E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > BMW Coding: Folding Mirrors option available now !



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-01-2010, 12:02 PM   #23
Alekshop
Alekshop's Avatar
United_States
139
Rep
2,356
Posts

Drives: E30 M3 l E92 M3 l F82 M4
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bay Area

iTrader: (8)

Send a message via Skype™ to Alekshop
Quote:
Originally Posted by zamboni View Post
Alek where is the shop in Bay Area?
Pleasanton, CA
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2010, 12:04 PM   #24
Alekshop
Alekshop's Avatar
United_States
139
Rep
2,356
Posts

Drives: E30 M3 l E92 M3 l F82 M4
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bay Area

iTrader: (8)

Send a message via Skype™ to Alekshop
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craven 328 View Post
Is that for M3 only?

I knwo you can roll down the windows with the unlock button, but if you can get them to go back up too im in, drop me a PM!
Quote:
Originally Posted by deanmc View Post
Same here, I'm looking for coding to make the windows roll up with the key fob. I already have the mirror folding and CA, can you PM price for just the window rolling up option?
It can be done on any 3 series with the premium package.
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2010, 12:24 PM   #25
spdy330
Major General
spdy330's Avatar
United_States
103
Rep
6,108
Posts

Drives: 05 Tundra, 11 M3, 08 Odyssey
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Chino, CA

iTrader: (162)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to spdy330 Send a message via Yahoo to spdy330
Now that seems pretty cool.
__________________
If you will be purchasing ANY AT&T services online or in store could you mention that you were referred by me? My Employee Referral ID is eo4489. This would be a great help and it costs you nothing, thank you!
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2010, 12:34 PM   #26
taranonline
Lieutenant
taranonline's Avatar
India
9
Rep
509
Posts

Drives: E90 320D 2010
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: India

iTrader: (0)

Im too interested in this. Can you please let know how can I have this option and what would be the charges.

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2010, 11:05 PM   #27
simonsingh
Private
United Kingdom
1
Rep
89
Posts

Drives: 325i e92, 2xe36
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Birmingham, UK

iTrader: (0)

can you tell us the process for the people with access to autologic?
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2010, 12:10 AM   #28
Park828
Lieutenant
United_States
10
Rep
550
Posts

Drives: f10 535i msprt e60 550i msprt
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Jose CA

iTrader: (3)

Mine was programed to do exactly this via coding only.

Patryk was able to code my cic to work and add these features.

hold the unlock button and mirrors unfold and all windows lower and sunroof opens.

hold the lock button and all windows goes up and unroof closes and mirrors fold close.

awesome feature!
__________________
2011 F10 535i
07 e90 AW Terra Manual, Brushed Aluminium, ZCW, ZPP, ZSP, comfort access, power rear shades, manual side windows shades, PDC, NAV, HD radio, Sirius, 6FL Ipod, 6UH RTTI
97 e36 techno v M3 coupe manual
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2010, 09:38 AM   #29
DigitalDawn
Private First Class
2
Rep
122
Posts

Drives: 2010 335 E93
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Jupiter, FL

iTrader: (0)

Do you need to re-code if BMW upgrades the software in your car?
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2010, 01:03 PM   #30
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
561
Rep
11,405
Posts


Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2015 BMW M4  [2.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by simonsingh View Post
can you tell us the process for the people with access to autologic?
Your autologic programmer should already know the procedures from experience - this is within the CIP/Retrofits section of the programmer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalDawn View Post
Do you need to re-code if BMW upgrades the software in your car?
Depends on the specific coding that is performed. With an autologic, the coding is protected. If coded remotely (not autologic), it will be wiped out if updated.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2010, 02:34 PM   #31
simonsingh
Private
United Kingdom
1
Rep
89
Posts

Drives: 325i e92, 2xe36
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Birmingham, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Your autologic programmer should already know the procedures from experience - this is within the CIP/Retrofits section of the programmer.
I work for a BMW Specialist Indy, and have got usage of an AutoLogic. Will have a look in CIP tomorrow. Need to activate the LED retrofit aswell. Thanks
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2010, 02:59 PM   #32
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
561
Rep
11,405
Posts


Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2015 BMW M4  [2.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by simonsingh View Post
I work for a BMW Specialist Indy, and have got usage of an AutoLogic. Will have a look in CIP tomorrow. Need to activate the LED retrofit aswell. Thanks
Perfect - look for "Mirror Folding" under CIP/Retrofits & Conversions and follow the prompts given.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2010, 02:20 PM   #33
08bmw128i
Private First Class
United_States
2
Rep
161
Posts

Drives: 2015 X5 35i XDrive
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lincoln Rhode Island

iTrader: (2)

So there is nobody up in the east coast or in the new england area that can do this?
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2010, 03:33 PM   #34
DeFKnoL
Private
2
Rep
67
Posts

Drives: 2010 335 i X-Drive (E90)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Arlington, VA

iTrader: (0)

Are there any warranty factors associated with this? Like, can it void any part of a BMW warranty?
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2010, 06:01 PM   #35
simonsingh
Private
United Kingdom
1
Rep
89
Posts

Drives: 325i e92, 2xe36
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Birmingham, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Perfect - look for "Mirror Folding" under CIP/Retrofits & Conversions and follow the prompts given.
oh mate that is AMAZING, i had 14 updates for my car, and then it refused to do it, and came up with a FRM fault. tried it again later, and it worked! also did the audible chirps on lock/unlock
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2010, 11:36 PM   #36
philcriv
New Member
0
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 2010 White e90
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeFKnoL View Post
Are there any warranty factors associated with this? Like, can it void any part of a BMW warranty?
Yea, does it mess with the factory warranty at all?
Appreciate 0
      08-04-2010, 12:09 AM   #37
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
561
Rep
11,405
Posts


Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2015 BMW M4  [2.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by simonsingh View Post
oh mate that is AMAZING, i had 14 updates for my car, and then it refused to do it, and came up with a FRM fault. tried it again later, and it worked! also did the audible chirps on lock/unlock
Awesome - glad everything worked out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeFKnoL View Post
Are there any warranty factors associated with this? Like, can it void any part of a BMW warranty?
Quote:
Originally Posted by philcriv View Post
Yea, does it mess with the factory warranty at all?
Technically - anything mod you perform to your BMW can have an adverse effect in regards to your warranty, it's a risk that you need to be willing to take. Programming or the use of convenience modules rarely results in anything that would ever require a dealer visit.

The autologic programming uses factory BMW code which is closely evaluated before release (we participate heavily through the years within their R&D in order to release new features to those within the autologic network).

Convenience modules are handy for more complicated features that BMW modules cannot perform or require the use of macros (in which a series of commands are performed at the same time). These can also be updated via USB by the end user and do not require a programming station.

Depending on personal preference - you do have choices. I would not let warranty paranoia will instantly ruin your overall driving experience.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Appreciate 0
      08-05-2010, 12:12 AM   #38
Alekshop
Alekshop's Avatar
United_States
139
Rep
2,356
Posts

Drives: E30 M3 l E92 M3 l F82 M4
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bay Area

iTrader: (8)

Send a message via Skype™ to Alekshop
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Depends on the specific coding that is performed. With an autologic, the coding is protected. If coded remotely (not autologic), it will be wiped out if updated.
Even with Autologic the coding is not always protected according to Brian from Autologic UK and can be erased by BMW dealer.

Tom, since you decided to be a very active poster in all our threads, you should not give a false information to the M3post members.

Aleks.

Last edited by Alekshop; 08-05-2010 at 04:05 PM.
Appreciate 0
      08-05-2010, 01:57 AM   #39
dakman
Private
United_States
2
Rep
92
Posts

Drives: 2010 328xi
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (3)

That is cool, you guys are smart.

Too bad I already bought RemoteKEY or I'd be all over it. I'll have to let my buddy know - he was too scared to do RemoteKEY but this is a great solution.

Could you PM me the price to do windows up/down and mirror folding with remote on a 2010 335i (my friend's car). Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      08-05-2010, 11:35 AM   #40
fdriller9
Banned
United_States
107
Rep
7,090
Posts

Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
Can you code my car to vent the sunroof as I open the car and close it when I lock it?

PM if you are able to/have more details. Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      08-05-2010, 11:37 AM   #41
fdriller9
Banned
United_States
107
Rep
7,090
Posts

Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
Actually I just want it to close when locking...is that possible?
Appreciate 0
      08-05-2010, 11:51 AM   #42
bavarian19
General
bavarian19's Avatar
United_States
249
Rep
18,823
Posts

Drives: Car
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: VA

iTrader: (23)

Any shops around the DC area that have Autologic programming?
Appreciate 0
      08-05-2010, 12:15 PM   #43
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
561
Rep
11,405
Posts


Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2015 BMW M4  [2.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alekshop View Post
Even with Autologic the coding is not always protected according to Brian from Autologic UK and can be erased by BMW dealer.

Tom, since you decided to be a very active poster in all out threads, you should not give a false information to the M3post members.

Aleks.
This is e90Post.

Very few things in this world are black and white and all there are variables in all situations. Your generic response will depends on the specific type of coding performed, including variables like if the vehicle order is changed or not and what specific options are being coded. Just having the tools do not make a technician, proper training, experience and available resources to handle most type of situations is what does.

This cannot be learned in less than 3 months of obtaining an autologic.

An example using the LCI Taillamp retrofit, LCI taillight programming can be overwritten with an update using a FRM2, while FRM3 coding is safe if updates were performed at your dealer. It purely depends on the situation.

On the LCI taillight retrofit side, much info was given in this thread for those looking for a bit of history: http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=393828, with detailed info in Page 3.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bavarian19 View Post
Any shops around the DC area that have Autologic programming?
Feel free to PM me directly and I will be happy to locate an autologic programming facility nearby.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dakman View Post
Too bad I already bought RemoteKEY or I'd be all over it. I'll have to let my buddy know - he was too scared to do RemoteKEY but this is a great solution.

Could you PM me the price to do windows up/down and mirror folding with remote on a 2010 335i (my friend's car). Thanks.
Keep in mind that unlike remoteKEY, your friend will require the lock button is held during the entire closing process using programming.

There are two methods of installation on the modules, for those not interested in alarm emulation, installation is less than 15 minutes and non-obtrusive - if he's not comformatble with the installation, any 12V would be able to perform the install in no time at all. Autologic programming requires no installation on your friend's end, but is very limited in overall features.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM

Last edited by tom @ eas; 08-05-2010 at 12:27 PM.
Appreciate 0
      08-05-2010, 03:47 PM   #44
Patrys@BimmerTech
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Patrys@BimmerTech's Avatar
Poland
111
Rep
1,676
Posts


Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Warsaw/Poland

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Depends on the specific coding that is performed. With an autologic, the coding is protected.If coded remotely (not autologic), it will be wiped out if updated.
Are you saying that Autologic can code remote folding mirrors, which will not be erased during the complete software update at a dealership?
Can you prove it?

I don't wanna argue with anyone here, neither Alekshop nor you, Tom, but this is a false statement:
"If coded remotely (not autologic), it will be wiped out if updated."

If you have no idea how the remote coding works I would like you to stop commenting on how it works and how it is different from Autologic.
It's not my thread and I don't want to start any war here, but it's absolutely not acceptable to do what you have been doing for a few last weeks.
You can argue with Alekshop, but remote coding is my domain and I will not be sitting quietly when you post similar things.

Thanks,
Patryk
__________________
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:32 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST