E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Anyone successfully recode 2010/2011 Stock HU?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-18-2012, 08:23 AM   #67
gtomlja
New Member
 
Drives: e90 318d
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Croatia

Posts: 16
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exwoodchuck View Post
As far as some of us can tell, it seems to really effect those with CIC more than those with the Professional radio after recoding it to Hifi.
I have Pro HU, not CIC, but still have the PDC reduced sound issue..
gtomlja is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-18-2012, 10:34 AM   #68
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,471
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exwoodchuck View Post
As far as some of us can tell, it seems to really effect those with CIC more than those with the Professional radio after recoding it to Hifi.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtomlja View Post
I have Pro HU, not CIC, but still have the PDC reduced sound issue..
If any of you has access to a voltmeter and a sine wave test track, you could test the output voltage. Any takers?

I'm unable due to travel.
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-18-2012, 10:37 AM   #69
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,471
iTrader: (4)

Looking at http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=649952 this post, a guy with the same problem, It almost sounds like the outputs are low level which is why very faint sound from the rear. You guys 100% sure that you have a high-level signal from your rears? They are just as loud or almost as loud as the front???
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-18-2012, 12:24 PM   #70
Exwoodchuck
Private
 
Drives: Yes
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hometown, US

Posts: 83
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by taibanl View Post
Looking at http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=649952 this post, a guy with the same problem, It almost sounds like the outputs are low level which is why very faint sound from the rear. You guys 100% sure that you have a high-level signal from your rears? They are just as loud or almost as loud as the front???
I have no front to rear balance issues. It sounds 100% correct. With the Alpine Kit (PN ending in 268), there's no real way to install it 'wrong', unlike the old (pre 3/09) kit.
Exwoodchuck is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-18-2012, 12:44 PM   #71
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,471
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exwoodchuck
Quote:
Originally Posted by taibanl View Post
Looking at http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=649952 this post, a guy with the same problem, It almost sounds like the outputs are low level which is why very faint sound from the rear. You guys 100% sure that you have a high-level signal from your rears? They are just as loud or almost as loud as the front???
I have no front to rear balance issues. It sounds 100% correct. With the Alpine Kit (PN ending in 268), there's no real way to install it 'wrong', unlike the old (pre 3/09) kit.
Well naturally you want a stronger front soundstage which is why the alpine kit isdesigned as is.

The stock stereo config maxes at 9v

Hifi @ 5v

So the difference is 4v.

Which translates to 43dB (9v) vs 38dB (5v)

So the rears will be quieter (than before) but not terribly so if they are running on the HiFi low level output.

However the relative volume as compared to the fronts will be quieter as you will have the HU at a lower setting for a given frontstage volume given the new amp

How much power does the alpine amp put out?

Quote:
Originally Posted by taibanl View Post
Ok apparently its 80w (hearsay from another post) which would be ~18v which would be ~49DB
Quote:
Originally Posted by taibanl View Post
a 10 DB split 'sounds' about 2x as loud to the avg listener
Thus with the alpine kit, even with the outputs being low level (if they are) the fronts would only be about twice as loud.

I'm not an expert at this, just used some online calculators, so I could be way off.

Last edited by taibanl; 02-18-2012 at 02:53 PM.
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-22-2012, 07:21 PM   #72
silver4dracs
New Member
 
Drives: ASA 99 328i E46
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale

Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)

Has anyone successfully recoded a CIC nav from Base stereo to balanced line outputs?
silver4dracs is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-27-2012, 12:52 AM   #73
cobrajack
Registered
 
Drives: 2011 BMW 335i
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Seattle, WA

Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by taibanl View Post
Just checking...

It's still not possible to code 2011 base-->HiFi due to above hardware issues, Correct?

I only ask again because I did see something about it in the coding spreadsheet.
Where is the coding spreadsheet?
cobrajack is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-27-2012, 03:54 AM   #74
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,471
iTrader: (4)

Coding subforum has links. Im not a frequent poster there so i dont know exactly
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-27-2012, 06:18 AM   #75
djbordie
Private
 
Drives: 2011 bmw 323i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada!

Posts: 85
iTrader: (0)

anyone have success in coding a late model 2010 HU?

to hifi ($676)

mine is november 2010, (2011 e90) pro HU

im going to try it this week, fingers massively crossed

here is your sheet
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/...CPqY7sEC#gid=0
djbordie is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-27-2012, 02:23 PM   #76
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,471
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by djbordie View Post
anyone have success in coding a late model 2010 HU?

to hifi ($676)

mine is november 2010, (2011 e90) pro HU

im going to try it this week, fingers massively crossed

here is your sheet
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/...CPqY7sEC#gid=0
According to post #1 (by me), yes

Edit: this was done by BMW (ISTA/P) as opposed to NC-SEXPERT
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-27-2012, 03:43 PM   #77
djbordie
Private
 
Drives: 2011 bmw 323i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada!

Posts: 85
iTrader: (0)

yes, but you went to a dealer...

do you have any details on the ISTA/P process they used?

im not paying a dealer 300$ to code to hifi...not an option
djbordie is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-27-2012, 10:37 PM   #78
woodpecka
Captain
 
woodpecka's Avatar
 
Drives: E91
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montreal

Posts: 997
iTrader: (2)

Yes I did it by using the last version of nc-expert and a cheap usb d-kcan cable from ebay. You must have the daten files v47.

I have been able to reset the radio and activating the usb by the VO. For BT, I had to modify the MAN file manualy.
woodpecka is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-28-2012, 12:48 AM   #79
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,183
iTrader: (0)

woodpecka Can you list the VO and file changes

Can you list the VO and file changes
I assume you might have had to change the rad2 parameters.
Can anybody list the changes for going from L7 to Hi FI then back again
and does is it the same change for 09's and above.
Also what is the last version of nc-expert.
which man file?
What year car and what hardware were you working with?
mulf2 or something else.

Last edited by ctuna; 11-28-2012 at 12:48 PM.
ctuna is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-28-2012, 05:16 AM   #80
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,471
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by djbordie View Post
yes, but you went to a dealer...

do you have any details on the ISTA/P process they used?

im not paying a dealer 300$ to code to hifi...not an option
There are two options (i am confident both have same net result)
  1. Conversions: HiFi Amplifier
  2. Retrofit: Alpine Hifi
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-28-2012, 08:04 AM   #81
djbordie
Private
 
Drives: 2011 bmw 323i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada!

Posts: 85
iTrader: (0)

alot of guides and such say you can simply:

change VO $676 (or whatever you want, check the spread sheet)
write to cas

and then turn off car, wait 10 mins, turn on and it should make the necessary changes.

however different years and such have had different results.

there are a few nice pdf's floating around showing how to exactly do this process. Step by step.

If i have any luck on coding the easy way this week, i will make a video step by step to help out the community

there arent many youtube videos of ncsexpert, but certainly none showing the HU coding
djbordie is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-28-2012, 12:54 PM   #82
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,183
iTrader: (0)

When you change the VO its CAS and FRM

When you change the VO its CAS and FRM I think I know its been stated two modules have to be updated.

There seems to be a point where the radio changed around 09 and the actual VO codes may have changed and the related hard ware for phone , usb changed a few times between 09 and the current years hence the need to change the build date of the car to get it to accept the new programming for the newer hardware.

It would be nice to get this info stickied.
ctuna is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-28-2012, 12:59 PM   #83
djbordie
Private
 
Drives: 2011 bmw 323i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada!

Posts: 85
iTrader: (0)

interesting, ive never heard of this.

man its like voodoo magic trying to get hifi...but you want to close all your doors and sunroof with the fob?? easy...LOL
djbordie is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-09-2014, 06:29 PM   #84
Ripley
multipass!
 
Ripley's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Italy

Posts: 61
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 335i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
Can you list the VO and file changes
I assume you might have had to change the rad2 parameters.
Can anybody list the changes for going from L7 to Hi FI then back again
and does is it the same change for 09's and above.
Also what is the last version of nc-expert.
which man file?
What year car and what hardware were you working with?
mulf2 or something else.
I need this information too.
I coded my new Professional HU (caming from a 2012 E89 Z4) to my 2008 E92 335i with normal audio system (6 speakers).

Now the volume is very low, cause the new Pro HU were coded with Logic 7.

Can anyone explain me which parameter I have to change in the 2RAD ecu?

I have already added $663 in the VO (CAS and NFRM) and loaded factory defaults for 2RAD module, but in the secret menu of Pro HU I still see "Top HiFi".

Thanks
Ripley is offline   Italy
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2014, 08:44 PM   #85
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,471
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ripley View Post
I need this information too.
I coded my new Professional HU (caming from a 2012 E89 Z4) to my 2008 E92 335i with normal audio system (6 speakers).

Now the volume is very low, cause the new Pro HU were coded with Logic 7.

Can anyone explain me which parameter I have to change in the 2RAD ecu?

I have already added $663 in the VO (CAS and NFRM) and loaded factory defaults for 2RAD module, but in the secret menu of Pro HU I still see "Top HiFi".

Thanks
I know you would have to add $676 (HiFi) and delete $677/688
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2014, 09:28 PM   #86
bmw325i
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

Posts: 4,107
iTrader: (5)

The VO codes taibanl provided are correct. You have to reset 2urad or rad2 after changing the VO.

On early models it is simple to code the headunit using a coding cable, but on later models it can only be done using MOST.


Edit- You don't need to change your VO. The VO is stored in the cas and frm. Changing the head unit will not change the VO.

Last edited by bmw325i; 03-03-2014 at 09:33 PM.
bmw325i is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2014, 09:54 PM   #87
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,471
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i View Post


Edit- You don't need to change your VO. The VO is stored in the cas and frm. Changing the head unit will not change the VO.
Good Point - however wouldn't he need to do something to WRITE his pre-existing VO to the new HU? I am not a coder but I think I remember somebody working a similar issue having to do something to propagate the values back to the 2URAD
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2014, 10:53 PM   #88
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,183
iTrader: (0)

I think this gets more complicated after 2011

I think this gets more complicated after 2011
because you may have the pro head units that have
Bluetooth usb and even Sirius built in . They require different
software that's the reason you have to change the build date
on the car to get the software that goes with the new hardware
to load.
And the modules you have to update to get idrive based units to code are not the same either.
ctuna is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST