E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > BMW CODING success



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-02-2011, 07:51 AM   #3103
justa3series
Banned
 
Drives: 2010 328xi
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY

Posts: 161
iTrader: (1)

How many times have we posted the correct cable to get!!!

"Question,
Each time you code a different code do you need to go through the steps of creating a new profile from expertmode and saving it as FSW PSW MAN or can i use my profile without models of BMW"


I am not sure what you mean "without models of BMW" but you use one profile. Read DIY to create FSWPSWMAN profile. Expertprofile is default. When you read module it overwrites file that you use for writing back to car.

It's simple

Load profile
Select module
Read module
Makes changes
Write changes
justa3series is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-02-2011, 08:35 AM   #3104
mrtanz
Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW 2008 325i upgrade
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia

Posts: 445
iTrader: (0)

Also not sure if you are directing the cable point to me but i already have the cable

sorry it was a mistake in my word
meant "or can i use my profile with any model"

I have already created FSWPSWMAN profile from my car and successfully coded; my question is if i plug in into another car do i use the profile from my car or do i need to create a new profile for that specific car?
mrtanz is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      08-02-2011, 12:44 PM   #3105
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jose260gti View Post
Hey guys

I need to know if i need to recode with ncsexpert after a BMW dealer update the software of the car? Or if my coding will stay there.

Regards
Jose
Yes, more than likely they recode everything and you usually will need to redo everything.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtanz View Post
Question,
Each time you code a different code do you need to go through the steps of creating a new profile from expertmode and saving it as FSW PSW MAN or can i use my profile without models of BMW

As there are not many people who have the cable here in Sydney i am going to do it for the local guys but wanted to check first
No. Just use the profile you already made in the DIY

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtanz View Post
Also not sure if you are directing the cable point to me but i already have the cable

sorry it was a mistake in my word
meant "or can i use my profile with any model"

I have already created FSWPSWMAN profile from my car and successfully coded; my question is if i plug in into another car do i use the profile from my car or do i need to create a new profile for that specific car?
No

Last edited by Elliott@DetailAddict; 08-02-2011 at 01:06 PM.
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-02-2011, 12:49 PM   #3106
jphughan
Brigadier General
 
jphughan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 3,288
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jose260gti View Post
Hey guys

I need to know if i need to recode with ncsexpert after a BMW dealer update the software of the car? Or if my coding will stay there.

Regards
Jose
Since the other response was ambiguous by saying "Yes" to a question that first asked whether recoding will be required or whether existing coding will stay, I'll chime in. My understanding is that it depends on what modules actually get updated at the dealer. If a module you've coded gets updated, then yes you'll need to recode. But if for example you coded KOMBI and there are no KOMBI updates to be installed, they should stay.
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder
jphughan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-02-2011, 01:06 PM   #3107
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Sorry didnt realize he had another sentence at the end.
The dealer usually programs the entire car so yes you will need to recode.
It has been my experience with many people.
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-03-2011, 08:37 AM   #3108
LinxuS
First Lieutenant
 
LinxuS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 328i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 389
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 328i e90  [4.64]
Sorry if I missed it, but read through the last couple of pages and could not file a link to download the newest INPA / EDIABAS / NCSexpert files... anyone have a link for those?

Also, is VMWare a free option to run Windows XP Virtual Desktop? I tried to install OBD on my computer and it kept throwing errors, so I will be upgrading to Windows 7 (currently on Vista), in hopes that it will either help, or can run a VM.

Also just now saw that there is another recommended cable that is a little more expensive, but this one should work for my application without any modification, correct? Especially since I already bought it! 2007 E90 with 10/06 build date:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...K%3AMEWNX%3AIT
LinxuS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-03-2011, 08:41 AM   #3109
Pseudo Nim
twinborific
 
Pseudo Nim's Avatar
 
Drives: fast, sometimes slow
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: i am a citizen of the world

Posts: 4,693
iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LinxuS View Post
Sorry if I missed it, but read through the last couple of pages and could not file a link to download the newest INPA / EDIABAS / NCSexpert files... anyone have a link for those?

Also, is VMWare a free option to run Windows XP Virtual Desktop?

Also just now saw that there is another recommended cable that is a little more expensive, but this one should work for my application without any modification, correct? Especially since I already bought it! 2007 E90 with 10/06 build date:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...K%3AMEWNX%3AIT
Use "Windows XP mode" if you have Windows 7 - best (and free) option for NCS.
__________________
Pseudo Nim is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-04-2011, 01:18 AM   #3110
mrtanz
Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW 2008 325i upgrade
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia

Posts: 445
iTrader: (0)

Tried coding a 2010 E90 today however it throwed me an error about FA $061 not available. This is when i first selected E90 and pressed F6 at the begining of the process. Didnt allow me to continue

Second car: E90 2009
Was able to code everything however couldnt find CIC module.

Do i need the E89V41 daten files?

Currently i am using the files available from the first link

LOG:
ERROR! Modul: LFCDHDIA.CPP (A_CIC.IPS/IPO), Proc: CDHapiResultText, LineNr: 01, ErrorNr: 2000
COAPI-2000: EDIABAS or SGBD error
SYS-0005: OBJECT FILE NOT FOUND

>> ERROR! Modul: COAPI2.CPP, Proc: coapiRunCabd, LineNr: 06, ErrorNr: 2000
CODIERINDEX_LESEN

>> ERROR! Modul: COAPI.CPP, Proc: coapiReadCodierIndexFromSg, LineNr: 05, ErrorNr: 2000
CODIERINDEX_LESEN: A_CIC

>> ERROR! Modul: LFCDHDIA.CPP (A_CIC.IPS/IPO), Proc: CDHapiResultText, LineNr: 01, ErrorNr: 2000
SYS-0005: OBJECT FILE NOT FOUND

>> ERROR! Modul: COAPI2.CPP, Proc: coapiRunCabd, LineNr: 06, ErrorNr: 2000
CODIERDATEN_LESEN
mrtanz is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      08-04-2011, 01:28 AM   #3111
mrtanz
Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW 2008 325i upgrade
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia

Posts: 445
iTrader: (0)

I am downloading it anyway but its 4gb so if its not needed and there is something else wrong then i will cancel it

Thank You
mrtanz is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      08-04-2011, 06:37 AM   #3112
E92Ghost
New Member
 
E92Ghost's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Netherlands

Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)

I finally have the front indicators dimmed as sidemarker lamps. They are going on when I switch the light on. But is it maybe possible that they were always on when the car starts? My Angel Eyes also going on when I start the car.
E92Ghost is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-04-2011, 06:30 PM   #3113
mrtanz
Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW 2008 325i upgrade
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia

Posts: 445
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtanz View Post
Tried coding a 2010 E90 today however it throwed me an error about FA $061 not available. This is when i first selected E90 and pressed F6 at the begining of the process. Didnt allow me to continue

Second car: E90 2009
Was able to code everything however couldnt find CIC module.

Do i need the E89V41 daten files?

Currently i am using the files available from the first link

LOG:
ERROR! Modul: LFCDHDIA.CPP (A_CIC.IPS/IPO), Proc: CDHapiResultText, LineNr: 01, ErrorNr: 2000
COAPI-2000: EDIABAS or SGBD error
SYS-0005: OBJECT FILE NOT FOUND

>> ERROR! Modul: COAPI2.CPP, Proc: coapiRunCabd, LineNr: 06, ErrorNr: 2000
CODIERINDEX_LESEN

>> ERROR! Modul: COAPI.CPP, Proc: coapiReadCodierIndexFromSg, LineNr: 05, ErrorNr: 2000
CODIERINDEX_LESEN: A_CIC

>> ERROR! Modul: LFCDHDIA.CPP (A_CIC.IPS/IPO), Proc: CDHapiResultText, LineNr: 01, ErrorNr: 2000
SYS-0005: OBJECT FILE NOT FOUND

>> ERROR! Modul: COAPI2.CPP, Proc: coapiRunCabd, LineNr: 06, ErrorNr: 2000
CODIERDATEN_LESEN
Any got any ideas on this?
mrtanz is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      08-05-2011, 12:31 AM   #3114
mrtanz
Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW 2008 325i upgrade
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia

Posts: 445
iTrader: (0)

Just had another car which was a 05 E90 that i couldnt see the CAPPL (CCC) module in the list when pressing F4.
Yesterday had the same problem which was a 09 E90
But had no problems on my 08 E90
Happily take any suggesstions as to the cause of this.
Also having cluster light always on...has anyone tried this witha before 2006?
mrtanz is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      08-05-2011, 10:26 AM   #3115
justa3series
Banned
 
Drives: 2010 328xi
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY

Posts: 161
iTrader: (1)

No need to quote entire question.

It shows error right there in bold below. You need latest daten.

Module CIC and file not found. Easy

>> ERROR! Modul: COAPI.CPP, Proc: coapiReadCodierIndexFromSg, LineNr: 05, ErrorNr: 2000
CODIERINDEX_LESEN: A_CIC
>> ERROR! Modul: LFCDHDIA.CPP (A_CIC.IPS/IPO), Proc: CDHapiResultText, LineNr: 01, ErrorNr: 2000
SYS-0005: OBJECT FILE NOT FOUND
justa3series is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-05-2011, 11:24 AM   #3116
jjj88
Registered
 
Drives: x5 E70
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney

Posts: 4
iTrader: (0)

Does anyone know whether coding or upgrade software can fix the problem of occasionally Blank NAV Screen (just can see under light,functionally ok)? I have a E70
jjj88 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-05-2011, 11:41 AM   #3117
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

^No that definitely sounds more like failing hardware unfortunately mate
Time for dealer trip.
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-05-2011, 12:05 PM   #3118
jjj88
Registered
 
Drives: x5 E70
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney

Posts: 4
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant@DetailAddict View Post
^No that definitely sounds more like failing hardware unfortunately mate
Time for dealer trip.
Thanks. How difficult is buy a new ccc nav system and re-program DIY. The dealer quoted me $5000+ to change the NAV screen today. any tips from an expert like you is welcome.
jjj88 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-05-2011, 01:16 PM   #3119
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Dear lord!
5K is crazy.
Finding the parts and possibly bringing them for the dealer to install might be a better option.
Otherwise, you will run into needing to code your vin back into the new CCC which can be tricky using the USB interface I've heard.
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-05-2011, 03:23 PM   #3120
ChuckD05
NeedsMoarBoost
 
Drives: 08 135i / 06 e90 325xi
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NY

Posts: 510
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
sorry if this is a repeated question, which I am sure it is... but I have looked through a bunch of the 143 pages and could not find the answer..

Can coding stop the car from giving me warning beeps with my depo headlights in my 06? That would be awesome if so!
ChuckD05 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-05-2011, 03:49 PM   #3121
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Yes. by removing bulb errors.
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-05-2011, 03:49 PM   #3122
Neutrino45
Major
 
Neutrino45's Avatar
 
Drives: XXX
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: milky way

Posts: 1,446
iTrader: (2)

ChuckD05, yes. Try reading this if you've not seen it before. http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=480261
__________________
Neutrino45 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-05-2011, 08:21 PM   #3123
topcat87
Banned
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Here

Posts: 357
iTrader: (3)

question: suppose i successfully did the Video-in-motion code, wil the internet broswer work when the vehicle is in motion as well?
topcat87 is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      08-05-2011, 09:16 PM   #3124
mrtanz
Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW 2008 325i upgrade
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia

Posts: 445
iTrader: (0)

i have been searching everhwere where can i get the latest files?
mrtanz is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST