E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > BMW CODING success



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-01-2011, 10:24 PM   #1849
The_DDub
Not gonna mod the engine
 
The_DDub's Avatar
 
Drives: Like a Boss, hard and fast
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fremont, CA

Posts: 315
iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2007 328i Sedan  [0.00]
I got my NFRM and went through it. I'd like to up the voltage on my AEs. I found PWM_SL_V set to wert_02. Can anyone provide some insight? I will open up NCS Dummy to see what other values are there too.
__________________
Monaco Blue E90 328i with Nav, Sport, Premium and Comfort Access packages, 6FL with iPod cable
SAE spec Depo with HIDs and HID fogs
Depo AE replacement Album
The_DDub is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2011, 10:27 PM   #1850
Pseudo Nim
twinborific
 
Pseudo Nim's Avatar
 
Drives: fast, sometimes slow
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: i am a citizen of the world

Posts: 4,732
iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_DDub View Post
I got my NFRM and went through it. I'd like to up the voltage on my AEs. I found PWM_SL_V set to wert_02. Can anyone provide some insight? I will open up NCS Dummy to see what other values are there too.
Hey - do you have factory installed paddleshift bychance? Could you dump your complete VO if you do?
__________________
Pseudo Nim is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2011, 11:08 PM   #1851
rubdom
Private First Class
 
Drives: 08 E90 AW
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Antonio

Posts: 117
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pseudo Nim View Post
Hey - do you have factory installed paddleshift bychance? Could you dump your complete VO if you do?
I have paddle shift factory installed. How do I dump my VO for you?
rubdom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2011, 11:13 PM   #1852
Pseudo Nim
twinborific
 
Pseudo Nim's Avatar
 
Drives: fast, sometimes slow
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: i am a citizen of the world

Posts: 4,732
iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rubdom View Post
I have paddle shift factory installed. How do I dump my VO for you?
Load the 'expert' profile and go into your coding as if you were going to be editing some function. Click 'BACK'. You should have a button called 'Enter FA'. Click that; it will ask for your chassis; click OK, it will show you a VIN prompt; click OK. You will get a new box that says "ENTER FA". In there are ALL of your VO items. There's no way to copy/paste it, so press ALT+PrintScreen to capture the current window, paste it into a jpeg file, then scroll down and repeat until you went through all the options. Then click CANCEL and back out of there.

Appreciate it very much, thanks!

[edit] here is the PDF of the operation.
Attached Images
File Type: pdf Changing the Vehicle Order using NCS.pdf (1.56 MB, 210 views)
__________________
Pseudo Nim is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2011, 11:29 PM   #1853
rubdom
Private First Class
 
Drives: 08 E90 AW
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Antonio

Posts: 117
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pseudo Nim View Post
Load the 'expert' profile and go into your coding as if you were going to be editing some function. Click 'BACK'. You should have a button called 'Enter FA'. Click that; it will ask for your chassis; click OK, it will show you a VIN prompt; click OK. You will get a new box that says "ENTER FA". In there are ALL of your VO items. There's no way to copy/paste it, so press ALT+PrintScreen to capture the current window, paste it into a jpeg file, then scroll down and repeat until you went through all the options. Then click CANCEL and back out of there.

Appreciate it very much, thanks!

[edit] here is the PDF of the operation.
Here are all the screen shots. Hope this helps!
Attached Images
     
rubdom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2011, 11:30 PM   #1854
Pseudo Nim
twinborific
 
Pseudo Nim's Avatar
 
Drives: fast, sometimes slow
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: i am a citizen of the world

Posts: 4,732
iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rubdom View Post
Here are all the screen shots. Hope this helps!
Thank you very much! Now to analyse how this compares to mine.
__________________
Pseudo Nim is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2011, 11:53 PM   #1855
outie
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: CA

Posts: 518
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pseudo Nim View Post
Thank you very much! Now to analyse how this compares to mine.
Looks like it's this one actually:
W 2XA MFUNK_LENKRAD MFUNK_LENK_NEU //Sport-Lederlenk.+Schaltwip.+Multif.

$2XA (X is not a placeholder. It's exactly that.)

I guess 7XA is for M3.
__________________
outie is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2011, 11:54 PM   #1856
Pseudo Nim
twinborific
 
Pseudo Nim's Avatar
 
Drives: fast, sometimes slow
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: i am a citizen of the world

Posts: 4,732
iTrader: (9)

Promising. So I will add this, then I'll code PADDLES to wert_01 in EGS, let's see what happens, hehe.
__________________
Pseudo Nim is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2011, 12:07 AM   #1857
The_DDub
Not gonna mod the engine
 
The_DDub's Avatar
 
Drives: Like a Boss, hard and fast
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fremont, CA

Posts: 315
iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2007 328i Sedan  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pseudo Nim View Post
Hey - do you have factory installed paddleshift bychance? Could you dump your complete VO if you do?
Sorry bud, I have a 328i E90, no factory paddle shifters for me. I don't think it was even an option. It is on the 328i LCI E90s though.

Who has coded their AEs to run at higher voltages than 12v?
__________________
Monaco Blue E90 328i with Nav, Sport, Premium and Comfort Access packages, 6FL with iPod cable
SAE spec Depo with HIDs and HID fogs
Depo AE replacement Album
The_DDub is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2011, 01:18 AM   #1858
Pseudo Nim
twinborific
 
Pseudo Nim's Avatar
 
Drives: fast, sometimes slow
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: i am a citizen of the world

Posts: 4,732
iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rubdom View Post
Here are all the screen shots. Hope this helps!
ok ... I must sadly report lack of success so far. I added $2XA to CAS and NFRM and coded PADDLES to wert_01 in EGS..... and lost DS and M again. Doh!!!

Could you post your complete dump of FSW_PSW.TRC? I wonder what else is the difference. I'll compare VOs and individual settings. If you have individual per-module dumps, that's even better, but a single dump of FSW_PSW is good enough too I'll PM you my email if you don't mind.

Thanks again.
__________________
Pseudo Nim is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2011, 01:52 AM   #1859
outie
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: CA

Posts: 518
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pseudo Nim View Post
ok ... I must sadly report lack of success so far. I added $2XA to CAS and NFRM and coded PADDLES to wert_01 in EGS..... and lost DS and M again. Doh!!!

Could you post your complete dump of FSW_PSW.TRC? I wonder what else is the difference. I'll compare VOs and individual settings. If you have individual per-module dumps, that's even better, but a single dump of FSW_PSW is good enough too I'll PM you my email if you don't mind.

Thanks again.
Not sure if you coded out your original steering wheel from the VO. If not you can try that too. $240? $255?
__________________
outie is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2011, 06:19 AM   #1860
leceur
New Member
 
Drives: E61
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: The Hague

Posts: 6
iTrader: (0)

I have a major issue and could really use some help, PLEASE!
I have been modifying files and adding things to the VO without any problems.
I did some coding on someone else's car yesterday and now have the following problem. I can still code modules liek before (amde some changes to CAPPL without problems).
Now I need to remove 2 devices and add 1 to the VO. When I read the car however I get the FA number of the car I coded yesterday, so not my car??? I can change the FA to mine, but when I press back I get:
Code:
ERROR! Modul: CVT_PROC.C, ProcNr: 02, LineNr: 10, ErrorNr: 106.
       CIC_C03_CDM_just

ERROR! Modul: COAPI.CPP, Proc: coapiGetFswPswFromAsw, LineNr: 02, ErrorNr: 1000
COAPI-1000: error
I have completely deleted the NCS Expert folders and re-installed them but nothing helps. How can it read the wrong FA code......?
PLEASE help as I need to add $672 for my DENSION gateway 500 to work.
Thanks!
leceur is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2011, 07:23 AM   #1861
DESI4life10
Banned
 
DESI4life10's Avatar
 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

Posts: 3,365
iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pseudo Nim View Post
ok ... I must sadly report lack of success so far. I added $2XA to CAS and NFRM and coded PADDLES to wert_01 in EGS..... and lost DS and M again. Doh!!!

Could you post your complete dump of FSW_PSW.TRC? I wonder what else is the difference. I'll compare VOs and individual settings. If you have individual per-module dumps, that's even better, but a single dump of FSW_PSW is good enough too I'll PM you my email if you don't mind.

Thanks again.
Dont convert the paddle like to wert_01

Keep it at default which i believe is wert_00 and just install the VO. Gotta take it one step at a time so you can see where things changes.
DESI4life10 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2011, 07:36 AM   #1862
DESI4life10
Banned
 
DESI4life10's Avatar
 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

Posts: 3,365
iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rubdom View Post
Here are all the screen shots. Hope this helps!
Thanks rubdom for posting this. Will compare it to the list I have.
DESI4life10 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2011, 07:38 AM   #1863
DESI4life10
Banned
 
DESI4life10's Avatar
 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

Posts: 3,365
iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pseudo Nim View Post
ok ... I must sadly report lack of success so far. I added $2XA to CAS and NFRM and coded PADDLES to wert_01 in EGS..... and lost DS and M again. Doh!!!

Could you post your complete dump of FSW_PSW.TRC? I wonder what else is the difference. I'll compare VOs and individual settings. If you have individual per-module dumps, that's even better, but a single dump of FSW_PSW is good enough too I'll PM you my email if you don't mind.

Thanks again.

I wonder if there is a different vo code used for the transmission with shifters?

I will look at rubdom VO and see what the difference is.
DESI4life10 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2011, 07:50 AM   #1864
Pseudo Nim
twinborific
 
Pseudo Nim's Avatar
 
Drives: fast, sometimes slow
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: i am a citizen of the world

Posts: 4,732
iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DESI4life10 View Post
I wonder if there is a different vo code used for the transmission with shifters?

I will look at rubdom VO and see what the difference is.
Cool, thx. Btw: I did remove the existing steering from mine (255), and I did do one step at a time, testing in between. Sequence was:

- edit CAS, remove 255, add 2XA, turn off ignition, turn back on, test (no shift in D/DS)
- edit NFRM, do above, still nothing
- code EGS,lost shift
- pt it bask, shifts are back by console shifter only, no paddles.


I guess let's compare VOs.

Btw: I discovered that you CAN get a text dump of the VO - when you view it in that window above, a file called "FA.TRC" is created alongside FSW_PSW that contains the complete VO.
__________________
Pseudo Nim is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2011, 08:25 AM   #1865
DESI4life10
Banned
 
DESI4life10's Avatar
 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

Posts: 3,365
iTrader: (18)

Checked rubdom VO and $2XA is the only code that talks about paddles.

$704 is there but that is Sport suspension.
DESI4life10 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2011, 08:59 AM   #1866
rubdom
Private First Class
 
Drives: 08 E90 AW
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Antonio

Posts: 117
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pseudo Nim View Post
ok ... I must sadly report lack of success so far. I added $2XA to CAS and NFRM and coded PADDLES to wert_01 in EGS..... and lost DS and M again. Doh!!!

Could you post your complete dump of FSW_PSW.TRC? I wonder what else is the difference. I'll compare VOs and individual settings. If you have individual per-module dumps, that's even better, but a single dump of FSW_PSW is good enough too I'll PM you my email if you don't mind.

Thanks again.
I can send to you when I get to work no problem. I'll email you.
rubdom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2011, 09:30 AM   #1867
onebadmofo
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ

Posts: 2,394
iTrader: (14)

Hey guys, I have quite a collection of FRM dumps from all kind of cars, is that something you might be interested in?
onebadmofo is offline   Russian Federation
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2011, 09:36 AM   #1868
Pseudo Nim
twinborific
 
Pseudo Nim's Avatar
 
Drives: fast, sometimes slow
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: i am a citizen of the world

Posts: 4,732
iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by onebadmofo View Post
Hey guys, I have quite a collection of FRM dumps from all kind of cars, is that something you might be interested in?
Sure! If you have a pair of as close as possible cars, one with paddles, one without, I'd love to get that as well, that together with rubdom's dump would give me more to go on.
__________________
Pseudo Nim is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2011, 09:38 AM   #1869
DESI4life10
Banned
 
DESI4life10's Avatar
 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

Posts: 3,365
iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by onebadmofo View Post
Hey guys, I have quite a collection of FRM dumps from all kind of cars, is that something you might be interested in?
That would be sweet. Thanks
DESI4life10 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2011, 09:40 AM   #1870
onebadmofo
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ

Posts: 2,394
iTrader: (14)

Alright, they're on my coding laptop at home, I'll post em once I get home.
onebadmofo is offline   Russian Federation
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST