E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > How-To: Procede v4 PnP harness update (optional)



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-21-2011, 03:39 PM   #111
fisherbln
Captain
8

 
Drives: 2007 335i Coupe
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA


Posts: 858
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wren57 View Post
Wanna take a picture for us or tell us which red pins you removed?
My understanding is that factory harnesses are different and that is why he did not give specifics on which pins to pull. Some harnesses have blank spots where others do not (and vice versa).
__________________
2007 335i SG Coupe
2009 128i AW
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2011, 03:55 PM   #112
wren57
Lieutenant Colonel
28

 
wren57's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Birmingham, AL


Posts: 1,543
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fisherbln View Post
My understanding is that factory harnesses are different and that is why he did not give specifics on which pins to pull. Some harnesses have blank spots where others do not (and vice versa).
Good point. I'd forgotten about that. I need to spend more time reading apparently.
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2011, 09:37 PM   #113
pcmike
Lieutenant
United_States
6

 
Drives: 2009 BMW 335i
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lake Worth, FL


Posts: 556
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to pcmike
Wires 5,6 on the factory grey loom were empty for me. Just did this modification tonight when I put my chip back in after visiting the dealer.

FYI: I went in for brakes at 18K because the car said the rears needed replaced, but the tech said they were at 6mm and perfectly fine.. no clue why the car wanted them serviced. Also when they popped my key in the reader it told them I needed to get the new fuel pump (never had a fuel pump issue to date) and my injectors checked out (they replaced two injectors). However, my software was supposedly current.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wren57 View Post
Wanna take a picture for us or tell us which red pins you removed?
__________________


Hardwired ValentineOne | Cobb
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2011, 07:42 PM   #114
lacartus
Blah blah blah
1

 
lacartus's Avatar
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NJ


Posts: 137
iTrader: (0)

I just did a harness update for a friend, wires 12 and 9 were empty on the gray harness (red wires).
__________________
Ian 2009 e90 MT
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2011, 05:12 PM   #115
scottp999
Brigadier General
56

 
scottp999's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - E92 - 6MT & 4runner SR5
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MD


Posts: 4,666
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [4.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by orionredwing View Post
Just a clarification for reversing the process for emissions. After removing the equivalent of the 2 red wires shown in your example,

1) 2 female ends on the yellow wires would go into pins 19, and 20, correct?

2) How about the single male end? Is it pin 6 or 7? The other pin would be left open?
Wanted to say thanks for pointing out the pin numbers. I need the o2 sim now, so I just put it back into my new rev 3 wiring harness I received today.
__________________
Rob Beck Turbos, PROcede Rev. 3, Procede Fueling Flash (via OpenFlash Tablet), PPS Methanol System (Devil's Own 12 GPH Nozzle/Aquamist Flow Sensor/Labonte VC25), DCI, Quaife LSD, BMW Performance Suspension, Autobahn Exotics Exhaust, Helix FMIC, AR Design Downpipes, BSH Catch Can, Forge Diverter Valves, P3cars Vent Boost Gauge, Alufelgen CSL Reps, Lux 5.1 H8 Angel Eyes, HPB HID Fogs, LTBMW M3 Side Skirts, BMW M3 Rear Spoiler, BMW Front Aero Lip, BMW Pedal Kit, BMW M Shift Knob, Autotecknic Matte Black Grilles.
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2011, 06:36 AM   #116
Noelpolar
Private First Class
Australia
2

 
Drives: E92 335i Auto
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Australia


Posts: 133
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to Noelpolar
I might be a bit slow...... But I can't seem to find a post that explicitly outlines why this needs to be done...... I understand it is highly recommended but I'm not clear on what the downside is to not doing it....... Anyone know.......?
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2011, 07:19 AM   #117
enrita
Major General
Sweden
91

 
enrita's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden


Posts: 7,324
iTrader: (0)

Well basically with the 02 sims attached you are feeding to the ECU only 1 sensor afr bank instead of both.
__________________
07 335i AT - TD St.2 Turbos - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by http://www.protuningfreaks.com/) - JB4G5 ISO - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - E85 Walbro - Injen Intake - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - AR DPs - midpipes 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - Level 10 AT upgrade - Alpina AT Flash
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2011, 07:49 AM   #118
Noelpolar
Private First Class
Australia
2

 
Drives: E92 335i Auto
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Australia


Posts: 133
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to Noelpolar
Quote:
Originally Posted by enrita View Post
Well basically with the 02 sims attached you are feeding to the ECU only 1 sensor afr bank instead of both.
What does this situation create? Or put at risk? For example I can understand that the DME would be thinking that the cat is up to temperature almost immediately at start up..... So is this a bad thing? Ie. Would the motor normally be running leaner for the first few minutes to get a higher EGT to heat the cats but now won't...

I've got early dme software and use this function of the Procede to suppress the half engine light.......I'm trying to understand the long term consequences of running the sim....
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2011, 08:03 AM   #119
enrita
Major General
Sweden
91

 
enrita's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden


Posts: 7,324
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noelpolar View Post
What does this situation create? Or put at risk? For example I can understand that the DME would be thinking that the cat is up to temperature almost immediately at start up..... So is this a bad thing? Ie. Would the motor normally be running leaner for the first few minutes to get a higher EGT to heat the cats but now won't...

I've got early dme software and use this function of the Procede to suppress the half engine light.......I'm trying to understand the long term consequences of running the sim....
There are no issues related to it especially if you run early software. Keep it as it is and remove it if you update your software to the latest since than you can just use canclear for the cell. The new software is much more sensitive to changes in afr and uses the rear sensors more tham older one.
__________________
07 335i AT - TD St.2 Turbos - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by http://www.protuningfreaks.com/) - JB4G5 ISO - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - E85 Walbro - Injen Intake - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - AR DPs - midpipes 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - Level 10 AT upgrade - Alpina AT Flash
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2012, 05:34 AM   #120
Schnitzel
Private First Class
Germany
1

 
Drives: E92 335i MT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bavaria


Posts: 147
iTrader: (0)

Has his update already been realized with the PROcede rev3 harnesses? Emission test is close and the o2 modifier has to work otherwise I would not pass this test. Thx
__________________

Last edited by Schnitzel; 01-14-2012 at 05:41 AM.
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2012, 10:29 AM   #121
dyong
Enthusiast
United_States
3

 
dyong's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 BMW 135i Coupe
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dallas, TX


Posts: 254
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via Skype™ to dyong
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schnitzel View Post
Has his update already been realized with the PROcede rev3 harnesses? Emission test is close and the o2 modifier has to work otherwise I would not pass this test. Thx
Yes it has been realized. I reversed the wire updates and drove slow for a while, went for emission test (no sniffer) and passed. Then redo the wire harness update.
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2012, 10:09 AM   #122
bryce
Banned
57

 
Drives: zhp 3-pedal
Join Date: May 2010
Location: texas


Posts: 3,177
iTrader: (22)

Garage List
obligitory bump for those wanting to modify their harness to pass emissions (reverse this basically)
Appreciate 0
      04-08-2012, 05:54 PM   #123
Schnitzel
Private First Class
Germany
1

 
Drives: E92 335i MT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bavaria


Posts: 147
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bryce View Post
obligitory bump for those wanting to modify their harness to pass emissions (reverse this basically)
How can I reverse this update? My rev 3 harness does not have additional/loose male and female connectors which can be reconnected as soon as I remove the patch wires from the subconnector.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2012, 03:55 PM   #124
BADS335
First Lieutenant
8

 
Drives: Montego 335i E90
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicago


Posts: 394
iTrader: (2)

This may sound dumb, but basically in order to pass emissions with catless DPs, we need to put the harness back to the original format? What do the loose wires go to?
__________________
2008-BMW-335i-E90-6MT-Sport-Montego Blue
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2012, 04:39 PM   #125
bryce
Banned
57

 
Drives: zhp 3-pedal
Join Date: May 2010
Location: texas


Posts: 3,177
iTrader: (22)

Garage List
yes, you need to reverse this basically. then go to user software, disable auto-clear, enable o2 modifier to 50% or so. put 50 miles on the car at least, then go to get inspected. worked for me twice
Appreciate 0
      06-05-2012, 01:14 PM   #126
ManoB1
Enlisted Member
0

 
Drives: 2008 335xi
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Long Island, NY


Posts: 35
iTrader: (0)

Im having an issue getting inspected.... I did this update a while ago...and recently i just installed the bms dp- fix....turned canclear off and drove for 100 miles... the shop tells me they are not getting a connection. Do i have to reverse the update to the harness....or it doesnt matter cause i have the dpfix installed....please help....driving around uninspected!!
Appreciate 0
      06-05-2012, 02:05 PM   #127
bryce
Banned
57

 
Drives: zhp 3-pedal
Join Date: May 2010
Location: texas


Posts: 3,177
iTrader: (22)

Garage List
Try running on map 0 and go back to the shop
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2012, 09:34 AM   #128
ManoB1
Enlisted Member
0

 
Drives: 2008 335xi
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Long Island, NY


Posts: 35
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bryce View Post
Try running on map 0 and go back to the shop
Thanx...thats what vishnu said too....im going today.,...wish me luck...ive gotten 5 tickets over this already....
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2012, 10:35 AM   #129
bryce
Banned
57

 
Drives: zhp 3-pedal
Join Date: May 2010
Location: texas


Posts: 3,177
iTrader: (22)

Garage List
yikes, 5 tickets? hopefully the judge in your area will throw out at least 4 since you already had a ticket for the same thing. a lot of times, you can show them that you did get inspected and they'll drop the ticket and just have you pay court fees ($15 or so)
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2012, 11:42 AM   #130
Chefcg1
Major
United_States
18

 
Chefcg1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 BMW 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Mount Airy, NC


Posts: 1,091
iTrader: (6)

I just do the reverse harness mod every year
__________________
2008 335i coupe AW 6AT, RB Turbos, PROcede 2.5 V5, Alpina Flash, Injen Intake, VK MW DP . Helix IC, Vishnu PnP Meth(M10 nozzel), M3 sides, OEM Aero Lip, VMR V710 Midnight Blue, LUX H8, HID Fogs, M3 front bits, D2 Copilovers, Whiteline Rear Bushing inserts, Custom M3 Steering Wheel, Cyba scoops, M2 Performance Exhaust
Appreciate 0
      06-08-2012, 01:59 PM   #131
uniter
Black on Black on Black.
11

 
Drives: 335i/6mt Sport,Nav,Prem.
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Hope, PA


Posts: 529
iTrader: (1)

Passed in PA Had to drive around a bit to get all the monitors set. Very handy to have a cheap scantool for this purpose.

Passed on racelands w/ o2 at 50%.
Appreciate 0
      06-11-2012, 10:08 AM   #132
bryce
Banned
57

 
Drives: zhp 3-pedal
Join Date: May 2010
Location: texas


Posts: 3,177
iTrader: (22)

Garage List
keep this thread on first page
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST