E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > BMW CODING success



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-11-2011, 12:26 PM   #1387
Steveo
Lieutenant
 
Steveo's Avatar
 
Drives: M4
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Scotland

Posts: 409
iTrader: (0)

Edited..

Last edited by Steveo; 02-11-2011 at 03:56 PM.
Steveo is offline   Scotland
0
Reply With Quote
      02-11-2011, 06:28 PM   #1388
jaza45
Banned
 
Drives: 2008 LSB E90 335I
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MIAMI

Posts: 1,123
iTrader: (14)

Send a message via AIM to jaza45 Send a message via MSN to jaza45 Send a message via Yahoo to jaza45 Send a message via Skype™ to jaza45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveo View Post
Ive established that 2 modules need to be coded, the CAS, which is the other one?
NFRM or FRM depending on your MY
jaza45 is offline   Colombia
0
Reply With Quote
      02-11-2011, 08:19 PM   #1389
Wissam
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2007 e90 328I
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: GTA, Canada

Posts: 141
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AW128i View Post
As for your comment about emptying the FSW_PSW.MAN file every time you start NCSEXPERT, how does one go about doing so without actually deleting the file?? Also, does this include before we use NCS for the first time?
you simply open the file with Notepad, select all, delete, then save...and this is especially important the first time, otherwise the main CAS backup file you create will be "contaminated" by the content of the .MAN file...

Quote:
Originally Posted by txusa03 View Post
I believed Junior made it clear that the first time you launch NCS, you should generate your initial .MAN file and back it up in a safe place.
I think you're mixing up .MAN with .TRC... you generate your own .TRC backup file not .MAN...my point is that having a .MAN file in the Work folder during the backup process is gonna "contaminate" the .TRC backup file, if the .MAN is not empty...

P.S. we're all learning by sharing lessons from our individual experiences...of course all the credit goes to xxxjecxxx for sharing his knowledge and making coding accessible to all members, unlike the others who chose to charge members for their knowledge...
Wissam is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      02-11-2011, 10:23 PM   #1390
dr004
USC Gamecocks #1
 
dr004's Avatar
 
Drives: '06 e90 330i AW
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Florence, SC

Posts: 177
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to dr004
What code do I need to change to remove the AE error I get? Are these bulbs checked with the parking lights?
dr004 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-11-2011, 10:30 PM   #1391
txusa03
Major General
 
Drives: TS330iPPSP6MT
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Planet Earth

Posts: 6,567
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wissam View Post
you simply open the file with Notepad, select all, delete, then save...and this is especially important the first time, otherwise the main CAS backup file you create will be "contaminated" by the content of the .MAN file...



I think you're mixing up .MAN with .TRC... you generate your own .TRC backup file not .MAN...my point is that having a .MAN file in the Work folder during the backup process is gonna "contaminate" the .TRC backup file, if the .MAN is not empty...

P.S. we're all learning by sharing lessons from our individual experiences...of course all the credit goes to xxxjecxxx for sharing his knowledge and making coding accessible to all members, unlike the others who chose to charge members for their knowledge...
You should have an original backup of your trace file .TRC. If you feel your current working file is messed up/contaminated, you can always go back to you backup TRC file. I am not expert so it is very possible I do not understand your particular issue. But glad that you share your experience/issue w/ the forum to help make coding safer/better for everyone.
__________________
under construction!
txusa03 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-12-2011, 06:43 AM   #1392
Newton2001
Private
 
Newton2001's Avatar
 
Drives: 435i X-Drive M Sport ('13)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland

Posts: 58
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Rain sensor switch automtically on

Hi,

is it possible to have the rain sensor on, when you switch the car on?
I searched, but didn't find anything about it...
Newton2001 is offline   Switzerland
0
Reply With Quote
      02-12-2011, 08:06 AM   #1393
AW128i
Major
 
AW128i's Avatar
 
Drives: E82 N51
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Southeastern, PA

Posts: 1,004
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to AW128i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wissam View Post
you simply open the file with Notepad, select all, delete, then save...and this is especially important the first time, otherwise the main CAS backup file you create will be "contaminated" by the content of the .MAN file...
OK, simple enough. Next question, the backup folder that's contained within the Work folder, are those files generated automatically, or should we be manually moving copies there to serve as backups? Also, there appears to be a FSW_PSW.MAN file in the root of the Work folder; should we leave that alone, or empty that also? I still haven't received my cable yet so I don't have any firsthand experience with NCS yet.
AW128i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-12-2011, 09:51 AM   #1394
Wissam
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2007 e90 328I
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: GTA, Canada

Posts: 141
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AW128i View Post
OK, simple enough. Next question, the backup folder that's contained within the Work folder, are those files generated automatically, or should we be manually moving copies there to serve as backups? Also, there appears to be a FSW_PSW.MAN file in the root of the Work folder; should we leave that alone, or empty that also? I still haven't received my cable yet so I don't have any firsthand experience with NCS yet.
The backup folder is for you to manually move files to, of course you can store your backups anywhere you wish and doesn't have to be in the backup folder...The .MAN file I've been talking about is the one in the "root" of the Work folder, this is the one that NCSExpert uses...
Wissam is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      02-12-2011, 09:56 AM   #1395
Toshi
Private First Class
 
Drives: E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Posts: 168
iTrader: (1)

That symbol indicates next safety / vehicle inspection schedule.
In Japan street cars must have inspections at the designated factory every two years by law. (It's called "Shaken" system.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wissam View Post
Toshi, can you tell us what this symbol means and how long is the default service interval in Km/time? I'm assuming it's covered in your owner's manual...
__________________

2008 E92 335i M-Sport (Japan spec)
ALPINA Classic Styling II, Íhlins DFV Coilover, BMS JB4, LUX H8 Ver.3,
3D Design Front Lip, BP Black Grill, ACS Roof Spoiler, ALPINA Trunk Lip, etc.
Toshi is offline   Japan
0
Reply With Quote
      02-12-2011, 10:04 AM   #1396
Toshi
Private First Class
 
Drives: E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Posts: 168
iTrader: (1)

Wissam, how nice of you.
AW128i, why don't you check the first few pages of this thread? You will find a lot of hints there.
__________________

2008 E92 335i M-Sport (Japan spec)
ALPINA Classic Styling II, Íhlins DFV Coilover, BMS JB4, LUX H8 Ver.3,
3D Design Front Lip, BP Black Grill, ACS Roof Spoiler, ALPINA Trunk Lip, etc.
Toshi is offline   Japan
0
Reply With Quote
      02-12-2011, 11:02 AM   #1397
Steveo
Lieutenant
 
Steveo's Avatar
 
Drives: M4
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Scotland

Posts: 409
iTrader: (0)

What does variable MDYNAMIC_MODE_USA do?
What makes the mode different between the USA and UK/other regions?
Steveo is offline   Scotland
0
Reply With Quote
      02-12-2011, 11:05 AM   #1398
AW128i
Major
 
AW128i's Avatar
 
Drives: E82 N51
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Southeastern, PA

Posts: 1,004
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to AW128i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toshi View Post
Wissam, how nice of you.
AW128i, why don't you check the first few pages of this thread? You will find a lot of hints there.
I've read every single post in this thread, many multiple times. The info isn't always clear, and it's certainly not concise for the most part. Such is life with information sharing like this. If I missed info about backing up files and how to appropriately do it, my mistake
AW128i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-12-2011, 12:59 PM   #1399
kaigoss69
Colonel
 
kaigoss69's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX

Posts: 2,920
iTrader: (5)

I want my car recoded but I am too chicken to try myself. Anyone out there who wants to help me for a fee? I am in upstate South Carolina but I frequently travel to Atlanta, Birmingham, Jacksonville.

The main thing I want done is Hifi out on the radio, folding mirrors with keyfob, digital speedometer. This is an 08 335i.
__________________
Mobridge DA2 > JBL MS-8 > JL Audio HD600/4 > (3) Hybrid Audio L3SE & (2) Rainbow Cal25; JL Audio HD900/5 > (2) Morel HCW-10 & (1) IDMax 15
kaigoss69 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-12-2011, 03:31 PM   #1400
dasammy
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: E92 320D
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Germany

Posts: 42
iTrader: (0)

Hey guys!

I tried to code my car today with a VAG 4000, but it won't work. Anyway ... I think I just have to buy the right cable.

I have at least 2 questions:
1) has anyone successfully coded memory seat function??
2) I only have Navi Prof with the "2-Band Equalizer" (Bass and Treble) afaik the Top-Hifi System (maybe Logic7 too) has a 7-Band Equalizer. Is it possible to activate the 7-Band by coding?

greetings!

Last edited by dasammy; 02-12-2011 at 05:49 PM.
dasammy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-12-2011, 04:06 PM   #1401
NiVeDh
Major General
 
NiVeDh's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E90 335i 6MT BSM
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX & Atlanta, GA

Posts: 7,987
iTrader: (132)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaigoss69 View Post
I want my car recoded but I am too chicken to try myself. Anyone out there who wants to help me for a fee? I am in upstate South Carolina but I frequently travel to Atlanta, Birmingham, Jacksonville.

The main thing I want done is Hifi out on the radio, folding mirrors with keyfob, digital speedometer. This is an 08 335i.
Let me know next time you're in Atlanta.
NiVeDh is offline   India
0
Reply With Quote
      02-12-2011, 04:49 PM   #1402
kaigoss69
Colonel
 
kaigoss69's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX

Posts: 2,920
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NiVeDh View Post
Let me know next time you're in Atlanta.
Cool, will do!
__________________
Mobridge DA2 > JBL MS-8 > JL Audio HD600/4 > (3) Hybrid Audio L3SE & (2) Rainbow Cal25; JL Audio HD900/5 > (2) Morel HCW-10 & (1) IDMax 15
kaigoss69 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-12-2011, 07:48 PM   #1403
antiks
Lieutenant
 
antiks's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 Alpine White
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: DFW Texas

Posts: 592
iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2008 335i  [4.50]
has anyone successfully code HID foglights w/out using a capacitor?

MY07
I've done the following from the frm/nfrm

Code:
WARMUEBERWACHUNG_NSW_L
	nicht_aktiv
WARMUEBERWACHUNG_NSW_R
	nicht_aktiv

KALTUEBERWACHUNG_NSW_L
	nicht_aktiv
KALTUEBERWACHUNG_NSW_R
        nicht_aktiv
Which successfully let me start the car w/ the hid fogs with no error; the thing is it will stay lit and not flicker at all if the car isn't started (just key in ignition and button on).

But once I start the car after about 10 seconds, I get the flickering HID foglights again...which i thought i stopped all cold and warm bulb testing.

Looking in the module, i see other things w/ the NSW tag on it, wondering if i should set those to inactive too? and there's two other ones, I have no idea of..

Code:
FEHLERMELDUNG_CC_NSW_L
	aktiv
FEHLERMELDUNG_CC_NSW_R
	aktiv

FL_UND_NSW_NICHT_GLEICHZ
	nicht_aktiv

PWM_ANSTEUERUNG_NSW
	wert_02
	wert_03
Thanks guys!
__________________

IG: realantiks
antiks is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-12-2011, 09:30 PM   #1404
e90TiAg335i
Captain
 
e90TiAg335i's Avatar
 
Drives: 10 e90 335i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: jacksonville, FL

Posts: 963
iTrader: (6)

Garage List
2010 e90 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaigoss69 View Post
I want my car recoded but I am too chicken to try myself. Anyone out there who wants to help me for a fee? I am in upstate South Carolina but I frequently travel to Atlanta, Birmingham, Jacksonville.

The main thing I want done is Hifi out on the radio, folding mirrors with keyfob, digital speedometer. This is an 08 335i.
I can also do the coding for you if you happen to be in Jax before Atlanta.
__________________

JB4, DP, VMR V710, Sonic Tuning S1 coilovers, Hybrid Ovations, Soundsplinter 10" and Zapco DC Ref amps
e90TiAg335i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-13-2011, 12:28 PM   #1405
E90PAT
SOFLO CODING
 
Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SoFla

Posts: 3,224
iTrader: (17)

Send a message via AIM to E90PAT
So bought a netbook specifically to do this wish me luck
__________________

Coding services in Broward/Miami/Gainesville and surrounding areas! Ask me!
E90PAT is offline   Slovenia
0
Reply With Quote
      02-13-2011, 05:08 PM   #1406
Matty69
New Member
 
Drives: 335I XDrive
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada

Posts: 10
iTrader: (1)

If you tune your car with a flash like Cobb would you have to do the coding all over again?
Matty69 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-13-2011, 06:38 PM   #1407
Imperator
Major
 
Imperator's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 E92 335i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Plano, Texas

Posts: 1,129
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matty69 View Post
If you tune your car with a flash like Cobb would you have to do the coding all over again?
I believe the type of coding most are interested in accesses modules outside of engine management and flash-based tunes.

However, like all flash-based tunes, any changes made with coding will likely be overwritten and defeated if your dealership updates any of these modules due to a service bulletin.

Lesson: make backups of your changes and always uninstall the Cobb tune before taking your car in for service.
Imperator is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-14-2011, 02:34 PM   #1408
Alex@Helix
Colonel
 
Alex@Helix's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Miami, FL

Posts: 2,221
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to Alex@Helix
Anyone find any way to de-activate the airbag errors if you were to put in racing seats!?

THANks
Alex@Helix is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST