E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > JB3 map 5



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-21-2010, 06:36 PM   #1
Forcefed3
Banned
No_Country
64
Rep
4,742
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 335i  [0.50]
JB3 map 5

about to purchase a jb3, do i need the BT cable to run map 5? it says it wount throw codes but could it?
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2010, 06:59 PM   #2
Kroy
Brigadier General
Kroy's Avatar
United_States
39
Rep
3,035
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (1)

This belongs in the technical section, but I would recommend BT for any tune. You can throw codes even with JB+ at defult settings (not likely though). Some folks have thrown codes JB3 map 3 and some are able to daily map 5 with no codes.

Also, since you did golf-t mod, I'm thinking there's a good chance you already have a few codes. You can just get your codes cleared before going into dealership though, so again it's your preference.
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2010, 07:36 PM   #3
5soko
Brigadier General
5soko's Avatar
75
Rep
4,221
Posts

 
Drives: M5
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY

iTrader: (4)

I run map 7 on a fully stock car for almsot 3 years and never threw a code
Running Map7 on my new 2010 E90 335i for over 500 miles and havent thrown a code

Map 5 you should be fine. The BT cable is a really good investment though.
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2010, 07:41 PM   #4
Kroy
Brigadier General
Kroy's Avatar
United_States
39
Rep
3,035
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5soko335i View Post
I run map 7 on a fully stock car for almsot 3 years and never threw a code
Running Map7 on my new 2010 E90 335i for over 500 miles and havent thrown a code

Map 5 you should be fine. The BT cable is a really good investment though.
Running on 91?
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2010, 07:45 PM   #5
CollinsE90
Where my bitches
CollinsE90's Avatar
United_States
227
Rep
1,927
Posts

 
Drives: Cadillac coupe deville
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: street corner checking profits

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5soko335i View Post
I run map 7 on a fully stock car for almsot 3 years and never threw a code
Running Map7 on my new 2010 E90 335i for over 500 miles and havent thrown a code

Map 5 you should be fine. The BT cable is a really good investment though.
not all codes light up on the dash, some hide in the ECU to where it takes the BT cable or the dealer to see

buy the BT cable man
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2010, 08:08 PM   #6
persian54
Lieutenant General
persian54's Avatar
United_States
285
Rep
15,812
Posts

 
Drives: SL550. Prev: E93 M3/335i/Z435i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Valley, SoCal

iTrader: (291)

7 on 91?

I get misfires on 5 and i have fmic and dp

but then it's 91 octane.....
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2010, 09:48 PM   #7
5soko
Brigadier General
5soko's Avatar
75
Rep
4,221
Posts

 
Drives: M5
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY

iTrader: (4)

93 octane and i ran the BT cable last week from a friend with a pro one

My Map 7 is custom tuned for my car and NOT recommened for everyone but it is just a example, every car is different but on Map5 im sure you will be fine.
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2010, 06:30 AM   #8
cotmfk
Brigadier General
cotmfk's Avatar
41
Rep
3,510
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: DC, MD, VA

iTrader: (11)

You could just run Map 3 until you have enough supporting mods. Is the extra 20 or so whp really worth it? Sometimes I think people are not really thinking rationally when they switch to the highest map available.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2010, 09:17 AM   #9
persian54
Lieutenant General
persian54's Avatar
United_States
285
Rep
15,812
Posts

 
Drives: SL550. Prev: E93 M3/335i/Z435i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Valley, SoCal

iTrader: (291)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5soko335i View Post
93 octane and i ran the BT cable last week from a friend with a pro one

My Map 7 is custom tuned for my car and NOT recommened for everyone but it is just a example, every car is different but on Map5 im sure you will be fine.
o 93
and a special map
lucky

lol
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2010, 12:20 PM   #10
hjernazian
Lieutenant
12
Rep
458
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E92 M3
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Glendale, CA

iTrader: (0)

i'm running Map 3 with 91 octane. Pretty much the only other mods I have is an aFe Stage 2 DCI with grille scoops, and the golf tee mod. Will running Map 5 have too many negative consequences with 91 octane? I know the guide said you shouldn't run it with anything under 93 octane.
__________________
'07 E92 | Space Grey | Sport | Premium | JB3 | aFe DCI Stage 2
Appreciate 0
      09-29-2010, 07:40 PM   #11
Coleharris
2007 335i (JB3/aFe DCI)
United_States
1
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 E90
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hermosa Beach

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to Coleharris
I would strongly suggest to run it on higher octane. I was installed my JB3 and then changed the map setting to what i thought was MAP 3 but since it was set at MAP3 as default, i moved it to map6. I had aFe DCI only at that time. When i got out on the road and got on it, i heard a "pop", then my car would not go over 40mph and wouldnt change gears...kinda scary.

Conclusion: Since i was not running on 93 or higher octane, the engine misfired and the turbo inlet tube popped off. (It is the chrome hose in the picture). I just changed back to the map3 and put a double clamp on it for time being before I looked into changing out the pipe/BOV.

Again, I would strongly suggest running the recommend Octane IMO
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      09-29-2010, 07:45 PM   #12
Belarus
Brigadier General
Belarus's Avatar
Canada
58
Rep
3,904
Posts

 
Drives: E93 335i
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: GTA

iTrader: (11)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coleharris View Post
I would strongly suggest to run it on higher octane. I was installed my JB3 and then changed the map setting to what i thought was MAP 3 but since it was set at MAP3 as default, i moved it to map6. I had aFe DCI only at that time. When i got out on the road and got on it, i heard a "pop", then my car would not go over 40mph and wouldnt change gears...kinda scary.

Conclusion: Since i was not running on 93 or higher octane, the engine misfired and the turbo inlet tube popped off. (It is the chrome hose in the picture). I just changed back to the map3 and put a double clamp on it for time being before I looked into changing out the pipe/BOV.

Again, I would strongly suggest running the recommend Octane IMO
Also known as Charge Pipe on this forum
__________________

12.770 @ 112.81 mph||slip||JB4|FMIC|DPs|DCI|N54 DVs|ER CP|Koni FSD|Eibach-Pro|F Strut-bar|R Sway-bar|Hankooks V12|DPE SP16|BBK|15%Tint|CF Front Lip|CF Diffuser|M3 Spoiler|SmartTop|LUX AE|Debadged
Appreciate 0
      09-29-2010, 07:53 PM   #13
ttbmer
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
21
Rep
1,846
Posts

 
Drives: space gray on black 07 335i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: las Vegas nv

iTrader: (15)

Send a message via MSN to ttbmer Send a message via Skype™ to ttbmer
Running map 4 and bms DCI, 1000miles after no codes, runs great! I'm mixing half 100oct and 91oct, cus there's nothing else here in Vegas besides that and E85. I am also planing to buy a BT cable just in chase.
Appreciate 0
      09-29-2010, 08:18 PM   #14
Mike@N54Tuning.com
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Canada
480
Rep
15,049
Posts


 
Drives: 07335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Earth

iTrader: (88)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ttbmer View Post
Running map 4 and bms DCI, 1000miles after no codes, runs great! I'm mixing half 100oct and 91oct, cus there's nothing else here in Vegas besides that and E85. I am also planing to buy a BT cable just in chase.
Try map5. You might like the extra low end punch

Mike
__________________
LOWEST PRICE GURANTEE ON ALL PRODUCTS - www.n54tuning.com - Email; Mike@n54tuning.com
NEW PERFORMANCE LINE N54 DOWNPIPES & M3/M4 & F30 ER DOWNPIPES NOW IN STOCK - ER N54 CHARPE PIPE SPECIALS - NEW JB4 G5 ISO for N54 and F30 N55 ON SALE - NEW S55 M3/M4 JB4 NOW SHIPPING
Appreciate 0
      09-29-2010, 10:13 PM   #15
kushtrim
Major
kushtrim's Avatar
Albania
13
Rep
1,091
Posts

 
Drives: AW 335i coupe
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: bronx N.Y

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 335i coupe  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike@N54Tuning.com View Post
Try map5. You might like the extra low end punch

Mike
would it be ok to run map 5 on a stock car with oct 93 gas
__________________
M-tech front and rear bumpers /M3 style side skirts/gloss black painted roof/ black window trim/Matt black grill/35%tints/4"dimisaTips/CF splitters/M3 style trunk spoiler/VMR V70s/JB4/BMS dci/AMS FMIC/H&R sport with BMW performance shocks.
Thanx Sal and he's crew@AutoCoutureMotoring
Appreciate 0
      09-30-2010, 09:46 AM   #16
RambleJ
Colonel
RambleJ's Avatar
No_Country
27
Rep
2,013
Posts

 
Drives: F10 535i M-sport
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Back in teh so cal

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coleharris View Post
I would strongly suggest to run it on higher octane. I was installed my JB3 and then changed the map setting to what i thought was MAP 3 but since it was set at MAP3 as default, i moved it to map6. I had aFe DCI only at that time. When i got out on the road and got on it, i heard a "pop", then my car would not go over 40mph and wouldnt change gears...kinda scary.

Conclusion: Since i was not running on 93 or higher octane, the engine misfired and the turbo inlet tube popped off. (It is the chrome hose in the picture). I just changed back to the map3 and put a double clamp on it for time being before I looked into changing out the pipe/BOV.

Again, I would strongly suggest running the recommend Octane IMO
Did you change maps using the gas pedal? If you did, you were not running map 6 you were only running map 3. When you hold the pedal down, it's a restart back to map 0, then however many times you press in the pedal thats what map you will be in. It does not add to the map you are presently in.
Appreciate 0
      09-30-2010, 11:51 AM   #17
Coleharris
2007 335i (JB3/aFe DCI)
United_States
1
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 E90
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hermosa Beach

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to Coleharris
"Map switching directions:

Insert keyfob and press start button to turn ignition on (lights on dash, but engine not running). Press and hold the gas pedal down to the floor for 4 or more seconds, and then release pedal. This puts the JB3 in to listen mode. If you start the engine at this point you will be on map 0. For performance maps press the gas pedal to the floor and quickly release one time for each map you would like to select. For example for map 3 press and release the gas 3 times, and start the engine. Your map setting will be saved until changed. If you forget what map you are on, turn engine off and reset the map selection. With new installs or when burning a chip map 3 is always selected by default. So you only need to pay attention to this guide if you would like to disable the JB3 or change maps."

It doesnt say that when you put the JB3 into listening mode that it goes back to 0 and you start over. I may be wrong but how I read it is that it remembers your previous MAP and then adds to it...It was right after I installed the JB3 so default would have been MAP3...then 3 more puts it to 6. If I am reading this differently, my bad, but it doesnt say specifically that it adds to it or what when changing MAPS, just how to go to MAP 0 and start from there.
Appreciate 0
      09-30-2010, 11:57 AM   #18
ezatnova
Colonel
ezatnova's Avatar
United_States
33
Rep
2,188
Posts

 
Drives: C63 AMG
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West Chester, PA

iTrader: (5)

"It doesnt say that when you put the JB3 into listening mode that it goes back to 0 and you start over."

Directly from what you pasted below: "This puts the JB3 in to listen mode. If you start the engine at this point you will be on map 0."




Quote:
Originally Posted by Coleharris View Post
"Map switching directions:

Insert keyfob and press start button to turn ignition on (lights on dash, but engine not running). Press and hold the gas pedal down to the floor for 4 or more seconds, and then release pedal. This puts the JB3 in to listen mode. If you start the engine at this point you will be on map 0. For performance maps press the gas pedal to the floor and quickly release one time for each map you would like to select. For example for map 3 press and release the gas 3 times, and start the engine. Your map setting will be saved until changed. If you forget what map you are on, turn engine off and reset the map selection. With new installs or when burning a chip map 3 is always selected by default. So you only need to pay attention to this guide if you would like to disable the JB3 or change maps."

It doesnt say that when you put the JB3 into listening mode that it goes back to 0 and you start over. I may be wrong but how I read it is that it remembers your previous MAP and then adds to it...It was right after I installed the JB3 so default would have been MAP3...then 3 more puts it to 6. If I am reading this differently, my bad, but it doesnt say specifically that it adds to it or what when changing MAPS, just how to go to MAP 0 and start from there.
Appreciate 0
      09-30-2010, 12:22 PM   #19
scrufy
Zoom Zoom This
scrufy's Avatar
United_States
7
Rep
691
Posts

 
Drives: The Short Bus
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: So. Cal.

iTrader: (0)

I get a lot of limp modes if I run map 5 with crappy 91 on hot afternoons. Running JB3/DP/BMI/OEM Perf Exhaust.
If its cool out I'm fine with map 7 but if its hot, map 3.
Get the BT. iI nothing else suppose your on a long trip and get a bunch of codes. Might be nice to see what it is and if you can safely drive it for a month or if it needs to get dealered right away. Helps me feel like I'm still a little in control with a car that isn't the most reliable (as far as throwing codes from everything from tail light to VANOS).
Appreciate 0
      09-30-2010, 12:38 PM   #20
Coleharris
2007 335i (JB3/aFe DCI)
United_States
1
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 E90
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hermosa Beach

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to Coleharris
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezatnova View Post
"It doesnt say that when you put the JB3 into listening mode that it goes back to 0 and you start over."

Directly from what you pasted below: "This puts the JB3 in to listen mode. If you start the engine at this point you will be on map 0."

What we are talking about is not how to get back to MAP 0, that is easy but what we are wondering is when you are on say MAP3 and you put the JB3 into "listening mode" where are you starting from? Does it go up from your current MAP or does it go back to MAP0 and start over?
Appreciate 0
      09-30-2010, 01:46 PM   #21
UCF 335
Second Lieutenant
4
Rep
240
Posts

 
Drives: Monaco 335i Sedan
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jax, FL

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coleharris View Post
What we are talking about is not how to get back to MAP 0, that is easy but what we are wondering is when you are on say MAP3 and you put the JB3 into "listening mode" where are you starting from? Does it go up from your current MAP or does it go back to MAP0 and start over?
It goes from Map 0...Listen Mode = Stock

If you're on Map 3...Hold The Pedal Down Then Press It 3 Times, You're On Map 3 not Map 6
Appreciate 0
      09-30-2010, 02:00 PM   #22
PhiDeltBeers
Lieutenant
United_States
15
Rep
538
Posts

 
Drives: R35 GT-R
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tulsa, OK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by goblue8 View Post
It goes from Map 0...Listen Mode = Stock

If you're on Map 3...Hold The Pedal Down Then Press It 3 Times, You're On Map 3 not Map 6
We have a winner. You were never on Map 6.
__________________
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST