E90Post
 


E92 Lighting
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > **Aftermarket Amp/Subwoofer Help using Technic's harness



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-24-2010, 03:37 PM   #1
Justin7894
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 335i Sport
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia

Posts: 217
iTrader: (2)

**Aftermarket Amp/Subwoofer Help using Technic's harness

Disclaimer:
1. I am a total idiot when it comes to audio, so please be easy.
2. I am in no way claiming that Technic's harness is causing my problem



Background...

I have a subwoofer setup that I've used in two previous cars that I've owned. It consists of a 400w Kenwood bridgeable amp and two 12" Pioneer IMPP's. The setup is from the late 90's/early 2000's, so I know there are better products out there. Regardless, I know what it has sounded like in other cars using the standard amp power kit/RCA's hooked up to an aftermarket deck.

Enter my e90 with L7...

I purchased one of Technic's harness and soldered a small fuse holder to the remote wire in between the harness and the remote. I am running some RCA's from the LOC on the harness to my amp, and power and ground from my battery to the amp. The amp is bridged as it's been in previous cars.

My problem...

Basically, there seems to be too much power or too strong of a signal running to my aftermarket amp. The gain on my aftermarket amp has been turned down all the way, and I still get extreme popping with any oem deck settings Currently, I have the following settings: BASS = -6. The 100hz, 200hz, and 500hz EQ settings are all in the negative as well.

Technic was nice enough to send me another harness to ensure that the LOC was not defective. Unfortunately, I found the same results with the newer harness.

Has anyone else experienced this or something similar?

What could cause this?

What are my options?

It kills me to invest in a new amp or subs knowing that these sounded fine in other cars. The problem isn't with the individual components, but rather the components when used together.

Please Help!
Justin7894 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2010, 03:42 PM   #2
kmarei
Major General
 
kmarei's Avatar
 
Drives: 1988 E30 M3 Evo II
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Reston, VA

Posts: 6,480
iTrader: (33)

Garage List
do you get poping irrespective of volume?
if you are say 5 clicks from minimum on the head unit does it still sound bad?
kmarei is offline   Egypt
0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2010, 04:00 PM   #3
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,931
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
What is the exact Kenwood amp model? I would like to know its input sensitivity...
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2010, 04:27 PM   #4
kaigoss69
Colonel
 
kaigoss69's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX

Posts: 2,967
iTrader: (5)

Well, there are three components that could be causing the issue:

1. OEM head unit/amp
2. LOC
3. Kenwood amp

Cross out the OEM HU/amp, assuming the system works fine without the harness hooked up.
Cross out the LOC since you have tried two separate units
Left is the amp. Either the input is overloaded, or the amp is defective. If I were a betting man, I would put my money on the Kenwood.

If I were you I would just try another amp. They are so inexpensive these days and the technology just keeps getting better and better. No sense using old outdated crap when there is something much better out there for very little money. Some online stores will even let you "try" the goods for 30 days risk-free. Why even mess around then???

Last edited by kaigoss69; 11-24-2010 at 04:40 PM.
kaigoss69 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2010, 05:20 PM   #5
VP Electricity
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
VP Electricity's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

Posts: 3,176
iTrader: (3)

Have you tried running an iPod with a 3.5mm to RCA adapter into the RCA inputs?
__________________
Musicar Northwest, Portland Oregon
The premier experts on BMW high-performance audio
Home of Tom Miller, 2014 Installer of the Year
Named a Top 12 Retailer in North America
musicarnw.com (please email, don't PM)

VP Electricity is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2010, 05:23 PM   #6
bmw325i
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

Posts: 4,016
iTrader: (5)

Is your line output converter adjustable. You will most likely need one that is I have this one http://cgi.ebay.com/LINE-OUTPUT-SPEA...item1c175a4997 works great just set the gain all the way down on the amp and adjust the line output convertor until the sound is clean.
bmw325i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2010, 05:47 PM   #7
rlndeep
New Member
 
Drives: BMW 335i
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: California

Posts: 27
iTrader: (0)

Technic,

I am looking to install an after market amp a JL 300/2 for my Audiobahn sub. Everything I have read on here says to contact you about a harness for the system. What is involved in gettin a harness from you?
rlndeep is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2010, 06:09 PM   #8
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,931
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlndeep View Post
Technic,

I am looking to install an after market amp a JL 300/2 for my Audiobahn sub. Everything I have read on here says to contact you about a harness for the system. What is involved in gettin a harness from you?
Just a PM...
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2010, 08:57 PM   #9
Justin7894
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 335i Sport
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia

Posts: 217
iTrader: (2)

AMP:
Kenwood KAC-7285
150 watts x 2 @ 4 oms
300 watts x 2 @ 2 ohms
600 watts bridge @ 4 ohms <--my setup

Subwoofer:
2 12" Pioneer IMPP
**I can only find the model# & specs for the 10" version
TS-W252C
Rated at 400w



Justin7894 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2010, 09:07 PM   #10
kmarei
Major General
 
kmarei's Avatar
 
Drives: 1988 E30 M3 Evo II
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Reston, VA

Posts: 6,480
iTrader: (33)

Garage List
i used to have those subs, good quality sub
i think your amp has a max input of 2v
your LOC might be overpowering it
kmarei is offline   Egypt
0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2010, 09:11 PM   #11
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,931
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmarei View Post
i used to have those subs, good quality sub
i think your amp has a max input of 2v
your LOC might be overpowering it
The KAC-782 series have a max input level of 5V/25W according to Kenwood specs.

It could be possible that the gain potentiometer, or the whole input stage is shot.
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2010, 09:48 PM   #12
Justin7894
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 335i Sport
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia

Posts: 217
iTrader: (2)

Ok fellas.... what's a decent amp these days? Looking for a good bang for the buck. Not interested in a super baller set up.

Thanks!
Justin7894 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2010, 10:05 PM   #13
Justin7894
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 335i Sport
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia

Posts: 217
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmarei View Post
do you get poping irrespective of volume?
if you are say 5 clicks from minimum on the head unit does it still sound bad?
exactly. popping at low volume.
Justin7894 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2010, 10:07 PM   #14
Justin7894
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 335i Sport
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia

Posts: 217
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i View Post
Is your line output converter adjustable. You will most likely need one that is I have this one http://cgi.ebay.com/LINE-OUTPUT-SPEA...item1c175a4997 works great just set the gain all the way down on the amp and adjust the line output convertor until the sound is clean.
These are quality LOCs. I've tried 2 of them.
Justin7894 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-25-2010, 12:58 AM   #15
bmw325i
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

Posts: 4,016
iTrader: (5)

I would reccomend an Alpine PDX M6 http://cgi.ebay.com/New-Alpine-PDX-M...item5d2c4045ab that is the cheapest one that has a warranty on ebay. I reccomend that seller I bought my M12 off of them. If you dont already have 4 guage wiring I would reccomend a Rockford Fosgate kit http://cgi.ebay.com/Rockford-Fosgate...item53e4b47d65 kind of expensive but it is very good quality. All this may be over your budget though.
bmw325i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-25-2010, 09:31 AM   #16
kmarei
Major General
 
kmarei's Avatar
 
Drives: 1988 E30 M3 Evo II
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Reston, VA

Posts: 6,480
iTrader: (33)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
The KAC-782 series have a max input level of 5V/25W according to Kenwood specs.

It could be possible that the gain potentiometer, or the whole input stage is shot.
why does the amp model keep changing?
he said initially it was a Kenwood KAC-7285
then his picture says KAC-628
and then you say KAC-782

judging by this pic of a 7285 i'd guess the max volume is 2v


source of pic
http://cgi.ebay.com/Kenwood-KAC-7285...item20b41019d6

Last edited by kmarei; 11-25-2010 at 09:38 AM.
kmarei is offline   Egypt
0
Reply With Quote
      11-25-2010, 10:11 AM   #17
Justin7894
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 335i Sport
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia

Posts: 217
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmarei View Post
why does the amp model keep changing?
he said initially it was a Kenwood KAC-7285
then his picture says KAC-628
and then you say KAC-782

judging by this pic of a 7285 i'd guess the max volume is 2v


source of pic
http://cgi.ebay.com/Kenwood-KAC-7285...item20b41019d6
The picture I posted isn't my actual amp. I suppose I should have looked at the model number in the pic. I simply googled my model number and chose the best looking image.

My amp is infact a Kenwood KAC-7285

What do you mean by Max Volume = 2V? Is this why I get popping sounds? If I have that volume/gain turned all the way down, why would there be a problem?
Justin7894 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-25-2010, 10:14 AM   #18
Justin7894
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 335i Sport
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia

Posts: 217
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i View Post
I would reccomend an Alpine PDX M6 http://cgi.ebay.com/New-Alpine-PDX-M...item5d2c4045ab that is the cheapest one that has a warranty on ebay. I reccomend that seller I bought my M12 off of them. If you dont already have 4 guage wiring I would reccomend a Rockford Fosgate kit http://cgi.ebay.com/Rockford-Fosgate...item53e4b47d65 kind of expensive but it is very good quality. All this may be over your budget though.
Thanks! Id rather not replace my wiring kit. I just purchased a new Rockford kit when I installed all this stuff in my car. I don't remember what gauge it was though. It might be 4 gauge.

Are Rockford amps any good? What kind of specs should I be interested in? mono, stereo, peak power?
Justin7894 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-25-2010, 10:55 AM   #19
kaigoss69
Colonel
 
kaigoss69's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX

Posts: 2,967
iTrader: (5)

This one looks pretty good for the price, if you don't mind a refurb: http://outlet.crutchfield.com/p_613X...FBrand|Kenwood
kaigoss69 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-25-2010, 11:01 AM   #20
kmarei
Major General
 
kmarei's Avatar
 
Drives: 1988 E30 M3 Evo II
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Reston, VA

Posts: 6,480
iTrader: (33)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin7894 View Post
The picture I posted isn't my actual amp. I suppose I should have looked at the model number in the pic. I simply googled my model number and chose the best looking image.

My amp is infact a Kenwood KAC-7285

What do you mean by Max Volume = 2V? Is this why I get popping sounds? If I have that volume/gain turned all the way down, why would there be a problem?
well it depends on the output level of the LOC
even if you turn it all the way down, you might still be giving it too much power.
kmarei is offline   Egypt
0
Reply With Quote
      11-25-2010, 12:43 PM   #21
Justin7894
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 335i Sport
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia

Posts: 217
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmarei View Post
well it depends on the output level of the LOC
even if you turn it all the way down, you might still be giving it too much power.
The LOC came with Technics harness. I don't know the output level.

Technic?
Justin7894 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-25-2010, 02:48 PM   #22
bmw325i
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

Posts: 4,016
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin7894 View Post
Thanks! Id rather not replace my wiring kit. I just purchased a new Rockford kit when I installed all this stuff in my car. I don't remember what gauge it was though. It might be 4 gauge.

Are Rockford amps any good? What kind of specs should I be interested in? mono, stereo, peak power?
Well you may already be running 4 guage if you could check how many amps the fuse on your power wire is that would help should be somewhere near the battery compartment in the trunk. Rockford Fosgate is a great brand I just reccomended a pdx amp mainly because of its size it will fit in the compartment at the bottom of the trunk.
bmw325i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST