E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Cosmetic and Lighting Modifications (exterior/interior) > ▀▄ eas - 2011 LCI Taillight Retrofit Overview - Q&A



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-13-2010, 05:06 AM   #67
Patrys@BimmerTech
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Patrys@BimmerTech's Avatar
Poland
87
Rep
1,607
Posts


 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Warsaw/Poland

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Being a 2007 model, you will most likely need a FRM3 in order to accept coding.
The best approach is indeed to change the FRM if the current one cannot be coded for this retrofit, but there is some workaround for those who do not want to spend money on a new module.

The old FRM can still be coded to stop showing up the error on the dashboard.
I am not sure about the flickering but will verify it shortly.
__________________
BimmerTech
Phone (USA): (646) 439-7920 (7:00am - 3:00pm ET) :: info@bimmer-tech.net :: www.bimmer-tech.net
Installation facilities worldwide.

Appreciate 0
      06-15-2010, 11:32 PM   #68
buckshizzo
First Lieutenant
buckshizzo's Avatar
3
Rep
303
Posts

 
Drives: '09 JB E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (4)

Just got mine installed today at EAS and it looks mine can't be coded. I have the old FRM. I get the fast blinking turn signal and bulb malfunction indicator in my idrive. So I guess I'm going to need the FRM3.

PM'd you Tom for price of FRM3 installed and coded.
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2010, 11:25 AM   #69
cuban335i
Brigadier General
cuban335i's Avatar
United_States
85
Rep
3,550
Posts

 
Drives: 535i xdrive
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: central NJ

iTrader: (18)

so pretty much... if you don't get coding, everything will work perfectly fine besides having a bulb out code and having them flicker at startup? What is this fast blinking turn signal problem? so if you can deal with that, you don't even need coding? i can definitely deal with that, if coding and changing the module is going to cost over $400
__________________
Current:
'13 F10 535i xDrive - lightly modded for now
Previous:
'12 e92 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo - ADV.1 ADV10, Volk TE37SL, OSS, Innotech F1, Arkym, iND
'09 e92 335i Alpine White/Saddle Brown - fully modded
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2010, 02:57 PM   #70
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
328
Rep
10,632
Posts


 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by cuban335i View Post
so pretty much... if you don't get coding, everything will work perfectly fine besides having a bulb out code and having them flicker at startup? What is this fast blinking turn signal problem? so if you can deal with that, you don't even need coding? i can definitely deal with that, if coding and changing the module is going to cost over $400
These are errors that happen doe to no load/resistance being detected on the assembly, coding will remove these errors.

Quote:
Originally Posted by buckshizzo View Post
Just got mine installed today at EAS and it looks mine can't be coded. I have the old FRM. I get the fast blinking turn signal and bulb malfunction indicator in my idrive. So I guess I'm going to need the FRM3.

PM'd you Tom for price of FRM3 installed and coded.
Got some in stock now:



I'll reply to your PM shortly.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2010, 03:54 PM   #71
benny90
Major
24
Rep
1,182
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 E90 330i
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta

iTrader: (24)

Garage List
2006 330i  [5.00]
VERY nice!

I really like the LCI tails! If I had an e92 I'd be all over this!
__________________
2006 330i E90 || Jet Black on Terra || STEP | ZSP | ZPP | FULL M-tech Kit | Linea Corse LC818's / 19x8.5 ET30 / 19x10 ET22 / Falken FK452's | 35% Pinnacle Tint | Blacklines | CF Trim & Roundels | Predator ICE | Alarm | Cosmos Fogs | Smoked Corners w/ X5 Bulbs | BMW Performance Grills | BMW Performance Steering Wheel | M Sport E-Brake | ACS Roof Spoiler & Pedals | M3 Spoiler | Euro Fog Switch | Paddle Retrofit Kit | CF Mtech Splitters
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2010, 07:31 PM   #72
buckshizzo
First Lieutenant
buckshizzo's Avatar
3
Rep
303
Posts

 
Drives: '09 JB E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cuban335i View Post
so pretty much... if you don't get coding, everything will work perfectly fine besides having a bulb out code and having them flicker at startup? What is this fast blinking turn signal problem? so if you can deal with that, you don't even need coding? i can definitely deal with that, if coding and changing the module is going to cost over $400
Yeah everything works like normal except for the bulb out code and fast blinking turn signal. Some people can deal with that, but I just prefer to just do it correctly. Also not a fan of fast turn signals.

Oh thanks for the free install on my taillights Tom because of the mix up with my order. Awesome service!
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2010, 07:38 PM   #73
cuban335i
Brigadier General
cuban335i's Avatar
United_States
85
Rep
3,550
Posts

 
Drives: 535i xdrive
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: central NJ

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by buckshizzo View Post
Yeah everything works like normal except for the bulb out code and fast blinking turn signal. Some people can deal with that, but I just prefer to just do it correctly. Also not a fan of fast turn signals.

Oh thanks for the free install on my taillights Tom because of the mix up with my order. Awesome service!
lol i'm not going to pay over $400 to get my blinkers to slow down..
__________________
Current:
'13 F10 535i xDrive - lightly modded for now
Previous:
'12 e92 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo - ADV.1 ADV10, Volk TE37SL, OSS, Innotech F1, Arkym, iND
'09 e92 335i Alpine White/Saddle Brown - fully modded
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2010, 08:10 PM   #74
buckshizzo
First Lieutenant
buckshizzo's Avatar
3
Rep
303
Posts

 
Drives: '09 JB E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cuban335i View Post
lol i'm not going to pay over $400 to get my blinkers to slow down..
Haha...The bulb out indicator thing in the dash just drives me nuts for some reason! I guess I'm just weird like that!
Appreciate 0
      06-23-2010, 06:30 PM   #75
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
328
Rep
10,632
Posts


 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Here are some shots of the FRM2/FRM3 location underneath the driver's side footwell:



For those looking to inspect what type of FRM they have, the part label will have either FRM2 or FRM3 displayed:



If there are any questions regarding Installation, coding or diagnosis - feel free to ask.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-23-2010, 09:41 PM   #76
buckshizzo
First Lieutenant
buckshizzo's Avatar
3
Rep
303
Posts

 
Drives: '09 JB E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (4)

Hey Tom was that my car? Looks like my dirty dead pedal.

Just had the you guys replace the old FRM module today. The new FRM3 module definitely solved the problem. No more error codes, flashing at start up, or fast blinking turn signals...everything is working flawlessly.

Thanks again Tom.
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2010, 12:56 PM   #77
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
328
Rep
10,632
Posts


 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by buckshizzo View Post
Hey Tom was that my car? Looks like my dirty dead pedal.

Just had the you guys replace the old FRM module today. The new FRM3 module definitely solved the problem. No more error codes, flashing at start up, or fast blinking turn signals...everything is working flawlessly.

Thanks again Tom.
Yes sir - actually, your 335 was super clean.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2010, 07:54 AM   #78
i2iSTUDIOS
Captain
i2iSTUDIOS's Avatar
24
Rep
869
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 335i Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH

iTrader: (1)

If we can't get the coding done, i assume an error code will show up, correct?

Any way you can get something to work for folks with a BT cable for the coding?

I'd love it to get rid of error codes for led Halo's, i've tried tons and mine always shows an error.
(by the way, I like the flickering tail lamps, my side markers flicker and I like it)
__________________
2007 E92 335i / 6MT / Monaco Blue Metallic / Gray Dakota Leather / Comfort Assist / Premium / Sport / Heated Seats / Navi / Active Steering / Active Cruise Control / Park Distance Control / Rear Sunshade / Sirius MODS PicoTray / M3 Steering Wheel / Front OEM Aero Lip / Bimmian Aluminum Pedals / CDV / Ram Air Scoops / Painted Reflectors / HID 5000k / LED Angels / M Perf. Shifter / Euro Light Switch / 8500 x50 / Center Armrest Pouch / JB4 / BT
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2010, 07:58 PM   #79
335ifanatic
Major
335ifanatic's Avatar
13
Rep
1,069
Posts

 
Drives: 12' 750i, 14' Bentley GTC V8
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canada

iTrader: (1)

I want these lights baaddd but it seems like too much of a hassle.
Appreciate 0
      06-27-2010, 12:46 AM   #80
simp0man
Not looking 2 SPEED, just looking GOOD
simp0man's Avatar
Cambodia
26
Rep
2,522
Posts

 
Drives: 07 328i
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stockton, Ca

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Well this is official that I am doing this once I can figure out a local coder...
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-28-2010, 11:51 AM   #81
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
328
Rep
10,632
Posts


 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by i2iSTUDIOS View Post
If we can't get the coding done, i assume an error code will show up, correct?

Any way you can get something to work for folks with a BT cable for the coding?

I'd love it to get rid of error codes for led Halo's, i've tried tons and mine always shows an error.
(by the way, I like the flickering tail lamps, my side markers flicker and I like it)
Brake and Reverse lamps will work as normal, some vehicles will have rapid blinker operation - most will get taillight errors onthe cluster/iDrive.

Coding will properly allow the FRM to accept the lamps without any errors or erratic behavior.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 335ifanatic View Post
I want these lights baaddd but it seems like too much of a hassle.
It's actually not, and the end result is well worth it.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-28-2010, 01:47 PM   #82
Patrys@BimmerTech
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Patrys@BimmerTech's Avatar
Poland
87
Rep
1,607
Posts


 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Warsaw/Poland

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by i2iSTUDIOS View Post
If we can't get the coding done, i assume an error code will show up, correct?

Any way you can get something to work for folks with a BT cable for the coding?

I'd love it to get rid of error codes for led Halo's, i've tried tons and mine always shows an error.
(by the way, I like the flickering tail lamps, my side markers flicker and I like it)

I have a software fix for your error
__________________
BimmerTech
Phone (USA): (646) 439-7920 (7:00am - 3:00pm ET) :: info@bimmer-tech.net :: www.bimmer-tech.net
Installation facilities worldwide.

Appreciate 0
      06-29-2010, 12:59 AM   #83
playstereo
Private First Class
2
Rep
100
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 335I 2008
Join Date: May 2010
Location: southern California

iTrader: (4)

Tom Pmed for price and shop location in Socal.
Appreciate 0
      06-29-2010, 12:15 PM   #84
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
328
Rep
10,632
Posts


 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by playstereo View Post
Tom Pmed for price and shop location in Socal.
We would be the premier installation facility in SoCal for this type of retrofit and have trained various autologic technicians of the upgrade process.

We are located in Santa Ana, CA
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-29-2010, 04:34 PM   #85
WWONG
Banned
United_States
38
Rep
1,833
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 BMW X5 xDrive35d
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (14)

I'm looking to have these done to my car, but I'm worried there isn't a coder here in the Houston, TX area. Can anyone confirm that there's one near the southwest Houston/Sugar Land area? Cost for coding?
Appreciate 0
      06-29-2010, 05:46 PM   #86
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
328
Rep
10,632
Posts


 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by WWONG View Post
I'm looking to have these done to my car, but I'm worried there isn't a coder here in the Houston, TX area. Can anyone confirm that there's one near the southwest Houston/Sugar Land area? Cost for coding?
Most shops either have a flat fee or charge the minimum 1 hour labor. We can assist in locating a shop in Texas when ready for programming.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-29-2010, 08:44 PM   #87
WWONG
Banned
United_States
38
Rep
1,833
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 BMW X5 xDrive35d
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (14)

What would you say is an approximate or "going rate" charge for the coding to be done? I don't want to pay $300 for labor then end up with a $800 bill to replace lights that were working just fine.

Also, will you help me find a location if I just buy the harness and inside trunk lights? I need the Euro spec with amber turn signals which you guys don't offer...
Appreciate 0
      06-29-2010, 09:55 PM   #88
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
328
Rep
10,632
Posts


 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by WWONG View Post
What would you say is an approximate or "going rate" charge for the coding to be done? I don't want to pay $300 for labor then end up with a $800 bill to replace lights that were working just fine.

Also, will you help me find a location if I just buy the harness and inside trunk lights? I need the Euro spec with amber turn signals which you guys don't offer...
This is a tech thread, please PM me if you should have any questions regarding pricing so the thread can remain active.
__________________
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST