E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > BMW CODING success



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-18-2011, 06:30 PM   #1057
1QuikWS6
No 55mph
 
1QuikWS6's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 E92 328iX N51 3-Stage
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Blitzburgh, PA

Posts: 4,326
iTrader: (80)

Garage List
I installed the CDM20802 version as it was listed as a MS WHQL Certified Driver Pkg and loaded easily in the background.

Once I saw that the K+DCAN USB cable we bought was using an interface based on FTDI FT232RL USB to Serial Converter Chipset I figured it would work fine. That's one of the best for stability and has a ton of support available

So I figured might as well download the latest certified driver they had.

Once driver was installed, when plugging cable into any USB port, I get a 'USB Serial Port' come up in Device Mngr. It did not install it as a COM Port Driver under a Bus Driver. Of course I had to go in and change the properties of this port to COM1 & set the Latency Timer from 16msec to 1msec

Previous to this driver install all my system had available were Bluetooth Communications Ports & RIM Virtual Serial Ports
__________________
2009 328ix E92//SGM//ACS Roof Spoiler//MTech Aero Lip+Trunk Spoiler//M3 Side Skirts//CF Roundels+Grilles//M3 Novillo Interior//Perf Shift Lever+Boot//MPerf DCT Wheel//M3 GT3 eBrake Handle+Boot//ACS Pedals//M3 Mirrors//LCI Tails w/LUX Rev//DTEC V7 AE+MTec 6000K D1S+HPB HID 6000K Fogs//HPB LED Interior//RPI Scoops//CF Euro Airbox+Underhood Hsgs//K&N//BMW PE//MTech Rear Bumper-iS Sport Diffuser//CF Strut Brace//Vishnu OFT//BMW 193M's+Kumho 4X
1QuikWS6 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-18-2011, 08:24 PM   #1058
Wissam
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2007 e90 328I
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: GTA, Canada

Posts: 141
iTrader: (3)

Regarding Windows 7 x64, my problem is I can not even start NCSEXPERT, it gives me the message in the image below...I know there are options to setup an XP mode under Windows 7 using VMWare or Virtual PC, but my question was is it possible to run NCSEXPERT in "pure" Windows 7 x64...INPA loads fine, I'm still waiting for my cable so have not tested connectivity yet...by the way, I'm using the software from post #144 on page 7...
Attached Images
 
Wissam is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-18-2011, 09:14 PM   #1059
srt42b
http://www.thealphasolution.com
 
srt42b's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 E90 335i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Fresno, CA

Posts: 228
iTrader: (4)

Cross posting this from bimmerforums. I have a few questions regarding Progman:

1) I have v30 installed and running. When connecting to the car, it said I had to update the following modules: CAS, DME, DWA, FZD, IHKA, and KOMBI. I'm a little scared of bricking a module. Has anyone successfully programmed all the modules through Progman?

2) I was also thinking of using Progman to find the updates I need and then WinKFP to update the modules one by one so that I can back up the modules and the update goes quicker. Good idea? Bad idea?

3) I have a battery charger with the following settings: Charge/Start, 2A, 10A, and 55A. What's my best choice?

4) I started to program the alarm that I retrofitted but came up with some options that were not in the instructions. It asks if I have a 90a battery, alarm module, and siren 7 digit part number. Has anyone else ran into this?
srt42b is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-18-2011, 09:21 PM   #1060
xxxjecxxx
Captain
 
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black 06 325i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

Posts: 743
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by srt42b View Post
Cross posting this from bimmerforums. I have a few questions regarding Progman:

1) I have v30 installed and running. When connecting to the car, it said I had to update the following modules: CAS, DME, DWA, FZD, IHKA, and KOMBI. I'm a little scared of bricking a module. Has anyone successfully programmed all the modules through Progman?

2) I was also thinking of using Progman to find the updates I need and then WinKFP to update the modules one by one so that I can back up the modules and the update goes quicker. Good idea? Bad idea?

3) I have a battery charger with the following settings: Charge/Start, 2A, 10A, and 55A. What's my best choice?

4) I started to program the alarm that I retrofitted but came up with some options that were not in the instructions. It asks if I have a 90a battery, alarm module, and siren 7 digit part number. Has anyone else ran into this?
at least the first page...

no progman here sorry. We are using NCS expert, which is easier to install. Check out the first page, has a DIY and all files needed.

For all you having issues with api32.dll i'm trying to find a link for you guys to download it and i'll post instructions how to register it.
xxxjecxxx is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-18-2011, 09:28 PM   #1061
xxxjecxxx
Captain
 
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black 06 325i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

Posts: 743
iTrader: (1)

Try this see if it works. This is the link for the file.
hint: The file name is the download link

http://www.dlldll.com/api.dll_download.html

After you download "*.Dll"(file extension dll) on your machine, copy it to
C:\windows/system32/


Go to "start" ==> "run" and type "regsvr32 *.dll" to register the file to the system

Try to run the program again. Hope this helps.
xxxjecxxx is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2011, 01:40 AM   #1062
Neutrino45
Major
 
Neutrino45's Avatar
 
Drives: XXX
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: milky way

Posts: 1,446
iTrader: (2)

My friend had his car's software updated when his fuel pump was replaced. He doesn't have iDrive. I noticed that there is a new display for low tire pressure warning. It actually tells you which tire is low. Do you know if it's possible to download and update my car with that feature?
__________________
Neutrino45 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2011, 02:02 AM   #1063
Mike Benvo
MWhisperer
 
Mike Benvo's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 E90 M3 / 400whp Turbo 7
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

Posts: 4,544
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neutrino45 View Post
My friend had his car's software updated when his fuel pump was replaced. He doesn't have iDrive. I noticed that there is a new display for low tire pressure warning. It actually tells you which tire is low. Do you know if it's possible to download and update my car with that feature?
Yes, if you upgrade the car to the latest versions with WinKFP, you will probably have that feature as well provided that the hardware is the same or similar enough.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Mike Benvo is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2011, 06:46 AM   #1064
modtheebmw
Banned
 
Drives: 2008 e90
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sunset Beach, Cali

Posts: 229
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to modtheebmw
trust

Quote:
Originally Posted by NiVeDh View Post
Sorry guys but when I tried to post a DIY for this and help people out, my posts were deleted because I was taking business away from a certain vendor.

I and a few others are fairly knowledgeable on doing this so if you sincerely want to learn and don't expect me to spoonfeed information to you, please PM me.

OP: Let me know if you need help. I know how to code all the things you mentioned, and then some.
throw this kid 50 bucks or something man bc he's done a great job figuring this out and we did it to my car virtually on all mods mentioned above and worked flawless. small hiccup but, damn this kid can program. im in teh west coast and he's in the east coast, all i did was plug the cable into my laptop and he did the rest from his home across the country. ! great job dawg.
modtheebmw is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2011, 08:39 AM   #1065
xxxjecxxx
Captain
 
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black 06 325i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

Posts: 743
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by modtheebmw View Post
throw this kid 50 bucks or something man bc he's done a great job figuring this out and we did it to my car virtually on all mods mentioned above and worked flawless. small hiccup but, damn this kid can program. im in teh west coast and he's in the east coast, all i did was plug the cable into my laptop and he did the rest from his home across the country. ! great job dawg.
xxxjecxxx is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2011, 08:41 AM   #1066
xxxjecxxx
Captain
 
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black 06 325i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

Posts: 743
iTrader: (1)

I can help with remote coding or remote installation is now available!

don't need to download any software.

PM me if interested
xxxjecxxx is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2011, 09:12 AM   #1067
E90PAT
SOFLO CODING
 
Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SoFla

Posts: 3,224
iTrader: (17)

Send a message via AIM to E90PAT
Damn you guys are so advanced in the world of coding right now, im still stuck trying to get INPA to read my airbags

Perhaps spring break ill try again
__________________

Coding services in Broward/Miami/Gainesville and surrounding areas! Ask me!
E90PAT is offline   Slovenia
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2011, 11:55 AM   #1068
DrivinMissDaisy
Lieutenant
 
DrivinMissDaisy's Avatar
 
Drives: 12 Kia Soul !
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tehachapi, CA

Posts: 492
iTrader: (3)

I couldn't get INPA to read my air bags but I got into the BMW software. My ignition light was correct on INPA so I figured I was connected.
DrivinMissDaisy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2011, 04:20 PM   #1069
matrix76
Major
 
matrix76's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E90 328i xDrive Ex/Ps
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The West Coast, BC

Posts: 1,300
iTrader: (1)

Hi guy's, been coding today but now have a micro filter reset error in the service info section, tried the standard reset but nothing. Does anyone have a fix for this?

FIXED, , ,
__________________
Brian
Black Sapphire, Black w/Burrwood Trim & Shifter, 162's, Mtec H8 AE's, DS1 HID 6000K


Last edited by matrix76; 01-20-2011 at 09:32 AM.
matrix76 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2011, 06:55 PM   #1070
CubanJJ09
Banned
 
Drives: like an asshole
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago Burbs

Posts: 12,692
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [3.09]
Send a message via AIM to CubanJJ09
Awesome stuff In here. read about 24 pages since this morning while at work. I have a basic understanding (I think) of how the coding works and how the ecu works. (Mind u i am out of warranty) This morning I had a light on the dash (non dirive) it was the red ebrake light in conjunction with a yellow service car and also a red car on the lift. I intially thought they had forgotten to reset the service indicators. I took it in and they said it wasn't that. It appears to be a "glitch" in the programing. After talking with my sa and tech he said it was located in the dsc module. But the only fix was to reprogram the whole ecu. Seems like they're using a cannon to kill a fly here.

Here's where this thread comes into play I saw on a screen shot somewhere that we can gain access to the the dsc module butIcouldn't find anything deeper than that. I was wondering if someone could just take a screen shot or post the parameters (for lack of a better term) that are involved within the dsc module. The tech said there was a SIB out for this so my next step is to find that to gain more info. Unfortunately I don't have any fault # or anything from inside the ecu. I should of asked for a print out. Any help would be greatly apperciated.
Thanks
CubanJJ09 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2011, 10:04 PM   #1071
CubanJJ09
Banned
 
Drives: like an asshole
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago Burbs

Posts: 12,692
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [3.09]
Send a message via AIM to CubanJJ09
This seems to be the SIB http://www.bmwtis.com/tsb/bulletins/...p/b340208g.htm
CubanJJ09 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2011, 10:17 PM   #1072
GenePoole
Lieutenant
 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

Posts: 537
iTrader: (0)

The SIB you speak of probably refers to updating the firmware of the module. That's way beyond the scope of this thread which just covers simple coding. Coding is just setting certain parameters in the module. Programming is flashing a whole new program to the module. There's probably not anything you could change in the DSC "coding" to fix the problem. Fortunately, you can "program" modules fairly easily with the same cable and similar tools as used for coding. It's a little bit more involved but I've done 14 module flash upgrades myself with WinKFP.

Edit:

I read the SIB. Yup, you need programming, not coding.

Last edited by GenePoole; 01-19-2011 at 10:23 PM.
GenePoole is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2011, 05:38 AM   #1073
CubanJJ09
Banned
 
Drives: like an asshole
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago Burbs

Posts: 12,692
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [3.09]
Send a message via AIM to CubanJJ09
So I pretty much have to go in and get everything programmed?
CubanJJ09 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2011, 09:06 AM   #1074
GenePoole
Lieutenant
 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

Posts: 537
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CubanJJ09 View Post
So I pretty much have to go in and get everything programmed?
If they'll do it for a reasonable fee, then that would be your best bet.
GenePoole is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2011, 10:52 AM   #1075
CubanJJ09
Banned
 
Drives: like an asshole
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago Burbs

Posts: 12,692
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [3.09]
Send a message via AIM to CubanJJ09
It's cost 130 and prob another 130 for the Dinan to be put back on if I choose. I just like the idea of telling them to scratch and dim
CubanJJ09 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2011, 11:50 AM   #1076
GenePoole
Lieutenant
 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

Posts: 537
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CubanJJ09 View Post
It's cost 130 and prob another 130 for the Dinan to be put back on if I choose. I just like the idea of telling them to scratch and dim
"[S]cratch and dim?" I'm unfamiliar with that metaphor.

Anyway, if it's just the DSC, you can flash just that module with WinKFP. The dealership mechanics only have access to programs that update the whole car. Just flashing DSC should keep your DME and tune safe and (hopefully) fix your error. What kind of car BTW? (There's a reason for the "Drives:" setting.)
GenePoole is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2011, 12:05 PM   #1077
bimal296
New Member
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Mauritius

Posts: 9
iTrader: (0)

how do you code Random/Shuffle music permanently
on the I-Drive for an E92 08 M3 (CIC)

If you tick Random and switch the Car off,it starts back
in Normal mode i.e Non Random

A bit annoying to have to tick Random each time you
start the Car fresh.

Thx
bimal296 is offline   Mauritius
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2011, 12:46 PM   #1078
Mike Benvo
MWhisperer
 
Mike Benvo's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 E90 M3 / 400whp Turbo 7
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

Posts: 4,544
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
Quote:
Originally Posted by CubanJJ09 View Post
link doesnt work...
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Mike Benvo is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST