E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > How-To: Procede v4 PnP harness update (optional)



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-09-2010, 09:04 PM   #89
s2k_335i
This is it!!
 
s2k_335i's Avatar
 
Drives: FBO 335i without meth
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Land of Freedom

Posts: 672
iTrader: (1)

Shiv-
When i did this earlier today, the car start and ran fine. I went for a ride to Walmart and when I got back out to start the car, it went to a limp mode. The engine start to shake and the car shut down. I started the car again and the same problem but when i give it a little gas, its was fine. What do you think the issue is? The connection looks exactly like yours and I only removed any unused pin.
The Injectors, plugs, and wastegate was replaced in October. I'll run the computer tomorrow to check for the error.
I have AMS IC, DP, Intake, Procede v4.
Any help would greatly appreciated.
Attached Images
 
s2k_335i is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      12-09-2010, 09:36 PM   #90
enrita
Major General
 
enrita's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

Posts: 7,323
iTrader: (0)

Did you clear the adaptations and reset ecu? Also tape those yellow cables.
__________________
07 335i AT - TD St.2 Turbos - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by http://www.protuningfreaks.com/) - JB4G5 ISO - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - E85 Walbro - Injen Intake - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - AR DPs - midpipes 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - Level 10 AT upgrade - Alpina AT Flash
enrita is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
      12-09-2010, 10:17 PM   #91
s2k_335i
This is it!!
 
s2k_335i's Avatar
 
Drives: FBO 335i without meth
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Land of Freedom

Posts: 672
iTrader: (1)

yes, i did.
s2k_335i is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      12-09-2010, 10:25 PM   #92
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Hard to say without knowing the code. Once you know that, it will be easy to troubleshoot.
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2010, 12:54 PM   #93
s2k_335i
This is it!!
 
s2k_335i's Avatar
 
Drives: FBO 335i without meth
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Land of Freedom

Posts: 672
iTrader: (1)

The code is 12140, which translate to the following:
2F6C 12140 Exhaust fumeflap, input signal

The car start up fine today and ran fine without any error. I wonder how the car went into the limp mode related to this new mod.
s2k_335i is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2010, 12:59 PM   #94
Glowin
Captain
 
Glowin's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Seattle

Posts: 914
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by s2k_335i View Post
The code is 12140, which translate to the following:
2F6C 12140 Exhaust fumeflap, input signal

The car start up fine today and ran fine without any error. I wonder how the car went into the limp mode related to this new mod.
That's just the code related to the exhaust flap actuator in the trunk that you've disabled. That's nothing.
Glowin is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2010, 01:16 PM   #95
s2k_335i
This is it!!
 
s2k_335i's Avatar
 
Drives: FBO 335i without meth
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Land of Freedom

Posts: 672
iTrader: (1)

I understand the code but I might have cleared the other codes when this happened. Just hoping this issue will not happen again. It would be painful to get the IC, DP, intake, and procede remove again for dealer visit.
s2k_335i is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      01-04-2011, 07:00 PM   #96
Intricacy
Procede
 
Drives: X6 xDrive35i
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: CA

Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)

On some of the harnesses are these wires purple??
Intricacy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-10-2011, 01:11 PM   #97
Intricacy
Procede
 
Drives: X6 xDrive35i
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: CA

Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Intricacy View Post
On some of the harnesses are these wires purple??
??
Intricacy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-10-2011, 04:05 PM   #98
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Intricacy View Post
On some of the harnesses are these wires purple??
Yep.
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-18-2011, 02:52 PM   #99
michael1284
Colonel
 
michael1284's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 AW E90 335i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: DFW

Posts: 2,470
iTrader: (40)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Intricacy View Post
On some of the harnesses are these wires purple??
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
Yep.
Ah..thought I was going crazy. Took my tune out last night for some warranty work and was going to do the harness update. Looks like it was already done which I thought was weird since I bought the Procede 4 months ago used from another member. Since I had the purple wires I kept scratching my head as to why it didn't look like the pic. Guess I was just surprised that someone 4 months ago already had this update done!

Anyone know what the blue connector is for in the second picture?
Attached Images
  
__________________
RIP e92. New project is ALIVE!

Updated Pics!


Last edited by michael1284; 01-18-2011 at 03:28 PM.
michael1284 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-18-2011, 03:35 PM   #100
enrita
Major General
 
enrita's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

Posts: 7,323
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by michael1284 View Post
Ah..thought I was going crazy. Took my tune out last night for some warranty work and was going to do the harness update. Looks like it was already done which I thought was weird since I bought the Procede 4 months ago used from another member. Since I had the purple wires I kept scratching my head as to why it didn't look like the pic. Guess I was just surprised that someone 4 months ago already had this update done!

Anyone know what the blue connector is for in the second picture?
Progressive meth
__________________
07 335i AT - TD St.2 Turbos - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by http://www.protuningfreaks.com/) - JB4G5 ISO - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - E85 Walbro - Injen Intake - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - AR DPs - midpipes 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - Level 10 AT upgrade - Alpina AT Flash
enrita is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
      01-18-2011, 05:23 PM   #101
michael1284
Colonel
 
michael1284's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 AW E90 335i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: DFW

Posts: 2,470
iTrader: (40)

thanks!
__________________
RIP e92. New project is ALIVE!

Updated Pics!

michael1284 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2011, 03:05 PM   #102
Alan l.
Brigadier General
 
Alan l.'s Avatar
 
Drives: LCI M-Sport 550i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: East Coast

Posts: 4,426
iTrader: (8)

Shiv - can you post a picture of which two red wires you used from the other sub connector? I am doing the update on the kitchen table so I dont have the factory harness in front of me to tell which one isn't being used.

Thanks!
Alan
__________________

2014 LCI 550i M Sport | 3D Design Front Spoiler | BMW Performance Black Grills | BMW Performance Trunk Lip | BMW Performance Diffuser | Painted Reflectors | Wincos 30% Tint | Supersprint Exhaust | ACSSprings | MORR VS8.2 Rims 20x10R and 20x9F | Michelin PSS Tires |||More Photos of my car here|||
Alan l. is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2011, 03:07 PM   #103
cstmx_ryder
Colonel
 
cstmx_ryder's Avatar
 
Drives: A metal box with a roundel
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Portland, OR

Posts: 2,759
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to cstmx_ryder Send a message via MSN to cstmx_ryder
And, and for those with the "updated" harness, and not the brand new units from V4.....Which wires can I extract?

Mine doesn't have the yellow, blue, or green wires. Just the existing ones from V3 and was tweeked by Vishnu.

TIA
__________________

'08 AW E90 335i
PROcede V5 | BMS DCI | RR DPs | ETS FMIC | FORGE DVs | Stett CP | Vanguard | PSS10
cstmx_ryder is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2011, 03:58 PM   #104
orionredwing
Captain
 
Drives: 335i Sedan, 135i Coupe
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: San Jose

Posts: 725
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335i  [5.00]
Just a clarification for reversing the process for emissions. After removing the equivalent of the 2 red wires shown in your example,

1) 2 female ends on the yellow wires would go into pins 19, and 20, correct?

2) How about the single male end? Is it pin 6 or 7? The other pin would be left open?
__________________

PROcede | AMS FMIC | AR Catless DPs | AR Oil Cooler | BMS DCI
Wavetrac LSD | KW V3 w/ Swift Springs | M3 Front Suspension
orionredwing is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2011, 04:28 PM   #105
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by orionredwing View Post
Just a clarification for reversing the process for emissions. After removing the equivalent of the 2 red wires shown in your example,

1) 2 female ends on the yellow wires would go into pins 19, and 20, correct?

2) How about the single male end? Is it pin 6 or 7? The other pin would be left open?



1) Correct

2) Doesn't matter. Either one will be fine. You will have 1 empty terminal.
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2011, 05:25 PM   #106
Schnitzel
Private First Class
 
Drives: E92 335i MT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bavaria

Posts: 147
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by s2k_335i View Post
Shiv-
When i did this earlier today, the car start and ran fine. I went for a ride to Walmart and when I got back out to start the car, it went to a limp mode. The engine start to shake and the car shut down. I started the car again and the same problem but when i give it a little gas, its was fine. What do you think the issue is? The connection looks exactly like yours and I only removed any unused pin.
The Injectors, plugs, and wastegate was replaced in October. I'll run the computer tomorrow to check for the error.
I have AMS IC, DP, Intake, Procede v4.
Any help would greatly appreciated.
Had time to do the update today and had exactly the same problem. After restarting the car the problem did not appear anymore.
__________________
Schnitzel is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      03-20-2011, 06:25 PM   #107
wren57
Lieutenant Colonel
 
wren57's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Birmingham, AL

Posts: 1,536
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan l. View Post
Shiv - can you post a picture of which two red wires you used from the other sub connector? I am doing the update on the kitchen table so I dont have the factory harness in front of me to tell which one isn't being used.

Thanks!
Alan

+1

Last edited by wren57; 03-20-2011 at 07:37 PM.
wren57 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-20-2011, 06:39 PM   #108
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Jeff@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
 
Drives: C6 Z06, GSXR-750, 09 335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TopGearSolutions.com

Posts: 17,707
iTrader: (32)

Send a message via AIM to Jeff@TopGearSolutions
I've yet to do this. LOL
Jeff@TopGearSolutions is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-20-2011, 07:24 PM   #109
MKE_M3
Lieutenant Colonel
 
MKE_M3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 e90 M3
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posts: 1,679
iTrader: (0)

just did mine yesterday. Went smooth but I wish Vishnu made specific wires suggestions for teh patch. I was nervous just picking two wires, even if I saw with my eyes that the oem cable had not wires in those slots.
MKE_M3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-21-2011, 03:33 PM   #110
wren57
Lieutenant Colonel
 
wren57's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Birmingham, AL

Posts: 1,536
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdemetry View Post
just did mine yesterday. Went smooth but I wish Vishnu made specific wires suggestions for teh patch. I was nervous just picking two wires, even if I saw with my eyes that the oem cable had not wires in those slots.
Wanna take a picture for us or tell us which red pins you removed?
wren57 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST