E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > How-To: Procede v4 PnP harness update (optional)



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-04-2010, 08:57 AM   #23
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,275
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by enrita View Post
I would suggest you to get the BMS 02 sims but i am pretty sure you would prefer to put a dead mouse in your ECU box over that
lol!! Thats why I am asking Shiv what can be done for us folks that have the old school software 27.xx and want to have 100% Vishnu products!
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-04-2010, 09:46 AM   #24
alextremo
Captain
 
Drives: F10 550i
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA

Posts: 920
iTrader: (3)

Interested to know what this i/o will be used for to know if this will impact me...

My local track requires me to achieve OBDII readiness once a year as well. I'd rather not make harness modifications annually.
alextremo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-04-2010, 10:05 AM   #25
enrita
Major General
 
enrita's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

Posts: 7,323
iTrader: (0)

as Shiv stated this is OPTIONAL and for people experiencing undesired 02 codes related to signal issues.

Nobody needs to do this if they dont have issues with the car . When the time comes and the new feature is released everybody can decide for themselves if it is worth it.
__________________
07 335i AT - TD St.2 Turbos - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by http://www.protuningfreaks.com/) - JB4G5 ISO - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - E85 Walbro - Injen Intake - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - AR DPs - midpipes 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - Level 10 AT upgrade - Alpina AT Flash
enrita is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
      11-04-2010, 10:13 AM   #26
alextremo
Captain
 
Drives: F10 550i
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA

Posts: 920
iTrader: (3)

Understood - my point is that I'm with the several others who have posted that are currently using this functionality, and would rather not make harness modifications annually IF I want to take advantage of whatever it is that Shiv has planned for this i/o.

I won't be making any changes until this is explained further.
alextremo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-04-2010, 10:20 AM   #27
DefactoM6
Sees the world the way it could be
 
Drives: '88 M6, '02 Z8, '09 E92 335i
Join Date: May 2010
Location: CT

Posts: 762
iTrader: (11)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alextremo View Post
Interested to know what this i/o will be used for to know if this will impact me...

My local track requires me to achieve OBDII readiness once a year as well. I'd rather not make harness modifications annually.
WTF kind of track is that? Isn't that the whole point of going to the track?
__________________
DefactoM6 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-04-2010, 10:57 AM   #28
BrianMN
Colonel
 
Drives: 4 Door Family Sedan
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis

Posts: 2,429
iTrader: (7)

I think I know what this if for

It doesn't seem like a very big deal having to spend 7 minutes/year to switch back to the current setup for inspections...
BrianMN is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-04-2010, 10:59 AM   #29
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

This harness modification is optional guys. I suspect those who are running off road use only cars without emissions equipment will leave things the way they are. But others may benefit from cleaner o2 sensors signals
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-04-2010, 11:08 AM   #30
timtech
Lieutenant
 
timtech's Avatar
 
Drives: 335
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Over there

Posts: 507
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
Hi guys,
Starting next week, we are going to make a small update to the v4 PnP harness. This update physically eliminates the o2 modifier feature that most people no longer use. This is because most people:

Step 3
Next extract two unused patch wires from another subconnector. Your v4 harness has many patch wires that aren't used. You can tell that it's unused by looking at the factory connector that it mates with. If a pin on the factory wire is empty, the corresponding patch wire in the v4 harness is unused. I in the picture below we removed two unused wires the red patch loom. Although you can take wires from any patch loom. Even in the same yellow patch loom. Just make sure it is unused!
Shiv,
Any chance you can list which two connectors in the yellow patch loom you would use so that everyone has the same set up??

That way in the future if we have to change anything again, we can point to exact locations.

Just an idea.
timtech is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-04-2010, 11:14 AM   #31
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by timtech View Post
Shiv,
Any chance you can list which two connectors in the yellow patch loom you would use so that everyone has the same set up??

That way in the future if we have to change anything again, we can point to exact locations.

Just an idea.
I'm not entirely confident that all cars/DMEs have the same unused pins. I just know that each car/DME has several unused pins. And since they are easy to identify, it's best that people who are doing this mod just check for themselves
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-04-2010, 12:41 PM   #32
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,275
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Yeah but Shiv can we install a 02 sim in place and do the update....Will the external 02 sim effect the Procede in any way?
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-04-2010, 12:45 PM   #33
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
Yeah but Shiv can we install a 02 sim in place and do the update....Will the external 02 sim effect the Procede in any way?
Using an external o2 sim will not effect the Procede in anyway. Mind you, the idea of this update is to remove any o2 sim/modifier at all since they all result in rear o2 sensor signal deterioration. Which can, at worse, lead to o2 sensor codes and/or poor fuel economy.
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-04-2010, 01:03 PM   #34
Bakeme521
Some say...
 
Bakeme521's Avatar
 
Drives: Fresh
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Baton Rouge n NOLA

Posts: 4,272
iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [4.04]
Will newer v4s already have this done to them? And I am curious, is the future thing you are putting in place something we will need? If so how will we go about having both features?
__________________

I have exhaust and an intake...
Bakeme521 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-04-2010, 01:56 PM   #35
flynbulldog
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2011 335is
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: larkspur CO.

Posts: 33
iTrader: (0)

Quote:


There will be two wires that you remove. One will have a single female end. And the other will split off into two male ends.
anyone else notice that the photo shows one male end and two female ends and the text says one female and two male ends?

I'm going with the photo rather than the text but I'd appreciate a clarification...

also, My V4 will arrive tomorrow - will I have to do this mod or is mine ready to install?
flynbulldog is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-04-2010, 06:04 PM   #36
scottp999
Brigadier General
 
scottp999's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - E92 - 6MT & 4runner SR5
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MD

Posts: 4,629
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [4.50]
Wow - Driving me to purchase a BMS product (o2 sim). Who would have ever thought?

So will you be keeping the o2 modifier option in the software, so for those that need to switch back and forth don't have to go back to an older software version?

I'm definitely not taking my perfect running car into a BMW dealership ever. If it stops working perfectly it will go to an independent shop.
__________________
Rob Beck Turbos, PROcede Rev. 3, Procede Fueling Flash (via OpenFlash Tablet), PPS Methanol System (Devil's Own 12 GPH Nozzle/Aquamist Flow Sensor/Labonte VC25), DCI, Quaife LSD, BMW Performance Suspension, Autobahn Exotics Exhaust, Helix FMIC, AR Design Downpipes, BSH Catch Can, Forge Diverter Valves, P3cars Vent Boost Gauge, Alufelgen CSL Reps, Lux 5.1 H8 Angel Eyes, HPB HID Fogs, LTBMW M3 Side Skirts, BMW M3 Rear Spoiler, BMW Front Aero Lip, BMW Pedal Kit, BMW M Shift Knob, Autotecknic Matte Black Grilles.
scottp999 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-04-2010, 06:18 PM   #37
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by flynbulldog View Post
anyone else notice that the photo shows one male end and two female ends and the text says one female and two male ends?

I'm going with the photo rather than the text but I'd appreciate a clarification...

also, My V4 will arrive tomorrow - will I have to do this mod or is mine ready to install?
Ooops thanks for catching that typo. Fixed in the original post . And your procede will probably not have this update. You can do this (or not) when you get your procede.

Once again guys, this is OPTIONAL. If your happy with your car, no need to do this update. The o2 modifier feature isn't going anywhere. So no need to go out and get a wire-in dp fix.
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-04-2010, 06:22 PM   #38
scottp999
Brigadier General
 
scottp999's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - E92 - 6MT & 4runner SR5
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MD

Posts: 4,629
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [4.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
So no need to go out and get a wire-in dp fix.
Thanks for the reply. I'm extremely happy with the car as is, and will probably just watch the advancements over the winter while I drive the 4*4, and play catch up in the spring.
__________________
Rob Beck Turbos, PROcede Rev. 3, Procede Fueling Flash (via OpenFlash Tablet), PPS Methanol System (Devil's Own 12 GPH Nozzle/Aquamist Flow Sensor/Labonte VC25), DCI, Quaife LSD, BMW Performance Suspension, Autobahn Exotics Exhaust, Helix FMIC, AR Design Downpipes, BSH Catch Can, Forge Diverter Valves, P3cars Vent Boost Gauge, Alufelgen CSL Reps, Lux 5.1 H8 Angel Eyes, HPB HID Fogs, LTBMW M3 Side Skirts, BMW M3 Rear Spoiler, BMW Front Aero Lip, BMW Pedal Kit, BMW M Shift Knob, Autotecknic Matte Black Grilles.
scottp999 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-04-2010, 06:52 PM   #39
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,275
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
[quote=shiv@vishnuOoops thanks for catching that typo. Fixed in the original post . And your procede will probably not have this update. You can do this (or not) when you get your procede.

Once again guys, this is OPTIONAL. So no need to go out and get a wire-in dp fix.[/QUOTE]

Good thing because I would cringe everytime I would open up the ECU box and see that device in there!
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-05-2010, 11:26 PM   #40
Glowin
Captain
 
Glowin's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Seattle

Posts: 888
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
Hi guys,
Starting next week, we are going to make a small update to the v4 PnP harness. This update physically eliminates the o2 modifier feature that most people no longer use. This is because most people:

1) are running with factory catalytic converters OR
2) are using CANclear to suppress cat codes in their off-road use only race cars
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
This harness modification is optional guys. I suspect those who are running off road use only cars without emissions equipment will leave things the way they are. But others may benefit from cleaner o2 sensors signals
Sorry for being a noob here, but if I'm in category 1 (stock in terms of mods other than the Procede), but running rough, this might be a worthwhile mod?

Or is this only for those running rough who are running their cars in off-road use form?
Glowin is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-05-2010, 11:40 PM   #41
jpsimon
Team Zissou
 
jpsimon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

Posts: 9,006
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glowin View Post
Sorry for being a noob here, but if I'm in category 1 (stock in terms of mods other than the Procede), but running rough, this might be a worthwhile mod?

Or is this only for those running rough who are running their cars in off-road use form?
this has nothing to do with cars "running rough". This is just an update to prepare you for other features in the coming months. By "off-road use" he means cars that are catless.

If your car is running rough you have other issues you should figure out - perhaps in need of injectors or fuel pump
__________________
2015 STi / 335xi (solid)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing

jpsimon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-06-2010, 12:24 AM   #42
bimmertt
Lieutenant Colonel
 
bimmertt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 e92 335i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Earth

Posts: 1,671
iTrader: (7)

Couldn't help but catch this statement:

Or, better yet, they should should AND get their DME software updated to someone more recent than circa-2007 so that CANclear works

I do not think my DME software has been updated. Does the CANclear not work at all if this is the case?
bimmertt is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-06-2010, 02:22 AM   #43
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glowin View Post
Sorry for being a noob here, but if I'm in category 1 (stock in terms of mods other than the Procede), but running rough, this might be a worthwhile mod?

Or is this only for those running rough who are running their cars in off-road use form?
Yes, give it a shot. If you have any persistent o2 sensor related issues, the first thing you should do is eliminate variables. In this case, the o2 modifier circuit. And since you don't need it, remove it. It can only help you.
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-06-2010, 03:57 AM   #44
enrita
Major General
 
enrita's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

Posts: 7,323
iTrader: (0)

would not mind use those 2 channels with my AEM EGT and AFR probe.
__________________
07 335i AT - TD St.2 Turbos - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by http://www.protuningfreaks.com/) - JB4G5 ISO - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - E85 Walbro - Injen Intake - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - AR DPs - midpipes 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - Level 10 AT upgrade - Alpina AT Flash
enrita is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST