E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > MHD Flasher for N54 - general discussion



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-27-2015, 11:24 AM   #1
MHD Tuning
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
MHD Tuning's Avatar
Germany
590
Rep
867
Posts


Drives: 2007 335i ## 2017 M2
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Berlin - Germany

iTrader: (0)

MHD Flasher for N54 - general discussion

The product description has now been posted in the SPONSORS / Turbo engine section:
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1096242

We would like to use this thread to gather all information and discussion about the MHD Flasher.

Martial

Last edited by MHD Tuning; 03-24-2016 at 07:33 AM.
Appreciate 4
      02-27-2015, 11:24 AM   #2
MHD Tuning
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
MHD Tuning's Avatar
Germany
590
Rep
867
Posts


Drives: 2007 335i ## 2017 M2
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Berlin - Germany

iTrader: (0)

Beta testing

Edit - beta testing is finished since August 2015.

Last edited by MHD Tuning; 11-06-2015 at 08:25 AM.
Appreciate 2
      02-27-2015, 11:33 AM   #3
MiniXP
Captain
MiniXP's Avatar
33
Rep
703
Posts

Drives: 08 335i
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: NC

iTrader: (0)

Does the flasher module include any maps or do they all need to be purchased for the $49?

If I already have the hardware and just want to flash my stock car, can I get that going for just the $99?
__________________
http://www.e90post.com/forums/signaturepics/sigpic228641_1.gif
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2015, 11:34 AM   #4
Digitalism
First Lieutenant
19
Rep
376
Posts

Drives: BMW 335i
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Perth, Australia

iTrader: (0)

Who is MHD Tuning?
Is it a German company working with Wedge/Bura Q or?
What software is used to modify and create maps? Tuner pro, ATR?
What makes it different from the other tuning platforms currently offered?
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2015, 11:37 AM   #5
MiniXP
Captain
MiniXP's Avatar
33
Rep
703
Posts

Drives: 08 335i
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: NC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digitalism View Post
Who is MHD Tuning?
Is it a German company working with Wedge/Bura Q or?
What software is used to modify and create maps? Tuner pro, ATR?
What makes it different from the other tuning platforms currently offered?
Good question, I can't find much on MHD tuning on google.

Can we get a little background on the company?

Also, do you have a recommendation on an OTG cable or do they pretty much all work? That's the only thing I need to order for this
__________________
http://www.e90post.com/forums/signaturepics/sigpic228641_1.gif
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2015, 11:57 AM   #6
Scottycs
BMW OG
United_States
25
Rep
557
Posts

Drives: 09 335i
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC

iTrader: (6)

Count me in! PM sent
__________________
-Chris
2009 335i 6MT

Last edited by Scottycs; 02-27-2015 at 12:28 PM.
Appreciate 1
      02-27-2015, 12:38 PM   #7
2Times
I'd hit it
2Times's Avatar
United_States
13
Rep
701
Posts

Drives: black on black e92 335xi
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mt.P, SC

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 335xi  [5.00]
How long does the flash take?
Appreciate 2
      02-27-2015, 12:53 PM   #8
hoopvillian
Private First Class
hoopvillian's Avatar
11
Rep
179
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Dago

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digitalism View Post
Who is MHD Tuning?
Is it a German company working with Wedge/Bura Q or?
What software is used to modify and create maps? Tuner pro, ATR?
What makes it different from the other tuning platforms currently offered?
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiniXP View Post
Good question, I can't find much on MHD tuning on google.

Can we get a little background on the company?

Also, do you have a recommendation on an OTG cable or do they pretty much all work? That's the only thing I need to order for this
Skeptical as well. I'll wait until we have more info.
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2015, 01:08 PM   #9
Aashenfox
Captain
Greece
87
Rep
676
Posts

Drives: 08 E92 335xi 6AT
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Brit in Greece

iTrader: (0)

Is there a single cable or connectivity solution that will work for this tuning solution as well as for the BMWhat app? Or are they simply different kinds of connectivity?
__________________
08 E92 335xi 6AT, Sapphire Black Metallic
Modlist: 19x8.5+32/19x9.5+35 BBS CH-R Black, Michelin PSS 225/35/19 - 255/30/19, rolled rear fenders | KW v3 coilovers | Akrapovic exhaust
Keep it on the black stuff shiny side up!
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2015, 01:13 PM   #10
mwahlert
Lieutenant Colonel
mwahlert's Avatar
50
Rep
1,639
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NC

iTrader: (7)

Are the modules/maps VIN locked?
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2015, 01:32 PM   #11
sirdaft1
Colonel
sirdaft1's Avatar
United_States
1152
Rep
2,726
Posts

Drives: '12 X5 xDrive35i
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Chicago West Burbs

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
Pardon the idiot question here, but in laymans terms how does this differ from the JB4/Cobb options that already "unlock the potential of the N54"?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2015, 01:32 PM   #12
madbim
Private First Class
United_States
6
Rep
114
Posts

Drives: 08' E90 335xi
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Madison, WI

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirdaft1 View Post
Pardon the idiot question here, but in laymans terms how does this differ from the JB4/Cobb options that already "unlock the potential of the N54"?
You can flash from your phone, no need to invest in COBB.
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2015, 01:44 PM   #13
MasterWang
Captain
68
Rep
898
Posts

Drives: 335i e92
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lawrence, KS

iTrader: (2)

Why are people asking questions here when the answers are in the announcement thread!?
Just take a few minutes to read through the link he posted.
Appreciate 1
      02-27-2015, 02:01 PM   #14
Myrder
Major
Myrder's Avatar
United_States
98
Rep
1,244
Posts

Drives: 2010 E92 335i MSport 6MT LMB
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: WildWest

iTrader: (1)

Ok, this interested me...

Upgrade/downgrade to IJE0S / I8A0S to take advantage of the specific features (more monitors available, increased boost limit)

Can you elaborate on this? IJE0S is plagued with flat timing or timing drops on 6MTs when you shift. Would switching ROMs remove that negative feature?

I also noticed you had a 24hr window for installing a purchased map. What happens if you go outside that window? Can these maps be tweaked by the user like BB or Cobb?
__________________
2010|335i|LMB|E92|6MT|MSport|Logic7|335is Clutch|AE Performance|BMS|Walbro|VRSF 7"|
1992|Pontiac Firebird|Mild 355ci|T56|
2001|Camaro Z28|T56|1/4: 12.9@111 (gone)
-I will look on your treasures, gypsy. Is this understood?-
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2015, 02:05 PM   #15
jyamona
Private First Class
114
Rep
122
Posts

Drives: 2010 135i
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Northeast PA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrder View Post
Ok, this interested me...

Upgrade/downgrade to IJE0S / I8A0S to take advantage of the specific features (more monitors available, increased boost limit)

Can you elaborate on this? IJE0S is plagued with flat timing or timing drops on 6MTs when you shift. Would switching ROMs remove that negative feature?

I also noticed you had a 24hr window for installing a purchased map. What happens if you go outside that window? Can these maps be tweaked by the user like BB or Cobb?
I8AOS has the same timing issues when shifting fast or NLS. It's not a rom type issue, it's in the code / torque logic of every rom. That will be worked out separately.

Outside of 24hr window it seems you just need to establish an internet connection to re-verify your app w/ his server. It's an anti-piracy measure.
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2015, 02:28 PM   #16
Myrder
Major
Myrder's Avatar
United_States
98
Rep
1,244
Posts

Drives: 2010 E92 335i MSport 6MT LMB
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: WildWest

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jyamona View Post
I8AOS has the same timing issues when shifting fast or NLS. It's not a rom type issue, it's in the code / torque logic of every rom. That will be worked out separately.

Outside of 24hr window it seems you just need to establish an internet connection to re-verify your app w/ his server. It's an anti-piracy measure.
Interesting, my friends 6MT I8AOS never flatlines after a shift, and I've even driven the car as I would my own and just notice quicker timing recovery.... :/


The anti-piracy measure makes sense.
__________________
2010|335i|LMB|E92|6MT|MSport|Logic7|335is Clutch|AE Performance|BMS|Walbro|VRSF 7"|
1992|Pontiac Firebird|Mild 355ci|T56|
2001|Camaro Z28|T56|1/4: 12.9@111 (gone)
-I will look on your treasures, gypsy. Is this understood?-
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2015, 02:33 PM   #17
jyamona
Private First Class
114
Rep
122
Posts

Drives: 2010 135i
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Northeast PA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrder View Post
Interesting, my friends 6MT I8AOS never flatlines after a shift, and I've even driven the car as I would my own and just notice quicker timing recovery.... :/

The anti-piracy measure makes sense.
Sounds like your friends tune may be dialed in a bit better. You can really reduce the likelihood of it happening if you eliminate post shift overboosts, even very slight ones. After working with the tune on mine, IJEOS, it rarely if ever happens anymore. That's off topic though, keep thread on track.
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2015, 04:02 PM   #18
MHD Tuning
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
MHD Tuning's Avatar
Germany
590
Rep
867
Posts


Drives: 2007 335i ## 2017 M2
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Berlin - Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MiniXP View Post
Does the flasher module include any maps or do they all need to be purchased for the $49? If I already have the hardware and just want to flash my stock car, can I get that going for just the $99?
The flasher licence enables you to either flash one of the three built in maps that are available separately for $49 each, flash a binary ROM you edited yourself, or flash an individual map provided your purchase an Advanced tuning from WedgePerformance.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digitalism View Post
Who is MHD Tuning?
Is it a German company working with Wedge/Bura Q or?
What software is used to modify and create maps? Tuner pro, ATR?
What makes it different from the other tuning platforms currently offered?
Yes, it's a German company I run that partnered with Wedge/Buraq to provide first class tuning. Maps editing is performed with Tuner Pro. The two main differences to me would be
1) The Q-Logic maps and the advanced tuning by WedgePerformance contains many tricks that were recently discovered, enabling smoother shifts for instance.
2) The flashed ROMs will evolve with time by incorporating the improvements the N54 community is currently working on. We are participating to this effort. This is the future of this platform.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MiniXP View Post
Can we get a little background on the company?
Also, do you have a recommendation on an OTG cable or do they pretty much all work? That's the only thing I need to order for this
No bullshit here - I run MHD tuning alone. I am a car enthusiast, drive a FB0 e90, and was in a former life low-level game consoles programmer as well as founder of a 20 people games studio. The MHD Flasher has been my only and full time project for nearly a year now, I was tired by the lack of progress on the ECU flashing solutions so I bit the bullet.
Make sure you get an OTG cable to works with your device. Some tablets have special connectors but most device just need a micro USB OTG cable. Google your device name + OTG cable should do it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Times View Post
How long does the flash take?
2 minutes map switching, initial install time : 16 minutes on KLINE cars (2007 & Early 2008), 35 minutes on DCAN cars (2008+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aashenfox View Post
Is there a single cable or connectivity solution that will work for this tuning solution as well as for the BMWhat app? Or are they simply different kinds of connectivity?
I do not know well the BMWhat app but I wouldn't be surprised a regular K/DCan cable works with it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mwahlert View Post
Are the modules/maps VIN locked?
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrder View Post
IJE0S is plagued with flat timing or timing drops on 6MTs when you shift. Would switching ROMs remove that negative feature?
I also noticed you had a 24hr window for installing a purchased map. What happens if you go outside that window? Can these maps be tweaked by the user like BB or Cobb?
You cannot flash I8A0S on a car using IJE0S because the DME the ROMS were designed for are slightly different.
After 24h you just need to launch the app with an active Internet connection to reset the 24h counter. The built-in maps files will not be provided.

Martial
Appreciate 2
      02-27-2015, 04:09 PM   #19
blisstik
Lieutenant Colonel
blisstik's Avatar
No_Country
62
Rep
1,606
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California

iTrader: (14)

Is the absolute boost limit 22PSI?
__________________

2016 Mazda 6 Touring: Daily Driver
FS: 2007 E92 335i MOTIV750 Single Turbo
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2015, 04:15 PM   #20
StevenY.
///M
StevenY.'s Avatar
United_States
108
Rep
2,118
Posts

Drives: 10' SG e92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NYC

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aashenfox View Post
Is there a single cable or connectivity solution that will work for this tuning solution as well as for the BMWhat app? Or are they simply different kinds of connectivity?
For BMWhat I use a d+kcan cable and otg cable to connect to my note 3, works fine. Since this flasher says you need a d+kcan and otg cable, you should be okay on both fronts with those two things and your android device.
__________________
Appreciate 1
      02-27-2015, 04:19 PM   #21
Myrder
Major
Myrder's Avatar
United_States
98
Rep
1,244
Posts

Drives: 2010 E92 335i MSport 6MT LMB
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: WildWest

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MHD Tuning View Post
You cannot flash I8A0S on a car using IJE0S because the DME the ROMS were designed for are slightly different.
After 24h you just need to launch the app with an active Internet connection to reset the 24h counter. The built-in maps files will not be provided.

Gotcha, I was suspicious of the ability to switch ROMs, I guess your wording of upgrade/downgrade should be elaborated on.
__________________
2010|335i|LMB|E92|6MT|MSport|Logic7|335is Clutch|AE Performance|BMS|Walbro|VRSF 7"|
1992|Pontiac Firebird|Mild 355ci|T56|
2001|Camaro Z28|T56|1/4: 12.9@111 (gone)
-I will look on your treasures, gypsy. Is this understood?-
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2015, 04:26 PM   #22
MiniXP
Captain
MiniXP's Avatar
33
Rep
703
Posts

Drives: 08 335i
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: NC

iTrader: (0)

This seems like a pretty huge thing for the car modding world in general.

Has anything like this been done before for any car? Being able to flash your car from a phone sounds pretty awesome.

Does this completely eliminate any reason for buying an Access port? I wouldn't mind having an extra $800 or so in my pocket.
__________________
http://www.e90post.com/forums/signaturepics/sigpic228641_1.gif
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:41 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST