E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Turn off rear bulbs with parking lights



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-16-2016, 01:32 PM   #1
Hackslash
New Member
3
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: 2007 328i Sport
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Turn off rear bulbs with parking lights

Over the weekend I coded a corner delete on my 2007 e90. Ghetto way of having my Lux be DRL until I can upgrade my FRM. Wondering if there's a way to also turn off the rear red lights (I only want my halos lit if possible). Thanks for any help, I've searched but can't seem to find an answer.
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2016, 02:54 PM   #2
VTECaddict
Where'd my VTEC go?
VTECaddict's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
5,472
Posts

Drives: 06 330i 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Seattle, WA

iTrader: (4)

No. Parking lights by definition require the rears to be on.
__________________
AW/Terra | ZSP | ZPP | ZCW | iDrive | CA
Mods: BC BR | Blacklines | M-tech rear | dual exhaust | M3 steering wheel | BMW SSK | ZHP shift knob | High-kick CF spoiler | NBT Retrofit
Varrstoen ES1 19x9.5+20 Front, 19x11+25 rear
Appreciate 1
      05-16-2016, 03:35 PM   #3
matteblue3er
Lieutenant
36
Rep
481
Posts

Drives: Racecar
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Philly

iTrader: (0)

Try these lines. Check operation with headlights on. These lines may cut them off in headlight mode too

Btw, if you're only after AE as DRL, you can hard wire them to a switched source. I have mine hard wired to the cigg lighter circuit and have a switch in line so I can control them if need be.

You don't need to run wires into the engine bay. I pulled the pins out of the FRM and tapped into them there. It's a short 3-4ft wire run from the fuse panel using a fuse tap. Then disable the bulb checks for the AE circuits. It's easily reversible since I did not cut the wires out the FRM, I dissembled the connector and pulled the pins.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by matteblue3er; 05-16-2016 at 03:44 PM.
Appreciate 1
      05-16-2016, 10:22 PM   #4
Hackslash
New Member
3
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: 2007 328i Sport
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the help guys. I knew about using a harness in the engine bay but didn't realize you could hard-wire directly to the FRM. That said I'll probably just wait for a module upgrade, going to dig around some wrecking yards in my area, who knows I might get lucky. I will also give the coding lines you posted a try and see if it works for me.

Last edited by Hackslash; 05-16-2016 at 10:24 PM. Reason: forgot something
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:54 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST