E90Post
 


N54Tuning.com
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > BMW CODING success



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-29-2012, 11:04 AM   #3983
jphughan
Brigadier General
jphughan's Avatar
United_States
69
Rep
3,688
Posts

Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pseudo Nim View Post
I'm curious about this too. I bet it's a hardware functionality, though. The radio must support it, and then there is nothing to code.
It's both hardware and coding. Contact Mike Benvo asking for a combox retrofit. He should be able to hook you up with the hardware and perform the coding, even remotely if you're not in the LA area.
__________________
Likely selling end of 2015:
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Yoko AD08 R | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | ECS Tuning Sunglasses Holder
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2012, 11:42 AM   #3984
Pseudo Nim
twinborific
Pseudo Nim's Avatar
56
Rep
4,761
Posts

Drives: fast, sometimes slow
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: i am a citizen of the world

iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jphughan View Post
It's both hardware and coding. Contact Mike Benvo asking for a combox retrofit. He should be able to hook you up with the hardware and perform the coding, even remotely if you're not in the LA area.
Coding's not an issue, I'm comfortable with it - but the combox is only for iDrive vehicles, no? What if you have a non-iDrive Logic7?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2012, 11:44 AM   #3985
jphughan
Brigadier General
jphughan's Avatar
United_States
69
Rep
3,688
Posts

Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pseudo Nim View Post
Coding's not an issue, I'm comfortable with it - but the combox is only for iDrive vehicles, no? What if you have a non-iDrive Logic7?
Fyi retrofit coding is a tad more complicated than simpler coding (changing VOs, installing updated software if necessary, etc), but I'm not sure what happens with non-iDrive cars. Do non-iDrive cars produced as of 9/2010 even support BT audio? If they do, it's probably through Combox, in which case I'd imagine the retrofit would be the same. If they don't, then maybe there's no way to get BT Audio on non-iDrive cars.
__________________
Likely selling end of 2015:
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Yoko AD08 R | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | ECS Tuning Sunglasses Holder
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2012, 12:26 PM   #3986
Tampa-KerscherE90
New Member
Tampa-KerscherE90's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tampa,FL

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 328i E90  [5.00]
exactly how hard is it to do? Is there any possibility of ruining the ECU? Is there a master default setting?
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2012, 12:58 PM   #3987
Car54
Captain
11
Rep
914
Posts

Drives: 2014 M-Sport Wagon - EBII
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lutz, FL

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tampa-KerscherE90 View Post
exactly how hard is it to do? Is there any possibility of ruining the ECU? Is there a master default setting?
I'm Lutz and currently have the cable and working on getting this stuff to work. PM me your info and maybe we can work something out.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2012, 02:04 PM   #3988
patrickkc
Private First Class
Canada
5
Rep
182
Posts

Drives: C63
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Richmond Hill

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by *******_ View Post
im at work now, when get back home i will correct that file,

cheers
not a problem, take your time

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2012, 03:57 PM   #3989
Dziqsek_
Banned
Poland
4
Rep
413
Posts

Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by patrickkc View Post
not a problem, take your time

Thanks
Here you go, hope it will work for you if not give me a sign and i will try to do some more
Attached Files
File Type: txt *******.txt (36.6 KB, 115 views)
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2012, 06:34 PM   #3990
patrickkc
Private First Class
Canada
5
Rep
182
Posts

Drives: C63
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Richmond Hill

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by *******_ View Post
Here you go, hope it will work for you if not give me a sign and i will try to do some more
thanks!! I will give it a try and report back!
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2012, 06:54 PM   #3991
holmes011
Lieutenant
9
Rep
420
Posts

Drives: 2008 335xi coupe
Join Date: May 2011
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

im going to get killed for this question but the cornering lights are the ones that move as you go around corners, right? and does this delete get rid of them entirely?
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2012, 07:27 PM   #3992
Dziqsek_
Banned
Poland
4
Rep
413
Posts

Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )

iTrader: (0)

I deleted for him only 3 amber leds on headlight not adaptive cornering lights
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2012, 02:56 AM   #3993
patrickkc
Private First Class
Canada
5
Rep
182
Posts

Drives: C63
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Richmond Hill

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by *******_ View Post
I deleted for him only 3 amber leds on headlight not adaptive cornering lights
*******, sadly it didn't work. His 3 amber leds are still on. I changed your file name back to .MAN and replaced the one from the car and the 3 LEDs still comes on.

These 3 amber leds are a tricky one.. haha
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2012, 04:56 PM   #3994
Dziqsek_
Banned
Poland
4
Rep
413
Posts

Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by patrickkc View Post
*******, sadly it didn't work. His 3 amber leds are still on. I changed your file name back to .MAN and replaced the one from the car and the 3 LEDs still comes on.

These 3 amber leds are a tricky one.. haha
I sit today to work a bit with your file, im pretty sure this one will work
Let me know cause i find some more options to go in case its not working but im 80% sure it will
Attached Files
File Type: txt *******(1).txt (36.6 KB, 95 views)
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2012, 07:23 PM   #3995
patrickkc
Private First Class
Canada
5
Rep
182
Posts

Drives: C63
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Richmond Hill

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by *******_ View Post
I sit today to work a bit with your file, im pretty sure this one will work
Let me know cause i find some more options to go in case its not working but im 80% sure it will
I think I have tried changing to wert_02 before, but a long with other codes, so maybe just changing these 2 values will work. Because I don't have access to the car everyday, what would be some other codes if this one fails? Just in case, so I don't have to keep going back and forth with the car.


I will report back after trying the two lines that were changed, but if you found other option, could you kindly highlight them in the file and I can test them out if one fails.

Thanks!!
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2012, 08:36 PM   #3996
patrickkc
Private First Class
Canada
5
Rep
182
Posts

Drives: C63
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Richmond Hill

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by *******_ View Post
Its not on wert_02 just code it it will work tested it today on customers car
ooh, I will try tonight and report back!
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2012, 08:38 PM   #3997
Dziqsek_
Banned
Poland
4
Rep
413
Posts

Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by patrickkc View Post
ooh, I will try tonight and report back!
Tonight 3am here already

I will check your progress in about 6-7hours , good night
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2012, 01:25 AM   #3998
patrickkc
Private First Class
Canada
5
Rep
182
Posts

Drives: C63
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Richmond Hill

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by *******_ View Post
Tonight 3am here already

I will check your progress in about 6-7hours , good night
I tried it. Changed the 2 lines to wert_04 and his 3 leds still come on.

Unsuccessful
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2012, 06:51 AM   #3999
Dziqsek_
Banned
Poland
4
Rep
413
Posts

Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )

iTrader: (0)

Hmm maybe he have some wiring mod?? I tried on my client us spec 335i and it worked, have you tried only this two werts or copy whole text from my file ?
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2012, 09:43 AM   #4000
patrickkc
Private First Class
Canada
5
Rep
182
Posts

Drives: C63
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Richmond Hill

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by *******_ View Post
Hmm maybe he have some wiring mod?? I tried on my client us spec 335i and it worked, have you tried only this two werts or copy whole text from my file ?
The car is stock and there is no wiring mods. I changed your file to FSW_PSW.MAN and replace the one in WORK and code the car, so it is using the file you sent back. I have software that checks the changes made between the 2 files and I have tried to code the 5 lines you changed manually as well and still no go.

The US spec 335i that you coded, was it a E90 or a E92/93? I coded a 328 E90 and I was able to turn off the 3 led, but on the E92/93s they have different headlights and it is those 3 amber leds that I can't get off.

I know this is confusing, but just to clarify I have attached 2 pictures. One is the E90 LCI headlights and one is E92 335is LCI headlights. They both have 3 leds on the side, but are completely different headlights.

The red car headlights I can code, but the blue car headlights is the one with a lot of trouble.
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2012, 10:50 AM   #4001
Bendercle
Banned
United_States
4
Rep
264
Posts

Drives: 2007 335xi 6MT
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Shore MA

iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to Bendercle
Makes me feel better that you experts are also working on the LCI E92 corner delete and not getting it :P

In my case was on a 2012 335is, tried lots of things couldn't get it.
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2012, 11:02 AM   #4002
M3coupe
Private
1
Rep
62
Posts

Drives: 335is
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: GA

iTrader: (2)

See if I can help

I'm new to this forum but not to the world of coding. I have a 2011 335is with the lights that seem to be giving some issues. I will start experimenting on my car to turn these off. Let you know
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2012, 12:27 PM   #4003
icucCoding
Banned
1
Rep
96
Posts

Drives: X5, ALL4S
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Madison, WI

iTrader: (3)

The newer LEDs are little different than 07 and 08 models and I haven't had any success so far.
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2012, 12:51 PM   #4004
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
263
Rep
18,296
Posts


Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
What are the codes to code out those little LEDs for older
Cars???
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:00 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST