E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > BMW CODING success



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-31-2011, 03:29 PM   #1233
srt42b
http://www.thealphasolution.com
 
srt42b's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 E90 335i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Fresno, CA

Posts: 228
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AW128i View Post
Do dealers hook the cars up to power supplies when they perform coding; e.g., in the case of a dealer-installed retrofit or similar? As for power supplies, can anyone direct me to an example of one? Finally, can the car be running when you do some of the coding?

Man, things are so much more simple with VWs and Audis and VAG-COM. Never ran into any low voltage trouble making tons of coding changes at one time. Not to mention, the VAG-COM interface is lightyears ahead of anything available for BMW (other than the factory tool). But I digress...
Yes, they do. When coding an alarm, the software has to be updated to whatever their current version is while coding the alarm. They may be able to do just the alarm, though. Either way, it's 2-4 modules that have to be coded, update the VO and a few other things. I think mine took about an hour to do after I updated the other modules.

Software updates can last 6+ hours, especially if you have nav.

This is the one that I ordered. Can't comment on it till I actually receive it though:
http://www.amazon.com/Pyramid-PS36KX...6505526&sr=1-1

I got it refurbed on ebay for less with warranty.
__________________
http://www.thealphasolution.com
Graphic Design, Web Design, Printing, and Computer Repair.
Low Prices and High Quality.
Located in Fresno, CA.
srt42b is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-31-2011, 03:29 PM   #1234
AoshichanX
Brigadier General
 
AoshichanX's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black e90 335i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Claremont, CA

Posts: 3,103
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2007 e90 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via ICQ to AoshichanX Send a message via AIM to AoshichanX Send a message via MSN to AoshichanX Send a message via Yahoo to AoshichanX Send a message via Skype™ to AoshichanX
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmurray14 View Post
I have always done coding on just battery power. It doesn't take long so there's not too much to worry about. I wouldn't code with the engine on, especially not the CAS or similar. Ignition usually works just fine.

I know the dealers use the power supply for programming, no clue about coding/retrofits.
lmao my Escort 8500 was useless for the last 4 speeding tickets I received. But I found the volt-meter useful in this application. *chuckle* and *wistful sigh*
AoshichanX is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-31-2011, 07:11 PM   #1235
Amlethae
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2011 335ix M-Sport
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Clifton, NJ

Posts: 170
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 335xi  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by NiVeDh View Post
You can get into the service menu using this:



I think another combination needs to be entered so that you can see the other two menus. Someone offered to sell the information for 2000 Euros on BMWECU. Anyone interested in pitching in?
I do know that the CIC module has the option for SPEEDLOCK_FREISCHALTMENU to change from nicht_aktiv to aktiv. I don't know if you still need a special KONAMI button-combo to access that menu though... and I still can't program my N55 (danm you Procede!) so I can't test it.
Amlethae is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-31-2011, 07:17 PM   #1236
woodpecka
Captain
 
woodpecka's Avatar
 
Drives: E91
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montreal

Posts: 997
iTrader: (2)

Anyone has an idea about how to code the powered-memory driver seat after a retrofit?
woodpecka is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-31-2011, 08:31 PM   #1237
woodpecka
Captain
 
woodpecka's Avatar
 
Drives: E91
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montreal

Posts: 997
iTrader: (2)

I don't know so much about coding but on the 5 Series this code exist:

PM_SITZMEMORY : driver seat memory

Someone knows if it exist on the e9x?
woodpecka is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-31-2011, 10:38 PM   #1238
dnadeau13
New Member
 
Drives: 2007 Montego Blue 335i Sedan
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Atlanta

Posts: 28
iTrader: (0)

Is there any scripting possibilities with this or is it all just changing existing options?
dnadeau13 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-31-2011, 10:45 PM   #1239
xxxjecxxx
Captain
 
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black 06 325i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

Posts: 765
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AoshichanX View Post
lmao my Escort 8500 was useless for the last 4 speeding tickets I received. But I found the volt-meter useful in this application. *chuckle* and *wistful sigh*
You need a Valentine1
after so many tickets, I don't remember what a speeding ticket is.
xxxjecxxx is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-31-2011, 11:06 PM   #1240
AoshichanX
Brigadier General
 
AoshichanX's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black e90 335i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Claremont, CA

Posts: 3,103
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2007 e90 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via ICQ to AoshichanX Send a message via AIM to AoshichanX Send a message via MSN to AoshichanX Send a message via Yahoo to AoshichanX Send a message via Skype™ to AoshichanX
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnadeau13 View Post
Is there any scripting possibilities with this or is it all just changing existing options?
ppl are afraid to mess around because this isn't like hacking an xbox 360 game save to enable infinite ammo or messing with the eboot.bin of a firmware 3.50+ PS3 game to enable 3.41 firmware support. The potential risks are very high.

That stated. I've added random lines to my vehicle and coded. Nothing's happened either way afaik.

Unless you have the hardware to match, I don't think any amount of scripting will get you anywhere haha. Unless, ofc, its enabling an inherent feature.

So yeah I think of it as just editing an .ini file.






Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxjecxxx View Post
You need a Valentine1
after so many tickets, I don't remember what a speeding ticket is.
haha no love for escorts. and rightly so!
AoshichanX is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2011, 12:54 PM   #1241
outie
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: CA

Posts: 518
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mase View Post
anyone know if the Unlock Doors on Keyfob Removal works with shutting off the car on Comfort Access (since I don't use a keyfob..)
I can confirm it works on my 2011.
__________________
outie is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2011, 01:42 PM   #1242
b1gmac88
Captain
 
Drives: 335i e92
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: E Coast

Posts: 953
iTrader: (16)

Send a message via AIM to b1gmac88
Hey guys, Finally got everything working. Funny thing is that the problem was my JB4. As soon as I turned it to map 0 all my communication errors went away.

Now I Followed the DIY and couldnt find the digital speedo name in the CAS so I went with the Key Fob Window Close and got that to work properly. Now from my understanding I am replacing the FSW_PSW.man file with a modified one (changes in non_aktiv) and that is what the car is reading Correct? My next question is if I want to read another module like NFRM, where do the options show up that I can change. After I change them what do I save the file as?

Sorry for the newb question.. I assume it has been answered before but I cant search a full question and this thread is pretty big now.
b1gmac88 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2011, 01:58 PM   #1243
AoshichanX
Brigadier General
 
AoshichanX's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black e90 335i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Claremont, CA

Posts: 3,103
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2007 e90 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via ICQ to AoshichanX Send a message via AIM to AoshichanX Send a message via MSN to AoshichanX Send a message via Yahoo to AoshichanX Send a message via Skype™ to AoshichanX
Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gmac88 View Post
Hey guys, Finally got everything working. Funny thing is that the problem was my JB4. As soon as I turned it to map 0 all my communication errors went away.

Now I Followed the DIY and couldnt find the digital speedo name in the CAS so I went with the Key Fob Window Close and got that to work properly. Now from my understanding I am replacing the FSW_PSW.man file with a modified one (changes in non_aktiv) and that is what the car is reading Correct? My next question is if I want to read another module like NFRM, where do the options show up that I can change. After I change them what do I save the file as?

Sorry for the newb question.. I assume it has been answered before but I cant search a full question and this thread is pretty big now.
Double click CAS (main module). Press F6 to go back. Press F4 (Process ECU). Select Kombi. Press F4 again (Read ECU).


BC_DIGITAL_V is in the KOMBI sub-module of the CAS main module.
AoshichanX is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2011, 02:01 PM   #1244
xxxjecxxx
Captain
 
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black 06 325i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

Posts: 765
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gmac88 View Post
Hey guys, Finally got everything working. Funny thing is that the problem was my JB4. As soon as I turned it to map 0 all my communication errors went away.

Now I Followed the DIY and couldnt find the digital speedo name in the CAS so I went with the Key Fob Window Close and got that to work properly. Now from my understanding I am replacing the FSW_PSW.man file with a modified one (changes in non_aktiv) and that is what the car is reading Correct? My next question is if I want to read another module like NFRM, where do the options show up that I can change. After I change them what do I save the file as?

Sorry for the newb question.. I assume it has been answered before but I cant search a full question and this thread is pretty big now.


just make sure to mute it or listen to typing and some sweet music!
xxxjecxxx is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2011, 02:20 PM   #1245
1QuikWS6
No 55mph
 
1QuikWS6's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 E92 328iX N51 3-Stage
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Blitzburgh, PA

Posts: 4,501
iTrader: (81)

Garage List
Holy mackeral! Only thing better than this is if you physically DID the coding
__________________
2009 328ix E92//SGM//ACS Roof Spoiler//MTech Aero Lip+Trunk Spoiler//M3 Side Skirts//CF Roundels+Grilles//M3 Novillo Interior//Perf Shift Lever+Boot//MPerf DCT Wheel//M3 GT3 eBrake Handle+Boot//ACS Pedals//M3 Mirrors//LCI Tails w/LUX Rev//DTEC V7 AE+MTec 6000K D1S+HPB HID 6000K Fogs//HPB LED Interior//RPI Scoops//CF Euro Airbox+Underhood Hsgs//K&N//BMW PE//MTech Rear Bumper-iS Sport Diffuser//CF Strut Brace//Vishnu OFT//BMW 193M's+Kumho 4X
1QuikWS6 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2011, 02:57 PM   #1246
b1gmac88
Captain
 
Drives: 335i e92
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: E Coast

Posts: 953
iTrader: (16)

Send a message via AIM to b1gmac88
How would I get back to the original settings?? I saved my original FSW PSW.MAN file

I got the dig speedo to work but not the door dong and now i have this exclamation mark with a circle around it (looks like a gear with a !) in the middle. Im getting scared that I messed something up
b1gmac88 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2011, 03:02 PM   #1247
xxxjecxxx
Captain
 
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black 06 325i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

Posts: 765
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gmac88 View Post
How would I get back to the original settings?? I saved my original FSW PSW.MAN file

I got the dig speedo to work but not the door dong and now i have this exclamation mark with a circle around it (looks like a gear with a !) in the middle. Im getting scared that I messed something up
your car is stick?

There are other members that have had this happen. So far what it looks like is that something is being automatically added to the VO to make the car think it is a right hand drive, euro automatic. I'm in the process of trying to figure out which option is being added. If anyone else have any ideas feel free to chime in.
xxxjecxxx is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2011, 03:07 PM   #1248
b1gmac88
Captain
 
Drives: 335i e92
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: E Coast

Posts: 953
iTrader: (16)

Send a message via AIM to b1gmac88
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxjecxxx View Post
your car is stick?

There are other members that have had this happen. So far what it looks like is that something is being automatically added to the VO to make the car think it is a right hand drive, euro automatic. I'm in the process of trying to figure out which option is being added. If anyone else have any ideas feel free to chime in.
my car is stick... It didnt make that error until i tried the digital speedo and to get rid of the door gong..

How can i restore the car back to normal? Do i go CAS main module> Cas> restore my original FSWPSW.MAN and then coapireadsggetfswPSw and code that?
b1gmac88 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2011, 03:21 PM   #1249
xxxjecxxx
Captain
 
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black 06 325i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

Posts: 765
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gmac88 View Post
my car is stick... It didnt make that error until i tried the digital speedo and to get rid of the door gong..

How can i restore the car back to normal? Do i go CAS main module> Cas> restore my original FSWPSW.MAN and then coapireadsggetfswPSw and code that?
restoring the orignal fine will not fix it. I'm still looking for what option I have to change in VO.. upload your VO i'll see If I can help you with it also.
xxxjecxxx is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2011, 03:21 PM   #1250
AW128i
Major
 
AW128i's Avatar
 
Drives: E82 N51
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Southeastern, PA

Posts: 1,004
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to AW128i
From what I've gathered from talking to some other members making changes, some changes (VO or otherwise) affect other changes at the same time. For instance, when adding xenons to the VO, auto-leveling is also added, which you would then have to disable or you'll encounter errors for missing modules and such.

Dumb question, to "backup" all the original info, is it necessary to read each module (e.g., CAS, KOMBI, etc.) separately and save each of the .man files? And if you wanted to restore one of the original files, do you just replace the .man file in the "work" folder with the original one?
AW128i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2011, 03:28 PM   #1251
b1gmac88
Captain
 
Drives: 335i e92
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: E Coast

Posts: 953
iTrader: (16)

Send a message via AIM to b1gmac88
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxjecxxx View Post
restoring the orignal fine will not fix it. I'm still looking for what option I have to change in VO.. upload your VO i'll see If I can help you with it also.
Sure. Im sorry to ask but how do i do that.. Im on hour 3 of coding
b1gmac88 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2011, 03:42 PM   #1252
mineo77
Lieutenant Colonel
 
mineo77's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 135i,1989 PRO3,2001 530i
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland,OR

Posts: 1,928
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2010 135i coupe  [3.78]
Send a message via AIM to mineo77
Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gmac88 View Post
How would I get back to the original settings?? I saved my original FSW PSW.MAN file

I got the dig speedo to work but not the door dong and now i have this exclamation mark with a circle around it (looks like a gear with a !) in the middle. Im getting scared that I messed something up
Does it look like this? If so, now you drive an automatic tranny, likely Right Hand Drive and spec'd to euro!
Attached Images
 
__________________
mineo77 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2011, 03:45 PM   #1253
b1gmac88
Captain
 
Drives: 335i e92
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: E Coast

Posts: 953
iTrader: (16)

Send a message via AIM to b1gmac88
Quote:
Originally Posted by mineo77 View Post
Does it look like this? If so, now you drive an automatic tranny, likely Right Hand Drive and spec'd to euro!
yup thats it.. wonderful, i get it to work and first 2 codes mess up my car..
b1gmac88 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2011, 03:51 PM   #1254
mineo77
Lieutenant Colonel
 
mineo77's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 135i,1989 PRO3,2001 530i
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland,OR

Posts: 1,928
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2010 135i coupe  [3.78]
Send a message via AIM to mineo77
Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gmac88 View Post
yup thats it.. wonderful, i get it to work and first 2 codes mess up my car..
I think the ladies are more keen on euro men, so you have that going for you..not sure about the right hand drive...maybe you can use your car for the postal service i guess!
__________________
mineo77 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST