E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > RED Low Tire Pressure indicator error on E90?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-23-2010, 09:12 AM   #1
nogard13
Second Lieutenant
nogard13's Avatar
5
Rep
220
Posts

Drives: 2006 325i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Durham

iTrader: (0)

RED Low Tire Pressure indicator error on E90?

So, I was driving to the $tealership this morning to get my radio programming done for my Sirius retrofit. As I was about 1 mile from the freeway exit, the red low tire pressure indicator light came on (I'm assuming this means flat tire and not low pressure, but I'm not sure).

Anyway, I drove the 2 miles to the $tealership and proceeded to check the tire pressure on all four tires. Both front tires were at 32psi and both rear tires were at 34psi.

Am I missing something? I told the CA to give it a look and I'll probably get his report on the issue when I pick the car up this afternoon, but I wanted to ask the people here if they'd ever seen that indicator malfunction like that.

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2010, 10:27 AM   #2
roundel335
Brigadier General
roundel335's Avatar
United_States
70
Rep
3,894
Posts

Drives: 13 335i Sedan, 11 128i Cabrio
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Leland, NC

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
I've had mine do that every once in awhile (twice in 2 1/2 years). You can reset the indicator either through iDrive or the onboard computer (lower left steering wheel stalk controls). You then have to drive a few miles and the light will go out.
__________________

2013 F30 335i M-Sport 8AT/MPE/MPPK, 2011 128i M-sport Cabrio 6MT/PE
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2010, 11:10 AM   #3
adelphi_sky
First Lieutenant
6
Rep
374
Posts

Drives: 2009 BMW 328i Jet Black
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Adelphi, MD

iTrader: (0)

Haven't had that problem yet. Though I though the numbers were 32/front 38/back? Anyways, my alarm actually went off last week. Sure enough, the back rear passenger tire was at 30psi. Works like a charm.
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2010, 11:18 AM   #4
CollinsE90
Where my bitches
CollinsE90's Avatar
United_States
260
Rep
1,927
Posts

Drives: Cadillac coupe deville
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: street corner checking profits

iTrader: (0)

RED means faulty sensor, YELLOW means low pressure
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2010, 11:28 AM   #5
mike3000fl
Banned
No_Country
80
Rep
2,731
Posts

Drives: 06 330i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tampa

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CollinsE90 View Post
RED means faulty sensor, YELLOW means low pressure
not sure about your car but i deliberatly lowered my TP to 20 on my rear passenger tire and the car dinged and threw up the red symbol a few miles later. No yellow.

For reference i have an e90 330i, which does not have TPMS in the wheels, it uses the rotation speed of the wheel compared to what it has stored when you initialize it.

Reason i lowered my TP to 20 on that tire was because it was worn way down thru the steel belting and had a noticeable bulge and i needed to get it to the tire shop to have my new tires from tire rack thrown on. Figured de-airing it might prevent it from popping, i guess the other side of the argument could be low TP can causes more rolling resistance and heat which can cause it to blowout too. Either way though i felt better when i lowered them to 20 and the big ass tumor on the tire went down.
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2010, 11:32 AM   #6
CollinsE90
Where my bitches
CollinsE90's Avatar
United_States
260
Rep
1,927
Posts

Drives: Cadillac coupe deville
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: street corner checking profits

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike3000fl View Post
not sure about your car but i deliberatly lowered my TP to 20 on my rear passenger tire and the car dinged and threw up the red symbol a few miles later. No yellow.

For reference i have an e90 330i, which does not have TPMS in the wheels, it uses the rotation speed of the wheel compared to what it has stored when you initialize it.
Reason i lowered my TP to 20 on that tire was because it was worn way down thru the steel belting and had a noticeable bulge and i needed to get it to the tire shop to have my new tires from tire rack thrown on. Figured de-airing it might prevent it from popping, i guess the other side of the argument could be low TP can causes more rolling resistance and heat which can cause it to blowout too. Either way though i felt better when i lowered them to 20 and the big ass tumor on the tire went down.
yea thats why, what i just said goes for TPMS equipped
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2010, 11:35 AM   #7
mike3000fl
Banned
No_Country
80
Rep
2,731
Posts

Drives: 06 330i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tampa

iTrader: (0)

makes sense
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2010, 11:39 AM   #8
nogard13
Second Lieutenant
nogard13's Avatar
5
Rep
220
Posts

Drives: 2006 325i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Durham

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CollinsE90 View Post
RED means faulty sensor, YELLOW means low pressure
I have an 06 325i, I don't believe it's TPMS. I could be wrong, tho.
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2010, 11:41 AM   #9
CollinsE90
Where my bitches
CollinsE90's Avatar
United_States
260
Rep
1,927
Posts

Drives: Cadillac coupe deville
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: street corner checking profits

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nogard13 View Post
I have an 06 325i, I don't believe it's TPMS. I could be wrong, tho.
you probably have FTM
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2010, 11:50 AM   #10
cdmst6
Private
United_States
1
Rep
85
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Hey guys, as I was confused about what our cars have, I talked to the $stealership said that an car from 07+ has TPMS. 06 and earlier have FTM.
__________________
06 330i - 6SPD, NAV, SPTS, SIRIUS, Blacked out grille, tail-lights, window trim, 20% tint, powdercoated Beyern 5's Matte Black - GIVE ME MORE TO DO!!!
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2010, 11:52 AM   #11
CollinsE90
Where my bitches
CollinsE90's Avatar
United_States
260
Rep
1,927
Posts

Drives: Cadillac coupe deville
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: street corner checking profits

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdmst6 View Post
Hey guys, as I was confused about what our cars have, I talked to the $stealership said that an car from 07+ has TPMS. 06 and earlier have FTM.
man im good
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2010, 11:54 AM   #12
BwoodBMW
Lieutenant
56
Rep
445
Posts

Drives: 3erThirtyFiver
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: LA LA land

iTrader: (0)

I need to figure out the same problem on my 07 335, red light is on, even after a reset I can't get it off. Would it come on if the tires had too much pressure? They definitely aren't flat.
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2010, 11:56 AM   #13
CollinsE90
Where my bitches
CollinsE90's Avatar
United_States
260
Rep
1,927
Posts

Drives: Cadillac coupe deville
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: street corner checking profits

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BwoodBMW View Post
I need to figure out the same problem on my 07 335, red light is on, even after a reset I can't get it off. Would it come on if the tires had too much pressure? They definitely aren't flat.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2010, 12:51 PM   #14
nogard13
Second Lieutenant
nogard13's Avatar
5
Rep
220
Posts

Drives: 2006 325i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Durham

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdmst6 View Post
Hey guys, as I was confused about what our cars have, I talked to the $stealership said that an car from 07+ has TPMS. 06 and earlier have FTM.
Ah! I think it uses ABS sensors, right? So if one tire rotates faster than others (due to decreased pressure) it will warn you?

I got the annoying CHIME and the red indicator. But, like I said, I manually checked the pressure and they were within scope (and definitely even with their counterpart).

Weird that it would throw an idiot light.
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2010, 03:41 PM   #15
mike3000fl
Banned
No_Country
80
Rep
2,731
Posts

Drives: 06 330i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tampa

iTrader: (0)

if you know pressure is good then just reinitialize it.

not sure about idrive but with the stalk you go to the menu item, select it, then once you have selected it you would think you are done but you have to hit it again and hold it down for a few seconds, this will bring up a checkmark in a box, once you have the checkmark THEN drive a few miles.

hope that helps.
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2010, 03:50 PM   #16
nogard13
Second Lieutenant
nogard13's Avatar
5
Rep
220
Posts

Drives: 2006 325i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Durham

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike3000fl View Post
if you know pressure is good then just reinitialize it.

not sure about idrive but with the stalk you go to the menu item, select it, then once you have selected it you would think you are done but you have to hit it again and hold it down for a few seconds, this will bring up a checkmark in a box, once you have the checkmark THEN drive a few miles.

hope that helps.
Yeah, it was hopefully reset by the $tealership when they programmed my Sirius retrofit today. I will be picking the car up in an hour or so and will check. They sent me the work performed sheet and it stated that the pressure was checked and within spec and also that the tires were leak-checked with soapy water, and no leaks found, then they reset the indicator.

thanks!
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2010, 03:53 PM   #17
CollinsE90
Where my bitches
CollinsE90's Avatar
United_States
260
Rep
1,927
Posts

Drives: Cadillac coupe deville
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: street corner checking profits

iTrader: (0)

you could have a slightly bent rim leaking, or hairline crack on the inside of the wheel
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2010, 03:55 PM   #18
EZ_TUR90
Ez tur90
EZ_TUR90's Avatar
Armenia
65
Rep
3,181
Posts

Drives: E90 & E92
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (11)

Quote:
Originally Posted by roundel335 View Post
I've had mine do that every once in awhile (twice in 2 1/2 years). You can reset the indicator either through iDrive or the onboard computer (lower left steering wheel stalk controls). You then have to drive a few miles and the light will go out.
+1. Mine went on recently and all my tires were fine. I just reset it and it cleared the error.
__________________
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:26 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST