E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Help car won't crank after mhd flash



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-28-2016, 02:25 PM   #1
jazz5000
Second Lieutenant
United Kingdom
12
Rep
251
Posts

Drives: 335i FBO
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Help car won't crank after mhd flash

Hi

Having issues with the car so went to flash the stock map back to the car

Had a PSU attached and the stock map was half way done when it failed.

Turned everything off and retried again and this time the flash was successful and said to turn ignition off etc

Went to start and the engine doesn't crank. Can hear the starter click and noticed lights dimmed and idrive shutoff so was thinking low battery

Have swapped the battery but having the same issue

Now i don't know what to do as the car won't crank and was fine before this

Any help much appreciated

Last edited by jazz5000; 05-29-2016 at 04:59 AM.
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2016, 03:59 PM   #2
Yournamehere90
Captain
Yournamehere90's Avatar
282
Rep
855
Posts

Drives: 2008 535i / 2009 135i
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

It sounds like a bad starter, but considering the other events it probably is not. Have you tried to flash stock again?
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2016, 04:20 PM   #3
Sean978
Private First Class
18
Rep
118
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i 6MT SGM
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Nashua, NH

iTrader: (0)

Hook car up to a battery charger or jumper cables to another running car and reflash... can't drop below a specified voltage which I can't remember off the top of my head.
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2016, 07:28 PM   #4
muncie21
First Lieutenant
54
Rep
321
Posts

Drives: 335ix
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: PA

iTrader: (0)

Get a new battery
Reflash to stock
Verify the car runs/works as it should
Flash with MHD
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2016, 07:41 PM   #5
jazz5000
Second Lieutenant
United Kingdom
12
Rep
251
Posts

Drives: 335i FBO
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Have tried to flash to stock again and says was successful however same issue

Car is currently on charge overnight so will give an update in the morning

Hopefully just a low battery
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2016, 05:01 AM   #6
jazz5000
Second Lieutenant
United Kingdom
12
Rep
251
Posts

Drives: 335i FBO
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Have managed to get the starter to spin now.

Noticed my fuel was completely empty when it had 55mile range before maybe because the fuel pump runs during a flash and I may have a possible injector leak..

Have put in 5 litres of fuel and doesn't start

Should I try reflash a third time to stock again ?
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2016, 09:46 AM   #7
jazz5000
Second Lieutenant
United Kingdom
12
Rep
251
Posts

Drives: 335i FBO
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Have tried to flash to stock again this time removing my backup so mhd writes the latest version

Successfully wrote the file.

But same issue car cranks but doesn't fire up.

Could there be a issue with the ews needing to be reset with inpa?
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2016, 10:29 AM   #8
JDuke335i
Second Lieutenant
JDuke335i's Avatar
United_States
33
Rep
280
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i , Alpine white
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Bmw Land , sims (nc)

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jazz5000
Have tried to flash to stock again this time removing my backup so mhd writes the latest version

Successfully wrote the file.

But same issue car cranks but doesn't fire up.

Could there be a issue with the ews needing to be reset with inpa?
Read codes with MHD to see if anything is showing up
__________________
FBO , MHD , tuned
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2016, 10:43 AM   #9
Red_Bean_Bun
Captain
United_States
24
Rep
859
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wilmington

iTrader: (4)

let us know what's the fault code ...
__________________
RBB@Codewerx
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2016, 10:58 AM   #10
jazz5000
Second Lieutenant
United Kingdom
12
Rep
251
Posts

Drives: 335i FBO
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Have checked with inpa

Getting

2FA3
CED4
5E19
A10A
A670
A8BE
9CBB
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2016, 11:18 AM   #11
Red_Bean_Bun
Captain
United_States
24
Rep
859
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wilmington

iTrader: (4)

It looks like your Dme was flashed with the wrong firmware and it needs to be encoded as well.
__________________
RBB@Codewerx
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2016, 11:35 AM   #12
jazz5000
Second Lieutenant
United Kingdom
12
Rep
251
Posts

Drives: 335i FBO
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

How would i do this?

I have winfkp and inpa available
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2016, 11:46 AM   #13
Red_Bean_Bun
Captain
United_States
24
Rep
859
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wilmington

iTrader: (4)

Did you take down your zusb prior to the mhd flash ?

Or are you able o pull the winkfp logs out ?
__________________
RBB@Codewerx
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2016, 11:50 AM   #14
jazz5000
Second Lieutenant
United Kingdom
12
Rep
251
Posts

Drives: 335i FBO
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Yes original zusb of the dme is 7597498

This is was what i flashed but didnt work, then i moved the file from the mhd folder so it would flash a newer version to see if that would work but no luck unfortunately
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2016, 12:15 PM   #15
Red_Bean_Bun
Captain
United_States
24
Rep
859
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wilmington

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jazz5000 View Post
Yes original zusb of the dme is 7597498

This is was what i flashed but didnt work, then i moved the file from the mhd folder so it would flash a newer version to see if that would work but no luck unfortunately
Flash that back in and then default code it using winkfp (not mhd). This zusb looks very old ... You sure you got the datens for this ?

Beyond that it's hardware. Batteries / starter etc ...
__________________
RBB@Codewerx
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2016, 12:24 PM   #16
JDuke335i
Second Lieutenant
JDuke335i's Avatar
United_States
33
Rep
280
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i , Alpine white
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Bmw Land , sims (nc)

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jazz5000
Yes original zusb of the dme is 7597498

This is was what i flashed but didnt work, then i moved the file from the mhd folder so it would flash a newer version to see if that would work but no luck unfortunately
Email @WedgePerformance . He can help you fix this or at least tell you what to do
__________________
FBO , MHD , tuned
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2016, 12:55 PM   #17
jazz5000
Second Lieutenant
United Kingdom
12
Rep
251
Posts

Drives: 335i FBO
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red_Bean_Bun View Post
Flash that back in and then default code it using winkfp (not mhd). This zusb looks very old ... You sure you got the datens for this ?

Beyond that it's hardware. Batteries / starter etc ...
Flash back with mhd or with winfkp?
I am using daten 58.1

By default code what do you mean?

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2016, 12:56 PM   #18
Red_Bean_Bun
Captain
United_States
24
Rep
859
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wilmington

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jazz5000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red_Bean_Bun View Post
Flash that back in and then default code it using winkfp (not mhd). This zusb looks very old ... You sure you got the datens for this ?

Beyond that it's hardware. Batteries / starter etc ...
Flash back with mhd or with winfkp?
I am using daten 58.1

By default code what do you mean?

Thanks
Winkfp.

Don't think 58.1 will have that zusb ...
__________________
RBB@Codewerx
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2016, 12:56 PM   #19
jazz5000
Second Lieutenant
United Kingdom
12
Rep
251
Posts

Drives: 335i FBO
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JDuke335i View Post
Email @WedgePerformance . He can help you fix this or at least tell you what to do
Ok will send a email now
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2016, 01:04 PM   #20
jazz5000
Second Lieutenant
United Kingdom
12
Rep
251
Posts

Drives: 335i FBO
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red_Bean_Bun View Post
Winkfp.

Don't think 58.1 will have that zusb ...
Should i try update to the latest version?
Or what about flashing a BMS backend flash?
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2016, 02:09 PM   #21
JDuke335i
Second Lieutenant
JDuke335i's Avatar
United_States
33
Rep
280
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i , Alpine white
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Bmw Land , sims (nc)

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jazz5000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red_Bean_Bun View Post
Winkfp.

Don't think 58.1 will have that zusb ...
Should i try update to the latest version?
Or what about flashing a BMS backend flash?
I would hold off until you have a chance to talk to someone who can tell you exactly what's going on. I would hate for you to mess it up more than what it already is. I hope u get it fixed soon
__________________
FBO , MHD , tuned
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2016, 07:41 PM   #22
jazz5000
Second Lieutenant
United Kingdom
12
Rep
251
Posts

Drives: 335i FBO
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

How do I do a ews reset?
I think that could be the issue..

In inpa under activate there is no option for this in inpa 5.0
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:30 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST