E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Anyone successfully recode 2010/2011 Stock HU?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-16-2012, 02:15 PM   #45
nichojo
Lieutenant
 
nichojo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 328i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA

Posts: 403
iTrader: (1)

I'm super confused now. By looking at the ordering guide for my car (MY2011) I should have the 663, which Patrys says is codeable. Is this correct? The car was also delivered 12/2010 and with that in mind I think it was built around the September time frame (09/10).
nichojo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-16-2012, 02:50 PM   #46
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,406
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nichojo View Post
I'm super confused now. By looking at the ordering guide for my car (MY2011) I should have the 663, which Patrys says is codeable. Is this correct? The car was also delivered 12/2010 and with that in mind I think it was built around the September time frame (09/10).
Due to your production date, you PROBABLY already have a HiFi system. Production of 09/10 and later have HiFi as the default option. I had an earlier build date, which gave me the abysmal "Stereo" (Base) system. In which case...why would you want to recode?

Do you have tweeters in your A pillar sails?
__________________
FS: my JBL MS-8 on Amazon
eBay COMBOX Media FS - (project never attempted)
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-16-2012, 02:53 PM   #47
nichojo
Lieutenant
 
nichojo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 328i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA

Posts: 403
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by taibanl View Post
Due to your production date, you PROBABLY already have a HiFi system. Production of 09/10 and later have HiFi as the default option. I had an earlier build date, which gave me the abysmal "Stereo" (Base) system. In which case...why would you want to recode?

Do you have tweeters in your A pillar sails?
No no, I definitely have the base with no tweeters.

Coming from my old L7 system, I'm depressed.
nichojo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-16-2012, 02:58 PM   #48
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,406
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nichojo View Post
No no, I definitely have the base with no tweeters.

Coming from my old L7 system, I'm depressed.
So you are in the same boat as me; hopefully we can get the coding.
__________________
FS: my JBL MS-8 on Amazon
eBay COMBOX Media FS - (project never attempted)
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-16-2012, 03:03 PM   #49
nichojo
Lieutenant
 
nichojo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 328i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA

Posts: 403
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by taibanl View Post
So you are in the same boat as me; hopefully we can get the coding.
But do you even need it with the MS-8?
nichojo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-16-2012, 03:20 PM   #50
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,406
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nichojo View Post
But do you even need it with the MS-8?
No, and yes.

1) I want to ensure the best possible fidelity.
2) With the BMW Station for Apple iPhone, I have additional signal loss problems...don't get me wrong its great but it cuts in exactly the same areas where the OEM HU signal starts to drop off.

The end result is that I have a very specific problem where the MS-8 is digital clipping (I think) and if I could eliminate the OEM HU FR as a contributing factor i think the problem would go away.

3) Also, the balanced low level outputs should not have any clicking/popping noises.
__________________
FS: my JBL MS-8 on Amazon
eBay COMBOX Media FS - (project never attempted)
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-16-2012, 03:51 PM   #51
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,406
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
I do not think that the Alpine Kit recode means HiFi low level outputs, it may be something else while keeping the high level outputs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
The real question is what is SA662... because coding is not required with it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
What I meant was that the Business radio -by not requiring coding- signifies that its high level outputs remain with the Alpine kit. Therefore whatever coding is required by the Professional Radio not necessarily means that the outputs are required to change topology, just because they don't.

Unless there are exact outputs measurements of this coding change there is no way of knowing what's going on here. And with so many aftermarket possibilities for upgrade this Alpine kit is really not that cost- and audio- effective overall.
So thinking about this, I am wondering if the Business CD outputs are Flat, High Level. Since there are no under seats in the 662 configuration, there is no need for DSP to "pretend" to make the system sound good.
__________________
FS: my JBL MS-8 on Amazon
eBay COMBOX Media FS - (project never attempted)
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-17-2012, 01:50 AM   #52
jerrys
New Member
 
Drives: bmw se
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: us

Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)

tried but they couldn't be coded from Stereo to HiFi.
__________________
jerrys is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-17-2012, 09:16 AM   #53
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,406
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jerrys
tried but they couldn't be coded from Stereo to HiFi.
Thanks. Do you have details as to who tried? Dealer? Auto logic?

Also, what method was used and what result?
__________________
FS: my JBL MS-8 on Amazon
eBay COMBOX Media FS - (project never attempted)
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2012, 03:32 PM   #54
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,406
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by http://www.e90post.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=631088&d=1326563347
Vehicles equipped with option SA 662 do not require encoding.

The retrofit system requires encoding.
- Reconnect vehicle battery
- Test vehicle using ISTA system and pay attention to fault codes entered in the memories and work through as required
- Go to ISTA/P vehicle programming
- Select "HiFi System Alpine" via the – Conversion – path and work through action plan
- Please refer to the information provided in the ISTA/P application documentation when working with ISTA/P
- Reassemble vehicle in reverse order of removal
Dealer attempting code today: Here is the before

OEM HU @ 45
MS-8 @ -20
Processing & L7: OFF
Attached Images
 
__________________
FS: my JBL MS-8 on Amazon
eBay COMBOX Media FS - (project never attempted)
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-07-2012, 10:44 AM   #55
CenCal 335is
Private First Class
 
CenCal 335is's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335is Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central Cali (and Sometimes Brazil)

Posts: 124
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335is  [0.00]
Question to throw out there. What is the difference on the idrive HU with the buttons 1-8 versus the ones with button 1-6, AM and FM?
CenCal 335is is online now   Brazil
0
Reply With Quote
      02-07-2012, 12:00 PM   #56
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,406
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CenCal 335is View Post
Question to throw out there. What is the difference on the idrive HU with the buttons 1-8 versus the ones with button 1-6, AM and FM?
How is this relevant at all?
__________________
FS: my JBL MS-8 on Amazon
eBay COMBOX Media FS - (project never attempted)
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-07-2012, 12:06 PM   #57
CenCal 335is
Private First Class
 
CenCal 335is's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335is Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central Cali (and Sometimes Brazil)

Posts: 124
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335is  [0.00]
How is it relevant? Some say that the HU can be recoded, some say that it cannot. There are two HU for the same MY with either button setup I have the base system in my IS with buttons 1-8, I have a friend that also drives an IS with the HK and has buttons 1-6, AM FM. There are different HU even for the professional CD, so my question is relevant - This Is Not A Thread Jack.


In Addition, while I was searching on realoem and BMW of South Atlanta, the following is what I found:

Professional CD #65129225853 is a non HK and no Sirius tuner - base system? (most likely not codeable)

Professional CD #65129225857 has the Sirius tuner and supposedly works with HiFi, HK and non HK 09/2009 - 09/2010 (most likely codeable) @ $514.00

I may also be wrong.

My Last input, I believe that coding to the Alpine HiFi retrofit is not coding to HiFi output.

Thanks

Last edited by CenCal 335is; 02-07-2012 at 12:59 PM.
CenCal 335is is online now   Brazil
0
Reply With Quote
      02-07-2012, 12:49 PM   #58
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,406
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CenCal 335is
How is it relevant? Some say that the HU can be recoded, some say that it cannot. There are two HU for the same MY with either button setup I have the base system in my IS with buttons 1-8, I have a friend that also drives an IS with the HK and has buttons 1-6, AM FM. There are different HU even for the professional CD, so my question is relevant - This Is Not A Thread Jack.
Ah ok, so far we were talking professional hu not idrive.

Do you have ccc? Mask? Cic?
__________________
FS: my JBL MS-8 on Amazon
eBay COMBOX Media FS - (project never attempted)
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-10-2012, 07:31 PM   #59
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,406
iTrader: (4)

Success!!!!!!!!!!
Name:  photo 2.JPG
Views: 15286
Size:  131.4 KB

BeforeName:  photo 1.PNG
Views: 2373
Size:  253.2 KB
AfterName:  photo 3.PNG
Views: 2377
Size:  254.8 KB

So the before and after don't say much as they were not well controlled and thus I don't have a very stable measurement. But you can see the response is "different."

Also before under Stereo, I got "OK; OK; OK" at 45/50 on the Volume
Now on HiFi, I get HiFi, I get it at 55/55....so I am thinking this DID recode the outputs to low level.
__________________
FS: my JBL MS-8 on Amazon
eBay COMBOX Media FS - (project never attempted)
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-15-2012, 09:17 AM   #60
gtomlja
New Member
 
Drives: e90 318d
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Croatia

Posts: 16
iTrader: (0)

The above is true. Had a 318d with Professional HU Base stereo produced 09/2011. Today I installed Alpine HiFi upgrade (ending with 268 model)by my local dealer and they did the programming also. Before in hidden MENU in HU it stated STEREO, now I have HIFI. I also got print out from ISTA where I see they added option 676 which is HiFi and Alpine system upgrade.

What I believe recoding for Alpine upgrade removed eq from HU but outputs are still high, because Alpine amp is accepting high inputs and I still have sound from rear speakers.

Only thing is my PDC is very quiet now, even though in menu is set to max. If I listen the music loud, its difficult to hear PDC beeps.
Anyone has the same after Alpine upgrade?

Last edited by gtomlja; 02-15-2012 at 09:29 AM.
gtomlja is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-15-2012, 01:11 PM   #61
Exwoodchuck
Private
 
Drives: Yes
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hometown, US

Posts: 83
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gtomlja View Post
Only thing is my PDC is very quiet now, even though in menu is set to max. If I listen the music loud, its difficult to hear PDC beeps.
Anyone has the same after Alpine upgrade?
YES!!! I have also had the Alpine upgrade installed and coded in ISTA/P, and 676 is now in my VO. But my gong, bluetooth, and nav voice are all way too quiet. Yes, I know how to turn them up while they're in use... even maxed out, they're too quiet.

As of right now, I don't know of a solution. Anyone else have this issue?
Exwoodchuck is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-15-2012, 04:03 PM   #62
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,406
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gtomlja
The above is true. Had a 318d with Professional HU Base stereo produced 09/2011. Today I installed Alpine HiFi upgrade (ending with 268 model)by my local dealer and they did the programming also. Before in hidden MENU in HU it stated STEREO, now I have HIFI. I also got print out from ISTA where I see they added option 676 which is HiFi and Alpine system upgrade.

What I believe recoding for Alpine upgrade removed eq from HU but outputs are still high, because Alpine amp is accepting high inputs and I still have sound from rear speakers.

Only thing is my PDC is very quiet now, even though in menu is set to max. If I listen the music loud, its difficult to hear PDC beeps.
Anyone has the same after Alpine upgrade?
Hmm. Never thought about rear speakers. HOW LOUD Are they? Im like 80% confident that i am low level
__________________
FS: my JBL MS-8 on Amazon
eBay COMBOX Media FS - (project never attempted)
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-16-2012, 02:43 AM   #63
gtomlja
New Member
 
Drives: e90 318d
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Croatia

Posts: 16
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by taibanl View Post
Hmm. Never thought about rear speakers. HOW LOUD Are they? Im like 80% confident that i am low level
I tried fader all the way on the rear speakers and by increasing volume gets them loud to about same level as they were before Alpine install.

I got from my dealer 2 print outs, one where 676 option is on which is HiFi and another where says "Nachrustung HiFi-System Alpine" and a tick next to it.

I don't think outputs are low level now, as Alpine amplifier is designed for high level inputs and you wouldn't hear almost anything from rear speakers in case they get low signal directly from HU.

I think this coding which enabled Alpine system through ISTA/P and wrote 676 is actually removed EQ and levels are still high.

Who knows, maybe if the dealer didn't tick the Alpine system in ISTA/P and only coded for 676 HiFi option it would change outputs to low level.

You have no problems with PDC sound? Or you don't have so can't say?
My gong is same like before, just PDC more quiet..
gtomlja is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-16-2012, 10:05 AM   #64
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,406
iTrader: (4)

I have no pdc
And i dont run the actual alpine amp so i cant say

Gong seems normal
__________________
FS: my JBL MS-8 on Amazon
eBay COMBOX Media FS - (project never attempted)
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-16-2012, 10:05 AM   #65
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,406
iTrader: (4)

Btw. Thanks for your inputs
__________________
FS: my JBL MS-8 on Amazon
eBay COMBOX Media FS - (project never attempted)
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-17-2012, 10:14 AM   #66
Exwoodchuck
Private
 
Drives: Yes
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hometown, US

Posts: 83
iTrader: (0)

As far as some of us can tell, it seems to really effect those with CIC more than those with the Professional radio after recoding it to Hifi.
Exwoodchuck is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST