E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > BMW CODING success



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-22-2011, 10:34 PM   #1123
NiVeDh
Major General
 
NiVeDh's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E90 335i 6MT BSM
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX & Atlanta, GA

Posts: 7,987
iTrader: (132)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pseudo Nim View Post
You can't. This is not supported. You either have to rewire, or manually switch your headlights to "parking" (one click to the right of 0) - that's the poor man's way out (and that one allows you to turn on fogs w/o turning on xenons, UNLIKE the 'A' option).
Are you sure? There may be a way by messing with the "wert_" options.
NiVeDh is offline   India
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2011, 10:35 PM   #1124
Pseudo Nim
twinborific
 
Pseudo Nim's Avatar
 
Drives: fast, sometimes slow
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: i am a citizen of the world

Posts: 4,695
iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NiVeDh View Post
Are you sure? There may be a way by messing with the "wert_" options.
Hmm. I would absolutely LOVE to be proven wrong (since that'd mean I don't have to wire up my Vista harness, hehe)... but to my knowledge, this is a topic that's been discussed before and no way was found.

But if anyone is willing to try the wert_ options, that would be phenomenal
__________________
Pseudo Nim is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2011, 10:36 PM   #1125
AW128i
Major
 
AW128i's Avatar
 
Drives: E82 N51
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Southeastern, PA

Posts: 1,004
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to AW128i
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxjecxxx View Post
e89
That option isn't showing up.
Attached Images
 
AW128i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2011, 10:48 PM   #1126
matrix76
Major
 
matrix76's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E90 328i xDrive Ex/Ps
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The West Coast, BC

Posts: 1,300
iTrader: (1)

Guy's, looking for the code to delete the "High Beam" DRL's on CDN models, I know about this ""DRL_TFL_MIT_RL_BL_2" in NFRM change aktiv to nicht_aktiv" but that is to delete the tail lights from what I have read so far.

,, any help would be appreciated, , thanx
__________________
Brian
Black Sapphire, Black w/Burrwood Trim & Shifter, 162's, Mtec H8 AE's, DS1 HID 6000K

matrix76 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2011, 10:54 PM   #1127
themyst
Major General
 
themyst's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335i LCI
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC

Posts: 6,601
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to themyst
Quote:
Originally Posted by NiVeDh View Post
Are you sure? There may be a way by messing with the "wert_" options.
Do you have any update on the in-motion DVD defeat on CIC iDrive?
__________________
E90 LCI N54 6AT
themyst is offline   South Korea
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2011, 11:08 PM   #1128
xxxjecxxx
Captain
 
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black 06 325i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

Posts: 747
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AW128i View Post
That option isn't showing up.
forgive me I didn't notice you meant in INPA.

in NCS EXPERT pick e89.

As far as INPA, you can try e87 which is part of the 1 series.

Also keep in mind a lot of members have not got INPA to read their airbag as part of the "test" and have simply continued on to ncs expert.
xxxjecxxx is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2011, 11:12 PM   #1129
AoshichanX
Brigadier General
 
AoshichanX's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black e90 335i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Claremont, CA

Posts: 3,103
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2007 e90 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via ICQ to AoshichanX Send a message via AIM to AoshichanX Send a message via MSN to AoshichanX Send a message via Yahoo to AoshichanX Send a message via Skype™ to AoshichanX
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxjecxxx View Post
forgive me I didn't notice you meant in INPA.

in NCS EXPERT pick e89.

As far as INPA, you can try e87 which is part of the 1 series.

Also keep in mind a lot of members have not got INPA to read their airbag as part of the "test" and have simply continued on to ncs expert.
lmao yes. and for some reason, it only works after a fresh restart.
AoshichanX is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2011, 11:41 PM   #1130
srt42b
http://www.thealphasolution.com
 
srt42b's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 E90 335i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Fresno, CA

Posts: 228
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NiVeDh View Post
Are you sure? There may be a way by messing with the "wert_" options.
Anybody know which ones to test?
srt42b is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2011, 12:51 AM   #1131
NiVeDh
Major General
 
NiVeDh's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E90 335i 6MT BSM
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX & Atlanta, GA

Posts: 7,987
iTrader: (132)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by themyst View Post
Do you have any update on the in-motion DVD defeat on CIC iDrive?
Will update this thread after I successfully test it on a car - should be within a couple of days.
NiVeDh is offline   India
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2011, 02:44 AM   #1132
AoshichanX
Brigadier General
 
AoshichanX's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black e90 335i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Claremont, CA

Posts: 3,103
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2007 e90 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via ICQ to AoshichanX Send a message via AIM to AoshichanX Send a message via MSN to AoshichanX Send a message via Yahoo to AoshichanX Send a message via Skype™ to AoshichanX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randall41 View Post
For all that purchased the USB/k+DECAN cable through EBay here is a link to the Correct drivers. Might cure mmost problems.

http://www.osefactory.com/tools/k+dcan/
OMG THIS!


THIS! THIS! THIS!


I installed 4 different sets of drivers..
  1. the ones in \EDIABAS\Hardware\OBD\USB2.0 Win XP
  2. straight from FTDI
  3. even gave RadioShack driver a shot (this was the only driver that displayed FIFO options...)
  4. one other random driver found on Google


THEN I decided to search this thread for keyword "drivers"

omg so stupid. If I could rep that ^ poster I would rep 100x.

Coding Success! Super easy if it weren't for that blunder. Thanks everyone for making everything so easy. Your pioneering work is greatly appreciated =]
AoshichanX is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2011, 02:48 AM   #1133
SloppyJoe
Private
 
Drives: 2007 335i Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Diego

Posts: 76
iTrader: (1)

Coded my 2007 E92 335i no problem. Thanks a lot to all the useful information found in this thread.

I had the ebay cable and used the FDTI driver no problem.

One thing i found during my coding was that if you are having issues with the api.dll error, you probably messed up your system enviroment path. there can be no space between the path. I had a space between the semicolon and the c:\EDIABAS\bin, that did not work...

so to anyone else thats having the api.dll problem, check your path and remove any spaces!
SloppyJoe is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2011, 08:30 AM   #1134
1QuikWS6
No 55mph
 
1QuikWS6's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 E92 328iX N51 3-Stage
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Blitzburgh, PA

Posts: 4,375
iTrader: (80)

Garage List
For those who bought the correct eBay USB/K+DCAN cable, & using the x64 architecture, Win 7, Vista (and even those with WinXP x32) that are having connection problems - I would recommend using the actual FTDI Drivers for that cable found here:

http://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/VCP.htm

They offer Virtual COM Port Drivers for x86(32-bit) & x64(64-bit) in Win2000, XP, Vista, 7, Server 2003, Server 2008, & Server 2008 R2.

I would stick with the WHQL Certified downloads (v2.08.02) Release date 2010-08-11 that are available as a set-up executable file for EZ install.

>> When correctly installed, the appropriate USB Port will NOT show up in the 'Ports' section under Device Manager until the cable is plugged in to the computer - after plugging in cable, run DM and you will see the USB Port for the device show up.

I had no problems using the original drivers, but to make sure, I use the FTDI VCM drivers for my application (WinXP 32-bit).
__________________
2009 328ix E92//SGM//ACS Roof Spoiler//MTech Aero Lip+Trunk Spoiler//M3 Side Skirts//CF Roundels+Grilles//M3 Novillo Interior//Perf Shift Lever+Boot//MPerf DCT Wheel//M3 GT3 eBrake Handle+Boot//ACS Pedals//M3 Mirrors//LCI Tails w/LUX Rev//DTEC V7 AE+MTec 6000K D1S+HPB HID 6000K Fogs//HPB LED Interior//RPI Scoops//CF Euro Airbox+Underhood Hsgs//K&N//BMW PE//MTech Rear Bumper-iS Sport Diffuser//CF Strut Brace//Vishnu OFT//BMW 193M's+Kumho 4X

Last edited by 1QuikWS6; 01-23-2011 at 08:58 AM.
1QuikWS6 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2011, 08:40 AM   #1135
1QuikWS6
No 55mph
 
1QuikWS6's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 E92 328iX N51 3-Stage
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Blitzburgh, PA

Posts: 4,375
iTrader: (80)

Garage List
With this thread now at 52 pages full of great info - I agree that it is becoming cumbersome to find specific answers to questions/problems and many items are being hashed & re-hashed over multiple times.

Easiest way to find info at this point is to 'Search' within this thread. Although I would recommend all to read the first pages that deal with the software install thoroughly.


>> It would be great if the forum could add a 'Coding' section under the technical forums - with sub-sections underneath such as 'User Software', 'Drivers', 'Hardware', Application'

I know this was discussed before, but was anyone with any authority within the forum ever contacted? Does anyone know who this contact person would be?

Other forums have had a coding section for some time now...
__________________
2009 328ix E92//SGM//ACS Roof Spoiler//MTech Aero Lip+Trunk Spoiler//M3 Side Skirts//CF Roundels+Grilles//M3 Novillo Interior//Perf Shift Lever+Boot//MPerf DCT Wheel//M3 GT3 eBrake Handle+Boot//ACS Pedals//M3 Mirrors//LCI Tails w/LUX Rev//DTEC V7 AE+MTec 6000K D1S+HPB HID 6000K Fogs//HPB LED Interior//RPI Scoops//CF Euro Airbox+Underhood Hsgs//K&N//BMW PE//MTech Rear Bumper-iS Sport Diffuser//CF Strut Brace//Vishnu OFT//BMW 193M's+Kumho 4X

Last edited by 1QuikWS6; 01-23-2011 at 09:03 AM.
1QuikWS6 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2011, 01:12 PM   #1136
Mexcar007
New Member
 
Drives: 2006 325i BMW
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: California

Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

Comfort Access on E90 325i early 06

Hi everyone, it been great this new adventure of coding. I have a question that I been searching an answer for a while now( about two days)
I have a comfort access from the factory. FOB entrance. Can I program my car to use the comfort access where you don't need to insert the FOB or even press the unlock bottom to unlock your car. As describe here;

BMW website;
"As soon as you come within 1.5 metres of your BMW, the comfort access system remotely senses your BMW key, wherever you happen to be carrying it - in your jacket pocket, handbag or briefcase. Simply touch the door handle and the door unlocks.
The system also senses when you've entered the cabin and enables the Start/Stop button, so all you need to do is press it and drive off. And when you reach your destination, your BMW locks all doors automatically simply with a press on the exterior door handle. Locking your keys in the car by accident becomes impossible, because the comfort access system will not lock the doors as long as your key remains in the cabin.
Your vehicle key also functions as a remote control for opening and closing the tailgate. If you wish, you can store your individual driver settings by using the key's memory function. Up to eleven individual preferences for seat adjustments, exterior mirrors, steering wheel position, Head-Up Display and the audio system can, depending on the model of your BMW, be saved on the key and activated each time you enter your vehicle."


I just want to know if I can make these changes by software alone or do I need hardware?


Thanks!
Mexcar007 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2011, 01:42 PM   #1137
1QuikWS6
No 55mph
 
1QuikWS6's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 E92 328iX N51 3-Stage
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Blitzburgh, PA

Posts: 4,375
iTrader: (80)

Garage List
Well the door handles (hardware) for the system you describe are definitely different and would be needed if you don't have them. The 'touch' sensors are integrated into the back side of the door handles. From your description it does not appear that you have CA. There would be a myriad of hardware besides the handles that would need to be retrofitted at a high cost. So simple coding would not be a solution. You would be better off buying a car that already HAS CA...
__________________
2009 328ix E92//SGM//ACS Roof Spoiler//MTech Aero Lip+Trunk Spoiler//M3 Side Skirts//CF Roundels+Grilles//M3 Novillo Interior//Perf Shift Lever+Boot//MPerf DCT Wheel//M3 GT3 eBrake Handle+Boot//ACS Pedals//M3 Mirrors//LCI Tails w/LUX Rev//DTEC V7 AE+MTec 6000K D1S+HPB HID 6000K Fogs//HPB LED Interior//RPI Scoops//CF Euro Airbox+Underhood Hsgs//K&N//BMW PE//MTech Rear Bumper-iS Sport Diffuser//CF Strut Brace//Vishnu OFT//BMW 193M's+Kumho 4X

Last edited by 1QuikWS6; 01-23-2011 at 02:03 PM.
1QuikWS6 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2011, 01:45 PM   #1138
AW128i
Major
 
AW128i's Avatar
 
Drives: E82 N51
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Southeastern, PA

Posts: 1,004
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to AW128i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mexcar007 View Post
Hi everyone, it been great this new adventure of coding. I have a question that I been searching an answer for a while now( about two days)
I have a comfort access from the factory. FOB entrance. Can I program my car to use the comfort access where you don't need to insert the FOB or even press the unlock bottom to unlock your car. As describe here;
If your car already has Comfort Access then you aren't required to push the buttons on the remote or insert the key fob into the dash. If you have to press the lock/unlock buttons on the key fob and you have to insert the key into the dash to start the car, then you don't have Comfort Access. As for retrofitting it, I've heard it's so costly and cumbersome to do so that it's absolutely not worth it.
AW128i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2011, 01:57 PM   #1139
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,931
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mexcar007 View Post
I have a comfort access from the factory.

Thanks!
No, you do not have Comfort Access from factory. And no, it just cannot be coded, it needs plenty of harware changes as well.
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2011, 03:20 PM   #1140
matrix76
Major
 
matrix76's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E90 328i xDrive Ex/Ps
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The West Coast, BC

Posts: 1,300
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by matrix76 View Post
Guy's, looking for the code to delete the "High Beam" DRL's on CDN models, I know about this ""DRL_TFL_MIT_RL_BL_2" in NFRM change aktiv to nicht_aktiv" but that is to delete the tail lights from what I have read so far.

,, any help would be appreciated, , thanx
Update: Thanks to DimSum the FIX is TAGFAHRLICHT_ECE_1 in NFRM but at this point I am unable to turn on AE's as DRL's.
__________________
Brian
Black Sapphire, Black w/Burrwood Trim & Shifter, 162's, Mtec H8 AE's, DS1 HID 6000K


Last edited by matrix76; 01-23-2011 at 05:32 PM.
matrix76 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2011, 05:16 PM   #1141
DimSum
Banned
 
Drives: SLOW
Join Date: May 2008
Location: LITTLEBIMMER.COM

Posts: 2,743
iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by matrix76 View Post
Update: Thanks to DimSum the FIX is TAGFAHRLICHT_ECE_1 in NFRN but at this point I am unable to turn on AE's as DRL's.
NFRM*
DimSum is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2011, 05:33 PM   #1142
matrix76
Major
 
matrix76's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E90 328i xDrive Ex/Ps
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The West Coast, BC

Posts: 1,300
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DimSum View Post
NFRM*
__________________
Brian
Black Sapphire, Black w/Burrwood Trim & Shifter, 162's, Mtec H8 AE's, DS1 HID 6000K

matrix76 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2011, 07:39 PM   #1143
spera23
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto

Posts: 207
iTrader: (3)

Im still hoping someone will be able to help explain to me how to read the NFRM (if I have one in my car).

I see NFRM as a module when I select an ECU to read my VIN and FA string, but do not see an NFRM when it comes time to clicking "process ECU"
spera23 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2011, 07:59 PM   #1144
NiVeDh
Major General
 
NiVeDh's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E90 335i 6MT BSM
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX & Atlanta, GA

Posts: 7,987
iTrader: (132)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by spera23 View Post
Im still hoping someone will be able to help explain to me how to read the NFRM (if I have one in my car).

I see NFRM as a module when I select an ECU to read my VIN and FA string, but do not see an NFRM when it comes time to clicking "process ECU"
Do you see FRM? What year is your car?
NiVeDh is offline   India
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST