E90Post
 


PYSPEED
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > BMW CODING success



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-06-2011, 10:53 AM   #3345
dsl55dsl
0
New Member
 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Montreal

Posts: 13
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jphughan View Post
No idea why people say that or who's saying it, but the cable I posted is the cable I've used successfully on 08s up to my own 2011.75. If you get your own cable your mileage may obviously vary, but if you have weird coding issues that would have to be a suspect.
So you would recommend me going with the person you initially refered or simply go with anyone with the description of BMW INPA Ediabas K+DCAN USB Cable Interface D-CAN CAN.

I like that seller because hes in Canada.

Sorry guys for being a pain
dsl55dsl is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-06-2011, 10:55 AM   #3346
jphughan
34
Brigadier General
 
jphughan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 3,438
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsl55dsl View Post
So you would recommend me going with the person you initially refered or simply go with anyone with the description of BMW INPA Ediabas K+DCAN USB Cable Interface D-CAN CAN.

I like that seller because hes in Canada.

Sorry guys for being a pain
I would recommend going with the cable that's known to work properly. Some who have purchased other cables have been just fine, others have had intermittent or totally blocking issues. Some of the other cables apparently have shoddy components and/or still have Pin 8 active which can cause problems with newer cars (look at my posts a while back in this thread if you're curious), so like I said before: If you want to try another cable, go ahead, but if you have problems, then the fact that you didn't go with the known good option should be on your list of potential suspects.
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Yoko AD08 R | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder
jphughan is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-06-2011, 12:48 PM   #3347
everlast
2
Malt'm'n'Salt'm
 
Drives: 2008 328xiT
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON

Posts: 221
iTrader: (0)

The cable from automotive scan tools on ebay comes with the adapter to run on old or new cars, and lists in the auction to 2010 cars. 2011 should work fine too.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-INPA-Edi..._Tools&vxp=mtr

I just offered $90 on this cable and it was accepted, fyi.
everlast is offline   Canada
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-06-2011, 03:49 PM   #3348
dsl55dsl
0
New Member
 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Montreal

Posts: 13
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by everlast View Post
The cable from automotive scan tools on ebay comes with the adapter to run on old or new cars, and lists in the auction to 2010 cars. 2011 should work fine too.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-INPA-Edi..._Tools&vxp=mtr

I just offered $90 on this cable and it was accepted, fyi.

Will try the same.... thank you,

Free Shipping also.
dsl55dsl is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-08-2011, 08:30 AM   #3349
Knob
2
Second Lieutenant
 
Knob's Avatar
 
Drives: 120d e87
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Germany

Posts: 237
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AW128i View Post
My car does have the FRM2 module and I'm probably going to be picking up the Depo lights in the near future. What coding change(s) did you make to enable the AEs on the Depo lights as the DRLs?

VERHALTEN_DRL_TFL from drl_tfl_off to drl_s

And actiavate DRL in your BC, if you donīt have this option you can activate in you KOMBI module via TAG_LICHT_AN/TAG_LICHT_AUS - aktiv
Knob is offline   Germany
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-08-2011, 03:20 PM   #3350
AW128i
10
Major
 
AW128i's Avatar
 
Drives: E82 N51
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Southeastern, PA

Posts: 1,004
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to AW128i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knob View Post
VERHALTEN_DRL_TFL from drl_tfl_off to drl_s

And actiavate DRL in your BC, if you donīt have this option you can activate in you KOMBI module via TAG_LICHT_AN/TAG_LICHT_AUS - aktiv
My car already has the DRL option in the BC, as do all U.S. E8X cars, so I guess it's just a matter of changing the VERHALTEN line as you mentioned. Thanks!!
AW128i is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-08-2011, 03:44 PM   #3351
AW128i
10
Major
 
AW128i's Avatar
 
Drives: E82 N51
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Southeastern, PA

Posts: 1,004
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to AW128i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knob View Post
VERHALTEN_DRL_TFL from drl_tfl_off to drl_s

And actiavate DRL in your BC, if you donīt have this option you can activate in you KOMBI module via TAG_LICHT_AN/TAG_LICHT_AUS - aktiv
One other thing, my FRM2 module currently shows VERHALTEN_DRL_TFL coded as "drl_h." I know that if I turn the DRLs on via the BC, the main beam is used as the DRL. So, any idea what the "h" represents?
AW128i is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-08-2011, 08:59 PM   #3352
NiVeDh
80
Major General
 
NiVeDh's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E90 335i 6MT BSM
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX & Atlanta, GA

Posts: 8,004
iTrader: (132)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by AW128i View Post
One other thing, my FRM2 module currently shows VERHALTEN_DRL_TFL coded as "drl_h." I know that if I turn the DRLs on via the BC, the main beam is used as the DRL. So, any idea what the "h" represents?
I think the "h" probably means high beam flashers. Change it to "drl_s" if you want the angel eyes to be DRL.
NiVeDh is offline   India
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-09-2011, 01:21 AM   #3353
gaifaun
11
Major
 
gaifaun's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335i LCI
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Greater Vancouver

Posts: 1,133
iTrader: (14)

Garage List
successfully coded my car! thank you so much for the all your help .

I coded Digital Speed display, Follow me home lighting, and window safety feature so far...

QUESTION: I want to delete the LED sidemarkers for my 2010 E90 LCI headlights. I cannot find the code in the NFRM module. All the sidemarker options in the google docs spreadsheet fail to show a method for LCI sedan models. Any insight would be appreciated!

also I tried coding the folding mirrors through fob for my 2010 LCI E90 and i changed the value of this (ASP_KOMFORT_EINKLAPP) to activ but it still doesn't work. Any ideas why? the other coding i mentioned earlier worked without a hiccup.

thanks in advance for the help
gaifaun is offline   Canada
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-09-2011, 09:47 AM   #3354
jphughan
34
Brigadier General
 
jphughan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 3,438
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gaifaun View Post
successfully coded my car! thank you so much for the all your help .

I coded Digital Speed display, Follow me home lighting, and window safety feature so far...

QUESTION: I want to delete the LED sidemarkers for my 2010 E90 LCI headlights. I cannot find the code in the NFRM module. All the sidemarker options in the google docs spreadsheet fail to show a method for LCI sedan models. Any insight would be appreciated!

also I tried coding the folding mirrors through fob for my 2010 LCI E90 and i changed the value of this (ASP_KOMFORT_EINKLAPP) to activ but it still doesn't work. Any ideas why? the other coding i mentioned earlier worked without a hiccup.

thanks in advance for the help
First, make sure you set the mirrors option to "aktiv", not "activ", but it also only works if you also code rolling up the windows with the fob. For your LED marker, look for any of the following -- depending on the setting, they may need to be set to aktiv, nicht_aktiv, or one of the wert options. Check the spreadsheet:

PO_RL_FKT_MIT_SL_V
PWM_FL_ALS_CORNERLIGHT
PWM_POL_BEI_AKTIVEN_AL
PWM_POL_BEI_AKTIVEN_FL
PWM_SL_V
SL_FKT_MIT_POL
PWM_SL_V_BEI_AKTIVEN_AL
PWM_SL_V_BEI_AKTIVEN_FL
SL_BL_ERS_DEF_RL_BL_1
SL_V_PO_RL_FKT
SIDEMARKER_US
SIDEMARKER_US_NFRM
SIDEMARKER_US_NF
SIDEMARKER_US_MIT_FRA_V
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Yoko AD08 R | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder
jphughan is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-09-2011, 12:55 PM   #3355
Pete Schweaty
5
Lieutenant
 
Pete Schweaty's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i E90
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: MD

Posts: 599
iTrader: (0)

Just coded my first function! I ran into a little trouble but was back in business as soon as I updated my daten files. My question is, now that everything is set up, can I just start at step 52 where it says Load file FSW_PSW_MAN??? or do I have to do the whole thing over every time?
Pete Schweaty is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-09-2011, 01:30 PM   #3356
jphughan
34
Brigadier General
 
jphughan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 3,438
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Schweaty View Post
Just coded my first function! I ran into a little trouble but was back in business as soon as I updated my daten files. My question is, now that everything is set up, can I just start at step 52 where it says Load file FSW_PSW_MAN??? or do I have to do the whole thing over every time?
You can start at loading the NCS profile.
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Yoko AD08 R | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder
jphughan is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-09-2011, 02:10 PM   #3357
Pete Schweaty
5
Lieutenant
 
Pete Schweaty's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i E90
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: MD

Posts: 599
iTrader: (0)

Thanks
Pete Schweaty is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-09-2011, 02:12 PM   #3358
nineofspades
0
New Member
 
Drives: 335i E90
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: USA

Posts: 17
iTrader: (0)

So it looks like my service counters got reset.. Is there any way to set them back to what they were...

Additionaly, is there any way to know what they were?
nineofspades is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-09-2011, 02:42 PM   #3359
gaifaun
11
Major
 
gaifaun's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335i LCI
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Greater Vancouver

Posts: 1,133
iTrader: (14)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by jphughan View Post
First, make sure you set the mirrors option to "aktiv", not "activ", but it also only works if you also code rolling up the windows with the fob. For your LED marker, look for any of the following -- depending on the setting, they may need to be set to aktiv, nicht_aktiv, or one of the wert options. Check the spreadsheet:

PO_RL_FKT_MIT_SL_V
PWM_FL_ALS_CORNERLIGHT
PWM_POL_BEI_AKTIVEN_AL
PWM_POL_BEI_AKTIVEN_FL
PWM_SL_V
SL_FKT_MIT_POL
PWM_SL_V_BEI_AKTIVEN_AL
PWM_SL_V_BEI_AKTIVEN_FL
SL_BL_ERS_DEF_RL_BL_1
SL_V_PO_RL_FKT
SIDEMARKER_US
SIDEMARKER_US_NFRM
SIDEMARKER_US_NF
SIDEMARKER_US_MIT_FRA_V
Thanks for your help, I will try out those values asap. I'm pretty sure I tried all the values, but I will double check.

as for the mirrors, I just didn't know how to use them initially. I got them to work with with CA. It is really cool. After I code windows up with fob, the mirrors should work with fob also.
gaifaun is offline   Canada
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-09-2011, 03:18 PM   #3360
Boostin FD
15
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Boostin FD's Avatar
 
Drives: F82 M4
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: St. Louis

Posts: 1,524
iTrader: (2)

Damn CIC. E92 m3
Last week some kind of module died in my car in which case stereo nor radio nor anything coming from the screen would work.

Dealer replaced the module and also recoded my CIC with some software. So now I can't read the CIC at all. Before went to the dealer using daten v41 software worked fine... Now, I have tried v41, v39, v42 and always this same error:

Error in CABD! Look at CABI.ERR and ERROR.LOG
COAPI-2041: wrong ecu coding index
A_CIC: CODIERINDEX = 1AH


Anybody have any idea what's going on? Every other module works except this one.

Thanks guys.
__________________
Boostin FD is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-09-2011, 03:38 PM   #3361
jphughan
34
Brigadier General
 
jphughan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 3,438
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boostin FD View Post
Damn CIC. E92 m3
Last week some kind of module died in my car in which case stereo nor radio nor anything coming from the screen would work.

Dealer replaced the module and also recoded my CIC with some software. So now I can't read the CIC at all. Before went to the dealer using daten v41 software worked fine... Now, I have tried v41, v39, v42 and always this same error:

Error in CABD! Look at CABI.ERR and ERROR.LOG
COAPI-2041: wrong ecu coding index
A_CIC: CODIERINDEX = 1AH


Anybody have any idea what's going on? Every other module works except this one.

Thanks guys.
When you tried the V42 daten did you also grab the updated ECU files from the V42 package and put them into your \EDIABAS\ECU folder?
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Yoko AD08 R | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder
jphughan is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-09-2011, 04:03 PM   #3362
Boostin FD
15
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Boostin FD's Avatar
 
Drives: F82 M4
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: St. Louis

Posts: 1,524
iTrader: (2)

Yes sir. Ran the laden.bat file then copied the ecu and sgdat to appropriate places. Always that error. No idea what's going on... Any way to check what version of CIC I have sock know which files I should use?

I mean should v42 work. Anyone else have this issue with 09 m3?
__________________
Boostin FD is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-10-2011, 05:05 PM   #3363
pwrplaya
0
New Member
 
pwrplaya's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011.5 E90 M3 6MT
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK

Posts: 17
iTrader: (0)

Similar problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boostin FD View Post
Damn CIC. E92 m3
Last week some kind of module died in my car in which case stereo nor radio nor anything coming from the screen would work.

Dealer replaced the module and also recoded my CIC with some software. So now I can't read the CIC at all. Before went to the dealer using daten v41 software worked fine... Now, I have tried v41, v39, v42 and always this same error:

Error in CABD! Look at CABI.ERR and ERROR.LOG
COAPI-2041: wrong ecu coding index
A_CIC: CODIERINDEX = 1AH


Anybody have any idea what's going on? Every other module works except this one.

Thanks guys.
I got a similar error using SP-Daten V41:

Error in CABD! Look at CABI.ERR and ERROR.LOG!
COAPI-2000: EDIABS or SGBD error
BIP-0009: BEST VERSION ERROR

I just downloaded the 18mb V42 files. Going to give it a try tomorrow.
__________________
2011.5 E90 M3 - 6MT - Jerez Black / Fox Red/Black/Black - ZCP, ZCV, ZCW, ZP2 - Moonroof - Enhanced Premium Sound

pwrplaya is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-10-2011, 05:17 PM   #3364
Pete Schweaty
5
Lieutenant
 
Pete Schweaty's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i E90
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: MD

Posts: 599
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jphughan View Post
Try this. It's much smaller than the 18mb version and works on the e90.
Pete Schweaty is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-10-2011, 05:51 PM   #3365
Boostin FD
15
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Boostin FD's Avatar
 
Drives: F82 M4
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: St. Louis

Posts: 1,524
iTrader: (2)

Those didn't work either... I guess got to see about getting v43. Another odd thing dealer did with the new update... If you don't have seatbelt on, DCT will not stay in gear and it will go in neutral. Behaves the same way as if the door is open.

I checked with the dealer as I thought there was a problem with DCT... They confirmed it's new update. Strange thing is, my seatbelt gong is disabled... But I guess that doesn't matter.
__________________
Boostin FD is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-10-2011, 06:09 PM   #3366
jphughan
34
Brigadier General
 
jphughan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 3,438
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boostin FD View Post
Those didn't work either... I guess got to see about getting v43. Another odd thing dealer did with the new update... If you don't have seatbelt on, DCT will not stay in gear and it will go in neutral. Behaves the same way as if the door is open.

I checked with the dealer as I thought there was a problem with DCT... They confirmed it's new update. Strange thing is, my seatbelt gong is disabled... But I guess that doesn't matter.
Yep, there's a thread on M3Post about this new "feature". The seatbelt gong isn't the same as the seatbelt sensor, which I wouldn't recommend disabling since I know the airbags take into account whether seatbelts are fastened when they determine how (or whether) to deploy.

Oh, and insert obligatory "Wouldn't have that problem with 6MT."
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Yoko AD08 R | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder
jphughan is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST