
Posts

Drives: E90 2006 320D ES
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Eastbourne

iTrader: (0)

Awron gauge is a bit ott for someone who just wants to keep an eye on his engine temperature.
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2016, 11:04 PM   #4
Cdutch513
Lieutenant
Cdutch513's Avatar
United_States
40
Rep
464
Posts

Drives: 2010 E90 BMW 328i
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Oak Harbor, WA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2010 BMW 328I  [0.00]
You could buy an m3 cluster (~500) and get it coded (~250). Or buy the awron gauge (~1000) and get waaay more info.
__________________
Murdered 2010 E90 328i
ESS VT1+ | BMW PE | K Sport Kontrol Pro | + More
Appreciate 0
      06-11-2016, 09:19 AM   #5
Len_Beach
Captain
22
Rep
616
Posts

Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

There's a way to code the mpg gauge to coolant now I believe.

PM Sensible_ as he posted the original thread.
Appreciate 0
      06-11-2016, 11:23 AM   #6
Guido S
Private
Guido S's Avatar
0
Rep
52
Posts

Drives: 2011 328ix
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Chicago Burbs

iTrader: (0)

I looked but can't find sensible's post. That would be great to be able to swap the mpg for coolant temp. Can you point me in the right direction?
Appreciate 0
      06-11-2016, 11:24 AM   #7
Guido S
Private
Guido S's Avatar
0
Rep
52
Posts

Drives: 2011 328ix
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Chicago Burbs

iTrader: (0)

BTW, anybody know why my replies aren't being logged?
Appreciate 0
      06-11-2016, 11:32 AM   #8
08njSTEP
Lieutenant
08njSTEP's Avatar
347
Rep
420
Posts

Drives: '07 335i, '66 SS396 Chevelle
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Manchester, NH

iTrader: (0)

Cobb access port gives coolant temp and a bunch of other gauges. I have coolant, oil temp, AFR, rpm, Boost, and Charge air temp on mine, but you can select what you want to monitor. The gauge package was 1 reason I picked Cobb.
Appreciate 0
      06-11-2016, 04:16 PM   #9
Widebody710
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
43
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Eastern West Virginia panhandle

iTrader: (0)

Jb4 w/jb4 app

Not only can you display to phone or other android. You can also hijack another gauge (either fuel or oil) to display.
And yea, more power to boot at same time
And logging for that "how is my engine doing" kind of person.
And yea more power!
And it's adjustable, power that is.
And it has a max cool feature which allows you to turn on water pump and fan.
And OMG the power!!

Last edited by Widebody710; 06-11-2016 at 04:25 PM. Reason: explanation of reasoning
Appreciate 0
      06-11-2016, 06:05 PM   #10
PichaDis11
Lieutenant Colonel
PichaDis11's Avatar
United_States
51
Rep
1,511
Posts

Drives: E90 N52
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NY

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 08njSTEP View Post
Cobb access port gives coolant temp and a bunch of other gauges. I have coolant, oil temp, AFR, rpm, Boost, and Charge air temp on mine, but you can select what you want to monitor. The gauge package was 1 reason I picked Cobb.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Widebody710 View Post
Jb4 w/jb4 app

Not only can you display to phone or other android. You can also hijack another gauge (either fuel or oil) to display.
And yea, more power to boot at same time
And logging for that "how is my engine doing" kind of person.
And yea more power!
And it's adjustable, power that is.
And it has a max cool feature which allows you to turn on water pump and fan.
And OMG the power!!
So you guys never peeped that OP has a 328 huh?? :roll eyes:

OP it has mention a few times here when it comes to temps, the margin between overheating and normal operating temps is so slim that it wouldn't even make sense to have gauge. Like literally should the waterpump stops working then few seconds later ECu detects and shut itself down.
__________________
...
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2016, 04:04 PM   #11
08njSTEP
Lieutenant
08njSTEP's Avatar
347
Rep
420
Posts

Drives: '07 335i, '66 SS396 Chevelle
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Manchester, NH

iTrader: (0)

Well from post and on mobile there's no indication OP has a 328.
Appreciate 0
      06-13-2016, 12:48 AM   #12
Cdutch513
Lieutenant
Cdutch513's Avatar
United_States
40
Rep
464
Posts

Drives: 2010 E90 BMW 328i
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Oak Harbor, WA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2010 BMW 328I  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by 08njSTEP
Well from post and on mobile there's no indication OP has a 328.
The way you can tell is because he has the mpg gauge instead of the temp gauge.
__________________
Murdered 2010 E90 328i
ESS VT1+ | BMW PE | K Sport Kontrol Pro | + More
Appreciate 0
      06-13-2016, 03:53 AM   #13
RVS
Colonel
RVS's Avatar
United_States
76
Rep
2,515
Posts

Drives: N54
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York

iTrader: (13)

any OBD app can help you
Appreciate 0
      06-13-2016, 08:50 AM   #14
Black widow
First Lieutenant
Black widow's Avatar
4
Rep
336
Posts

Drives: E90 | F30
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guido S View Post
Proof of actual coolant temp. I'm envisioning a small digital display placed inconspicuously somewhere in the cockpit yet easily viewed.
So how can I do it?
The easiest way is to get a $5 obd2 bluetooth sensor, it comes with a laptop diagnosis tool, Android and apple OBD2 torque PRO app which is stored in a disc for free (The obd2 torque pro app would cost you $5 on google play). You get to custom the information and gauges that u want to have. I have the coolant temp on the bottom right.


http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Bluet...0-e1f7b53f7bf2
Attached Images
 
__________________
Euro Intake | BMC filter | BMW PE exhaust | CF High kick | CF front splitters | Stoptech SS brake line | EBC yellow racing pads

Last edited by Black widow; 06-13-2016 at 08:55 AM.
Appreciate 0
      06-13-2016, 10:26 AM   #15
Guido S
Private
Guido S's Avatar
0
Rep
52
Posts

Drives: 2011 328ix
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Chicago Burbs

iTrader: (0)

Good idea that makes it easy. So is it OK to be driving around with the Elm327 plugged in all the time? Just asking I don't see a problem.
Appreciate 0
      06-18-2016, 12:58 PM   #16
BMW zone
New Member
United_States
1
Rep
21
Posts

Drives: 2007 e90 328xi 6speed Manual
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: OC California

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW 328xi  [0.00]
Just make sure u pull the adabtor off when u Park the car unless u want a drained battery
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2016, 11:12 AM   #17
David0ff
Combined Applications Group
David0ff's Avatar
Canada
271
Rep
363
Posts

Drives: Lada Scrapus Trofeo R
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Classified

iTrader: (1)

You can display it in your cluster where the time is.
Problem is you have to do the procedure every time you start the car.
I have it down to a ~10 seconds science but it is annoying.
But it is also free.

check this vid.

and have your vin handy
you need to add the last 5 numbers for the access code
mine is 27 for example
Appreciate 0
      06-25-2016, 05:02 PM   #18
cristy7610
Enlisted Member
Romania
3
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: BMW E92 335I
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: constanta

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Yahoo to cristy7610
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cdutch513 View Post
You could buy an m3 cluster (~500) and get it coded (~250). Or buy the awron gauge (~1000) and get waaay more info.
I just installed M3 instrument cluster on my 335i and coded but there is not that colant temp.Are you sure about this function on M3 instrument cluster?
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2016, 01:20 PM   #19
David0ff
Combined Applications Group
David0ff's Avatar
Canada
271
Rep
363
Posts

Drives: Lada Scrapus Trofeo R
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Classified

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cristy7610 View Post
I just installed M3 instrument cluster on my 335i and coded but there is not that colant temp.Are you sure about this function on M3 instrument cluster?
M3 Cluster has oil temp only, coolant temp is accessible but you must do like in the vid above.

Cum e la Constanta? Vreme de plaja?
Bafta,
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2016, 06:13 PM   #20
cristy7610
Enlisted Member
Romania
3
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: BMW E92 335I
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: constanta

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Yahoo to cristy7610
Quote:
Originally Posted by David0ff View Post
M3 Cluster has oil temp only, coolant temp is accessible but you must do like in the vid above.

Cum e la Constanta? Vreme de plaja?
Bafta,
Thanks mate
Vremea e perfecta ptr plaja Ești īn tara sau plecat?Dacă ajungi pe aici,lasă un msj.
Appreciate 0
      06-28-2016, 11:11 AM   #21
David0ff
Combined Applications Group
David0ff's Avatar
Canada
271
Rep
363
Posts

Drives: Lada Scrapus Trofeo R
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Classified

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cristy7610 View Post
Thanks mate
Vremea e perfecta ptr plaja Ești īn tara sau plecat?Dacă ajungi pe aici,lasă un msj.
Sunt in Canada, din pacate nu cred ca ajung in tara vara asta, ar fi fain, deabea mam mutat si tre sa bag o carute de bani in renovati si tre sa le si fac hahaha,
daca castig la loz vin si tragen un chef de moare lumea
Bafta
Appreciate 0
      06-28-2016, 01:29 PM   #22
Guido S
Private
Guido S's Avatar
0
Rep
52
Posts

Drives: 2011 328ix
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Chicago Burbs

iTrader: (0)

Thanks so much Cristy and David. Here's my fluent Romanian paraphrasing:Uzina BMW Group din Rosslyn (Africa de Sud)
Situată īn apropiere de Pretoria, uzina din Rosslyn a fost prima locaţie externă a BMW Group, aşa cum este īn prezent. A fost inaugurată īn 1973, iar pānă īn 1996 a produs toate gamele de modele BMW pentru piaţa locală.
This is where my car was made!
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:02 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST