E90Post
 


VIBE Motorsports
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > My Audio Build - Work in Progress



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-07-2010, 08:22 PM   #1
SharpPointyStick
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2006 Alpine White 323i (E90)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vancouver BC

Posts: 274
iTrader: (2)

My Audio Build - Done

Starting my Audio build (currently have the base system), and thought I would start a WIP thread.

Bought the following from Musicar Northwest aka VP Electricity
  • 2 Zapco DC200.2 (one for front mids/highs, one for underseat woofers)
  • 2 EQ SWS-8
  • 2 Rainbow 210.25 kit (tweeters and 4" mids)

Started this weekend fab'ing the amp mounting brackets, some photos below. Going to install the amps vertically into the bucket in the trunk, below the trunk carpet. Going to have the amp cooling fins upwards, with the wiring downwards.

Edit - Going to paint the aluminum black, to match the amps. Might see about getting a Zapco vinyl stick made in white, to place onto the bracket.

Just waiting on getting the mid mounting rings (missed in the original shipment) then I can hopefully finish everything over this long weekend (took Friday off )
Attached Images
  

Last edited by SharpPointyStick; 11-16-2010 at 01:50 AM.
SharpPointyStick is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-07-2010, 08:24 PM   #2
SharpPointyStick
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2006 Alpine White 323i (E90)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vancouver BC

Posts: 274
iTrader: (2)

Wiring Diagram

-
Attached Images
 
SharpPointyStick is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-07-2010, 08:28 PM   #3
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,103
iTrader: (0)

Why two 2 channel amps and not one 4 channel?

Why two 2 channel amps and not one 4 channel?
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-07-2010, 08:40 PM   #4
SharpPointyStick
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2006 Alpine White 323i (E90)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vancouver BC

Posts: 274
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
Why two 2 channel amps and not one 4 channel?
Originally was going to get one 4 channel, but VP Electricity suggested the two two channel amps would mount within the "trunk well", making for a cleaner install, and I agreed
SharpPointyStick is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-07-2010, 08:49 PM   #5
VP Electricity
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
VP Electricity's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

Posts: 3,176
iTrader: (3)

Only works in 325/328 - the well isn't there for 335 due to the second muffler.
__________________
Musicar Northwest, Portland Oregon
The premier experts on BMW high-performance audio
Home of Tom Miller, 2014 Installer of the Year
Named a Top 12 Retailer in North America
musicarnw.com (please email, don't PM)

VP Electricity is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-07-2010, 09:39 PM   #6
flawlesskid
Private First Class
 
flawlesskid's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335i Sport Package
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Greensboro North Carolina

Posts: 106
iTrader: (0)

Looks like you're a real enthusiast! Zapco and Rainbow are 2 names only spoken by guys who are really into sound. Looks like you have good plans! The setup as is should deliver good bass down in the 40's, but do you plan to add a sub to reach a little lower? BTW, you suck for sparking my interest back up into sound! I gave it up after i traded my 325i
__________________
flawlesskid is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-07-2010, 09:43 PM   #7
mkPOTO
Mr. Nice Says Hello
 
mkPOTO's Avatar
 
Drives: 1999 528I
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA

Posts: 15,437
iTrader: (23)

Garage List
subscribed!
__________________

EVOLVE BMW E92 M3
mkPOTO is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-07-2010, 09:46 PM   #8
flawlesskid
Private First Class
 
flawlesskid's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335i Sport Package
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Greensboro North Carolina

Posts: 106
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkPOTO View Post
subscribed!
Didn't know that option was available, but SUBSCRIBED!!

I can talk audio all day!
__________________
flawlesskid is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-10-2010, 11:15 PM   #9
SharpPointyStick
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2006 Alpine White 323i (E90)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vancouver BC

Posts: 274
iTrader: (2)

Any suggestions on the AWG size I should get for the subwoofers? I am thinking that #16 should be fine?


Quote:
Originally Posted by flawlesskid View Post
Looks like you're a real enthusiast! Zapco and Rainbow are 2 names only spoken by guys who are really into sound. Looks like you have good plans! The setup as is should deliver good bass down in the 40's, but do you plan to add a sub to reach a little lower? BTW, you suck for sparking my interest back up into sound! I gave it up after i traded my 325i
I have no plans right now to get a trunk sub.
SharpPointyStick is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-11-2010, 05:13 AM   #10
flawlesskid
Private First Class
 
flawlesskid's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335i Sport Package
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Greensboro North Carolina

Posts: 106
iTrader: (0)

I've always used 12 for speaker cable.
__________________
flawlesskid is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-11-2010, 11:46 PM   #11
SharpPointyStick
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2006 Alpine White 323i (E90)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vancouver BC

Posts: 274
iTrader: (2)

Todays progress;

All the aluminum for the Zapco bracket primed.

Also the fuse holder mounted.
Attached Images
    
SharpPointyStick is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-16-2010, 02:00 AM   #12
SharpPointyStick
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2006 Alpine White 323i (E90)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vancouver BC

Posts: 274
iTrader: (2)

Done

After four long days I am finished...completely forgot to take any pictures during the build, so all I have to show is the trunk area.

I am thinking of adding ared LED strip under each amp...just for some show. Would power it off the remote, pretty sure there is enough power?

Really love the sound improvement.

I am getting a odd remote delay, see this thread
Attached Images
  

Last edited by SharpPointyStick; 11-16-2010 at 02:14 AM.
SharpPointyStick is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-16-2010, 09:23 AM   #13
liliceman13300
Private First Class
 
liliceman13300's Avatar
 
Drives: 00 cr-v
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: raleigh, nc

Posts: 176
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SharpPointyStick View Post
After four long days I am finished...completely forgot to take any pictures during the build, so all I have to show is the trunk area.

I am thinking of adding ared LED strip under each amp...just for some show. Would power it off the remote, pretty sure there is enough power?

Really love the sound improvement.

I am getting a odd remote delay, see this thread
Running LED's off the remote would be a little risky when you could easily just use a relay and never have to worry about it.

I'm very jealous of the sound system, should be quite an upgrade
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by BullowM3 View Post
what are u doing on these forums? you dont even drive a bmw or a respected car so i suggest you take your opinions to another forum. Thank you
liliceman13300 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-23-2010, 11:26 PM   #14
SharpPointyStick
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2006 Alpine White 323i (E90)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vancouver BC

Posts: 274
iTrader: (2)

I installed the woofers using the plastic spacers that jtsherri makes.

I see a lot of talk on here about sealing the woofer enclosure. With people placing sealing material around the rings, lining the housing with DynaMat etc.

Should I have done this, or is dropping in direct c/w plastic rings fine? Why do you guy go go to the trouble of sealing the enclosure?
SharpPointyStick is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-23-2010, 11:46 PM   #15
VP Electricity
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
VP Electricity's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

Posts: 3,176
iTrader: (3)

How does it sound? FWiW, we don't do that.
__________________
Musicar Northwest, Portland Oregon
The premier experts on BMW high-performance audio
Home of Tom Miller, 2014 Installer of the Year
Named a Top 12 Retailer in North America
musicarnw.com (please email, don't PM)

VP Electricity is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2010, 02:20 AM   #16
fdriller9
Banned
 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

Posts: 7,090
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
Quote:
Originally Posted by SharpPointyStick View Post
I installed the woofers using the plastic spacers that jtsherri makes.

I see a lot of talk on here about sealing the woofer enclosure. With people placing sealing material around the rings, lining the housing with DynaMat etc.

Should I have done this, or is dropping in direct c/w plastic rings fine? Why do you guy go go to the trouble of sealing the enclosure?
I don't think it will make much difference. When I had SWS-8s under the seats, I didn't seal it. However I noticed the stock speaker has foam? on the underside of the lip.
fdriller9 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2010, 05:37 PM   #17
bmw325i
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

Posts: 4,016
iTrader: (5)

How are you mounting your amps in the "trunk well" did you drill holes and bolt them in?
bmw325i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2010, 05:48 PM   #18
VP Electricity
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
VP Electricity's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

Posts: 3,176
iTrader: (3)

I'm not sure how he did it, but I used the OEM bolts to tie off of, and you can see in his pic that he can do the same.

Don't drill holes in your tub, anybody, is my advice.
__________________
Musicar Northwest, Portland Oregon
The premier experts on BMW high-performance audio
Home of Tom Miller, 2014 Installer of the Year
Named a Top 12 Retailer in North America
musicarnw.com (please email, don't PM)

VP Electricity is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-25-2010, 01:17 PM   #19
SharpPointyStick
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2006 Alpine White 323i (E90)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vancouver BC

Posts: 274
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VP Electricity View Post
How does it sound? FWiW, we don't do that.
Sound is great...I now have some bass!!! So much I actually turn down the base to -3 on the HU.

Even at high volume the sound is clear.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i View Post
How are you mounting your amps in the "trunk well" did you drill holes and bolt them in?
I placed the amp bracket assembly into the tub, and then secured it to existing tub bolts. You can see one of the brackets I used to secure to the existing tub bolts in the below picture, off the rear center bolt.

I also added a bracket to the front most bolt to the tub bolt. I'll take another picture tonight.

I was initially going to drill holes into the tub, but since the other side of the tub is outside the car, I thought sealing it would be difficult so I decided against it.

SharpPointyStick is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-28-2010, 10:32 PM   #20
SharpPointyStick
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2006 Alpine White 323i (E90)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vancouver BC

Posts: 274
iTrader: (2)

I am embraced to say that I have been listening to my system for ~2 weeks without the mids working, and didnt really know...some audiophile I am

I installed the wire from the x-over to the speaker too tight, and when I installed the door panel the connector to the speaker pulled out.

I suspected there was an issue, so pulled the door panels off today.

Took some photos of back of the panel for peoples info.

One of the connectors below is to the tweeter, the other the source from the amp.
Attached Images
     
SharpPointyStick is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-20-2011, 01:43 AM   #21
taranonline
Lieutenant
 
taranonline's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 320D 2010
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: India

Posts: 502
iTrader: (0)

No processor on base system? Or you had hifi with tweeeters?.
__________________
2010 320D AW M-Sport - KW V2 - 19" M359
taranonline is offline   India
0
Reply With Quote
      11-20-2011, 04:06 AM   #22
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,103
iTrader: (0)

He used Zapco Amps with built in processor

The Zapco DC reference amps have a built in processor.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST