E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Procede Mapswitching (now with Map 3)



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-05-2010, 02:22 PM   #1
Calvin@Vishnu
 
Calvin@Vishnu's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 335i
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NorCal

Posts: 428
iTrader: (0)

Exclamation Procede Mapswitching (now with Map 3)



Just added a new mapswitching method for Procede users. While the current DTC double-click method is still operational, so is this new way. The nice thing about it is that it doesn't have any potential to disrupt your current DTC setting.

All you do is move (and hold for 1 second) your cruise control stalk up or down to toggle through the different maps. Moving it up will increase the map #. Moving it down will decrease the map #. By holding it up or down, it will cycle until it reaches the max/min map #. Very intuitive.

Also New: Map 3
This will solve the customer complaint of autotuning not working when running in progressive meth mode (but with the meth system turned off/run dry).

Map 3 is only available when you have Future use set 1-99 which indicates max meth flow. So those running the default value of 0 will not even see this map. But those running progressive meth mapping will. All they need to do is switch over to Map 3 to have their usual progressive meth mapping with AutoTuning working only when meth is flowing. Nothing new in that respect.

But now, if you choose to turn off your meth harndware (or run out of meth), you don't need to simply resign yourself to running your conservative Map1 boost/timing setting with no AutoTuning. Instead, simply switch over to Map1 and get your AutoTuning active again. So there is no longer a need to hook up your laptop to set Future Use back to 0.

Those who don't run meth probably don't know what this is all about. And that is okay. But those that do will understand and appreciate this change

-C
Calvin@Vishnu is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2010, 02:27 PM   #2
Ilma
Colonel
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: hometown

Posts: 2,480
iTrader: (0)

I like it!

DTC setting disruption was one of those little annoyances.

This improvement reminds me of my former APR flash which used the cruise control stalk in a similar manner....but this is even better and more direct.

Kudos to you guys for improving things before anyone really asks you to.
Ilma is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2010, 02:29 PM   #3
NiVeDh
Major General
 
NiVeDh's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E90 335i 6MT BSM
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX & Atlanta, GA

Posts: 8,000
iTrader: (132)

Garage List
Cool!
NiVeDh is offline   India
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2010, 02:54 PM   #4
forza1976
Brigadier General
 
forza1976's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 A6
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denver CO

Posts: 4,510
iTrader: (11)

Garage List
2014 Audi A6  [5.00]
excellent, i like that option quite a bit.

Question, say you are currently using cruise control and you hold up to change maps. Are there any interruptions to cruise control?
forza1976 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2010, 03:07 PM   #5
AltecBX
Colonel
 
AltecBX's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NYC

Posts: 2,632
iTrader: (0)

Very nice. The DTC is nice but the new method is better. I would love for autotuning values to stay persistent. Now we can switch maps without taking hand off steering wheel. We can use the DTC button to clear values to default. So if I'm running and want that extra boost that autotune hasn't set me to because of my conditions I can just go to map 2 and run extra power and return to my map1 autotuned settings. Instead of clearing values with a map switch, we can clear them with a double click of the DTC button.
__________________
335xi Sedan 6AT | Weather(70-85°F) | N54 Tune Comparison Chart || N54 Turbo Upgrade Comparison Chart
-PROcede Rev. 2.5 ~ v5 (3/17 maps) / JB4 (8/21 maps) / COBB (Stg2+FMIC LT Aggressive maps)
†Procede Map2(UT 45 - IGN 40) Aggression Target 2.0 | 0-60 in 4.0sec || †Cobb E30 LT (35% Ethanol/65% 93 Octane) | 0-60 in 3.9sec
AR Design Catless DP | BMS DCI + OCC | ETS 5 FMIC | Alpina B3 Trans Flash |235/265 19" Michelin PSS
AltecBX is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2010, 03:08 PM   #6
AltecBX
Colonel
 
AltecBX's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NYC

Posts: 2,632
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by forza1976 View Post
excellent, i like that option quite a bit.

Question, say you are currently using cruise control and you hold up to change maps. Are there any interruptions to cruise control?
Good question, but I don't see anybody really changing maps during cruising.
AltecBX is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2010, 03:12 PM   #7
marcel b
Lieutenant Colonel
 
marcel b's Avatar
 
Drives: 1M Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Europe

Posts: 1,864
iTrader: (0)

great feature. Well done
marcel b is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2010, 03:13 PM   #8
forza1976
Brigadier General
 
forza1976's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 A6
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denver CO

Posts: 4,510
iTrader: (11)

Garage List
2014 Audi A6  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by AltecBX View Post
Good question, but I don't see anybody really changing maps during cruising.
Totally agree, was just curious.
forza1976 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2010, 03:18 PM   #9
shiv@vishnu
 
shiv@vishnu's Avatar
 
Drives: PROcede v5
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,609
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by forza1976 View Post
excellent, i like that option quite a bit.

Question, say you are currently using cruise control and you hold up to change maps. Are there any interruptions to cruise control?
If you have cruise control ON, pressing the stalk up or down will just turn off cruise control. But as others mentioned, there's really no conceivable reason to change maps while you have cruise control on. But if you do, all you need to do is hit the resume button and you are back to cruising.

Shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2010, 03:21 PM   #10
SfValley335i
Colonel
 
Drives: Current:135i Sold:335i sedan
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: City of Angels

Posts: 2,363
iTrader: (7)

Send a message via AIM to SfValley335i
nice

Last edited by SfValley335i; 09-05-2010 at 03:21 PM. Reason: someone just posted my question
SfValley335i is offline   Afghanistan
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2010, 03:25 PM   #11
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: The Coding Guy
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Call 917-939-4980

Posts: 18,224
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
If you have cruise control ON, pressing the stalk up or down will just turn off cruise control. But as others mentioned, there's really no conceivable reason to change maps while you have cruise control on. But if you do, all you need to do is hit the resume button and you are back to cruising.

Shiv
When will this update be available???
__________________

Coding E and F New York 917-939-4980
cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2010, 04:06 PM   #12
dmurray14
The Stig
 
dmurray14's Avatar
 
Drives: Quickly
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: US

Posts: 1,230
iTrader: (1)

This is awesome. I actually look forward to when the DTC button isn't used anymore, sometimes I hit the DTC button twice by accident when trying to turn off DSC.
__________________
dmurray14 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2010, 04:21 PM   #13
Pry
Private
 
Drives: e92 335i
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Finland

Posts: 84
iTrader: (0)

The cruise control is optional in Europe so I think there should be another option to switch maps in the future too.
Pry is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2010, 04:33 PM   #14
shiv@vishnu
 
shiv@vishnu's Avatar
 
Drives: PROcede v5
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,609
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pry View Post
The cruise control is optional in Europe so I think there should be another option to switch maps in the future too.
There is. You can still switch maps by the old dtc double-click method.
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2010, 04:56 PM   #15
Brey335i
Brigadier General
 
Brey335i's Avatar
 
Drives: e46 ///M3
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 4,737
iTrader: (11)

That's pretty cool. It's nice to have another way to engage the different maps. Seems like at least once a week, Vishnu has a new update to the Procede. No pressure there guys....
Brey335i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2010, 05:01 PM   #16
AltecBX
Colonel
 
AltecBX's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NYC

Posts: 2,632
iTrader: (0)

Damn, I thought we could of used the DTC for clearing autotuned setting and have map switching persistent.
__________________
335xi Sedan 6AT | Weather(70-85°F) | N54 Tune Comparison Chart || N54 Turbo Upgrade Comparison Chart
-PROcede Rev. 2.5 ~ v5 (3/17 maps) / JB4 (8/21 maps) / COBB (Stg2+FMIC LT Aggressive maps)
†Procede Map2(UT 45 - IGN 40) Aggression Target 2.0 | 0-60 in 4.0sec || †Cobb E30 LT (35% Ethanol/65% 93 Octane) | 0-60 in 3.9sec
AR Design Catless DP | BMS DCI + OCC | ETS 5 FMIC | Alpina B3 Trans Flash |235/265 19" Michelin PSS
AltecBX is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2010, 05:01 PM   #17
Syndicategt
Brigadier General
 
Syndicategt's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Nor Cal

Posts: 3,732
iTrader: (11)

Lovin' my new tune! I thought it was nice enough being able to change maps while driving this new feature is very nice. I can't wait to hook up the meth controller to have all the features running!
__________________
2008 BMW 335i e90 - Sold - Rob Beck Turbos / PROcede V5 / Aquamist HFS-4 / AR Downpipes / AE Exhaust / ER Comp FMIC / ER CP / TiAL BOV / Custom Intake / RPI Scoops / Quaife LSD / Swift-Koni Coilovers / DSS HS / Morr VS8.2 Sig Black / Michelin PSS / P3 Boost Guage / M3 body / M3 steering wheel / Adam's Rotors / Hawk HPS / SS lines /
Syndicategt is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2010, 05:17 PM   #18
ren
Captain
 
Drives: E92 335
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: U.S.

Posts: 825
iTrader: (8)

It also maxes out the fuel and oil temp gauges when changing the map, that's cool. It's always nice to have a few options to do the same thing, as long as it doesn't make things more complicated. Thanks
ren is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2010, 05:19 PM   #19
scottp999
Brigadier General
 
scottp999's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - E92 - 6MT & 4runner SR5
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MD

Posts: 4,589
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [4.50]
Interesting, but turning off meth? running out of meth? Who would ever do that? Not me!
__________________
Rob Beck Turbos, PROcede Rev. 3, Procede Fueling Flash (via OpenFlash Tablet), PPS Methanol System (Devil's Own 12 GPH Nozzle/Aquamist Flow Sensor/Labonte VC25), DCI, Quaife LSD, BMW Performance Suspension, Autobahn Exotics Exhaust, Helix FMIC, AR Design Downpipes, BSH Catch Can, Forge Diverter Valves, P3cars Vent Boost Gauge, Alufelgen CSL Reps, Lux 5.1 H8 Angel Eyes, HPB HID Fogs, LTBMW M3 Side Skirts, BMW M3 Rear Spoiler, BMW Front Aero Lip, BMW Pedal Kit, BMW M Shift Knob, Autotecknic Matte Black Grilles.
scottp999 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2010, 05:28 PM   #20
k726
Member
 
Drives: 2011 335is
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida

Posts: 291
iTrader: (6)

This is exactly what I need! Awesome work.
k726 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2010, 05:53 PM   #21
alextremo
Captain
 
Drives: F10 550i
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA

Posts: 914
iTrader: (3)

This is great!! Just to confirm - when you're in map 3 only map 2 will autotune, and only when meth is flowing. When you switch to map 1 only map 1 will autotune, and when you go back to map 3 it will toggle between the autotuned map 1 and the autotuned map 2 based on meth flow? Is there a way to reset the learning (like what happened previously when you changed maps)?
alextremo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2010, 05:56 PM   #22
shiv@vishnu
 
shiv@vishnu's Avatar
 
Drives: PROcede v5
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,609
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alextremo View Post
This is great!! Just to confirm - when you're in map 3 only map 2 will autotune, and only when meth is flowing.
Correct.

Quote:
When you switch to map 1 only map 1 will autotune
Correct.

Quote:
and when you go back to map 3 it will toggle between the autotuned map 1 and the autotuned map 2 based on meth flow?
Nope. It will morph between map1 settings (non autotuned) and map2 based upon meth flow. And map2 will autotune when meth is flowing.

Quote:
Is there a way to reset the learning (like what happened previously when you changed maps)?
Changing between maps will reset learning. Just like usual.

shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST