E90Post
 


PYSPEED
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > BMW CODING success



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-30-2012, 05:04 PM   #4203
Elliott@DetailAddict
0
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Recode your NFRM/FRM to default with expert mode then re do your custom coding.
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      08-30-2012, 11:46 PM   #4204
e90sexion
0
E 9 0 S E X I O N
 
e90sexion's Avatar
 
Drives: M3, Z4MC
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Vancouver/WA

Posts: 6,352
iTrader: (16)

ok, i have done retrofit lci taillight coding like last year, i would like to add few more coding now. which steps in diy pdf can i skip from to?
e90sexion is online now   Canada
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      08-31-2012, 05:58 PM   #4205
Mixalota
0
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany

Posts: 36
iTrader: (0)

Changing language version VO S853A to S851A

Guys,

I want to change VO S853A (language version English) to S851A (language version German). Will this cause any problems? Can I delete S853A and add S851A at the same time before writing CAS with FA_WRITE?

Thanks for help.

Last edited by Mixalota; 08-31-2012 at 06:03 PM.
Mixalota is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      08-31-2012, 06:12 PM   #4206
jphughan
0
Brigadier General
 
jphughan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 3,438
iTrader: (0)

The VO is stored in more places than CAS. Whatever modules show in NCS immediately after selecting your chassis should have FA_WRITE done to them. You'll also want to run a Process Car (make sure your MAN file is blank) to have any chance of that taking effect. Make sure you back up any other coding changes you've done since they'll likely be reset too.
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Yoko AD08 R | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder
jphughan is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      08-31-2012, 06:46 PM   #4207
Mixalota
0
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany

Posts: 36
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jphughan View Post
The VO is stored in more places than CAS. Whatever modules show in NCS immediately after selecting your chassis should have FA_WRITE done to them. You'll also want to run a Process Car (make sure your MAN file is blank) to have any chance of that taking effect. Make sure you back up any other coding changes you've done since they'll likely be reset too.
I see the modules CAS, FRM and NFRM. So that means I have to use FA_WRITE for all three modules for every time I change or add an VO?

Can I add VO S548A (Kilometer cluster) to my imported US E92 because in live in Germany. The reason is because when I read the cluster settings there is no value to change miles to km/h. I think VO S548A will give me that feature to modify. Will that cause anything I haven't think about so far because of the current US settings?
Mixalota is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      08-31-2012, 09:06 PM   #4208
jphughan
0
Brigadier General
 
jphughan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 3,438
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mixalota
Quote:
Originally Posted by jphughan View Post
The VO is stored in more places than CAS. Whatever modules show in NCS immediately after selecting your chassis should have FA_WRITE done to them. You'll also want to run a Process Car (make sure your MAN file is blank) to have any chance of that taking effect. Make sure you back up any other coding changes you've done since they'll likely be reset too.
I see the modules CAS, FRM and NFRM. So that means I have to use FA_WRITE for all three modules for every time I change or add an VO?

Can I add VO S548A (Kilometer cluster) to my imported US E92 because in live in Germany. The reason is because when I read the cluster settings there is no value to change miles to km/h. I think VO S548A will give me that feature to modify. Will that cause anything I haven't think about so far because of the current US settings?
Yes, any VO changes need to be written in all of those places -- although you'd only actually have FRM or NFRM in your car even though all 3 are listed in that first list.

No idea of the impact of that particular change, haven't tried it.
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Yoko AD08 R | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder
jphughan is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      08-31-2012, 11:44 PM   #4209
swamp2
0
Lieutenant General
 
swamp2's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: San Diego, CA USA

Posts: 10,201
iTrader: (1)

It seems this is a general location for help requests for coding.

I seem to have "bricked" my car. I'm pretty computer literate/capable. So I was giving coding a go myself.

I was using the DIY coding guide by "Junior" I found here on the forum. I was just to the section with NCS Expert where you make a back up, specifically at step 26. I posted the pdf just in case it isn't clear. My lights started acting up (not sure if it was dash or interior), windshield wipers went on and I was pretty shocked. I decided to cancel all dialog boxes, quit the app and I disconnected the cable. BAM. Car is bricked. Won't start, makes weird noises when trying to start. Also has some error message icon with shock absorbers on the dash.

What in the hell happened?

As far as I could tell I did not write ANYTHING to the car.

The only other step I tried was disconnecting the battery for a few minutes and that did nothing.

Is this recoverable?

What a royal pain in the a$$.

Any help (especially before the end of the Holiday weekend) is massively appreciated.

Just in case car is relevant and signature is not seen this is a 2008 E92 M3.
Attached Images
File Type: pdf BMW Programming NCS_DIY.pdf (1.80 MB, 189 views)
swamp2 is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-01-2012, 01:50 AM   #4210
toicy4ya
0
First Lieutenant
 
toicy4ya's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 BMW 330XI
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NYC

Posts: 361
iTrader: (0)

Shout outs to jphughan, cn555ic & Sas (from another forum), as a result of their assistance, alot of researching and some patience i was able to code the following successfully;

* Disable iDrive Disclaimer
* Side Marker Delete
* Disabled Seat Belt Chime Driver/Passenger
* Lock/unlock beep option in iDrive
* Alarm beep on lock
* Alarm beep on unlock
* Fold/unfold mirrors with fob
* Digital Speed in Cluster
* Disabled Door Dong
* Disable windows safety(open door will not interrupt windows roll up)
* Wipers wipe to End position after turning engine off

Thanks again fella's
__________________
2006 330XI BSM, Terra Cotta Leather Interior, ZSP, ZPP, ZWP, ZCV, Comfort Access, Adaptive Xenon, Steptronic, Logic 7, Nav w/ IDrive


Last edited by toicy4ya; 09-01-2012 at 02:39 AM.
toicy4ya is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-01-2012, 08:42 AM   #4211
cn555ic
0
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,286
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by toicy4ya View Post
Shout outs to jphughan, cn555ic & Sas (from another forum), as a result of their assistance, alot of researching and some patience i was able to code the following successfully;

* Disable iDrive Disclaimer
* Side Marker Delete
* Disabled Seat Belt Chime Driver/Passenger
* Lock/unlock beep option in iDrive
* Alarm beep on lock
* Alarm beep on unlock
* Fold/unfold mirrors with fob
* Digital Speed in Cluster
* Disabled Door Dong
* Disable windows safety(open door will not interrupt windows roll up)
* Wipers wipe to End position after turning engine off

Thanks again fella's
Good for you! I told u that u just need to jump into it if your ever want to code. Congrats
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

cn555ic is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-01-2012, 09:10 AM   #4212
toicy4ya
0
First Lieutenant
 
toicy4ya's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 BMW 330XI
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NYC

Posts: 361
iTrader: (0)

My dude, you know damn well you wouldnt have said anything had I messed up my car. Lol

Thanks homey, I appreciate your help and vote of confidence.
__________________
2006 330XI BSM, Terra Cotta Leather Interior, ZSP, ZPP, ZWP, ZCV, Comfort Access, Adaptive Xenon, Steptronic, Logic 7, Nav w/ IDrive

toicy4ya is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-01-2012, 01:39 PM   #4213
Mixalota
0
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany

Posts: 36
iTrader: (0)

Turn off compass in mirror

Does anyboby knows how to turn off the compass in the mirror? I don't really need it. In which module do I find the values? What is the value called?

Thanks
Mixalota is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-01-2012, 05:05 PM   #4214
swamp2
0
Lieutenant General
 
swamp2's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: San Diego, CA USA

Posts: 10,201
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by swamp2 View Post
I seem to have "bricked" my car.
Car was not bricked. Just a very low battery.
swamp2 is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-03-2012, 05:21 PM   #4215
dbloh7
0
Registered
 
Drives: 325i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Canada

Posts: 1
iTrader: (0)

Saxon, did you ever get a solution to this issue?I have the exact same problem and can't seem to find a solution anywhere that works.

Thanks



Quote:
Originally Posted by saxon View Post
who wants to make some money and help me set up my laptop?

i have downloaded everything (as far as i know) and i get an error #126 (api-0006 access denied, no api calls possible

willing to throw paypal to someone who can help

saxonbrian2 at yahoo.com
dbloh7 is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-03-2012, 05:52 PM   #4216
cn555ic
0
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,286
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
His laptop was corrupted and he had to re-install windows.
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

cn555ic is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2012, 09:32 PM   #4217
07e92
0
Private
 
Drives: 07 335i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N CAL

Posts: 85
iTrader: (3)

Great DIY thread to save $$$ . Was able to code most of the things I want from the spreadsheet on my pre-March/07 build E92 except those do not show in the modules, and LCI tail works fine too (was quoted for $150 alone just for LCI retrofit coding).

Oh... and ebay cable under $30 works perfectly as well .
07e92 is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-06-2012, 05:05 AM   #4218
monacoblau_E92
0
New Member
 
monacoblau_E92's Avatar
 
Drives: 330d e92
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: italy

Posts: 28
iTrader: (0)

Hello guys, I bought a CIC with the Combox,
I want to mount it and encode it with all its breakouts,
motion video, audio and video playback from iphone / ipod via bluetooth,
unlock maps, change language etc..
I state that I can not encode anything so I need your help!
Thank you.
__________________
monacoblau_E92 is offline   Italy
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-08-2012, 10:06 PM   #4219
wafflesmartano
0
New Member
 
wafflesmartano's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i sedan
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Diego

Posts: 17
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW/335i  [0.00]
DRL

I'm just getting started with coding, and what I'd really like to do most is change the way my DRL appear on my E90 to the way the DRL appear on the E92. In other words I want my AE to function as my DRL opposed to having an entire light illuminate. Do you know if this code is possible?




Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxjecxxx View Post
I can officially code BMWs, specifically E90s. check it out


Video- close all windows and sunroof with FOB


pictures - corner delete mod, digital speed on cluster



TUTORIAL
Note: all files needed are in ncsexpert.rar and DIY is a pdf as a separate file! Enjoy!

Order this cable Updated! U
http://www.one-stop-electronics.com/...&product_id=16



Program files
http://rapidshare.com/files/429882289/NCSEXPER.rar

DIY in PDF format
http://rapidshare.com/files/429875523/NCS_DIY.pdf

Coding examples (for 5 series)
http://forums.5series.net/topic/1060...g/page__st__15

This will be your best friend at all times, especially in the bad times
http://translate.google.com/#de|en|

I have created a video for those who are having troubles or have no idea



What can I code? What values do I have to change?
Here is a spreadsheet that Neutrino45 is administering
You have to request access to it, please do not delete anything in it.
https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?...CPqY7sEC#gid=0



There is A TON of information in this thread. I have tried my best to make it easy to understand if you still have questions please first

Thank you to all the members who have contributed to this thread.


Junior
wafflesmartano is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-08-2012, 10:27 PM   #4220
jphughan
0
Brigadier General
 
jphughan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 3,438
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wafflesmartano View Post
I'm just getting started with coding, and what I'd really like to do most is change the way my DRL appear on my E90 to the way the DRL appear on the E92. In other words I want my AE to function as my DRL opposed to having an entire light illuminate. Do you know if this code is possible?
First off since it seems you're just getting started here, welcome to Bimmerpost.

Second, a few tips:

1) Be judicious about quoting posts. The first post of this thread that you quoted is VERY long and isn't necessary to understand the context of your post; it just makes your post waaaay longer than it needs to be. If you ever actually NEED to quote a long post, consider editing the quote area to retain only what you need.

2) Before asking a question about what coding is possible, check out the coding spreadsheet that's linked in that very first post. A quick check through that list will show you that it IS in fact possible to code angel eyes to be DRLs on newer cars, which includes MY2007, I believe.

Sorry if I'm coming off all "parental" here, but just trying to help you get started here and avoid a bunch of and responses.
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Yoko AD08 R | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder
jphughan is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-09-2012, 06:51 AM   #4221
wafflesmartano
0
New Member
 
wafflesmartano's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i sedan
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Diego

Posts: 17
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW/335i  [0.00]
Thanks for the advice. I'll give the threads a read. Salud!
wafflesmartano is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-09-2012, 11:16 AM   #4222
GenePoole
0
Lieutenant
 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

Posts: 537
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wafflesmartano View Post
I'm just getting started with coding, and what I'd really like to do most is change the way my DRL appear on my E90 to the way the DRL appear on the E92. In other words I want my AE to function as my DRL opposed to having an entire light illuminate. Do you know if this code is possible?
I think on your model year, you can't get the exact behavior. It probably depends on whether you have the NFRM or FRM1 (maybe FRM2, it's been awhile since I looked into this). I have a 2006 with NFRM and it's not possible through coding. Instead, I did the corner delete and just run parking lights. I've also replaced my incandescent bulbs with LEDs so it looks more like the later CFL AEs.

Please don't comment on my dirty car. It's been 3 days of thunderstorms here:

GenePoole is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-09-2012, 10:21 PM   #4223
hsleiman
0
First Lieutenant
 
hsleiman's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 e90 335xi PPK 6MT
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Morgantown, WV

Posts: 303
iTrader: (1)

Anybody know why the google docs spreadsheet is missing 90% of the coding options? Anyone have a copy backed up?
hsleiman is offline   Lebanon
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-09-2012, 10:28 PM   #4224
wafflesmartano
0
New Member
 
wafflesmartano's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i sedan
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Diego

Posts: 17
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW/335i  [0.00]
Thanks for the advice. I just got my cable in, and I'm reading up on how to go about coding. How was the whole experience for you? Was it pretty straight forward or are there some things I should look out for?

Your car looks great. Its a BMW after all right?!
wafflesmartano is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST