E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > BMW CODING success



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-15-2010, 10:04 AM   #155
heartpumper
Private
2
Rep
76
Posts

 
Drives: 07 335i.. STI GONE :]
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Knoxville

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrys View Post
Don't let the CIC retrofit price on this website fool you
This does not include the OEM activation of the Navigation...


Also on the cables be careful with the Chinese interfaces, I have had some experience with them and they do not always work.
Sometimes it's better to spend a few bucks extra and buy a good cable which will give you a stable transmission between the car and your laptop.
For clarification for everybody your total price included map and voice activation as well aa all fsc codes?
Do we have to purchase north america map dvd set?
Which cable do you suggest?

Thanks for the info for everybody.
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2010, 11:39 AM   #156
Patrys@BimmerTech
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Patrys@BimmerTech's Avatar
Poland
83
Rep
1,607
Posts


 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Warsaw/Poland

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by heartpumper View Post
For clarification for everybody your total price included map and voice activation as well aa all fsc codes?
Do we have to purchase north america map dvd set?
Which cable do you suggest?

Thanks for the info for everybody.
I don't want to hijack this thread, so everyone interested in my CIC retrofit kits just check my signature for links to find out more and ask me questions over there or by email.
Heartpumper, drop me an email if you want to discuss it.

As for the cable, I have worked with many people around the world coding their vehicles and some of them had their own cables and believe me sometimes I tried all possible Windows/com port/Ediabas settings I could think of but sometimes it just did not work.
One cable could work fine on one computer and not on the other or was giving me random communication errors, etc.
Before I found my supplier here in Poland I tried ebay Chinese cables for $119 and even bought one, but had to return it because it did not work.
I am not saying that all ebay cables are crap, but my experience wasn't good.

Now I am more than happy with the source I have.

For most of you cables we are tlaking about are perfect to code the basic stuff but there might be modules you won't be able to code with a $100-$200 cable no matter what.
__________________
BimmerTech
Phone (USA): (646) 439-7920 (7:00am - 3:00pm ET) :: info@bimmer-tech.net :: www.bimmer-tech.net
Installation facilities worldwide.

Appreciate 0
      11-15-2010, 11:44 AM   #157
Alex@AKMotorwerk
Alex@AKMotorwerk's Avatar
United_States
117
Rep
9,339
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 AW F10 535i
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hillsborough, NJ

iTrader: (7)

Send a message via AIM to Alex@AKMotorwerk
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrys View Post
I don't want to hijack this thread, so everyone interested in my CIC retrofit kits just check my signature for links to find out more and ask me questions over there or by email.
Heartpumper, drop me an email if you want to discuss it.

As for the cable, I have worked with many people around the world coding their vehicles and some of them had their own cables and believe me sometimes I tried all possible Windows/com port/Ediabas settings I could think of but sometimes it just did not work.
One cable could work fine on one computer and not on the other or was giving me random communication errors, etc.

Before I found my supplier here in Poland I tried ebay Chinese cables for $119 and even bought one, but had to return it because it did not work.
I am not saying that all ebay cables are crap, but my experience wasn't good.

Now I am more than happy with the source I have.

For most of you cables we are tlaking about are perfect to code the basic stuff but there might be modules you won't be able to code with a $100-$200 cable no matter what.
I agree 100% with this... Not all cables and computers are alike
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2010, 02:06 PM   #158
fdriller9
Banned
United_States
101
Rep
7,090
Posts

 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
Has any one tried coding the NIC, neutral idle control, to disable the soft stop feature?

I would absolutely love to code this off my car...although I've adapted to it now.
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2010, 05:20 PM   #159
orangedawg
First Lieutenant
9
Rep
397
Posts

 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: WA

iTrader: (0)

Got the software downloaded and extracted per DIY. Edited the path on ediabas as per DIY. However, when I open the device manager to look at ports, I don't have "COM1" (all of my com ports are numbered 6 through 12 and all seem to be bluetooth ports, don't know why, but I don't know much about computer stuff or ports).

From DIY:

"9. This will open device manager.
a. Go to PORTS> double click on com1 > port settings tab > advanced"

I don't have a com1. I have even restarted computer to see if COM1 would show up after editing path. What am I doing wrong?

(on a side note, I also have installed GT1/DIS v44 and v57 on my laptop using vmware, but still waiting on cable to try it out. Will setting up INPA make it easier for DIS to connect to car? some on bimmerforums have suggested that setting up INPA first and then DIS is the way to go).
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2010, 08:26 PM   #160
xxxjecxxx
Captain
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
66
Rep
809
Posts

 
Drives: Jet Black 06 325i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by orangedawg View Post
Got the software downloaded and extracted per DIY. Edited the path on ediabas as per DIY. However, when I open the device manager to look at ports, I don't have "COM1" (all of my com ports are numbered 6 through 12 and all seem to be bluetooth ports, don't know why, but I don't know much about computer stuff or ports).

From DIY:

"9. This will open device manager.
a. Go to PORTS> double click on com1 > port settings tab > advanced"

I don't have a com1. I have even restarted computer to see if COM1 would show up after editing path. What am I doing wrong?

(on a side note, I also have installed GT1/DIS v44 and v57 on my laptop using vmware, but still waiting on cable to try it out. Will setting up INPA make it easier for DIS to connect to car? some on bimmerforums have suggested that setting up INPA first and then DIS is the way to go).
open device manager.. under ports. as long as you have a any COM port.. you can click on properties> Port settings tab > advanced. here you can change the COM port number..
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2010, 08:46 PM   #161
E90PAT
SOFLO CODING
Slovenia
57
Rep
3,236
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SoFla

iTrader: (17)

Send a message via AIM to E90PAT
you guys think that you can delete tuner codes with ncs expert?
__________________

Coding services in Broward/Miami/Gainesville and surrounding areas! Ask me!
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2010, 09:20 PM   #162
xxxjecxxx
Captain
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
66
Rep
809
Posts

 
Drives: Jet Black 06 325i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E92PAT View Post
you guys think that you can delete tuner codes with ncs expert?
as in blinker error codes? yes
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2010, 09:38 PM   #163
E90PAT
SOFLO CODING
Slovenia
57
Rep
3,236
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SoFla

iTrader: (17)

Send a message via AIM to E90PAT
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxjecxxx View Post
as in blinker error codes? yes
As in tuner detection codes ei, golf tee mods, hpfp warnings knocking warnings etc.


Oh and what was your conclusion on the cable you purchased after using it on that 2008 335?
__________________

Coding services in Broward/Miami/Gainesville and surrounding areas! Ask me!

Last edited by E90PAT; 11-15-2010 at 09:43 PM.
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2010, 10:28 PM   #164
orangedawg
First Lieutenant
9
Rep
397
Posts

 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: WA

iTrader: (0)

Okay, this is odd, but in my "ports", I click on the port I want to change (such as port 10). I right click on it, but no option is present for" Port settings" or "advanced". Only options are "general", which give status, such as working properly; ""driver" which gives option to update driver, disable device, driver details, or uninstall; and "details" which discusses type of device. There is no port settings or advanced tab or anything I can use to change the name or anything about the port. So it seems that what you describe should work if it was available to me. The advice you gave is the same as the help file on windows. BTW, I'm using windows 7, 64 bit.

Any advice to help me add a port or change one? I can't seem to do anything to change a port.
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2010, 10:33 PM   #165
heartpumper
Private
2
Rep
76
Posts

 
Drives: 07 335i.. STI GONE :]
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Knoxville

iTrader: (1)

are you in device manager?
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2010, 10:51 PM   #166
orangedawg
First Lieutenant
9
Rep
397
Posts

 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: WA

iTrader: (0)

Yeah, in device manager, can see all devices, click on ports, and see my ports (about 10 of them, all seem to be bluetooth ports). right click on any of them and I get what I posted above. I uninstalled one port, and rebooted computer hoping it would be renumbered to 1, but it came back as port 10 (what it was before). My ports are numbered 6, 7, 10, 11, 12 ,13, 14, 20, 21, 22.
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2010, 02:01 AM   #167
Robben@ltbmw
United_States
40
Rep
2,215
Posts

 
Drives: E90 Space Grey
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: ROSEMEAD, CA

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to Robben@ltbmw
Quote:
Originally Posted by orangedawg View Post
Yeah, in device manager, can see all devices, click on ports, and see my ports (about 10 of them, all seem to be bluetooth ports). right click on any of them and I get what I posted above. I uninstalled one port, and rebooted computer hoping it would be renumbered to 1, but it came back as port 10 (what it was before). My ports are numbered 6, 7, 10, 11, 12 ,13, 14, 20, 21, 22.
plug the cable into the usb first. It'll install the drivers and it should show up.
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2010, 02:35 AM   #168
bugsandry
First Lieutenant
Canada
6
Rep
360
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 BMW F30 328i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC

iTrader: (5)

I did this and get the message when trying to run INAPALOAD.EXE ...any idea why? I am runnning Windows XP and I have an OBDII Scanner that is USB port-based and I have already install the driver for the scanner.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2010, 05:09 AM   #169
Geby-E90
FD3S + 335i + R6
Geby-E90's Avatar
Canada
1
Rep
188
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Kelowna BC

iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by heartpumper View Post
http://bmwretrofit.com/

Check this website fellas..Cable is on thete for 110 and ships from canada..
I am seriously thinking of doing the CIC retrofit..
Good find! Would the cable work for pre 03/2007 cars?
__________________
Hardparker
TRACK - 1993 Mazda RX-7 (Montego Blue); Single GT40R - Feed Widebody - Supporting Mods
DAILY - 2007 BMW 335i (Jet Black); Premium & Sport Pkg - PROcede V5 (DIC) - BBS CH's - KW V2 - AMS FMIC - M3 Front/Skirts
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2010, 07:17 AM   #170
Patrys@BimmerTech
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Patrys@BimmerTech's Avatar
Poland
83
Rep
1,607
Posts


 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Warsaw/Poland

iTrader: (7)

Guys,

if you are interested in high quality OBD DCAN cables supporting all E9x vehicles let me know.
They are a bit more expensive than Chinese cables you can buy around but you will be sure you will get the best product you can get in the $100-$200 range.

I could arrange a group buy if we have at least 10 people.

Just let me know your thoughts and I will start a separate threa - don't want to do my business here.
__________________
BimmerTech
Phone (USA): (646) 439-7920 (7:00am - 3:00pm ET) :: info@bimmer-tech.net :: www.bimmer-tech.net
Installation facilities worldwide.

Appreciate 0
      11-16-2010, 08:46 AM   #171
GenePoole
Lieutenant
9
Rep
537
Posts

 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrys View Post
Guys,

if you are interested in high quality OBD DCAN cables supporting all E9x vehicles let me know.
They are a bit more expensive than Chinese cables you can buy around but you will be sure you will get the best product you can get in the $100-$200 range.

I could arrange a group buy if we have at least 10 people.

Just let me know your thoughts and I will start a separate threa - don't want to do my business here.
I'd be interested; I figure you're probably in the best position to know what is what. I've got a Chinese cable that works, but it has some quirks.
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2010, 10:34 AM   #172
scanboy
Lieutenant
United_States
7
Rep
440
Posts

 
Drives: E90 Montego Blue+Black Int.
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Torrance

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bugsandry View Post
I did this and get the message when trying to run INAPALOAD.EXE ...any idea why? I am runnning Windows XP and I have an OBDII Scanner that is USB port-based and I have already install the driver for the scanner.
That doesn't look like xp to me. r u running in VM?
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2010, 10:35 AM   #173
._.
Colonel
._.'s Avatar
33
Rep
2,357
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Miami

iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bugsandry View Post
I did this and get the message when trying to run INAPALOAD.EXE ...any idea why? I am runnning Windows XP and I have an OBDII Scanner that is USB port-based and I have already install the driver for the scanner.
Have you tried downloading that DLL and throwing it in the application folder? Tried Googling your particular error?
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2010, 11:07 AM   #174
tofu-
Banned
43
Rep
2,858
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Jet Black/Coral Red
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: nyc

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrys View Post
Guys,

if you are interested in high quality OBD DCAN cables supporting all E9x vehicles let me know.
They are a bit more expensive than Chinese cables you can buy around but you will be sure you will get the best product you can get in the $100-$200 range.

I could arrange a group buy if we have at least 10 people.

Just let me know your thoughts and I will start a separate threa - don't want to do my business here.
i'm interested.
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2010, 11:08 AM   #175
tofu-
Banned
43
Rep
2,858
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Jet Black/Coral Red
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: nyc

iTrader: (4)

where could we acquire DME software revisions to upgrade/downgrade?

is there an online resource somewhere?
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2010, 11:48 AM   #176
skeptic
Private
skeptic's Avatar
0
Rep
57
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i Titanium Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Apex North Carolina

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bugsandry View Post
I did this and get the message when trying to run INAPALOAD.EXE ...any idea why? I am runnning Windows XP and I have an OBDII Scanner that is USB port-based and I have already install the driver for the scanner.
Did you set up your PATH correctly? In order for me to get ncsexpert to run I needed to add the bin directory where EDIABAS was installed. PATH is a system environment variable. It looks like INPA also depends on libraries from EDIABAS. I am certainly no expert on this stuff, but once I did this ncsexpert will start.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST