E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > BMW CODING success



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-16-2010, 12:27 PM   #177
bugsandry
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2012 BMW F30 328i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC

Posts: 360
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by skeptic View Post
Did you set up your PATH correctly? In order for me to get ncsexpert to run I needed to add the bin directory where EDIABAS was installed. PATH is a system environment variable. It looks like INPA also depends on libraries from EDIABAS. I am certainly no expert on this stuff, but once I did this ncsexpert will start.
I did not for the first time then I realized this might be the cause and set the path to include the folder for EDIABAS/bin....I have got also different result when running the OBDSETUP file..

I have another computer running XP. Do you think this would fit better for XP compared to Vista or it does not matter?
bugsandry is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-16-2010, 12:27 PM   #178
bugsandry
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2012 BMW F30 328i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC

Posts: 360
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scanboy View Post
That doesn't look like xp to me. r u running in VM?
I am running on Vista
bugsandry is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-16-2010, 01:44 PM   #179
moaad
New Member
 
Drives: e53
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: belgium

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrys View Post
I don't want to hijack this thread, so everyone interested in my CIC retrofit kits just check my signature for links to find out more and ask me questions over there or by email.
Heartpumper, drop me an email if you want to discuss it.

As for the cable, I have worked with many people around the world coding their vehicles and some of them had their own cables and believe me sometimes I tried all possible Windows/com port/Ediabas settings I could think of but sometimes it just did not work.
One cable could work fine on one computer and not on the other or was giving me random communication errors, etc.
Before I found my supplier here in Poland I tried ebay Chinese cables for $119 and even bought one, but had to return it because it did not work.
I am not saying that all ebay cables are crap, but my experience wasn't good.

Now I am more than happy with the source I have.

For most of you cables we are tlaking about are perfect to code the basic stuff but there might be modules you won't be able to code with a $100-$200 cable no matter what.
i am intresting in the cable. can you let me know how much it cost? i am from belgium.

Thanks Moaad
moaad is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-16-2010, 03:31 PM   #180
Patrys@BimmerTech
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Patrys@BimmerTech's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Warsaw/Poland

Posts: 1,548
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tofu- View Post
i'm interested.
Here you are guys:

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...97#post8344797

Good quality and tested on many BMW cars OBD cables!!!
__________________
BimmerTech
Phone (USA): (646) 439-7920 (7:00am - 3:00pm ET) :: info@bimmer-tech.net :: www.bimmer-tech.net
Installation facilities worldwide.


Patrys@BimmerTech is offline   Poland
0
Reply With Quote
      11-16-2010, 03:47 PM   #181
xxxjecxxx
Captain
 
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black 06 325i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

Posts: 742
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bugsandry View Post
I did not for the first time then I realized this might be the cause and set the path to include the folder for EDIABAS/bin....I have got also different result when running the OBDSETUP file..

I have another computer running XP. Do you think this would fit better for XP compared to Vista or it does not matter?
You should not include inpa/bin in your path.. only ediabas/bin
xxxjecxxx is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-16-2010, 04:00 PM   #182
bugsandry
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2012 BMW F30 328i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC

Posts: 360
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxjecxxx View Post
You should not include inpa/bin in your path.. only ediabas/bin
I will try this with a windows XP laptop today. By the way, I did not put the file on C:// instead I put in a folder that I created. Does this matter?

What's the difference between EDIABAS, INPA and NCS Expert?
bugsandry is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-16-2010, 05:53 PM   #183
xxxjecxxx
Captain
 
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black 06 325i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

Posts: 742
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bugsandry View Post
I will try this with a windows XP laptop today. By the way, I did not put the file on C:// instead I put in a folder that I created. Does this matter?

What's the difference between EDIABAS, INPA and NCS Expert?
yes this makes a difference.. in the path you are saying.. any files I need to run this program are going to be in C:\ediabas\bin... but you have all the files in a different location.. does that make any sense?

EDIABAS - is the protocol the car talks, like a language the car speaks. so this runs in the background so that it can "translate" everything we want to do into the language the car can understand.

INPA - just basic software used to activate, deactivate some basic features.

NCS Expert- raw coding of the car. dealers don't have access to this. All other programs for coding that the dealers have are more graphical, limited and idiot proof.
xxxjecxxx is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-16-2010, 05:55 PM   #184
fdriller9
Banned
 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

Posts: 7,090
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxjecxxx View Post
yes this makes a difference.. in the path you are saying.. any files I need to run this program are going to be in C:\ediabas\bin... but you have all the files in a different location.. does that make any sense?

EDIABAS - is the protocol the car talks, like a language the car speaks. so this runs in the background so that it can "translate" everything we want to do into the language the car can understand.

INPA - just basic software used to activate, deactivate some basic features.

NCS Expert- raw coding of the car. dealers don't have access to this. All other programs for coding that the dealers have are more graphical, limited and idiot proof.
That's not entirely true....you would have to change the path in program as well....but if he's asking if it will still work, then he won't know how to change the path in the program.
fdriller9 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-16-2010, 09:08 PM   #185
xxxjecxxx
Captain
 
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black 06 325i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

Posts: 742
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ********* View Post
That's not entirely true....you would have to change the path in program as well....but if he's asking if it will still work, then he won't know how to change the path in the program.
exactly...
xxxjecxxx is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-17-2010, 02:27 AM   #186
Tronner
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 335xi
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Centennial, CO

Posts: 204
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrys View Post
Guys,

if you are interested in high quality OBD DCAN cables supporting all E9x vehicles let me know.
They are a bit more expensive than Chinese cables you can buy around but you will be sure you will get the best product you can get in the $100-$200 range.

I could arrange a group buy if we have at least 10 people.

Just let me know your thoughts and I will start a separate threa - don't want to do my business here.
Interested!
Tronner is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-17-2010, 02:45 AM   #187
Robben@ltbmw
 
Drives: E90 Space Grey
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: ROSEMEAD, CA

Posts: 2,215
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to Robben@ltbmw
i see everyone jumping on the cable.. but did anyone actually have success in coding it other than the op?? I tried it myself following the DIY and ran into problems. So far, the only thing that worked was the windows going up when holding lock on remote. What's the point of spending $100+ on cable when it might not even work?
Robben@ltbmw is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-17-2010, 04:17 AM   #188
ksspacegray07
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335is coupe
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NY

Posts: 512
iTrader: (1)

not to jack this thread but is there anyone in SC or close to it that codes??
ksspacegray07 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-17-2010, 08:30 AM   #189
GenePoole
Lieutenant
 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

Posts: 537
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbbplanet View Post
i see everyone jumping on the cable.. but did anyone actually have success in coding it other than the op?? I tried it myself following the DIY and ran into problems. So far, the only thing that worked was the windows going up when holding lock on remote. What's the point of spending $100+ on cable when it might not even work?
If you had some success, then you most likely have a flaky cable. If you can code your window module, in theory, you should be able to code any module that allows it. What kind of problems are you having?
GenePoole is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-17-2010, 10:54 AM   #190
matrix76
Major
 
matrix76's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E90 328i xDrive Ex/Ps
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The West Coast, BC

Posts: 1,300
iTrader: (1)

An available option to consider, , ,

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...=STRK:MEWAX:IT

Opinions anyone, , ,
__________________
Brian
Black Sapphire, Black w/Burrwood Trim & Shifter, 162's, Mtec H8 AE's, DS1 HID 6000K

matrix76 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-17-2010, 11:04 AM   #191
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,850
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
This thread is bound to be deleted at any time... NCS Expert is a BMW proprietary software tool not intended for public distribution.

Just be careful.
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-17-2010, 11:24 AM   #192
scanboy
Lieutenant
 
Drives: E90 Montego Blue+Black Int.
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Torrance

Posts: 438
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbbplanet View Post
i see everyone jumping on the cable.. but did anyone actually have success in coding it other than the op?? I tried it myself following the DIY and ran into problems. So far, the only thing that worked was the windows going up when holding lock on remote. What's the point of spending $100+ on cable when it might not even work?
I've started playing around with coding a little before this thread was created, with the help of another member here "Nivedh" (), I was able to do the window up and side mirror folding with remote. I've also tried using software and DIY op posted here to code the corner delete and it was successful also.
I notice that since op has a 06, some of the names that were posted here is a little different than mine (07). For example, to code the side mirror folding, I have to look for SPIEGEL_KOMFORT_EINKLAPP in the trc file instead of what was posted earlier BEIKLAPPEN_B_KOMFORTSCHL. Hope this helps.

Great thread by the way.

Last edited by scanboy; 11-17-2010 at 11:29 AM.
scanboy is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-17-2010, 12:51 PM   #193
wpnx
Private
 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cali

Posts: 63
iTrader: (0)

Too many cables. Can anyone post which one they got and what results they got from it? I'm looking for one that will work with a 2010 e90.
wpnx is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-17-2010, 01:02 PM   #194
matrix76
Major
 
matrix76's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E90 328i xDrive Ex/Ps
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The West Coast, BC

Posts: 1,300
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wpnx View Post
Too many cables. Can anyone post which one they got and what results they got from it? I'm looking for one that will work with a 2010 e90.
+1, I have an 09, some cables only go up to 2008.
__________________
Brian
Black Sapphire, Black w/Burrwood Trim & Shifter, 162's, Mtec H8 AE's, DS1 HID 6000K

matrix76 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-17-2010, 01:23 PM   #195
heartpumper
Private
 
Drives: 07 335i.. STI GONE :]
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Knoxville

Posts: 76
iTrader: (1)

Patryk just started a group buy for cables that will work with all years...
heartpumper is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-17-2010, 01:25 PM   #196
heartpumper
Private
 
Drives: 07 335i.. STI GONE :]
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Knoxville

Posts: 76
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scanboy View Post
I've started playing around with coding a little before this thread was created, with the help of another member here "Nivedh" (), I was able to do the window up and side mirror folding with remote. I've also tried using software and DIY op posted here to code the corner delete and it was successful also.
I notice that since op has a 06, some of the names that were posted here is a little different than mine (07). For example, to code the side mirror folding, I have to look for SPIEGEL_KOMFORT_EINKLAPP in the trc file instead of what was posted earlier BEIKLAPPEN_B_KOMFORTSCHL. Hope this helps.

Great thread by the way.
Can you post what you have accomplished and where to look for each item..

Thanks
heartpumper is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-17-2010, 02:23 PM   #197
scanboy
Lieutenant
 
Drives: E90 Montego Blue+Black Int.
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Torrance

Posts: 438
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by heartpumper View Post
Can you post what you have accomplished and where to look for each item..

Thanks
I'm using the same ebay cable that you posted earlier :
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/_W0QQ...#ht_7117wt_981

The software that I was using is the same version as what's available in this thread (at least for NCS Expert) but I find this thread a lot easier (specially the software installation) to follow for a beginner.

What I've successfully done so far:
1. Windows up on holding lock button on remote.
2. Side mirror folding on holding lock button on remote.
3. Corner delete (side marker/signal light off when headlights on)

I really want AE as DRL, but I was told it's not possible.
scanboy is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-17-2010, 02:44 PM   #198
heartpumper
Private
 
Drives: 07 335i.. STI GONE :]
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Knoxville

Posts: 76
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scanboy View Post
I'm using the same ebay cable that you posted earlier :
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/_W0QQ...#ht_7117wt_981

The software that I was using is the same version as what's available in this thread (at least for NCS Expert) but I find this thread a lot easier (specially the software installation) to follow for a beginner.

What I've successfully done so far:
1. Windows up on holding lock button on remote.
2. Side mirror folding on holding lock button on remote.
3. Corner delete (side marker/signal light off when headlights on)


I really want AE as DRL, but I was told it's not possible.
Thanks for posting what you have done i was wondering if you could post which module you looked in and the "terminology" to look at to change it to aktiv or nicht_aktiv
heartpumper is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST