E90Post

Lux Angel Eyes

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Off-Topic Discussions > Mac Help

09-30-2010, 11:41 AM   #1
jonsteele
Old enough to know better!

Drives: 320d M Sport, Le Mans Blue

Garage List
Mac Help

I've finally decided to give my laptop the push as I'm fed up of it running slow, being unreliable and Windows crashing all the time! Given my usage I've gone for an iPad for browsing etc and a Mac for general use. The Mac will also be hooked up to a Sonos music system - the plan being to get all my music (iTunes and ripped CDs) onto a large external drive (eventually doing the same with my DVDs).

I've never had anything to do with Macs and the local Apple shop is suggesting I give them my laptop (and the wife's) for 2 weeks to transfer all the files on to the Mac! I'm not IT illiterate (I work in IT) and would rather not be without a laptop for 2 weeks, especially as I'd have to pay for the privilege. So, my questions are:

1. Can I just transfer the files I want onto an external drive and the Mac will be able to read them? If so, can they stay in Windows folders and are there any formats the Mac won't cope with (I'm getting Office for Mac)? If not, what's the best way of getting the files from Windows to the Mac? The files will be mainly Word docs, images, videos.
2. How easy is it to transfer iTunes libraries? There'll be 2 (mine and she who must be obeyed's), so they'll need to reside under different users - do Macs support separate users?

Any help and advice would be gratefully received.
Le Mans Blue/18" Alloys/Bi Xenons/Climate Screen/Black, Heated Dakota Leather/6 CD Changer with Dension 500/Power Mirrors/M3 Lip Spoiler/Gloss Black Grills/Through Load, Storage pack, Lumbar Support, Smokers Deletion
jonsteele is offline   United Kingdom
Appreciate 0
      09-30-2010, 01:10 PM   #2
Carrera RSR
Colonel

Drives: E61 M Sport + 924 Turbo

Garage List