E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > BMW CODING success



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-21-2011, 07:59 PM   #3301
leoe90
New Member
 
Drives: 2009 E90 335i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ

Posts: 9
iTrader: (0)

The only option in my fsw_psw.man file is SIDEMARKER_US_NFRM. i don't see the other 3 lines.

after selecting CAS, I am reading ECU from NFRM, is this correct?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jphughan View Post
Try coding all of these:

PWM_POL_BEI_AKTIVEN_AL
wert_04

PWM_POL_BEI_AKTIVEN_FL
wert_04

SL_FKT_MIT_POL
nicht_aktiv

SIDEMARKER_US_MIT_FRA_V
nicht_aktiv
leoe90 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-21-2011, 08:00 PM   #3302
jphughan
Brigadier General
 
jphughan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 3,265
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by leoe90 View Post
The only option in my fsw_psw.man file is SIDEMARKER_US_NFRM. i don't see the other 3 lines.

after selecting CAS, I am reading ECU from NFRM, is this correct?
Yes, but you should be looking in your TRC file after reading NFRM and then copying it to your MAN file to make changes, not looking in your MAN file initially. Different year cars have different options, so you might not have those. Check the coding spreadsheet; there are a TON of option possibilities for the side marker delete.
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder
jphughan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-22-2011, 12:47 PM   #3303
jbimmer3
Captain
 
jbimmer3's Avatar
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Layton, UT

Posts: 876
iTrader: (3)

Need some help again. Trying to remove my angel eye errors. 2006 e90. Looked at the spreadsheet. Looks like the codes listed are for 2007+ What should I code to remove the error on 06? Thank you!
__________________

Car pics HERE
jbimmer3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-23-2011, 01:05 AM   #3304
larry_bml
Private
 
larry_bml's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 320d Steptronic 2007
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Romania - Pitesti

Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)

What is the exact error that you receive? Did you change bub lights from angel eyes with LED ? and now you are receiving errors?
larry_bml is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-23-2011, 02:25 AM   #3305
E92Ghost
New Member
 
E92Ghost's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Netherlands

Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)

I want to set default iDrive function to Entertainment. So I have enabled VA_FB_ENTERTAINMENT. But this doesn’t work. Keep on having the main menu. Can anyone tell me if this is the correct record or have I to set more records.
E92Ghost is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-23-2011, 06:56 AM   #3306
jbimmer3
Captain
 
jbimmer3's Avatar
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Layton, UT

Posts: 876
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by larry_bml View Post
What is the exact error that you receive? Did you change bub lights from angel eyes with LED ? and now you are receiving errors?
Yes. The angel eyes are led and throw bulb out errors.
__________________

Car pics HERE
jbimmer3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-23-2011, 08:56 AM   #3307
rshew
member
 
rshew's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 325i 2006
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Van

Posts: 105
iTrader: (0)

Just got my cable. My cable has a USB plug (no COM port plug). When I attach the cable to my computer it cannot find the correct driver for the cable. My computer is running Windows XP. Where can I find the right driver for the computer to recognize the cable?
rshew is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-23-2011, 09:04 AM   #3308
jphughan
Brigadier General
 
jphughan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 3,265
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rshew View Post
Just got my cable. My cable has a USB plug (no COM port plug). When I attach the cable to my computer it cannot find the correct driver for the cable. My computer is running Windows XP. Where can I find the right driver for the computer to recognize the cable?
Read the thread. Drivers are included in the RAR file that has the software but there are updated drivers at the "Correct driver" link here: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?p=8758367
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder
jphughan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-23-2011, 01:55 PM   #3309
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jphughan View Post
Yes. CIC and some other modules require the ECU folder from newer daten files to be copied into your EDIABAS folder. However, keep the existing ECU folder as-is, because other modules like NFRM only work with the old version. What I do is name one ECU-orig and one ECU-new, and then change the name of whichever folder I need to use to "ECU" before opening NCS.
If you update properly and merge everything there's no need for this. I never have to "switch" between versions and I code everything from '06-12
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-23-2011, 02:27 PM   #3310
jphughan
Brigadier General
 
jphughan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 3,265
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant@DetailAddict View Post
If you update properly and merge everything there's no need for this. I never have to "switch" between versions and I code everything from '06-12
Tell me more....I tried using the original ECU folder as-is, the new ECU folder as-is, and the contents of the new ECU folder copied into the original one overwriting any older files, and I never found a one-config-fits-all solution. What is this proper update and merge procedure you speak of?
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder
jphughan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-23-2011, 03:18 PM   #3311
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Hmm without having your laptop to explore I'm not sure I can be of much help.
It CAN be done, since that's what mine is like... old FRM, NFRM, and brand new cars all function.
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-25-2011, 09:21 AM   #3312
rshew
member
 
rshew's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 325i 2006
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Van

Posts: 105
iTrader: (0)

Finally got my cable to work yesterday. Thanks to everyone who posted all the info.
rshew is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-25-2011, 09:15 PM   #3313
Imperator
Major
 
Imperator's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 E92 335i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Plano, Texas

Posts: 1,129
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jphughan View Post
I get it through the CAS master ECU and I think it's about 37KB. FYI though you have to use the original EDIABAS\ECU folder; using the one from newer daten packages or even importing them into the existing folder landed me an EDIABAS version error trying to read NFRM -- but using the old ECU folder prevents me from reading CIC, so I keep both.
I ran into this issue tonight coding my 2010 E92. I "merged" the v42 daten as documented in the other forum and was successful reading all modules except NFRM. It built a 229K TRC file but terminated with the following error:

Quote:
error reading NFRM

Error in CABD! Look at CABI.ERR and ERROR.LOG!

COAPII-2000: EDIABAS or SGBD error
BIP-0009: BEST VERSION ERROR
The ERROR.LOG reads:

Quote:
ERROR! Modul: LFCDHDIA.CPP (A_SMCKWR.IPS/IPO), Proc: CDHapiResultText, LineNr: 01, ErrorNr: 2020
COAPI-2020: no answer from ECU
IFH-0009: NO RESPONSE FROM CONTROLUNIT

>> ERROR! Modul: COAPI2.CPP, Proc: coapiRunCabd, LineNr: 06, ErrorNr: 2020
CODIERINDEX_LESEN

>> ERROR! Modul: LFCDHDIA.CPP (A_SMCKWR.IPS/IPO), Proc: CDHapiResultText, LineNr: 01, ErrorNr: 2020
IFH-0009: NO RESPONSE FROM CONTROLUNIT

>> ERROR! Modul: COAPI2.CPP, Proc: coapiRunCabd, LineNr: 06, ErrorNr: 2020
CODIERDATEN_LESEN
ERROR! Modul: IND_PER.C, ProcNr: 94, LineNr: 01, ErrorNr: 105.

ERROR! Modul: COAPI.CPP, Proc: coapiTraceIndividFswPsw, LineNr: 04, ErrorNr: 1141
COAPI-1141: FSW faulty
C:\NCSEXPER\WORK\INDIVID.TRC

I'll give your strategy a shot later and see if that works. Hopefully I only need to change the ECU folder.
Imperator is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-25-2011, 09:36 PM   #3314
jphughan
Brigadier General
 
jphughan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 3,265
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imperator View Post
I ran into this issue tonight coding my 2010 E92. I "merged" the v42 daten as documented in the other forum and was successful reading all modules except NFRM.
I have the same issue trying to read NFRM. Reverting to the original ECU folder fixes it.
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder
jphughan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-25-2011, 11:40 PM   #3315
Imperator
Major
 
Imperator's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 E92 335i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Plano, Texas

Posts: 1,129
iTrader: (7)

Another easy option I added tonight while playing around in the CIC:

Add the NOAA Weather Radio bands to your radio. Tested on a 2010 E92 with CIC iDrive. "Weather Radio" appears as a selection within the "Radio" menu. You can add one of the bands as a preset to your list.

In CIC:
RADIO_WEATHERBAND

Change to "aktiv"
Imperator is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-26-2011, 01:00 AM   #3316
larry_bml
Private
 
larry_bml's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 320d Steptronic 2007
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Romania - Pitesti

Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhondas2 View Post
Yes. The angel eyes are led and throw bulb out errors.
Code FRM to pass tests for angel eyes bulbs.
larry_bml is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-26-2011, 08:19 AM   #3317
jphughan
Brigadier General
 
jphughan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 3,265
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imperator View Post
Another easy option I added tonight while playing around in the CIC:

Add the NOAA Weather Radio bands to your radio. Tested on a 2010 E92 with CIC iDrive. "Weather Radio" appears as a selection within the "Radio" menu. You can add one of the bands as a preset to your list.

In CIC:
RADIO_WEATHERBAND

Change to "aktiv"
Nice! Add to spreadsheet please!
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder
jphughan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-26-2011, 09:41 AM   #3318
Toshi
Private First Class
 
Drives: E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Posts: 168
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by larry_bml View Post
Code FRM to pass tests for angel eyes bulbs.
As far as I know, there's no code to cancel AE bulb check...
__________________

2008 E92 335i M-Sport (Japan spec)
ALPINA Classic Styling II, Íhlins DFV Coilover, BMS JB4, LUX H8 Ver.3,
3D Design Front Lip, BP Black Grill, ACS Roof Spoiler, ALPINA Trunk Lip, etc.
Toshi is offline   Japan
0
Reply With Quote
      09-26-2011, 11:00 AM   #3319
larry_bml
Private
 
larry_bml's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 320d Steptronic 2007
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Romania - Pitesti

Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)

If I'm not wrong they are called parking lights. I had to disable checking them when I made my LCI lights to work.
larry_bml is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-26-2011, 11:04 AM   #3320
Toshi
Private First Class
 
Drives: E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Posts: 168
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by larry_bml View Post
If I'm not wrong they are called parking lights. I had to disable checking them when I made my LCI lights to work.
Yes, AEs are also called parking lights. Please let us know if you find the code. I want to nicht_aktiv it, too.
__________________

2008 E92 335i M-Sport (Japan spec)
ALPINA Classic Styling II, Íhlins DFV Coilover, BMS JB4, LUX H8 Ver.3,
3D Design Front Lip, BP Black Grill, ACS Roof Spoiler, ALPINA Trunk Lip, etc.

Last edited by Toshi; 09-26-2011 at 11:10 AM.
Toshi is offline   Japan
0
Reply With Quote
      09-26-2011, 12:49 PM   #3321
Imperator
Major
 
Imperator's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 E92 335i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Plano, Texas

Posts: 1,129
iTrader: (7)

For anyone who's been working with the FRM3, can we get a list of the updated cold and warm bulb testing values? I'm looking for a few definitions that haven't been published, to accomplish the following:

Deactivate bulb tests on the side marker signal bulbs (for LEDs)
Deactivate bulb tests on the reverse bulbs (LEDs)
Retrofit LCI (LED) tail lights to a 2010 E92

Thanks in advance!
Imperator is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-27-2011, 01:02 AM   #3322
larry_bml
Private
 
larry_bml's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 320d Steptronic 2007
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Romania - Pitesti

Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toshi View Post
Yes, AEs are also called parking lights. Please let us know if you find the code. I want to nicht_aktiv it, too.
I'm in big hurry right now but you can test

KALTUEBERWACHUNG_SL_V_L and KALTUEBERWACHUNG_SL_V_R to change them to nicht_aktiv , and also FEHLERMELDUNG_CC_SL_V_L and FEHLERMELDUNG_CC_SL_V_R and WARMUEBERWACHUNG_SL_V_L and WARMUEBERWACHUNG_SL_V_R , change them all to nicht_aktiv and try again. If you still got errors for bulbs, change them back to like you find it , and give me a "BUZZ " , maybe these are not the correct names for parking lights, and I will try to give an eye on my FRM.TRC file to find the correct values. I'm waiting for your answer if they were working or not.
larry_bml is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST