E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Limp mode after JB2 uninstall, BT codes listed



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-09-2010, 09:33 AM   #1
FirstBMWLA
Captain
 
FirstBMWLA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i Coupe
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tucson,AZ

Posts: 774
iTrader: (10)

Limp mode after JB2 uninstall, BT codes listed

A few months ago I had both turbos replaced for a wastegate rattle issue.
Last week I began hearing the rattle coming back so I decided to take out the
JB2 and bring it into dealer.

Once the JB2 was removed the car started giving limp mode codes. I spoke with Terry@BMS and he seemed to think I had put the yellow wire back into the harness wrong. I checked and double checked that and it is installed correctly. I've installed/uninstalled the JB2 many times so I was pretty confident all was right with that.

So I was going to just bring the car into the dealer but on the advisement of Terry(big thank you) he said he wouldn't bring it in till I could get it scanned. So I decided to break down and buy the BT tool. I should be glad I did I guess. When I scanned the car I came up with the tuner code 2D25 and 2ABC and 3100 codes.

Terry requested a picture of my large black subconnector to verify wiring. In the meantime I tried clearing all the codes and they all went away and the car started as normal w/o any limp modes or cels. This was with the ecu cover off and all the cowling still unreplaced. When I replaced all of those parts and tried to take the car for a drive I near immediately got limp mode again.

Now I'm getting just the 2ABC & 3100 codes. It's my understanding that 3100 just signifies the limp mode and 2ABC is the problem. I can't even clear the codes now as they just pop right back up. Any clues as to what else I could check or is it time to just take it to dealer? Also terry advised I check the "voltage of pressure sensor before throttle" on the BT tool and it was railed at 5V. He said it should typically be ~1.9V.

Thanks for help. Sorry for long post.
FirstBMWLA is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-09-2010, 09:38 AM   #2
Mike@N54Tuning.com
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Drives: 07335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Earth

Posts: 14,443
iTrader: (86)

It seems that Terry has taken the time to really work with you on this so I would just finish up with him as its most likely related to the last thing you did, i.e. removed the JB2.

Mike
Mike@N54Tuning.com is online now   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      07-09-2010, 09:45 AM   #3
FirstBMWLA
Captain
 
FirstBMWLA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i Coupe
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tucson,AZ

Posts: 774
iTrader: (10)

Yeah he has been a great resource. Just thought maybe people here may also be able to provide some insight.
Dummy question here but is the TMAP sensor that tunes such as the JB+ interface with the same as the MAP sensor? I ask because terry asked me if I had messed with the map sensor and I'm not even sure where that is. I've never used a tune such as JB+ or had any reason to mess with it if those are the same sensors.
FirstBMWLA is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-09-2010, 10:10 AM   #4
Jon335iFL
Brigadier General
 
Jon335iFL's Avatar
 
Drives: This----------->
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jrz :)

Posts: 4,830
iTrader: (14)

did you revert the boost solenoid also, That would prolly be your problem.
__________________


.
Jon335iFL is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-09-2010, 10:16 AM   #5
FirstBMWLA
Captain
 
FirstBMWLA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i Coupe
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tucson,AZ

Posts: 774
iTrader: (10)

Yes I returned that to stock setup as well. I can double check that too though. Right now I'm comparing pics of my harness to the pics on n54tech for wire colors etc. I don't see any differences between the pics I took and the pics they have.
FirstBMWLA is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-09-2010, 11:22 PM   #6
Jon335iFL
Brigadier General
 
Jon335iFL's Avatar
 
Drives: This----------->
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jrz :)

Posts: 4,830
iTrader: (14)

HMMMMM. Double then triple check. heres what i could come up with.

1. Make sure the DME is sitting flush on ECU. Sometime the slider goes all the way in but it did not catch the track and it seems like its sitting flush when in reality its not.

2. Boost solenoid revert. make sure you did not tear the vacuum line or break the nipple by mistake. if you tore the line simple fix just buy some vacuum line from autzone,pepboys etc..

3. make sure when you slid the pins in that they went all the way down.

4. just for the fun of it check you diverter valves and make sure they are both fastened.

Hope you figure it out bro.
__________________


.
Jon335iFL is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-10-2010, 12:44 AM   #7
FirstBMWLA
Captain
 
FirstBMWLA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i Coupe
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tucson,AZ

Posts: 774
iTrader: (10)

After working with Terry on this we're kind of at a loss. Gonna just take it into dealer.
Right now the limp mode issue is very intermittent. Sometimes you can clear codes and drive 15 miles w/o it other times it comes back right after starting car.

Only guess at this point is a faulty TMAP sensor maybe.
FirstBMWLA is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-10-2010, 12:56 PM   #8
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Jeff@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
 
Drives: C6 Z06, GSXR-750, 09 335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TopGearSolutions.com

Posts: 16,685
iTrader: (31)

Send a message via AIM to Jeff@TopGearSolutions
2ABC Charging pressure sensor, electrical
EXPLANATION: ECU lost connection with tune. Unplugging map sensor or tune with ECU awake will cause this. As will various other tuning related problems.
FIX: Clear code. If it comes back, check tune related wiring and consult with tuner.

****

Ok so its got to be related to your map sensor. Or wiring in the ECU/Connection

Im sure you've tried this many a times but re check your wiring and the map sensor is connected fully too.


I would start with disconnecting the battery for 10 minutes.

Checking all the wiring ETC

Put battery back on

Clearing the Code

Reseting adaptions and Stuff (might need to do that more then once).
Jeff@TopGearSolutions is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-10-2010, 08:54 PM   #9
FirstBMWLA
Captain
 
FirstBMWLA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i Coupe
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tucson,AZ

Posts: 774
iTrader: (10)

I'm going to check the wiring one more time since I have a dealer appointment but I've checked it till I'm blue in the face.

The only wires I've ever touched are 10 & 32 since all I've installed is the JB2. I've checked the connector on pin 10 to make sure it looks ok. The TMAP sensor also appears to be well connected etc. No idea how it could be loose as I've never touched it. Someone mentioned diverter valves. Not even really sure where they are.
FirstBMWLA is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-02-2010, 04:05 PM   #10
john970
1er
 
Drives: 08 135
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Denver

Posts: 1,203
iTrader: (0)

I am having a similar problem in my 135 with a JB1. They've replaced every part they could think of (i have had it in 4 times for this) including the HPFP. It sounds like the tmap wire is loose somehow.
john970 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST