E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > How to: Test Wastegates?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-30-2014, 06:27 PM   #1
AWDBooSTIn90
Nomore
AWDBooSTIn90's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
248
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Coupe 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Long Island

iTrader: (1)

How to: Test Wastegates?

So i have my downpipes off. I tried adjusting my rear wastegate because of rattling, based on a thread on here. Stock car btw. It didnt work and i want to go back and set it to stock. So its fully closed when the correct amount of vacuum is applied by the vacuum pump. I can look into the turbine housing since the downpipes are off and make sure its fully closed.

I have a automotive vacuum pump for testing. It has a gauge on it. You pump it up to the desired vacuum. Does anyone know a way i can test it with this?

I was thinking. Say the computer tells the vacuum pump to pull 10in/hg(?) and then the wastegate shut be fully closed. So then i could hook a vacuum line directly to the wastegate, pump to 10, and adjust wastegate until its fully closed. Is there such a thing or is it more complex than that?

Do new wastegates come pre-adjusted? I would assume every car is different and even when new they need to be properly adjusted? How about adjusting each wastegate so they are set evenly?

Whats the proper way to adjust the wastegate threaded rod to ensure the wastegate fully closes and opens?
Appreciate 0
      05-31-2014, 10:55 AM   #2
AWDBooSTIn90
Nomore
AWDBooSTIn90's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
248
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Coupe 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Long Island

iTrader: (1)

Anyone have any ideas?
Appreciate 0
      05-31-2014, 11:29 AM   #3
Gizm0
Major
Gizm0's Avatar
United_States
31
Rep
1,464
Posts

 
Drives: 08 e92 335i 6mt
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Virginia

iTrader: (1)

Why are you trying to adjust your wastegates?

Not sure exactly at what amount of vacuum the wastegates should be completely closed... I think I remember on mine it was something like 15" Hg

If at 20" it's not closed completely then I'd say shorten the actuator rod...
Appreciate 0
      05-31-2014, 08:53 PM   #4
AWDBooSTIn90
Nomore
AWDBooSTIn90's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
248
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Coupe 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Long Island

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gizm0 View Post
Why are you trying to adjust your wastegates?

Not sure exactly at what amount of vacuum the wastegates should be completely closed... I think I remember on mine it was something like 15" Hg

If at 20" it's not closed completely then I'd say shorten the actuator rod...
I need to adjust them because i tried adjusting it to remove the rattle and i ended up going to far so i went back the other way. So i want to go back and set it back to the factory setting.

Can someone confirm that its 15" hg of vacuum applied to the wastegate to have it closed?

Im surprised no one has done this before. Judging by how much these wastegate shafts wear, a lot of cars would benefit from re-adjusting their wastegate to ensure its fully closing. Im sure they would see a decrease in lag from having it close fully right away.
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2014, 08:30 AM   #5
AWDBooSTIn90
Nomore
AWDBooSTIn90's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
248
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Coupe 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Long Island

iTrader: (1)

If i buy a new rear wastegate from the dealer does it need to be adjusted before installing?
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2014, 09:47 AM   #6
AK 335i
Major
AK 335i's Avatar
14
Rep
1,294
Posts

 
Drives: black 335i E90
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: boynton beach

iTrader: (0)

Terrible
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2014, 02:00 PM   #7
David1
Colonel
David1's Avatar
United_States
28
Rep
2,663
Posts

 
Drives: 09 E92 09 X5
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: City With No Room For Ludicris Speed!

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AWDBooSTIn90 View Post
If i buy a new rear wastegate from the dealer does it need to be adjusted before installing?
Yes, but being an 07 with gen1 turbos (if they are original) the shaft that goes to the flapper is probably worn.
__________________
09 335i Coupe LBM - Black Dakota/Glacier aluminum-6spd|Nav|M-Sport|Premium|Logic7|Heated Seats|CA|BMW Performance Suspension & M3 Control Arms|M3 lip spoiler|Avant Garde M510 Wheels
07 335 coupe - Sold
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2014, 03:57 PM   #8
AWDBooSTIn90
Nomore
AWDBooSTIn90's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
248
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Coupe 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Long Island

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AK 335i View Post
Terrible
What?


Quote:
Originally Posted by David1 View Post
Yes, but being an 07 with gen1 turbos (if they are original) the shaft that goes to the flapper is probably worn.
I believe theyre original and they do have some wear. The wastegate shaft is sloppy, the wastegate flapper is sloppy, and the linkage is sloppy. So all that combined is giving me some play to have rattle. But im only getting a little bit of rattle on decel.

Its still annoying though lol.
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2014, 04:08 PM   #9
David1
Colonel
David1's Avatar
United_States
28
Rep
2,663
Posts

 
Drives: 09 E92 09 X5
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: City With No Room For Ludicris Speed!

iTrader: (0)

Eventually the shaft will start to jam in the housing and you will get low boost codes and get to replace the turbos.
__________________
09 335i Coupe LBM - Black Dakota/Glacier aluminum-6spd|Nav|M-Sport|Premium|Logic7|Heated Seats|CA|BMW Performance Suspension & M3 Control Arms|M3 lip spoiler|Avant Garde M510 Wheels
07 335 coupe - Sold
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2014, 10:39 AM   #10
AWDBooSTIn90
Nomore
AWDBooSTIn90's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
248
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Coupe 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Long Island

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by David1 View Post
Eventually the shaft will start to jam in the housing and you will get low boost codes and get to replace the turbos.
Well all I'm trying to do now, is minimize the rattle I'm getting. Its really not that bad. I know that i will eventually have to replace the turbos. When i do, it wont be with a stock wastegate arm designed turbo.

Ill either have my turbos rebuilt and have the whole wastegate arms re-done or go with upgraded turbos.

Hopefully by that time a simple cost effective single turbo exhaust manifold will be available.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST