E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > BMW CODING success



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-25-2011, 07:34 PM   #1167
Toshi
Private First Class
 
Drives: E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Posts: 168
iTrader: (1)

+1
Anyone can clarify which value should be modified in FRM/NFRM?
I am going to retrofit my friend's E92, which has FRM2, with the LCI taillights.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ironman1982 View Post
Ok, I've searched the thread for "Taillamp" and "LED" but didn't see any posts related to coding out the bulb check for pre-LCI cars retrofitting the LED taillamp assemblies to them. I've seen where some with FRM2 modules might need the FRM3 modules to code out the bulb check. I was subscribed to the thread but the flood of emails in my box got out of hand and after about 30+ pages of reading this thread had become a bit cumbersome to navigate. lol Has anyone had success with this yet? Also, has anyone tried automatic switch over to night mode for the navigation on the CIC module on a 2009 model?

I've been waiting on my cable about 3 weeks now so all I can do is read and wait!
__________________

2008 E92 335i M-Sport (Japan spec)
ALPINA Classic Styling II, Öhlins DFV Coilover, BMS JB4, LUX H8 Ver.3,
3D Design Front Lip, BP Black Grill, ACS Roof Spoiler, ALPINA Trunk Lip, etc.
Toshi is offline   Japan
0
Reply With Quote
      01-25-2011, 10:07 PM   #1168
matrix76
Major
 
matrix76's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E90 328i xDrive Ex/Ps
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The West Coast, BC

Posts: 1,300
iTrader: (1)

This is a reminder to everyone to update the successful coding you have done and not yet updated on the spreadsheet. This sheet was built by Neutrino45 and is referenced from his original post #584.

Please have a look and update where you can, this spread sheet supports everyone on this forum,


https://spreadsheets0.google.com/ccc...CPqY7sEC#gid=0
__________________
Brian
Black Sapphire, Black w/Burrwood Trim & Shifter, 162's, Mtec H8 AE's, DS1 HID 6000K


Last edited by matrix76; 01-26-2011 at 12:09 PM.
matrix76 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2011, 01:40 AM   #1169
q96
Private
 
Drives: F31 330d Pack M
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: France

Posts: 63
iTrader: (0)

Hi everyone, this post is amazing but very long....
Does anybody know if it's possible to change some options of the connected drive ?
1/ remove the speed limit on connected drive (that doesn't allow to go to bmw online while you are driving)
2/ Is it possible to change some more deeper values like language and country in the specific connected drive ?

Thanks for your return
q96 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2011, 11:46 AM   #1170
cbetlyon
Second Lieutenant
 
cbetlyon's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 328xi Jet Black/Black
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Winston-Salem, NC

Posts: 264
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to cbetlyon Send a message via Skype™ to cbetlyon
does any one know how disable the cold and hot check of the parking lights on a halogen car? would this get rid of bulb out errors i'm having with them?
cbetlyon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2011, 02:17 PM   #1171
Mexcar007
New Member
 
Drives: 2006 325i BMW
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: California

Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbetlyon View Post
does any one know how disable the cold and hot check of the parking lights on a halogen car? would this get rid of bulb out errors i'm having with them?
Have you checked the sheet it has several codes for that
Mexcar007 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2011, 03:09 PM   #1172
cbetlyon
Second Lieutenant
 
cbetlyon's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 328xi Jet Black/Black
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Winston-Salem, NC

Posts: 264
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to cbetlyon Send a message via Skype™ to cbetlyon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mexcar007 View Post
Have you checked the sheet it has several codes for that
it has it for all the lights excepted the parking lights. am i missing something
cbetlyon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2011, 07:06 PM   #1173
q_jonblaze
Captain
 
Drives: e93
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: muahahhahahhahahaha

Posts: 621
iTrader: (3)

i keep getting this error..... it says datatransmission to interface disturbed....anyone know what this could be?
Attached Images
 
q_jonblaze is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2011, 07:15 PM   #1174
AoshichanX
Brigadier General
 
AoshichanX's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black e90 335i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Claremont, CA

Posts: 3,103
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2007 e90 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via ICQ to AoshichanX Send a message via AIM to AoshichanX Send a message via MSN to AoshichanX Send a message via Yahoo to AoshichanX Send a message via Skype™ to AoshichanX
Quote:
Originally Posted by q_jonblaze View Post
i keep getting this error..... it says datatransmission to interface disturbed....anyone know what this could be?
Ummm I'm getting a communication error? Make sure you are using the correct drivers. The ones in "\EDIABAS\Hardware\OBD\USB2.0 Win XP" will not work because you are essentially using a third party cable. | MediaFire Mirror

FIFO must be enabled? Tx and Rx set to "8"?? The hell is this, I don't have these options in my COM settings? The newer FTDI drivers do not have this feature. It's fine. It'll work. Just lower latency to "1". Leave rest default. If you decide to get the drivers straight from FTDI, reference this post for some clarification.


---

Hmmm still not working. What gives? Reference this INPA FAQ | MediaFire Mirror

1.4 IFH-0003: Data transmission HOST/Interface failed

Reason 1: In the Ediabas.ini file, the interface is set to STD:OBD. However, you have connected an ADS connector.
Solution 1: Modify the interface setting.

Reason 2: The data transmission failed when sending (e.g. short circuit in the line).
Solution 2: Get rid of the short circuit, for example.

Reason 3: Connector not connected or no power supplied.
Solution 3: Check whether the connector is connected and is supplied with power.

Reason 4: The device manager has been used to disable the FIFO buffer for COM1.
Solution 4: In the device manager (Windows XP: Enter “Start” ; “Control Panel” ;“System”
; “Hardware” ; “Device Manager” ; Ports (COM & LPT)), and then select COM1 from the ports. Then under the “Port Settings” tab, select “Advanced”. There must be a check-mark by “Use FIFO buffers” and “8” must be selected for the receive buffer and transmit buffer.


---


Any other questions, check the FAQ or search this thread

Last edited by AoshichanX; 01-26-2011 at 07:20 PM.
AoshichanX is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2011, 08:44 PM   #1175
AW128i
Major
 
AW128i's Avatar
 
Drives: E82 N51
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Southeastern, PA

Posts: 1,004
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to AW128i
Quote:
Originally Posted by AoshichanX View Post
Ummm I'm getting a communication error? Make sure you are using the correct drivers. The ones in "\EDIABAS\Hardware\OBD\USB2.0 Win XP" will not work because you are essentially using a third party cable. | MediaFire Mirror

FIFO must be enabled? Tx and Rx set to "8"?? The hell is this, I don't have these options in my COM settings? The newer FTDI drivers do not have this feature. It's fine. It'll work. Just lower latency to "1". Leave rest default. If you decide to get the drivers straight from FTDI, reference this post for some clarification.


---

Hmmm still not working. What gives? Reference this INPA FAQ | MediaFire Mirror

1.4 IFH-0003: Data transmission HOST/Interface failed

Reason 1: In the Ediabas.ini file, the interface is set to STD:OBD. However, you have connected an ADS connector.
Solution 1: Modify the interface setting.

Reason 2: The data transmission failed when sending (e.g. short circuit in the line).
Solution 2: Get rid of the short circuit, for example.

Reason 3: Connector not connected or no power supplied.
Solution 3: Check whether the connector is connected and is supplied with power.

Reason 4: The device manager has been used to disable the FIFO buffer for COM1.
Solution 4: In the device manager (Windows XP: Enter “Start” ; “Control Panel” ;“System”
; “Hardware” ; “Device Manager” ; Ports (COM & LPT)), and then select COM1 from the ports. Then under the “Port Settings” tab, select “Advanced”. There must be a check-mark by “Use FIFO buffers” and “8” must be selected for the receive buffer and transmit buffer.


---


Any other questions, check the FAQ or search this thread
This has got to be one of the most informative and concise posts in this thread
AW128i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2011, 10:39 PM   #1176
mase
Banned
 
mase's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NYC

Posts: 446
iTrader: (27)

anyone know if the Unlock Doors on Keyfob Removal works with shutting off the car on Comfort Access (since I don't use a keyfob..)
mase is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-27-2011, 06:54 AM   #1177
q_jonblaze
Captain
 
Drives: e93
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: muahahhahahhahahaha

Posts: 621
iTrader: (3)

thanks..will follow up those leads
q_jonblaze is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-27-2011, 08:38 AM   #1178
xxxjecxxx
Captain
 
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black 06 325i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

Posts: 747
iTrader: (1)

My inbox has finally got under control if you need any help with installation or coding feel free to PM me I can help remotely.

Any questions feel free to PM also.
xxxjecxxx is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-28-2011, 12:08 AM   #1179
dnadeau13
New Member
 
Drives: 2007 Montego Blue 335i Sedan
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Atlanta

Posts: 28
iTrader: (0)

Hi all, I just recently purchased my 2007 335i sedan with iDrive and am very interested in this coding stuff. I'm an electrical engineer and about half of my job is writing code. I don't have a cable and I was wondering if anyone could send me all the files that get read out of an e90 so I can look through them and see what the possibilities are before I order my own cable. I would prefer to have them in the same directory structure that they are in when read from the ECU. This way I could make a simple menu based program to change settings and make it easier to turn things on and off. I could even include other years in the program if someone can just get me the files from that year. Just let me know if you can send me the files. Since I haven't had 5 posts yet I might not be able to receive PMs... But I'll try to get in 5 posts soon.
dnadeau13 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-28-2011, 01:11 AM   #1180
Neutrino45
Major
 
Neutrino45's Avatar
 
Drives: XXX
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: milky way

Posts: 1,446
iTrader: (2)

dnadeau13, everything you need is here. http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=480261
__________________
Neutrino45 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-28-2011, 08:04 AM   #1181
dnadeau13
New Member
 
Drives: 2007 Montego Blue 335i Sedan
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Atlanta

Posts: 28
iTrader: (0)

So, I've read through the NCS_DIY.pdf. In step 49 when you make the backup of FSW_PSW.TRC containing all the modules, it looks like all the modules were read into the same file all in one step at one time. Can you not just edit a copy of that and reload all of the modules at the same time or do you need to do each module independently?

What I really was asking in my first post was if anyone could send me that first FSW_PSW.TRC that contains all the modules, preferably for an 07 e90.

Thanks
dnadeau13 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-28-2011, 10:12 AM   #1182
GenePoole
Lieutenant
 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

Posts: 537
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dnadeau13 View Post
So, I've read through the NCS_DIY.pdf. In step 49 when you make the backup of FSW_PSW.TRC containing all the modules, it looks like all the modules were read into the same file all in one step at one time. Can you not just edit a copy of that and reload all of the modules at the same time or do you need to do each module independently?

What I really was asking in my first post was if anyone could send me that first FSW_PSW.TRC that contains all the modules, preferably for an 07 e90.

Thanks
Yes, you can. There's an option for "Code Entire Vehicle" or similar. You can select this instead of selecting an individual ECU.
GenePoole is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-28-2011, 06:36 PM   #1183
cbetlyon
Second Lieutenant
 
cbetlyon's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 328xi Jet Black/Black
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Winston-Salem, NC

Posts: 264
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to cbetlyon Send a message via Skype™ to cbetlyon
can any one shed some light on this error?

cbetlyon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-28-2011, 06:55 PM   #1184
AoshichanX
Brigadier General
 
AoshichanX's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black e90 335i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Claremont, CA

Posts: 3,103
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2007 e90 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via ICQ to AoshichanX Send a message via AIM to AoshichanX Send a message via MSN to AoshichanX Send a message via Yahoo to AoshichanX Send a message via Skype™ to AoshichanX
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbetlyon View Post
can any one shed some light on this error?





...





Quote:
Originally Posted by q_jonblaze View Post
i keep getting this error..... it says datatransmission to interface disturbed....anyone know what this could be?
Quote:
Originally Posted by AoshichanX View Post
Ummm I'm getting a communication error? Make sure you are using the correct drivers. The ones in "\EDIABAS\Hardware\OBD\USB2.0 Win XP" will not work because you are essentially using a third party cable. | MediaFire Mirror

FIFO must be enabled? Tx and Rx set to "8"?? The hell is this, I don't have these options in my COM settings? The newer FTDI drivers do not have this feature. It's fine. It'll work. Just lower latency to "1". Leave rest default. If you decide to get the drivers straight from FTDI, reference this post for some clarification.


---

Hmmm still not working. What gives? Reference this INPA FAQ | MediaFire Mirror

1.4 IFH-0003: Data transmission HOST/Interface failed

Reason 1: In the Ediabas.ini file, the interface is set to STD:OBD. However, you have connected an ADS connector.
Solution 1: Modify the interface setting.

Reason 2: The data transmission failed when sending (e.g. short circuit in the line).
Solution 2: Get rid of the short circuit, for example.

Reason 3: Connector not connected or no power supplied.
Solution 3: Check whether the connector is connected and is supplied with power.

Reason 4: The device manager has been used to disable the FIFO buffer for COM1.
Solution 4: In the device manager (Windows XP: Enter “Start” ; “Control Panel” ;“System”
; “Hardware” ; “Device Manager” ; Ports (COM & LPT)), and then select COM1 from the ports. Then under the “Port Settings” tab, select “Advanced”. There must be a check-mark by “Use FIFO buffers” and “8” must be selected for the receive buffer and transmit buffer.


---


Any other questions, check the FAQ or search this thread
AoshichanX is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-28-2011, 07:09 PM   #1185
BrynDN
Private
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ohio

Posts: 88
iTrader: (0)

I've got one of the serial style cables for sale on eBay. Somebody here can use it so here's the link:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...m=110640201011
BrynDN is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-28-2011, 07:53 PM   #1186
ebmiller88
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: '08 328i
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ft Mill, SC

Posts: 41
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CRIX23 View Post
Has anyone been able to code the sirius module to the car after the retro fit.

Thanks
I will be getting to it as time allows but from my understanding, you must change the VO as shown in post #506, as well as update it in the respective module, and install it per the Sirius retrofit instructions. I plan to change the VO, then install it, then update the module in that order.

HTH..

Ed
ebmiller88 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-29-2011, 11:46 AM   #1187
Wissam
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2007 e90 328I
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: GTA, Canada

Posts: 141
iTrader: (3)

I'm trying to disable the DRL (Canadian car) but I don't have NFRM in the list of sub-modules (Step 55 in DIY)...I have NFRM on the main screen along with CAS and FRM (step 53 in DIY) and it does contain the "TAGFAHRLICHT_ECE_1", but I'm assuming this is not the NFRM I should be editing...I looked in sub-modules KOMBI and FRM (step 55 in DIY) and they do not contain the "TAGFAHRLICHT_ECE_1"...please advise...
Wissam is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-29-2011, 12:53 PM   #1188
cbetlyon
Second Lieutenant
 
cbetlyon's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 328xi Jet Black/Black
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Winston-Salem, NC

Posts: 264
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to cbetlyon Send a message via Skype™ to cbetlyon
sorry to bother every one with my errors. but this error is some thing i haven't herd about.


Last edited by cbetlyon; 01-29-2011 at 03:11 PM.
cbetlyon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST