E90Post
 


Evolve Automotive
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > BMW CODING success



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-10-2011, 01:09 AM   #1365
xxxjecxxx
Captain
 
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black 06 325i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

Posts: 762
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wissam View Post
You know you're getting good at this coding stuff when you start coding things that don't even exist in the owner's manual!!...anyways, my CBS Service menu has now a new maintenance item which was not there before I started coding...see picture below...my guess is that this was added somehow during my failed attempts to code the main CAS module and the consequent gear/! warning...all the more reason to never ever try to code a main module and stick with coding the sub-modules only...my owner's manual doesn't have this symbol, and the 11/2021 date in the symbol would be exactly 15 years after my build date...any clue to what this symbol represents? is it something that was added to later models E90?
it was there before you started coding. my car is 2006 325i I have the same thing. make sure to set your date correctly. I don't think anything to be serviced in your car should be 15 years out.
xxxjecxxx is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-10-2011, 11:28 AM   #1366
Pseudo Nim
twinborific
 
Pseudo Nim's Avatar
 
Drives: fast, sometimes slow
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: i am a citizen of the world

Posts: 4,711
iTrader: (9)

Still hoping someone is able to code the paddle shift to work without having to rewire it... wonder if adding ZSP helps?
__________________
Pseudo Nim is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-10-2011, 01:02 PM   #1367
Toshi
Private First Class
 
Drives: E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Posts: 168
iTrader: (1)

I am now able to code both CCC(CAPPL) and CIC but I am getting errors when I try to code FRM.
Anybody share your complete/flawless set of the latest files, please?
__________________

2008 E92 335i M-Sport (Japan spec)
ALPINA Classic Styling II, Íhlins DFV Coilover, BMS JB4, LUX H8 Ver.3,
3D Design Front Lip, BP Black Grill, ACS Roof Spoiler, ALPINA Trunk Lip, etc.
Toshi is offline   Japan
0
Reply With Quote
      02-10-2011, 01:10 PM   #1368
outie
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: CA

Posts: 517
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toshi View Post
I am now able to code both CCC(CAPPL) and CIC but I am getting errors when I try to code FRM.
Anybody share your complete/flawless set of the latest files, please?
What's the error(s)?
__________________
outie is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-10-2011, 02:39 PM   #1369
BabyBlack
Second Lieutenant
 
BabyBlack's Avatar
 
Drives: E46 M3 & E90 335i & E71 X6M
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canada

Posts: 298
iTrader: (3)

Can anyone explain why there are no E70 or E71 under the INPA select menu?
BabyBlack is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-10-2011, 03:03 PM   #1370
JayD
Private First Class
 
Drives: 08 335i
Join Date: May 2008
Location: upper mid-west

Posts: 193
iTrader: (0)

automatic folding mirrors and angel eyes as daytime running lights

I have a 2008 335i sdn with comfort access and want to have the car programed so the outside mirrors automatically fold in when the car is turned off and automatically extend when the car is started.

I also wish to have the angel eyes (I have adaptive headlights) be my daytime running lights in place of the high beams on a lower wattage (the factory setup for daytime running lights on the E90). I know there is a wiring harness available for that but it is hit and miss if it throws a code based on BMW software.

Can either of these be done with just coding and is there a easy step by step tutorial on how to do it for the layman? I know I need an OBDII cable and a laptop but that is as far as I can get without confusion. (I'm unsure from a software aspect)

any help would be greatly appreciated







I have looked through this coding section but have gotten more confused with every post.
JayD is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-10-2011, 03:36 PM   #1371
Steveo
Lieutenant
 
Steveo's Avatar
 
Drives: M4
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Scotland

Posts: 420
iTrader: (0)

Why dont i have CIC in the module options to code in NCS?
Steveo is offline   Scotland
0
Reply With Quote
      02-10-2011, 03:41 PM   #1372
BabyBlack
Second Lieutenant
 
BabyBlack's Avatar
 
Drives: E46 M3 & E90 335i & E71 X6M
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canada

Posts: 298
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveo View Post
Why dont i have CIC in the module options to code in NCS?
do you have CAPPL?
BabyBlack is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-10-2011, 03:46 PM   #1373
outie
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: CA

Posts: 517
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayD View Post
I have a 2008 335i sdn with comfort access and want to have the car programed so the outside mirrors automatically fold in when the car is turned off and automatically extend when the car is started.
I don't think you can open/close your side mirrors by starting your car/turning off. What we can do (with CA) is that when you lock your car, you keep your finger there for a second and it'll close the windows as well as the mirrors. If you closed your mirrors this way, next time you unlock the door the mirrors will open automatically.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveo View Post
Why dont i have CIC in the module options to code in NCS?
What year is your car? Only 09+ have CIC. For 08 your navi is CAPPL.
__________________
outie is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-10-2011, 03:46 PM   #1374
Steveo
Lieutenant
 
Steveo's Avatar
 
Drives: M4
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Scotland

Posts: 420
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BabyBlack View Post
do you have CAPPL?
Think so will have to check tomorrow, is that the one i need to code the CIC?

Thing is I have a Aug 08 build but have retrofitted the newer CIC
Steveo is offline   Scotland
0
Reply With Quote
      02-10-2011, 03:47 PM   #1375
spazticrecords
Banned
 
Drives: 2010 E90 328 XI
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Yorktown Heights, NY.

Posts: 123
iTrader: (0)

Can anyone confirm if coding the digital speed reset your service menu. I have 2010 E90 and I don't think it did but I can't tell. It says my back brackes need serving in 20k miles and my front in 7k and I already have 15k on the car so far, and anyone still interest or have gotten any progress on DVd in motion.

Has anyone coded "Rain Close" - REGENSCLIESSENTILT. I am not sure what module it's in. I don't have an SHD module.
Has anyoen coded? Eject Key Fob with Engine Off. I don't have CA and I tried enabling this but it didn't seem to work.
spazticrecords is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-10-2011, 03:57 PM   #1376
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,988
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveo View Post
Think so will have to check tomorrow, is that the one i need to code the CIC?

Thing is I have a Aug 08 build but have retrofitted the newer CIC
You need to change your FA production date so NCS Expert can pick up the proper CIC DATEN files. Of course, the assumption is that you do have the proper 2009+ DATEN files.

Try #0908 (MY2009) or #0909 (MY2010) as your production date. If you are doing a Combox retrofit you must use #0910 and the MY2011.5 (09/10) DATEN files.
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-10-2011, 03:57 PM   #1377
BabyBlack
Second Lieutenant
 
BabyBlack's Avatar
 
Drives: E46 M3 & E90 335i & E71 X6M
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canada

Posts: 298
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveo View Post
Think so will have to check tomorrow, is that the one i need to code the CIC?

Thing is I have a Aug 08 build but have retrofitted the newer CIC
Then most likely you have a CCC instead of CIC(2009+)
BabyBlack is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-10-2011, 04:04 PM   #1378
BabyBlack
Second Lieutenant
 
BabyBlack's Avatar
 
Drives: E46 M3 & E90 335i & E71 X6M
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canada

Posts: 298
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by spazticrecords View Post
Has anyone coded "Rain Close" - REGENSCLIESSENTILT. I am not sure what module it's in. I don't have an SHD module.
Got the following info from 5 series forum, worth a try

[Roof rain Close]

with rain sensor is activated.

Control unit: SHD or HSDH

RAIN CLOSE
nicht_aktiv -> active

If with respect to the coding, an error message comes the pinch:

- Ignition on
- Ensure that the sunroof is closed
- Press the key to lifting / tilting the sunroof and hold (approx. 1 minute) until all settings have been hit once and the sunroof is closed.
BabyBlack is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-10-2011, 04:06 PM   #1379
Steveo
Lieutenant
 
Steveo's Avatar
 
Drives: M4
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Scotland

Posts: 420
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
You need to change your FA production date so NCS Expert can pick up the proper CIC DATEN files. Of course, the assumption is that you do have the proper 2009+ DATEN files.

Try #0908 (MY2009) or #0909 (MY2010) as your production date. If you are doing a Combox retrofit you must use #0910 and the MY2011.5 (09/10) DATEN files.
How do i change the prod date in NCS?

I got the last daten files from here:

http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum....php?t=1590923

Are these MY2011.5 files?
Steveo is offline   Scotland
0
Reply With Quote
      02-10-2011, 06:03 PM   #1380
Noxious_
Banned
 
Drives: 08 E90
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Canada

Posts: 315
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayD View Post
I know there is a wiring harness available for that but it is hit and miss if it throws a code based on BMW software.
I use the daeos cable and have never had an issue.
Noxious_ is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      02-10-2011, 09:09 PM   #1381
xxxjecxxx
Captain
 
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black 06 325i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

Posts: 762
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by outie View Post
What's the error(s)?
CODING Forum

never thought we would have this many replies, views and interest!
xxxjecxxx is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-10-2011, 09:26 PM   #1382
Wissam
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2007 e90 328I
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: GTA, Canada

Posts: 141
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxjecxxx View Post
it was there before you started coding. my car is 2006 325i I have the same thing. make sure to set your date correctly. I don't think anything to be serviced in your car should be 15 years out.
AW128i, I tend to agree that it has something to do with emissions, however my car is not diesel...

Toshi, can you tell us what this symbol means and how long is the default service interval in Km/time? I'm assuming it's covered in your owner's manual...

xxxjecxxx, trust me, it was not there before, I have backup pictures of my service items before starting coding. The fact that it's not in the owner's manual should be your first clue that it's not meant to be there...you having it as well enforces my statements in post #1297 on page 59 that the FSW_PSW.MAN that comes with the software file NCSEXPER.rar is "contaminating" the backup file of our main CAS module that we're creating per the DIY, and that's why we're seeing all sorts of weird stuff when we attempt to code the main CAS using this backup file. Therefore, I reiterate my suggestion that the FSW_PSW.MAN should be emptied (not deleted) everytime you start a new session of NCExpert, especially the very first time before creating a "non-contaminated" backup.
Wissam is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      02-10-2011, 09:39 PM   #1383
AW128i
Major
 
AW128i's Avatar
 
Drives: E82 N51
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Southeastern, PA

Posts: 1,004
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to AW128i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wissam View Post
Therefore, I reiterate my suggestion that the FSW_PSW.MAN should be emptied (not deleted) everytime you start a new session of NCExpert, especially the very first time before creating a "non-contaminated" backup.
I know your car isn't a diesel, but I was suggesting that maybe it somehow thinks it's a diesel now. Anyhow, I definitely think the strange indicator is emissions-related, of some sort.

As for your comment about emptying the FSW_PSW.MAN file every time you start NCSEXPERT, how does one go about doing so without actually deleting the file?? Also, does this include before we use NCS for the first time?
AW128i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-10-2011, 11:44 PM   #1384
dmurray14
The Stig
 
dmurray14's Avatar
 
Drives: Quickly
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: US

Posts: 1,231
iTrader: (1)

Guys, I am all about everyone learning NCS and having fun with their cars, but all this talk should reinforce why it is important to really know what you are doing before you start playing around. There is plenty of information to read, so do it first. It's not a $400 computer, it's your $40k+ car you're messing with, and BMW isn't going to be there to help you.

The measure twice, cut once saying applies here as well...
__________________
dmurray14 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-11-2011, 09:16 AM   #1385
txusa03
Major General
 
Drives: TS330iPPSP6MT
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Planet Earth

Posts: 6,567
iTrader: (2)

Wow, this thead has really taken off. I know that ppl are sharing .MAN files but I thought it is only for comparison and not to actually use others .MAN file to code your own car.

I don't think you should use someone's .MAN file to code your car. These files contains specific info for your specific car (your car's DNA). I believed Junior made it clear that the first time you launch NCS, you should generate your initial .MAN file and back it up in a safe place.

If you need to add this/that features to the car, you should do a VO first and the appropriate module for that feature will be available to code.

I am still trying to find a way to make my alarm beeps louder. It has been unusually cold here lately so I have not had much motivation to go out and poke around with the coding.
__________________
under construction!
txusa03 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-11-2011, 10:25 AM   #1386
Steveo
Lieutenant
 
Steveo's Avatar
 
Drives: M4
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Scotland

Posts: 420
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
You need to change your FA production date so NCS Expert can pick up the proper CIC DATEN files. Of course, the assumption is that you do have the proper 2009+ DATEN files.

Try #0908 (MY2009) or #0909 (MY2010) as your production date. If you are doing a Combox retrofit you must use #0910 and the MY2011.5 (09/10) DATEN files.
Ive established that 2 modules need to be coded, the CAS, which is the other one?
Attached Images
File Type: pdf NCS_Changing_the_Vehicle_Order_CAS.pdf (1.56 MB, 361 views)
Steveo is offline   Scotland
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST