E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Auto Window Close from Remote



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-03-2009, 04:10 PM   #1
SharpPointyStick
Second Lieutenant
Canada
14
Rep
274
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 Alpine White 323i (E90)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vancouver BC

iTrader: (2)

Auto Window Close from Remote

Using the remote I can roll the windows down by holding the door unlock button, now I would assume the holding the door lock button down would roll the windows up but that doesnt seem to work. Is there a software change that I need for this feature?

Car is a 2006 323i.

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2009, 04:23 PM   #2
bolty
/r/trees
bolty's Avatar
13
Rep
866
Posts

 
Drives: 08 e92 335xi
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada

iTrader: (3)

No, I believe you can only roll everything up using the actual key and not the remote.

Use the key, and lock the car, hold it there for a couple seconds and your windows will roll up/sunroof close.
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2009, 04:46 PM   #3
stevenqdz
First Lieutenant
stevenqdz's Avatar
4
Rep
394
Posts

 
Drives: 08 335xi e90
Join Date: May 2008
Location: VA

iTrader: (8)

Garage List
2008 e90 335xi  [0.00]
there this thing call "remotekey" for like 200 bux will give u all kind of features... (folding side mirror, auto close/open window etc.)
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2009, 06:11 PM   #4
RPM90
Major General
105
Rep
6,095
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Msport w/sport AT
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bolty View Post
No, I believe you can only roll everything up using the actual key and not the remote.

Use the key, and lock the car, hold it there for a couple seconds and your windows will roll up/sunroof close.
The key works very well!

It's nice to have if forgot to roll up the window/s or the roof.
As you said, hod the key in the lock position and everything closes nicely.
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2009, 06:36 PM   #5
drivecar
Private
1
Rep
63
Posts

 
Drives: bmw
Join Date: May 2009
Location: us

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RPM90 View Post
The key works very well!

It's nice to have if forgot to roll up the window/s or the roof.
As you said, hod the key in the lock position and everything closes nicely.
It's actually kind of lame. The key is nasty and covered in lubricant goo.
They should have made the fob work for both up and down. The Nissan Altima and Honda Accord have this, so BMWs should also.
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2009, 06:58 PM   #6
RPM90
Major General
105
Rep
6,095
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Msport w/sport AT
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by drivecar View Post
It's actually kind of lame. The key is nasty and covered in lubricant goo.
They should have made the fob work for both up and down. The Nissan Altima and Honda Accord have this, so BMWs should also.
Yeah, they should. But, as you know, they don't.
Stupid oversight imo for a brand like BMW.

Hey, in the past they've had these features and they had to be programmed to work, AND they would CHARGE for that service!
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2009, 07:14 PM   #7
Tegs4tugs
First Lieutenant
Tegs4tugs's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
389
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E90 33?i | 90 Integra B20
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Westchester County, NY

iTrader: (1)

I believe this might be a safety feature, just like how they make the buttons have to pull up to roll up the windows to avoid injury to anyone hands necks or fingers.
__________________

|33?i e90|Platinum Silver black leather w aluminum trim|6spd|Sport Packege|Premium Package|Mtec v3|Rockford Fosgate Subs and Amps|
|2000 integra DC4|Silver Gray int|5spd|B20 Motor|
When you turn your car on does it return the favor
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2009, 07:49 PM   #8
GregL
Brigadier General
GregL's Avatar
Canada
40
Rep
3,623
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 C350 4Matic
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: GTA

iTrader: (4)

BMWs do it outside of North America.
__________________
2010 Mercedes-Benz C350 4Matic
2006 BMW 330xi - Gone
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2009, 08:16 PM   #9
slant83
Second Lieutenant
slant83's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
257
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i coupe
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Parkland, Florida

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregL View Post
BMWs do it outside of North America.
Americans are not trusted to take care while doing this and BMW doesn't want zillions of lawsuits
__________________
2008 335i coupe/Sapphire Black/Black Dakota/Alum/Sport/Prem/Step/Nav/iPod/CA
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2009, 08:27 PM   #10
drivecar
Private
1
Rep
63
Posts

 
Drives: bmw
Join Date: May 2009
Location: us

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by slant83 View Post
Americans are not trusted to take care while doing this and BMW doesn't want zillions of lawsuits
There is already a sensor in the window. If you press on the window while it's going up, it reverses. So, this crippling of the remote fob feature was not needed.
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2009, 08:46 PM   #11
GregL
Brigadier General
GregL's Avatar
Canada
40
Rep
3,623
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 C350 4Matic
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: GTA

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by drivecar View Post
There is already a sensor in the window. If you press on the window while it's going up, it reverses. So, this crippling of the remote fob feature was not needed.
Still, it applies a fair amount of pressure to the obstruction before stopping and reversing. I can easily see someone doing something stupid involving small children and taking BMW to court. I don't understand why Canadian cars have the same programming though.
__________________
2010 Mercedes-Benz C350 4Matic
2006 BMW 330xi - Gone
Appreciate 0
      07-04-2009, 04:17 AM   #12
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
Booster4075's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

It can be enabled to work (like Euro cars), but not through "traditional" BMW service equipment. Guys with knowledge and a laptop can do it.

I'm working on that and a few other features now..
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2009, 08:01 AM   #13
Patrys@BimmerTech
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Patrys@BimmerTech's Avatar
Poland
87
Rep
1,609
Posts


 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Warsaw/Poland

iTrader: (7)

This feature can be coded into the car.

I did some coding to my car and when I press and hold the BMW button on my remote all doors, windows and sunroof will close as well as mirrors will fold.
Pretty useful from time to time.
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2009, 03:44 PM   #14
armoredsaint
Major
armoredsaint's Avatar
United_States
24
Rep
1,265
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 650i Gran Coupe
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA

iTrader: (8)

Garage List
you can thank the lawyers here for us not having that feature as standard like the Euros do - i use my CA strips to roll it up sometimes.
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2009, 04:10 PM   #15
RPM90
Major General
105
Rep
6,095
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Msport w/sport AT
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by armoredsaint View Post
you can thank the lawyers here for us not having that feature as standard like the Euros do - i use my CA strips to roll it up sometimes.
I don't think we can blame the lawyers here. Other cars sold in the US have this feature, so I don't see why BMW has any greater liability.

It used to be a programmable feature, and apparently still is. I'm looking forward to someone on here figuring it out
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2009, 08:15 PM   #16
tintivilus
Lieutenant Colonel
tintivilus's Avatar
United_States
20
Rep
1,826
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lake County, IL

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 E92 335i  [0.00]
2003 325i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to tintivilus
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPM90 View Post
It used to be a programmable feature, and apparently still is. I'm looking forward to someone on here figuring it out
Any shop with an up-to-date Autologic can enable remote roll-up on US spec cars.
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2009, 12:22 PM   #17
david @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
david @ eas's Avatar
United_States
113
Rep
4,054
Posts


 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Anaheim

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenqdz View Post
there this thing call "remotekey" for like 200 bux will give u all kind of features... (folding side mirror, auto close/open window etc.)


That's right, we have it here too. OP if you need the remotekey feel free to check it out right here:


remoteKEY window Control for 3-series (e9X) Coupe & Sedan
http://www.europeanautosource.com/pr...oducts_id=1796

Product Features:

- Remote window control: One-Touch operation of the windows and sunroof with the original remote on all models (US and Euro)
- Automatic door unlocking when ignition is turned off. Avoid having to pull the door handles twice to get out
- Comfort windows: All windows can be closed One-Touch with the wide "All-Windows" button in the driver's door.
- User programmable: The module can be individually enabled or disabled. All settings are retained even if the car battery is disconnected.
- Remote Fold-in Mirrors (if equipped). remoteKEY will fold in your mirrors on alarm activation.
- Shop/Diagnose mode: If activated the module is completely passive, as if it was not installed at all. It becomes invisible to diagnostic tools.

If you have any questions feel free to let me know
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2009, 01:09 PM   #18
drivecar
Private
1
Rep
63
Posts

 
Drives: bmw
Join Date: May 2009
Location: us

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tintivilus View Post
Any shop with an up-to-date Autologic can enable remote roll-up on US spec cars.
So a BMW dealer can enable it without installing any third party parts?
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2009, 02:08 PM   #19
TMR
Colonel
TMR's Avatar
United_States
49
Rep
2,894
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torrance

iTrader: (11)

I plugged in a new autologic to my car and did not see that option anywhere.
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2009, 02:19 PM   #20
tintivilus
Lieutenant Colonel
tintivilus's Avatar
United_States
20
Rep
1,826
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lake County, IL

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 E92 335i  [0.00]
2003 325i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to tintivilus
Quote:
Originally Posted by drivecar View Post
So a BMW dealer can enable it without installing any third party parts?
They *can* but they won't -- I don't know if it's just policy, or if the BMW tools enforce region-locking of features.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TMR View Post
I plugged in a new autologic to my car and did not see that option anywhere.
Seriously? My shop said it was supported, but I've been waiting for my next trip to have it done. Do you have a support contract with Autologic? I'm told they have *very* good customer service... I'll get more details as I can.
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2009, 02:30 PM   #21
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
328
Rep
10,632
Posts


 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by tintivilus View Post
Seriously? My shop said it was supported, but I've been waiting for my next trip to have it done. Do you have a support contract with Autologic? I'm told they have *very* good customer service... I'll get more details as I can.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tintivilus View Post
Any shop with an up-to-date Autologic can enable remote roll-up on US spec cars.
This feature is not available in autologic (as of CIP55) for e9x models, but was for e46.

Quote:
Originally Posted by armoredsaint View Post
you can thank the lawyers here for us not having that feature as standard like the Euros do - i use my CA strips to roll it up sometimes.
You can also thank them for the ACCEPT screen in iDrive and the convertible tops not closing with the key.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2009, 09:58 PM   #22
SharpPointyStick
Second Lieutenant
Canada
14
Rep
274
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 Alpine White 323i (E90)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vancouver BC

iTrader: (2)

I was sort of hoping a simply programming change BMW was all that would be required, seems like such a little thing to add...oh well
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST