E90Post
 


MINHS Auto Care Center
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > BMW CODING success



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-23-2011, 05:46 PM   #3411
ramez75
Private First Class
United_States
5

 
ramez75's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335i xDrive Coupe (E92)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PA USA


Posts: 176
iTrader: (1)

Another thing I noticed is, when I plug the cable into the OBD the light comes on in the cable. I turn on INPALOAD and see both the circles black,. I click on E90 and Karosserie--> "Airbags" and I then get the error that I posted in the previous post and then the light in the cable turn off.

Anyone that can guide me on what am I doing wrong. I even updated the files in "\EDIABAS\Hardware\OBD\USB2.0 Win XP" with the files I got ffrom the below post step 6

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?p=8758367


Another question what is the use of the NCSDummy in the NCSEXPER folder. I clicked on it and it opened a screen which have different fields. Do I need to mess with it

Last edited by ramez75; 10-23-2011 at 07:04 PM.
Appreciate 0
      10-23-2011, 06:55 PM   #3412
bumere90
Grozniy
United_States
50

 
Drives: Carless
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: FL


Posts: 2,602
iTrader: (12)

^ did you purchase a recommended cable?
__________________
-fatman
Appreciate 0
      10-23-2011, 08:08 PM   #3413
ramez75
Private First Class
United_States
5

 
ramez75's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335i xDrive Coupe (E92)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PA USA


Posts: 176
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bumere90 View Post
^ did you purchase a recommended cable?
Yes I did....Below is the pic


Last edited by ramez75; 10-23-2011 at 08:15 PM.
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2011, 12:24 AM   #3414
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
78

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA


Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Ramez75-

Forget about the Airbag test in INPA it fails for a lot of people.
As for the error your receiving in NCS, when you launch NCS and go to read your first module, it will launch ediabas server. Make sure you have the EDIABAS files in the main C:/ directory since it looks like it is failing to launch the ediabas executable. Make sure the file name hasnt changed either. Did you accidentally move the EDIABAS exe instead of creating a short cut?

Hope I've helped a little bit. Good luck.
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2011, 05:33 AM   #3415
ramez75
Private First Class
United_States
5

 
ramez75's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335i xDrive Coupe (E92)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PA USA


Posts: 176
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant@DetailAddict View Post
Ramez75-

Forget about the Airbag test in INPA it fails for a lot of people.
As for the error your receiving in NCS, when you launch NCS and go to read your first module, it will launch ediabas server. Make sure you have the EDIABAS files in the main C:/ directory since it looks like it is failing to launch the ediabas executable. Make sure the file name hasnt changed either. Did you accidentally move the EDIABAS exe instead of creating a short cut?

Hope I've helped a little bit. Good luck.
Hi, thanks for responding back.....I unzipped the NCSEXPER.rar to the "C directory" drive as per the instructions. I never went into the EDIABAS file since the instructions dont call for that or create a shortcut.

Do I need to be connected to the INTERNET or have internet on my PC when I am using NCSEXPERT.

Where is EDIABAS.exe located, in what file within the EDIABAS directory so I can make sure the file name is not changed.

I also updated the files in "\EDIABAS\Hardware\OBD\USB2.0 Win XP" as per the below post STEP 6 (just incase)

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?p=8758367
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2011, 06:34 AM   #3416
Snyperx
Lieutenant
United_States
17

 
Drives: 2006 325i (SOLD)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Stoughon, WI


Posts: 511
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2006 BMW 325i  [0.00]
I got my cable ordered. Hopefully is shows up. I was able to make an offer of $85 and the seller accepted. It is coming from Hong Kong. Here is the link:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/160657246345...84.m1423.l2649
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2011, 06:48 AM   #3417
ramez75
Private First Class
United_States
5

 
ramez75's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335i xDrive Coupe (E92)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PA USA


Posts: 176
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snyperx View Post
I got my cable ordered. Hopefully is shows up. I was able to make an offer of $85 and the seller accepted. It is coming from Hong Kong. Here is the link:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/160657246345...84.m1423.l2649
Mine looks like the one you got. Mine was posted for $99 (free shipping). I got it in ~ 3 weeks. I plugged it in and Windows did some installing and then I could see it on the device manager.
Of course I still cant get INPA (which I am going to ignore now) and NCSEXPER to work so I can start programming.

LEt me know how it works out for you
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2011, 07:25 AM   #3418
ramez75
Private First Class
United_States
5

 
ramez75's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335i xDrive Coupe (E92)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PA USA


Posts: 176
iTrader: (1)

While I was waiting for the cable I think I read that I need to have or make sure that there is a OBD.ini file in the C:Windows directory.

Well before I headed to work I checked the C:Windows directory and there is no sign of OBD.ini file...........Do I really need that and if so where do I get it from

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2011, 07:31 AM   #3419
Snyperx
Lieutenant
United_States
17

 
Drives: 2006 325i (SOLD)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Stoughon, WI


Posts: 511
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2006 BMW 325i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramez75 View Post
While I was waiting for the cable I think I read that I need to have or make sure that there is a OBD.ini file in the C:Windows directory.

Well before I headed to work I checked the C:Windows directory and there is no sign of OBD.ini file...........Do I really need that and if so where do I get it from

Thanks
Why don't you use Windows search and look for the file on your computer first? It may be on your computer,but not in the Windows directory.
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2011, 08:00 AM   #3420
ramez75
Private First Class
United_States
5

 
ramez75's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335i xDrive Coupe (E92)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PA USA


Posts: 176
iTrader: (1)

Oh I did that too. There is no sign for OBD.ini on my PC

So the question still stands where can I get it from. Does any one have it? Are they car specific if so I will need it for a E92
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2011, 08:31 AM   #3421
Snyperx
Lieutenant
United_States
17

 
Drives: 2006 325i (SOLD)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Stoughon, WI


Posts: 511
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2006 BMW 325i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramez75 View Post
Oh I did that too. There is no sign for OBD.ini on my PC

So the question still stands where can I get it from. Does any one have it? Are they car specific if so I will need it for a E92
Have you you tried using this DIY??

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...ghlight=Coding
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2011, 09:18 AM   #3422
Bender1012
Private
United_States
0

 
Drives: 2007 335xi 6MT
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Hamilton, MA


Posts: 90
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramez75 View Post
Mine looks like the one you got. Mine was posted for $99 (free shipping). I got it in ~ 3 weeks. I plugged it in and Windows did some installing and then I could see it on the device manager.
Of course I still cant get INPA (which I am going to ignore now) and NCSEXPER to work so I can start programming.

LEt me know how it works out for you
My prediction is something is wrong with your drivers. You say you plugged it in and Windows automagically did some stuff... I haven't heard of it being that simple for anyone. The DIY guide in this thread is somewhat out of date because he originally was using an OBD to COM cable, and now people always get OBD to USB. There is another thread on this forum that has a lot of useful information, including the correct drivers (see number 6). Be sure to pay attention to point number 7 also. This is what I used and it worked perfectly.
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2011, 10:54 AM   #3423
ramez75
Private First Class
United_States
5

 
ramez75's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335i xDrive Coupe (E92)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PA USA


Posts: 176
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bender1012 View Post
My prediction is something is wrong with your drivers. You say you plugged it in and Windows automagically did some stuff... I haven't heard of it being that simple for anyone. The DIY guide in this thread is somewhat out of date because he originally was using an OBD to COM cable, and now people always get OBD to USB. There is another thread on this forum that has a lot of useful information, including the correct drivers (see number 6). Be sure to pay attention to point number 7 also. This is what I used and it worked perfectly.
Yes I have been referring to this post. I actually followed step 6 by replacing the files in "\EDIABAS\Hardware\OBD\USB2.0 Win XP" with the ones I downloaded from step 6.

Today when I get home I will download the drivers as per step7 in the post and see if this will make it work
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2011, 04:53 PM   #3424
ramez75
Private First Class
United_States
5

 
ramez75's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335i xDrive Coupe (E92)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PA USA


Posts: 176
iTrader: (1)

OK I deleted the cable driver and NCSEXPER and will redo unzipping the *.rar file......

Does anyone have the OBD.ini file....Where do I get it from.

Also what cable driver do I use. There is a lot out there. I have Windows XP SP3 32bit

Any help on this is greatly appreciated

Also do I need to change the line for “remotehost” and “port” adjust to “192.168.68.1” and “6801” respectively in the Ediabas.ini

Last edited by ramez75; 10-24-2011 at 08:03 PM.
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2011, 06:48 PM   #3425
CrimsonIvy35i
Captain
13

 
Drives: X6 M
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Central America


Posts: 679
iTrader: (0)

Hello Guys

Can anyone code my car for PDC retrofit? I concluded doing the PDC retofit, however I still don't get any beeping sounds. can anyone remotely code my car, or if anyone is near the boston area I can drive to the person to get my car coded? I have a mac, and don't have the ncs expert tool.

Please anyone..
Appreciate 0
      10-25-2011, 04:31 PM   #3426
ramez75
Private First Class
United_States
5

 
ramez75's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335i xDrive Coupe (E92)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PA USA


Posts: 176
iTrader: (1)

Did anyone get this thing to work??????.....There is something wrong I am following the instructions but nothing is working so frustrating. I unistalled and re-installed the NCSEXPER.rar and now nothing works

I get the below error when I try to open INPALOAD.exe. The weird thing is api32.dll exist in C:Ediabas/Bin



Can someone tell me what exact files to download and how to go about installing them.

I mean the instructions seems straight forward but i guess I am doing something stupid
Appreciate 0
      10-25-2011, 05:22 PM   #3427
Pete Schweaty
Captain
6

 
Pete Schweaty's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i E90
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: MD


Posts: 604
iTrader: (0)

Did you follow steps 5&6 exactly? I had the same error after getting a new laptop. After I started over, I realized I did not set the path as in step 6 or restart as in step 5. It worked after that.
Appreciate 0
      10-26-2011, 11:25 AM   #3428
Former_Boosted_IS
Major General
141

 
Drives: 4 Wheels
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Planet Earth!


Posts: 5,179
iTrader: (15)

I wonder if I could get some quick help. I had to get my dme updated by the dealer recently and went to recode the digital speedometer in Kombi and got the Speedometer Display Malfunction. Any clue what the cause is here?
Appreciate 0
      10-26-2011, 11:31 AM   #3429
stilov
Lieutenant
4

 
Drives: 07 335i
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Allen, TX


Posts: 415
iTrader: (2)

ramez...mine did that last night turns out, I did not have the files in the c: I had them in a separate folder.

After I battle admin security setting in vista for about an hour, I could actually save them to c: and then it worked.
Appreciate 0
      10-26-2011, 04:47 PM   #3430
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
78

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA


Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Former_Boosted_IS View Post
I wonder if I could get some quick help. I had to get my dme updated by the dealer recently and went to recode the digital speedometer in Kombi and got the Speedometer Display Malfunction. Any clue what the cause is here?
Daten files are out of date with the new car software. Update daten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stilov View Post
ramez...mine did that last night turns out, I did not have the files in the c: I had them in a separate folder.

After I battle admin security setting in vista for about an hour, I could actually save them to c: and then it worked.
That's what I had already told him but not sure if he followed through with checking the file placement.
Appreciate 0
      10-26-2011, 06:00 PM   #3431
ramez75
Private First Class
United_States
5

 
ramez75's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335i xDrive Coupe (E92)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PA USA


Posts: 176
iTrader: (1)

Thanks guys....yea i did follow the instructions.........I downloaded another version and it worked....I had to get the obd.ini file and updated files in the C:\EDIABAS\Hardware\OBD\USB2.0 Win XP.......since my cable is from 3rd party according to another post

I am in the car now trying to code the v-speed cluster...I got to the step where i need to find BC_DIGITAL_V in the FSW_PSW.MAN but its not there....

Can I add it myself????or is the file i am using wrong

I am following the NCS_DIY.pdf downloaded in the post

UPDATE:

Ok the FSW_PSW.TRC was only 7kb but the one that I had backed up following the instructions was 220kb. So I deleted the 7kb and replaced it with the 220kb file (which had in it the BC_Digital_V). Then I opened it using notepad and saved it as FSW_PSW.MAN

So just for my education and understanding what is the *.TRC file and the *.MAN file. I believe the 220kb was the one I backed from my car.

I will go back out tomorrow and resume

Last edited by ramez75; 10-26-2011 at 06:22 PM.
Appreciate 0
      10-26-2011, 06:26 PM   #3432
jphughan
Brigadier General
United_States
39

 
jphughan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX


Posts: 3,438
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramez75 View Post
I am in the car now trying to code the v-speed cluster...I got to the step where i need to find BC_DIGITAL_V in the FSW_PSW.MAN but its not there....

Can I add it myself????or is the file i am using wrong

I am following the NCS_DIY.pdf downloaded in the post

UPDATE:

Ok the FSW_PSW.TRC was only 7kb but the one that I had backed up following the instructions was 220kb. So I deleted the 7kb and replaced it with the 220kb file (which had in it the BC_Digital_V). Then I opened it using notepad and saved it as FSW_PSW.MAN

So just for my education and understanding what is the *.TRC file and the *.MAN file. I believe the 220kb was the one I backed from my car.

I will go back out tomorrow and resume
Please, PLEASE read instructions carefully to avoid bricking your car here. Both your original procedure and your updated one are incorrect. Here's how it works.

Every time you open NCS Expert after clicking "Back" you will end up with a ~220KB TRC file that has the full config for your car. You should back this up somewhere before you do ANY coding. THEN, whenever you click Process ECU and select a module, that TRC file will be replaced with a new TRC file that contains only the options for that module. THAT is the copy you want to switch to a MAN file, modify to your liking, and code back to your car. You do NOT want to work with the 220KB TRC file EVER.

So for your digital speedo example, you want to click Process ECU, choose KOMBI, rename the TRC file to a MAN file at THAT point, make your BC_DIGITAL_V change, and code that MAN file back -- as explained in the DIY.

The TRC file is a readout of the current config of your car or the specific module you accessed, generated by NCS when you ask it to read the car or module. The MAN file is the configuration you want to code INTO the car and is sent to the car by NCS when you click Execute Job. That's why you start by reading the module that contains the value you want to code (to generate the TRC which will then contain the current config) and convert it into a MAN file after making your changes (to tell NCS the config to send back).

Fyi, you should make backups of the large TRC file, the pre-modification TRC files of any individual modules you modify, and the post-modifcation MAN files that contain the changes you made.
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Yoko AD08 R | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder

Last edited by jphughan; 10-26-2011 at 06:32 PM.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST