E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > need advice on changing hifi system



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-13-2010, 11:12 PM   #1
moto_noob
Private First Class
 
Drives: '06 e90 325i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Louisiana

Posts: 149
iTrader: (1)

need advice on changing hifi system

I am new to car audio, so please do not flame me, i've read many many pages on the forum and still haven't found the answer. so any help from audio gurus on here would be great.

I have the hifi system in my car. I plan on putting a carpc in and remove the stock HU altogether, i don't have idrive. I plan on keeping the factory speakers but will need to use a different amp, so i'm guessing I won't need to do any rewiring correct? Also I would like to know if this amp is capable to be used in the install
http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PU...eries/GM-6400F

or
SONY-XPLOD-XM-554Z
as it has speaker level inputs
thank you
moto_noob is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-14-2010, 01:23 AM   #2
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 3,650
iTrader: (0)

Some info

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=352586

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=365866

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=138949

You are going to put these cheap amps in your 50k car?

The weakest link is the cheap speakers if you amplify them very much they are likely to blow.

The systems in these cars are not like and average car for instance the head unit put out a balanced or differential signal the amp needs to be able to accept it .( or you get adaptors that change it)

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=368847
Jl audio link above






There are many threads in here with example systems

Last edited by ctuna; 10-14-2010 at 01:45 AM.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-14-2010, 08:46 AM   #3
moto_noob
Private First Class
 
Drives: '06 e90 325i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Louisiana

Posts: 149
iTrader: (1)

Thank you for the links. I would consider putting in a more expensive amp if I were replacing the stock speakers. Also I see most systems installs on the forum keep the oem headunit or relocating it to the trunk. But I'm taking it out completely.
moto_noob is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-14-2010, 12:19 PM   #4
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 3,650
iTrader: (0)

Some if not all of the speakers have a 2 ohm rating

Some if not all of the speakers have a 2 ohm rating.
Amps have a rating for 4 and 2 ohm 4 being more typical
From talking to people and reading this board you can get some improvement
by amping the stock system but the OEM speakers are extremely cheap
and won't take a Lott of power.

If you take out the head unit you will loose some of the audio alarms for seat belts
etc..bluetooth if you have it but you probably have that on the unit your putting in
also steering wheel controls

Last edited by ctuna; 10-14-2010 at 12:38 PM.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-14-2010, 12:42 PM   #5
moto_noob
Private First Class
 
Drives: '06 e90 325i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Louisiana

Posts: 149
iTrader: (1)

ic. so i should be more concerned regarding the 2 ohm rating instead of the line level input because input would not be from the HU anymore. is this correct? I'm not really looking at add any "umph" or anything, just to get sound working as i'm not really that much of an audiophile.

i see that the pioneer gives 4 x 75 at 2ohms, and the sony gives 4x 65 at 2 ohms. So I don't think this should be too much for the oem speakers, as i read someone uses the pdx-5 which also gives 4 x 75 at 2 ohms.

Correct me if i'm wrong please.

Last edited by moto_noob; 10-14-2010 at 12:55 PM.
moto_noob is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-14-2010, 04:04 PM   #6
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 3,650
iTrader: (0)

If you are changing your head unit.

You don't have to be concerned with input to the amp if your are removing the oem amp. If you are running the new head unit into the old amp you have to match the inputs it takes ( balanced) . The 2 ohm speaker rating is not listed anywhere I am assuming its not that much .

The stock doors from the OEM amp are 25 watts I am assuming thats peak power since they don't list RMS
thats about 15watts rms maybe so you are going to 65 ot 75 rms which is 4x the power.

Last edited by ctuna; 10-14-2010 at 04:31 PM.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-14-2010, 05:13 PM   #7
moto_noob
Private First Class
 
Drives: '06 e90 325i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Louisiana

Posts: 149
iTrader: (1)

So your saying I need a 60 watt 4 channel amp??
moto_noob is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-14-2010, 09:35 PM   #8
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 3,650
iTrader: (0)

I think you need to upgrade the speakers first

If you add an Amp you need to upgrade speakers also you need to understand the car already has an amp in the Trunk and you will need to bypass/remove the amp or run off its outputs to add more power(which is not a clean way to do it running and amp off another amp). And the amp in the trunk uses differential balanced Input signals if you use it . If you add a head unit and keep the OEM amp the head unit needs to be able to supply it with balanced signals.

You should spend some time reading those links I supplied also there have been a lot of people that have had upgrade examples on the Hi Fi lately try to find them and study what they did, before doing anything.

You said you didn't care about stereo that much so why are you adding and amp in the first place.
I think if you upgrade the amp it makes sense to upgrade the speakers to.
Since BMW does not post the power handling ability of its speakers its impossible to tell how much they will take but whatever it is that would be the max.

If you read the existing specs for the system it lists 180watts its a 6 channel amp it has
40 watt for each under seat speaker and 25 for each door speaker tweeter set.
You have to think of power on a by channel basis not total power also there is an issue
about how the power is rated peak or rms.

Last edited by ctuna; 10-14-2010 at 10:18 PM.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-14-2010, 09:51 PM   #9
moto_noob
Private First Class
 
Drives: '06 e90 325i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Louisiana

Posts: 149
iTrader: (1)

i did read the posts you linked and other posts. i was planning on putting in an amp to run the output of the carpc to the factory speakers. yea i was searching for the power rating of the speakers to no avail, so nobody knows what it is?
moto_noob is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-14-2010, 10:38 PM   #10
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 3,650
iTrader: (0)

did you look these best bmw info from bmw

http://www.e90post.com/forums/attach...2&d=1260829447

http://www.e90post.com/forums/attach...1&d=1209780865

You have a six channel amp now

4 channels for doors
2 for underseats
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-14-2010, 11:22 PM   #11
moto_noob
Private First Class
 
Drives: '06 e90 325i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Louisiana

Posts: 149
iTrader: (1)

nice. thanks for the diagram with the oem power rating. hmmm, finding a 6 channel amp will turn out to be more pricey than i want it to be. i guess i'll just relocate the oem radio then. would you know if the harness used to relocate it will retain the aux input?

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...light=relocate
moto_noob is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-15-2010, 02:16 AM   #12
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 3,650
iTrader: (0)

Some people just run the Fronts on 4 channels

Some people just run the Fronts on 4 channels
2 channels for the doors and 2 to the floors.
Most upgrade speakers at the same time.
Its unclear what they do with the rears.

Does relocating the stock stereo mean to a place where it can be used?
I would imagine if you did that and all the wireing was the same it would work.

But does your carputer also function as a head unit ?

you need to get Technic and VP Electricity to answer some of this
as I have only researched amps and speakers.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-15-2010, 11:32 PM   #13
moto_noob
Private First Class
 
Drives: '06 e90 325i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Louisiana

Posts: 149
iTrader: (1)

If anyone can chime in on this question, the harness that is used to relocate the oem HU, I know the plug goes into the oem radio, but where do they wires hook up? Are they spliced into the factory amp?
moto_noob is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2010, 10:47 AM   #14
moto_noob
Private First Class
 
Drives: '06 e90 325i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Louisiana

Posts: 149
iTrader: (1)

any that has relocated their oem HU can tell me?
moto_noob is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2010, 01:16 PM   #15
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 3,650
iTrader: (0)

Do a search on Head Unit

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...ight=Head+Unit

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...light=relocate

This might be of some help
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2010, 09:53 PM   #16
moto_noob
Private First Class
 
Drives: '06 e90 325i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Louisiana

Posts: 149
iTrader: (1)

thanks ctuna for all the help, i had read those two threads already. i think i have figured out how to do it. I have decided to run my carpc to an equalizer, then the output will go to the factory amp. will solder the metra harness wires to make rca cables to go into the equalizer.
moto_noob is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2010, 10:51 PM   #17
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 3,650
iTrader: (0)

Technic makes and sell harnesses

I don't know if they can be of any help.
Also you will need a fiberoptic cable extension for the most bus if its not included in the harness kits . I saw one in one of these threads somewhere
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2010, 11:26 PM   #18
moto_noob
Private First Class
 
Drives: '06 e90 325i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Louisiana

Posts: 149
iTrader: (1)

hifi doesn't have fiber, only the logic 7 i believe. but i'll be taking out the hu, no longer needing to relocate it anymore.
moto_noob is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2010, 02:53 AM   #19
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 3,650
iTrader: (0)

Hi Fi has fiberoptic to bluetooth and cd player

It doesn't have fiberoptics to the amp but I think it has it to other accesories like bluetooth, distance milage computer, cd changer etc.. its shown in that entertainmaint.pdf . Im not that sure on this.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2010, 11:50 AM   #20
VP Electricity
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
VP Electricity's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

Posts: 3,169
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by moto_noob View Post
hifi doesn't have fiber, only the logic 7 i believe. but i'll be taking out the hu, no longer needing to relocate it anymore.
Right...and wrong.

The HU is on the CAN bus and that's the one that will throw errors. I recommend relocation.

I also think that HU replacement using OEM speakers is ... backwards?
__________________
musicar northwest portland or musicarnw.com

Web site migration complete, still repairing problems. Sorry!
VP Electricity is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2010, 03:30 PM   #21
moto_noob
Private First Class
 
Drives: '06 e90 325i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Louisiana

Posts: 149
iTrader: (1)

I know that hifi was on CANBUS, but I thought that was for the the chimes? I read the thread on relocation that wires had to be sent from the front harness to back to the oem hu to retain chimes, but I hate the chimes lol. VP what do you mean by backwards? I didn't get any reply on the relocation harness so I was unsure where the harness that goes into the hu goes, do you splice it into the amp?
moto_noob is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2010, 04:19 PM   #22
cb1111
I ask the questions you're afraid to ask.
 
cb1111's Avatar
 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: DC

Posts: 2,489
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by moto_noob View Post
I know that hifi was on CANBUS, but I thought that was for the the chimes? I read the thread on relocation that wires had to be sent from the front harness to back to the oem hu to retain chimes, but I hate the chimes lol. VP what do you mean by backwards? I didn't get any reply on the relocation harness so I was unsure where the harness that goes into the hu goes, do you splice it into the amp?
Without relocating the headunit you will almost 100% have warranty issues as there will be an error the moment they read the codes.

Relocating the unit is no guarantee that you won't have warranty issues but you won't have as many.

VP meant that it was backwards to do the HU and retain the stock speakers.
cb1111 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST