E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > New v4 4-15 beta maps now publicly available



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-27-2010, 01:41 PM   #89
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by luca335i View Post
Ok now I get it. But how do I log meth flow with the p-reader. What channel should I add? I wann make sure its working.
The channel to log is Debug Byte 7 (Meth %). It's all explained in the documentation. Just make sure you put the new datalog configuration files that I attached along with the new 4-15 maps in your procede folder. That will automatically set everything up for you so that you have to do absolutely nothing. Just log it. See what the max steady value is (ignore quick spikes) and put that value into Future Use 1. Just make sure you adjust the meth controller to be spraying at its max. Real easy.

Shiv
Appreciate 0
      04-27-2010, 01:43 PM   #90
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by luca335i View Post
Is DTC map switching enabled in prog. meth mode? Or does it switch back and forth according to meth flow?
It is disabled. You will see the SES light flash but there will not be any map switch when in Progressive Meth mode. Map "switching" is completely dependant on the meth flow input signal.

Shiv
Appreciate 0
      04-27-2010, 02:00 PM   #91
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Undies View Post
I thought 1-2 is the most conservative.

Shiv - 4 is the value at cruise. when i full throttle it dropss to 3.5 and 3.7, and rarely goes to 4.2. are these not safe debug byte 6 values for a completely stock car?
The value only updates under boost. If u see 4.2 at cruise, it is because that is the last updated value under boost. That value is fine if not just a little aggressive. You can try running more consevative settings to bring it down a bit. Or just wait for the next update and let the Procede just adjust itself.

Shiv
Appreciate 0
      04-27-2010, 02:08 PM   #92
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cocoturkey View Post
When I'm dataloging (3rd gear WOT) and trying to find the max value of "debug byte 7" for "feature use 1'', do i use firmware #009, 4-15 map and set feature use 1 value to "1" ?
It doesn't matter either way. Might as well keep it set to 0 though. Until you have the right value to put in.
Appreciate 0
      04-27-2010, 02:20 PM   #93
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dzenno View Post
Shiv -

Any chance you could describe in a bit more detail how this value is calculated. I understand the high level in that its monitoring ign timing dropouts when in gear and when above certain rpm (>4300 rpm say to ignore the vanos change over)...how do you arrive at this aggresiveness number? What does say 2.0 represent?
The vanos induced retard is not ignored. And there is no rpm threshold below which this value is not updated. And there are some shift-induced timing retards which are also averaged into the agression value. Which is why it's going to be impossible (or highly unlikely) to ever see a value of 0. Even on race gas.

This aggression value is a running average of the differences between dme target ignition advance and current dme ignition advance. With some additional conditional logic thrown in to filter out conditions where timing will naturally drop which would bias the reading.

We are still early in the game with respect to "ideal" value for max power. So far all we have established is that this value goes up the more the dme responds to knock and down the less it responds to knock. This makes the value an excellent indicator of required octane.

Based upon what we've seen so far, a value of 2 is just fine. You will see this value change as u drive. This is expected and exactly what the procede will react to.

Shiv
Appreciate 0
      04-27-2010, 02:41 PM   #94
AltecBX
Colonel
AltecBX's Avatar
United_States
106
Rep
2,636
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Shiv, I know you said it's a running average of the differences between dme target ignition advance and current dme ignition advance, but are there set RPM triggers that makes this happen? I've notice the Aggression level does not change after it peaked until I rev it again over 3200 RPM. If the peak stays at 1.7, it doesn't go down until I rev it back above 3200 RPM. The same in reverse, it doesn't raise higher until I rev it over 4300 RPM.

Another observation:
Why I only get readings by .02 & .03. I was data-logging all night and notice this pattern. It starts with .02 then adds .03 then adds .02 then adds .03, etc..

For example the aggression levels are:
0.2 - 0.5 - 0.7 - 1.0 - 1.2 - 1.5 - 1.7 - 2.0 - 2.2 - 2.5 - 2.7 - 3.0


Is this on purpose? If this is from 0-10, there will be a 40 value entry. {4(.02,.05,.07,1.0) x 10}
Will there be aggression level values that we will see like .01, .03, .04, etc..?
__________________
335xi Sedan 6AT | Weather(70-85°F) | N54 Tune Comparison Chart || N54 Turbo Upgrade Comparison Chart
-PROcede Rev. 2.5 ~ v5 (3/17 maps) / JB4 (8/21 maps) / COBB (Stg2+FMIC LT Aggressive maps)
†Procede Map2(UT 45 - IGN 40) Aggression Target 2.0 | 0-60 in 4.0sec || †Cobb E30 LT (35% Ethanol/65% 93 Octane) | 0-60 in 3.9sec
AR Design Catless DP | BMS DCI + OCC | ETS 5 FMIC | Alpina B3 Trans Flash |235/265 19" Michelin PSS
Appreciate 0
      04-27-2010, 02:54 PM   #95
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
I also have not seen values higher than .05 I guess my fully modded car settings can be set more aggressively

Last edited by cn555ic; 04-27-2010 at 03:12 PM.
Appreciate 0
      04-27-2010, 03:02 PM   #96
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AltecBX View Post
Shiv, I know you said it's a running average of the differences between dme target ignition advance and current dme ignition advance, but are there set RPM triggers that makes this happen? I've notice the Aggression level does not change after it peaked until I rev it again over 3200 RPM. If the peak stays at 1.7, it doesn't go down until I rev it back above 3200 RPM. The same in reverse, it doesn't raise higher until I rev it over 4300 RPM.

Another observation:
Why I only get readings by .02 & .03. I was data-logging all night and notice this pattern. It starts with .02 then adds .03 then adds .02 then adds .03, etc..

For example the aggression levels are:
0.2 - 0.5 - 0.7 - 1.0 - 1.2 - 1.5 - 1.7 - 2.0 - 2.2 - 2.5 - 2.7 - 3.0


Is this on purpose? If this is from 0-10, there will be a 40 value entry. {4(.02,.05,.07,1.0) x 10}
Will there be aggression level values that we will see like .01, .03, .04, etc..?
There us no rpm threshold for updating. And just because the value isn't changing doesn't mean that it isn't updating. It is just updating with the same value.

And yes, it will change in .3 increments. That's normal.
Appreciate 0
      04-27-2010, 05:37 PM   #97
MFKN3
Colonel
MFKN3's Avatar
Australia
40
Rep
2,043
Posts

 
Drives: 4.5L stroker s/c E92 M3
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Undies View Post
I thought 1-2 is the most conservative.

Shiv - 4 is the value at cruise. when i full throttle it dropss to 3.5 and 3.7, and rarely goes to 4.2. are these not safe debug byte 6 values for a completely stock car?
Some people can't read Shiv's basic instructions
Appreciate 0
      04-27-2010, 08:01 PM   #98
Glowin
Captain
Glowin's Avatar
United_States
15
Rep
922
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by themyst View Post
In terms of the 6MT bogging, Shiv provided an explanation that makes perfect sense. I will relog based on his suggestions and post accordingly.
AND? Aren't you going to tell us what the explanation was?
Appreciate 0
      04-27-2010, 09:55 PM   #99
harry$
Private First Class
Canada
2
Rep
148
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 M4
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Burnaby,BC,Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
The value only updates under boost. If u see 4.2 at cruise, it is because that is the last updated value under boost. That value is fine if not just a little aggressive. You can try running more consevative settings to bring it down a bit. Or just wait for the next update and let the Procede just adjust itself.

Shiv
shiv when will the next update be available?
Appreciate 0
      04-27-2010, 11:42 PM   #100
harry$
Private First Class
Canada
2
Rep
148
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 M4
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Burnaby,BC,Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by harry$ View Post
shiv when will the next update be available?
Any guess as to when the next update will be available?
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2010, 07:21 AM   #101
alextremo
Captain
United_States
14
Rep
920
Posts

 
Drives: F10 550i
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA

iTrader: (3)

Shiv - are you still suggesting we don't use the launch control function? Can it be turned off in the software? If not, is there a way to brake boost without engaging the launch control?

Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2010, 04:23 PM   #102
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Exclamation Procede v4 4-30 Maps/firmware available

Here!

Despite the name change (4-15 to 4-30), the maps are the same. As are the datalog files. The only difference is the new firmware file (#10, replacing #9). This little update should solve the CANclear related bug that some of you guys have experienced (12542 code). Everything else is exactly the same.

If there are any other issues with the beta maps/firmware, please email me directly at shiv@vishnutuning.com.

There are new updates coming next week. But I just wanted to get this little bug sorted out in time for the weekend. Enjoy!

Cheers,
Shiv
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2010, 04:51 PM   #103
Overboost
Second Lieutenant
Overboost's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
284
Posts

 
Drives: Monaco Blue 335i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kentucky

iTrader: (0)

Gettin sooo jealous... wish u had the procedes in stock so i can finally get a tracking number. Shiv let me know if we can work something out so i can get mine soon. (Already ordered)
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2010, 04:59 PM   #104
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overboost View Post
Gettin sooo jealous... wish u had the procedes in stock so i can finally get a tracking number. Shiv let me know if we can work something out so i can get mine soon. (Already ordered)
Someone is selling a used one that you can get by next week in the for sale threads!! Thats the only way my friend!
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2010, 05:13 PM   #105
Overboost
Second Lieutenant
Overboost's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
284
Posts

 
Drives: Monaco Blue 335i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kentucky

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
Someone is selling a used one that you can get by next week in the for sale threads!! Thats the only way my friend!
I wish but i already placed my order so i'll just wait for now. I'll be patiend anyway because its finals week in college right now so i shouldnt even be on this site considering i'm sittin in the library forcing myself to study microbiology and biochem on a friday afternoon.
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2010, 07:09 PM   #106
alextremo
Captain
United_States
14
Rep
920
Posts

 
Drives: F10 550i
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alextremo View Post
Shiv - are you still suggesting we don't use the launch control function? Can it be turned off in the software? If not, is there a way to brake boost without engaging the launch control?

Thanks.
Shiv-bump
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2010, 08:15 PM   #107
themyst
Major General
themyst's Avatar
South Korea
86
Rep
6,602
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i LCI
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC

iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to themyst
Does this mean next week's update will include a functional autotune? Spill the beans!
__________________
E90 LCI N54 6AT
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2010, 10:20 PM   #108
lyndon_h
Lieutenant Colonel
lyndon_h's Avatar
20
Rep
1,920
Posts

 
Drives: e90
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Madagascar

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Overboost View Post
Gettin sooo jealous... wish u had the procedes in stock so i can finally get a tracking number. Shiv let me know if we can work something out so i can get mine soon. (Already ordered)
No kidding. I want to order one at the same time I order a JB3 so i can compare them. The only problem is that the procede's are never in stock. Getting impatient. The money is burning a hole in my wallet...
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2010, 10:34 PM   #109
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lyndon_h View Post
No kidding. I want to order one at the same time I order a JB3 so i can compare them. The only problem is that the procede's are never in stock. Getting impatient. The money is burning a hole in my wallet...
Actually, Procedes are almost always in stock. Unique circumstances (global shortage of a single source $1.50 component) pwn3d use this time. But after this batch, we are adopting a substitute component that is far more readily available. So we don't expect this issue ever again.

The good news is that it gives me a little break to get a couple very important features up and running. I'm a glass half full kind of guy...

This current batch that we are waiting for is already almost sold out. So we have already started another batch that will put an end of this out-of-stock nonsense for a very long time.

If you are leaning towards the Procede, try not to let impatience get the best of you and get you to get something else. I think you'll be very upset if you did.

Cheers
shiv
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2010, 10:57 PM   #110
themyst
Major General
themyst's Avatar
South Korea
86
Rep
6,602
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i LCI
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC

iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to themyst
I'm sure all this autotune and in-dash display talk will pent up Procede demand.
__________________
E90 LCI N54 6AT
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST