E90Post
 


MINHS Auto Care Center
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > BMW CODING success



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-02-2011, 02:38 PM   #1277
E90PAT
SOFLO CODING
Slovenia
57
Rep
3,238
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SoFla

iTrader: (17)

Send a message via AIM to E90PAT
Anybody want to buy a coding cable?

Edit: sold, thanks for the interest guys
__________________

Coding services in Broward/Miami/Gainesville and surrounding areas! Ask me!

Last edited by E90PAT; 02-02-2011 at 06:34 PM.
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2011, 03:04 PM   #1278
Imperator
Major
Imperator's Avatar
United_States
18
Rep
1,128
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 E92 335i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Plano, Texas

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E92PAT View Post
Anybody want to buy a coding cable?
I'm still looking for one and wouldn't mind a deal on a used cable, especially if it's the forum-endorsed "eBay" coding cable. PM me if you've got one for sale.
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2011, 03:59 PM   #1279
b1gmac88
Captain
United_States
28
Rep
953
Posts

 
Drives: 335i e92
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: E Coast

iTrader: (16)

Send a message via AIM to b1gmac88
I am going to try to get that error to go away today. I am going to try what Wissam did and see if it makes any difference.

xx... Any luck with finding the difference/problem?

This is the error by the way. It stays on the whole time
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2011, 04:18 PM   #1280
mineo77
Lieutenant Colonel
mineo77's Avatar
United_States
37
Rep
1,928
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 135i,1989 PRO3,2001 530i
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland,OR

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2010 135i coupe  [3.78]
Send a message via AIM to mineo77
Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gmac88 View Post
I am going to try to get that error to go away today. I am going to try what Wissam did and see if it makes any difference.

xx... Any luck with finding the difference/problem?

This is the error by the way. It stays on the whole time
damn that looks all to familar to me! lemme know how it goes! good luck!!
__________________
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2011, 04:45 PM   #1281
Pseudo Nim
twinborific
Pseudo Nim's Avatar
55
Rep
4,738
Posts

 
Drives: fast, sometimes slow
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: i am a citizen of the world

iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mineo77 View Post
damn that looks all to familar to me! lemme know how it goes! good luck!!
I'm curious - does a scan with a BT tool or INPA not show some error code that can be cleared? alternatively - flashing back to the backup .TRC does not clear it?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2011, 04:54 PM   #1282
Mexcar007
New Member
0
Rep
7
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 325i BMW
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amlethae View Post
I don't have the code, that's my stock trace file. I've never coded the whole car at once either... that could be the cause of peoples problems.
I have a 06' 325i non auto. and one thing I notice when I tried to code the complete car it gave me this same error with the gear+! on the dash. I ignored it figure that it was just going through a cycle of coding. It stopped coding little after the gear showed on the dash, i forgot what error thingy came up on my laptop. I turned the ignition off left it for several minutes about 5 and turned on the ignition. the gear was gone. I was was nervous for a minute. and since then I have never tried that again... so it might be possible that its only happening to the stick shift cars
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2011, 04:56 PM   #1283
b1gmac88
Captain
United_States
28
Rep
953
Posts

 
Drives: 335i e92
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: E Coast

iTrader: (16)

Send a message via AIM to b1gmac88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pseudo Nim View Post
I'm curious - does a scan with a BT tool or INPA not show some error code that can be cleared? alternatively - flashing back to the backup .TRC does not clear it?
Im doing that now.. So far not working.

Im doing what was suggested before where you take your backup and instead of doing "process ecu" you do "process car"

Neither are working and I still have this F*&*ing error that wont go away
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2011, 05:10 PM   #1284
b1gmac88
Captain
United_States
28
Rep
953
Posts

 
Drives: 335i e92
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: E Coast

iTrader: (16)

Send a message via AIM to b1gmac88
I also just hooked up my BT tool and couldnt communicate with my transmission management to see if there were any fault codes.

hmmmm
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2011, 05:20 PM   #1285
The_DDub
Not gonna mod the engine
The_DDub's Avatar
United_States
7
Rep
315
Posts

 
Drives: Like a Boss, hard and fast
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fremont, CA

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2007 328i Sedan  [0.00]
Here's a thought. Could something be missing from the VO that specifies a 6MT as most cars have auto trans?
__________________
Monaco Blue E90 328i with Nav, Sport, Premium and Comfort Access packages, 6FL with iPod cable
SAE spec Depo with HIDs and HID fogs
Depo AE replacement Album
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2011, 07:40 PM   #1286
xxxjecxxx
Captain
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
66
Rep
812
Posts

 
Drives: Jet Black 06 325i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (1)

What we know for sure:

1. this only affects manual cars.
2. the error is telling you that you are now driving a right hand drive euro automatic. obviously that's not the case, that's why you have an error.

I just got the files I needed from another member so i check it out.

BT tool or INPA will clear the codes because there is nothing "wrong" with the car.
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2011, 07:52 PM   #1287
bmw_knight
New Member
0
Rep
22
Posts

 
Drives: NA
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Everywhere

iTrader: (1)

For anyone who has an iPhone, there is a app called "BMW Codes" that will decipher the option codes for you.

I just found it and I thought I would pass it on.
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2011, 09:02 PM   #1288
xxxjecxxx
Captain
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
66
Rep
812
Posts

 
Drives: Jet Black 06 325i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw_knight View Post
For anyone who has an iPhone, there is a app called "BMW Codes" that will decipher the option codes for you.

I just found it and I thought I would pass it on.
You are awesome! Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2011, 09:25 PM   #1289
b1gmac88
Captain
United_States
28
Rep
953
Posts

 
Drives: 335i e92
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: E Coast

iTrader: (16)

Send a message via AIM to b1gmac88
UPDATE:

ok so i got the error to go away... The thing is I didnt do anything specific to get it to stop showing up. I kept doing what was mentioned by Wissam but it didnt work exactly how he said it.

So pretty much what I did was read the CAS module. I got the full FSW_PSW.TRC file and replaced the .MAN file with it. Then I restarted NCS and instead of "processing ECU" I did the "process car"."code car". I got the error and then my car kinda restarted. I did it a couple times, kept trying different things, but the last time I tried it the ! with gears didnt show up.

Let me know if I wasnt clear. I feel like I kept trying different things and just at the point of giving up I got it to work.
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2011, 09:43 PM   #1290
xxxjecxxx
Captain
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
66
Rep
812
Posts

 
Drives: Jet Black 06 325i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gmac88 View Post
UPDATE:

ok so i got the error to go away... The thing is I didnt do anything specific to get it to stop showing up. I kept doing what was mentioned by Wissam but it didnt work exactly how he said it.

So pretty much what I did was read the CAS module. I got the full FSW_PSW.TRC file and replaced the .MAN file with it. Then I restarted NCS and instead of "processing ECU" I did the "process car"."code car". I got the error and then my car kinda restarted. I did it a couple times, kept trying different things, but the last time I tried it the ! with gears didnt show up.

Let me know if I wasnt clear. I feel like I kept trying different things and just at the point of giving up I got it to work.
good idea...

I don't know why I didnt' think of this before.

if you delete the man file and process car > code car. It should reset everything to the default values because there is nothing file to grab the codes from.

I did this with my car, but by mistake not because there was anything wrong with it. it took off all the options I coded before.

It is risky but if anyone else want's to try it, let us know. as of now this is the only solution.
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2011, 09:44 PM   #1291
mineo77
Lieutenant Colonel
mineo77's Avatar
United_States
37
Rep
1,928
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 135i,1989 PRO3,2001 530i
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland,OR

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2010 135i coupe  [3.78]
Send a message via AIM to mineo77
Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gmac88 View Post
UPDATE:

ok so i got the error to go away... The thing is I didnt do anything specific to get it to stop showing up. I kept doing what was mentioned by Wissam but it didnt work exactly how he said it.

So pretty much what I did was read the CAS module. I got the full FSW_PSW.TRC file and replaced the .MAN file with it. Then I restarted NCS and instead of "processing ECU" I did the "process car"."code car". I got the error and then my car kinda restarted. I did it a couple times, kept trying different things, but the last time I tried it the ! with gears didnt show up.

Let me know if I wasnt clear. I feel like I kept trying different things and just at the point of giving up I got it to work.
I wonder if your VO is still the same as it was before or not. But glad you got that symbol away!
__________________
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2011, 09:46 PM   #1292
mineo77
Lieutenant Colonel
mineo77's Avatar
United_States
37
Rep
1,928
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 135i,1989 PRO3,2001 530i
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland,OR

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2010 135i coupe  [3.78]
Send a message via AIM to mineo77
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxjecxxx View Post
good idea...

I don't know why I didnt' think of this before.

if you delete the man file. and press car > code car. It should reset everything to the default favalues.

I did this with my car, but by mistake not because there was anything wrong with it. it took off everything I coded before.

It is risky but if anyone else want's to try it, let us know. as of now this is the only solution.
hmmm...tempting
__________________
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2011, 10:00 PM   #1293
xxxjecxxx
Captain
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
66
Rep
812
Posts

 
Drives: Jet Black 06 325i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (1)

I need someone with the error to try this. change the value below.

Module: CAS

GETRIEBE_TYP
schrittschaltung >>>>> handschaltung

you are changing back to manual. see if that gets rid of error. Please report back asap!
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2011, 10:07 PM   #1294
Wissam
Private First Class
Canada
6
Rep
141
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 e90 328I
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: GTA, Canada

iTrader: (3)

Regarding my post #1264 on page 58, not sure if it makes any difference but I had shut down my laptop and the car for about 10 minutes in between the two coding attempts.
Here is something I noticed...the backup of the main CAS module I created per the DIY the first time I used NXSExpert, contains "GETRIEBE_ART" that is set to "automatik". "GETRIEBE_ART" means Transmission Type. However, my car is manual. And, that was the .TRC file (which I also copied to .MAN) that I used on the coding attemp that resulted with the Gear/! warning.
Similarly, the .TRC file (which I also copied to .MAN) that I used on the next coding attempt which cleared the error, contained "GETRIEBE_ART" that is set to "handschalter" which means Manual.
I'm not saying this is the root cause because I obviously I can't prove it, but if you guys with the gear/! error are experimenting looking for a solution, maybe this is something worth checking.
My guess is that NCSExpert looks for and reads the .MAN file in the Work directory as it creates the .TRC file when you read the Main CAS module. Try it, delete the .MAN then read the main CAS, you'll get an error telling you can't find the .MAN file, and the option to Process ECU which gives list of sub-modules will be grayed out. Therefore I would recommend, and I saw this on another forum which I can't remember where, to empty the .MAN (net delete) before starting NSCExpert. And by the way, the FSW_PSW.MAN that comes with the software file NCSEXPER.rar, contains "GETRIEBE_ART" set to "automatik".
I also recommend to keep monitoring the Work folder of NCSExpert as you step through the coding procedure and make a backup of every FSW_PSW.TRC it creates and of the FSW_PSW.MAN files, and write down notes on the process including when each .TRC/.MAN file was created. This gives you the option to go back and review and compare files and results.
For me, the Gear/! error is gone, but I still haven't been able to disable the DRL, and the DRL high beam light is now at full strength as opposed to dimmed per normal.
xxxjecxxx, pm me your email and I'll be happy to send you my CAS TRC file...
Good luck...
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2011, 10:10 PM   #1295
AoshichanX
Brigadier General
AoshichanX's Avatar
United_States
64
Rep
3,103
Posts

 
Drives: Jet Black e90 335i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Claremont, CA

iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2007 e90 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via ICQ to AoshichanX Send a message via AIM to AoshichanX Send a message via MSN to AoshichanX Send a message via Yahoo to AoshichanX Send a message via Skype™ to AoshichanX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toshi View Post
Please somebody upload this again.




More than 70 files... it's too big
Quote:
Originally Posted by AoshichanX View Post
I'll MediaFire and post to usenet group alt.binaries.boneless tonight unless someone does before then.

=]

Uploaded; link in Item #10 in the FAQ. Also updated item #12.
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2011, 10:17 PM   #1296
xxxjecxxx
Captain
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
66
Rep
812
Posts

 
Drives: Jet Black 06 325i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (1)

Here is what I was comparing.
Generated with NCS Dummy version 0.2.1.0 copyright 2010 revtor software


Output : Traces
Trace file 1 : "C:\Users\Owner\Desktop\randy\randy\ca\FSW_PSW_CAS _OG.TRC"
Trace file 2 : "C:\Users\Owner\Desktop\randy\randy\ca\FSW_PSW_CA_ AFTER_CODE.TRC"


1 2 PARAMETER NAME PARAMETER NAME TRANSLATION
PARAMETER VALUE PARAMETER VALUE TRANSLATION

* * BAUREIHE CHASSIS
* e90 e90 (3 series)
* e82 e82 (1 series coup)
* * BAUART
* limousine
* coupe
* * GETRIEBE_GAENGE
* * 6_gaenge
* 8_gaenge
* TRANSPONDER
* aktiv enabled
* * STARTABBRUCH_BREMSE
* aktiv enabled
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* KLR_AUS_TKSITZ
* aktiv enabled
* SS_GETRIEBE
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* * KLR_AUS_TIMEOUT
* wert_02 value 02
* wert_03 value 03
* FH_RESESCH
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* * FH_KINDERSICHERUNG
* aktiv enabled
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* * VER_AUT_X_MIN_SENDER_1
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* aktiv enabled
* * VERRIEGELN_XKM/H_SENDER_1
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* aktiv enabled
* FH_UMLSCH
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* * FH_TUERBED_EINSTG
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* aktiv enabled
* * FH_SCHLIESSEN_EINSTG
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* aktiv enabled
* * KMFRT_OEFF_HINTEN
* wert_01 value 01
* * wert_02 value 02
* KISITMRMAX
* wert_01 value 01
* * MOTOR_HUBRAUM
* n51b30
* n52b30
* n52kb30
* n53b30
* n54b30
* m54b30
* m57d30
* n57d30
* n62b30
* n54b30_neu
* n55b30
* n57d30_neu
* * GETRIEBE_TYP
* schrittschaltung
* handschaltung
* * ANLASSSPERRE_BLS
* aktiv enabled
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* * FH_HINTEN
* aktiv enabled
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* * FH_DISASHD_KL15
* aktiv enabled
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* * KOMFORTSCHLIESSUNG_FB
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* aktiv enabled
* * AUSWERTUNG_P_CAN
* aktiv enabled
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* * FBD_SERVICEFKT_AKTIV
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* aktiv enabled
* * DELAY_KL50L
* wert_03 value 03
* wert_01 value 01
* ANLASSSPERRE_KLR
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* ABZUGSPERRE_PLOCK
* aktiv enabled
* * ANLASSERSPERRE_KPS
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* aktiv enabled
* ELV_TESTER
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* STARTABBR_KLR
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* TEST_LED_KS_AKTIV
* aktiv enabled
* SPERRE_HKL_KEY_VALID
* aktiv enabled
* KL30G_EIN_HKT_AUSSEN
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* KL30G_EIN_HKT_FBD
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* PA_HK_REOPEN_INDICATE
* aktiv enabled
* PA_HK_REV_ZYKL
* aktiv enabled
* PA_MONITOR_ACTIVE
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* CBS_VERSION
* wert_03 value 03
* KL30G_NACHLAUF_NACH_SZ1
* wert_01 value 01
* SCHLUESSELVARIANTE
* wert_03 value 03
* FH_KOMFORTF_MIT_SUBST
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* ZEIT_KL50_ANSTRG
* wert_03 value 03
* ABZUGSPERRE_PLOCK_C6
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* FBD_LOAD_POS_HK_HK
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* FBD_LOAD_POS_LF_PING
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* FBD_NO_LOAD_POS
* aktiv enabled
* FH_RELEASE_CA_BASIC
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* KL30G_EIN_HKT_AUSSEN_07
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* KL30G_EIN_HKT_FBD_07
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* KLR_AUS_TK
* aktiv enabled
* KLSTRG_GRB_ID
* wert_00 value 00
* SPERRE_HKL_KEY_VALID_07
* aktiv enabled
* SS_GETRIEBE_7
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* STARTABBRUCH_KLR
* aktiv enabled
* STARTDELAY_K_START_R5X
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* TC_KL15_AUTO_OFF
* aktiv enabled
* TC_KL15_AUTO_OFF_LIGHT
* aktiv enabled
* TC_MSA_NO_KL15_AUTO_OFF
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* TC_TIME_KL15_AUTO_OFF
* wert_00 value 00
* FBD_COMFORT_OPEN_LF_PING
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* PA_TBEREIT_HK
* wert_01 value 01
* CCM_0X42_IM_NACHLAUF
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* NLF_AUS_ALLE_TUEREN
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* NEUES_FSE_KONZEPT
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* PA_SUPERRANGE_R56
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* PA_TAGE_REAR_RL_MIRROW
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* PA_LF_PING_TAGE
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* PA_MAUT_CLOSE_SILENT
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* PA_SEARCH_HK_VORRASTE
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* PA_SILENT_TO_4TAGE
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* FH_RELEASE_TOP_ZWSTLG
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* PA_HK_2SEARCH
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* ELV_CCM_NEU
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* PA_LF_PING_PGS
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* HINTERE_TUEREN_MINI
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* OSFG_MSA_NO_KL15_AUTO_OFF
* aktiv enabled
* TC_KL15_AUTO_OFF_OSFG
* nicht_aktiv not enabled
* TC_NOT_P_NO_KL15_AUTO_OFF
* aktiv enabled
* TIME_KL15_AUT_OFF_DR_OPEN
* wert_01 value 01
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2011, 09:49 AM   #1297
miguex@ecuprogram
Second Lieutenant
miguex@ecuprogram's Avatar
Canada
6
Rep
206
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 X5 M
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Calgary, AB

iTrader: (3)

Send a message via Skype™ to miguex@ecuprogram
Better compare between files, use WINMERGE: it is a free software.
http://winmerge.org/
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2011, 12:59 PM   #1298
Mexcar007
New Member
0
Rep
7
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 325i BMW
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

For me, the Gear/! error is gone, but I still haven't been able to disable the DRL, and the DRL high beam light is now at full strength as opposed to dimmed per normal.


Dim the DRL - if you change from wert_01 your high light are 100-80% but wert_02 is dimmed to about 18%
DRL_WERT_DIMMUNG
wert_02
Diable the DRL
DRL_V_GEDIMMT
nicht_aktiv

P>S> these are located in the FRM module

Last edited by Mexcar007; 02-03-2011 at 01:02 PM. Reason: Forgot
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST