E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Retrofitting Sirius with a used unit



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-16-2010, 03:15 PM   #1
Baudiod
New Member
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 328i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Orlando, Florida

Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)

Retrofitting Sirius with a used unit

I have been going nuts. 3 months ago I purchased a '07 BMW 328i with sat prep without iDrive and I wanted to retro fit it for Sirius. I followed the outstanding writeup in this forum but I was told from the Dealer somethings that I want to ask you fine people about.

I purchased a used unit online and when I tried to have the unit parred with my car, the dealer first told me the unit was inoperable and that I need to buy new and it would be approx $1300.00. I then took it to another BMW dealer to validate this and they said once a unit is installed in a car, it cannot be installed in another.

Is this true?
Baudiod is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2010, 06:48 PM   #2
Baudiod
New Member
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 328i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Orlando, Florida

Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)

Clarity

Let me clarify my question.

Is the OEM Sirius module only to be installed once? Once it is "married" to a car, cannot it not be installed in another? Is there security measures that prevent it from being installed again?

Anyone?
Baudiod is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2010, 06:50 PM   #3
Express
Major General
 
Express's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 330i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Promise Land

Posts: 8,701
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2006 BMW 330i  [4.15]
i was under the assumption it can be used in another vehicle.. i don't see why not
Express is offline   Israel
0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2010, 06:53 PM   #4
ZuerstBMW
¡Viva España!
 
ZuerstBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: 14 SG F15 / 12 Glacier F30
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tampa, FL.

Posts: 7,396
iTrader: (68)

Was it Fields BMW?
I dont why the unit you purchased wouldnt work.
__________________
14 F15 X5 3.5i M-Sport SG Terra, Fineline Oak, Driver Pkg, Prem. Pkg, H/K, Spare, 20" 469M Rims, Park Assist, Surround View, Shades MODS Performance Black Grille & Rocker Panel Decals, Painted Reflectors, 3M Bra, Black OEM X5 Frame 12 F30 328i Sport Line Glacier Silver Black w/ Red Stitching, Xenons, Prem Pkg, Sirus, Heated Seats MODS 3M Bra( w/ Rockers), Side/Rear Window Shades, Perf. Grill & Rear Spoiler, Painted Reflectors, Red Line mats, Black OEM BMW Frame, Xenon Fogs
ZuerstBMW is offline   Spain
0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2010, 11:04 PM   #5
Baudiod
New Member
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 328i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Orlando, Florida

Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)

Yes it was Fields. I got so many different stories that I couldnt keep it straight but I am still confused.
Has anyone ever installed a used unit??
Did it work?
Baudiod is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2010, 11:06 PM   #6
Express
Major General
 
Express's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 330i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Promise Land

Posts: 8,701
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2006 BMW 330i  [4.15]
fields is legitimately retarded. go to another dealer
Express is offline   Israel
0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2010, 11:30 PM   #7
moto_noob
Private First Class
 
Drives: '06 e90 325i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Louisiana

Posts: 149
iTrader: (1)

they'll tell you almost anything inorder for you to shell out money. especially if you seem unknowledgeable on the matter
moto_noob is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2010, 06:07 PM   #8
1997gtx
Lieutenant
 
1997gtx's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 328xi | 08 S5 | 02 S4
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CT

Posts: 530
iTrader: (0)

Go somewhere else. I just picked up a 328xi last week and my local dealer said they could program any of them.
__________________
08 328xi - SOLD | 08 S5 | 02 S4
1997gtx is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2010, 06:11 PM   #9
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 9,901
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baudiod View Post
Let me clarify my question.

Is the OEM Sirius module only to be installed once? Once it is "married" to a car, cannot it not be installed in another? Is there security measures that prevent it from being installed again?

Anyone?
Your dealer is giving false info.

Coding only tells the radio a Sirius module is present. The Sirius modules are not married to the vehicle.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com · web: www.europeanautosource.com · tel 866.669.0705 · ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG · FACEBOOK · YOUTUBE · FLICKR · INSTAGRAM
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST