E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > All-Wheel-Drive (Xi / xDrive) Talk > does the 335Xi have the option to be RWD like an STI?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-22-2010, 11:08 AM   #23
blacksail337
Private First Class
 
blacksail337's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335xi
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: fredericksburg, va

Posts: 190
iTrader: (0)

i wouldn't think so since as someone mentioned above the car electronically sends a large percentage of the power to rear wheels a majority of the time anyway right?

i don't believe our fronts start getting signifigant power until some wheelspin actually occurs

i do know for a fact that the transfer case has some electric servo motor mounted to it with a few small gears that go into the case itself, cause that part is what i believe is broken/throwing codes on my car
blacksail337 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2010, 12:50 PM   #24
wakeboarder109
Lieutenant Colonel
 
wakeboarder109's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335xi --> 06 BSM 330i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 804

Posts: 1,719
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to wakeboarder109
I don't know whether anyone else has but I just spoke to Shiv and he said that this is not something he has looked into but would be willing to in the future if he had access to an xi.
wakeboarder109 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2010, 01:05 PM   #25
ajsalida
Lieutenant Colonel
 
ajsalida's Avatar
 
Drives: 95 M3, 02 R1150GSA, 09 335xi
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SW USA

Posts: 1,578
iTrader: (2)

As far as I know the RWD is via a conventional driveshaft from the tranny straight through the transfer case to the rear diff (no break). The clutches in the TC to the front diff work off that shaft. That is why the most torque that can go to the front is 50% (50/50 F/R split when clutches lock up).

edit: this is probably one reason why there is no 4WD hi/lo. ANyway here is a cutaway of an xdrive transfer case

http://www.awdwiki.com/xdrive.html


Last edited by ajsalida; 10-22-2010 at 01:16 PM.
ajsalida is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2010, 04:13 PM   #26
jokergerm
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: seattle

Posts: 538
iTrader: (0)

God dammit, if i would have known that you could just pull a stupid fuse or make a switch to disable a fuse to make the XI RWD, i would have bought the 335xi in stead.

F my life. Im pist. I love awd, just wanted to be able to still have the fun of RWD when i wanted to play.

S***
jokergerm is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2010, 04:20 PM   #27
sneaks
Lieutenant
 
sneaks's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 335xi
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: 24 Sussex

Posts: 431
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 335xi  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by jokergerm View Post
God dammit, if i would have known that you could just pull a stupid fuse or make a switch to disable a fuse to make the XI RWD, i would have bought the 335xi in stead.

F my life. Im pist. I love awd, just wanted to be able to still have the fun of RWD when i wanted to play.

S***
Heh, its not that simple.. First of all, you can't turn the wipers off when you pull the fuse and the gauge cluster lights up like a christmas tree.

I think the easiest solution would be a plug to intercept the signals going into the transfer case so you can modify the values. It would still have to return an acceptable value to the stability computer so the dashboard doesn't look like a christmas tree.
sneaks is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2010, 07:56 PM   #28
Alchem
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chicago

Posts: 422
iTrader: (0)

Just tried this. So awesome. But I hope Shiv can get it to work without the errors.
Alchem is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-23-2010, 01:24 PM   #29
Avery
Second Lieutenant
 
Avery's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 335i, 2010 X5
Join Date: May 2007
Location: US

Posts: 271
iTrader: (5)

Okay, so I tried it out and it was funny driving around with the wipers running and it not raining. Went out of town and was able to lay down about 10ft of rubber on the road no brake torque just flooring it from a stop before I let off the gas. I don't know how long it would have gone but I was getting side ways. Pretty crazy. It's amazing with xdrive on how I can take off so hard compared with the fuse pulled. I am running BMW performace Package and JB+ at 75% and dci.
__________________
Avery is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-23-2010, 07:46 PM   #30
OverDrive
CHEAT TO WIN!!
 
OverDrive's Avatar
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto

Posts: 1,328
iTrader: (0)

Wow I'm so glad I came across this thread. Good info here.

Although, I'm pretty sure that pulling a fuse will throw a code so you guys better get your codes cleared by some one with a BT device before you take your car to the dealer for service, that is if you still have warranty.
OverDrive is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      10-24-2010, 12:25 AM   #31
Nikolas
Colonel
 
Drives: 996 TT
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sierra Mountains

Posts: 2,068
iTrader: (0)

Since when is the STI capable of this?
Nikolas is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-24-2010, 10:22 AM   #32
UltraRacer13
Wannabe Track Rat
 
UltraRacer13's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 335xi e92 MT
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Texas

Posts: 911
iTrader: (1)

buddy of mine has an R32- same thing- pull one fuse and its RWD. We can and must find the way to get this done. am a JB3 guy- so I am going to ask Terry.
__________________

XI | COBB | AST | Vorshlag | PFC | STETT | StopTech | Apex | DCI
UltraRacer13 is offline   British Virgin Islands
0
Reply With Quote
      10-24-2010, 01:37 PM   #33
Amdahl
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: East

Posts: 41
iTrader: (0)

There is probably no stability control when you pull the fuse.
Amdahl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-24-2010, 02:58 PM   #34
Avery
Second Lieutenant
 
Avery's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 335i, 2010 X5
Join Date: May 2007
Location: US

Posts: 271
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amdahl View Post
There is probably no stability control when you pull the fuse.
Correct, it would not be possible since its disable with xdrive when the fuse is pulled.
__________________
Avery is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-24-2010, 04:46 PM   #35
Alchem
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chicago

Posts: 422
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by OverDrive View Post
Wow I'm so glad I came across this thread. Good info here.

Although, I'm pretty sure that pulling a fuse will throw a code so you guys better get your codes cleared by some one with a BT device before you take your car to the dealer for service, that is if you still have warranty.
I dont think a fuse code is a big a deal. That is if it even throws a code.
Alchem is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-24-2010, 06:33 PM   #36
ajsalida
Lieutenant Colonel
 
ajsalida's Avatar
 
Drives: 95 M3, 02 R1150GSA, 09 335xi
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SW USA

Posts: 1,578
iTrader: (2)

So with the fuse pulled was the rear diff was working like an e-diff? Were you able to lay down 2 strips of rubber? If so that is very interesting....
ajsalida is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-24-2010, 09:01 PM   #37
Avery
Second Lieutenant
 
Avery's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 335i, 2010 X5
Join Date: May 2007
Location: US

Posts: 271
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajsalida View Post
So with the fuse pulled was the rear diff was working like an e-diff? Were you able to lay down 2 strips of rubber? If so that is very interesting....
Well now that I think about it I am almost positive there were strips from both tires laying down rubber. I of course can always try again
__________________
Avery is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2010, 09:34 AM   #38
4.8 E70
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: '12 X6 / '13 335 EBII/CR
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Yonkers, NY

Posts: 304
iTrader: (1)

2 strips, indeed. I will snap a pic of the strips today and post it here. 20+ feet strips with the jb3 on.
4.8 E70 is offline   Montenegro
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2010, 10:18 AM   #39
wakeboarder109
Lieutenant Colonel
 
wakeboarder109's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335xi --> 06 BSM 330i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 804

Posts: 1,719
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to wakeboarder109
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXSailor View Post
buddy of mine has an R32- same thing- pull one fuse and its RWD. We can and must find the way to get this done. am a JB3 guy- so I am going to ask Terry.
Yea, let us know what he says. I hope they can come up with something.
wakeboarder109 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2010, 01:50 PM   #40
ajsalida
Lieutenant Colonel
 
ajsalida's Avatar
 
Drives: 95 M3, 02 R1150GSA, 09 335xi
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SW USA

Posts: 1,578
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4.8 E70 View Post
2 strips, indeed. I will snap a pic of the strips today and post it here. 20+ feet strips with the jb3 on.
sweet.
ajsalida is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2010, 05:50 PM   #41
swartzentruber
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 E90 M3
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicago NW suburbs, IL

Posts: 567
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TXSailor View Post
buddy of mine has an R32- same thing- pull one fuse and its RWD. We can and must find the way to get this done. am a JB3 guy- so I am going to ask Terry.
Assuming you mean VW R32, pull the one fuse, and it goes FWD only. R32 uses Haldex AWD, which is front wheel based. Going FWD only is probably not nearly as much fun as RWD only, so it would be pretty cool to have this switchable. You might even be able to get better highway gas mileage if you only had to drive 2 wheels. In fact, I actually think the newer generations of Haldex AWD are cockpit switchable, with a race (more RWD), normal (more FWD), and even a FWD only mode to use on the highway.

http://www.hpamotorsport.com/haldex.htm
__________________
2011 Jerez Black/Fox Red E90 M3 DCT, ZCP, ZCV, ZCW, ZP2, BMW Apps
2004 VW R32 (track car)
swartzentruber is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2010, 06:42 PM   #42
UltraRacer13
Wannabe Track Rat
 
UltraRacer13's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 335xi e92 MT
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Texas

Posts: 911
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by swartzentruber View Post
Assuming you mean VW R32, pull the one fuse, and it goes FWD only. R32 uses Haldex AWD, which is front wheel based. Going FWD only is probably not nearly as much fun as RWD only, so it would be pretty cool to have this switchable. You might even be able to get better highway gas mileage if you only had to drive 2 wheels. In fact, I actually think the newer generations of Haldex AWD are cockpit switchable, with a race (more RWD), normal (more FWD), and even a FWD only mode to use on the highway.

http://www.hpamotorsport.com/haldex.htm
You are right- I was mistaken- it goes FWD w/o the fuse. I mentioned this to Terry and he said they would take a look at it. Best if more xi guys w/ JB emailed him to let him know we want this.
__________________

XI | COBB | AST | Vorshlag | PFC | STETT | StopTech | Apex | DCI
UltraRacer13 is offline   British Virgin Islands
0
Reply With Quote
      11-06-2010, 02:54 AM   #43
sk8board511
Captain
 
sk8board511's Avatar
 
Drives: 07-E90/99' Cherokee Beater
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: So. Me.

Posts: 684
iTrader: (0)

anyone know if this is possible with the 07 328xi???
sk8board511 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-07-2010, 02:32 AM   #44
hardhead
New Member
 
hardhead's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335i xdrive, 95 328i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CDN in Germany

Posts: 20
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
1995 328i  [0.00]
2011 335i xdrive  [0.00]
Anyone have a good burnout of an xdrive?????

will she break free in the rain?
Mine is to new! Still in the break-in period...

hardhead is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST