E90Post
 


E92 Lighting
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Cosmetic and Lighting Modifications (exterior/interior) > Errors on my new HIDs....



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-30-2009, 08:19 PM   #1
Duhst
That Go
Duhst's Avatar
United_States
79
Rep
7,415
Posts

 
Drives: AW e90
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vegas?

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to Duhst
Errors on my new HIDs....

I have read lots of threads here about error free HIDs, I don't have the euro xenons, but i just recently installed some autovision HIDs. at start up I get all the bulbs are malfunctioning. then after a minute, the both xenon go out. the car continues to give me errors. then after I aknowlege the errors the light with the car on the lift comes on and the xenons come back on and begins to flicker on and off. the light with the car on the lift is stays on. now, my car came with halogens and I know that halogens run at 55 watts compared to the 35 watt HIDs, my car thinks the bulbs are out. is there a resistor or something I can do to trick my car that the halogens are still in there?

thanks on advance.

Last edited by Duhst; 05-01-2009 at 12:13 AM.
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2009, 12:13 AM   #2
Duhst
That Go
Duhst's Avatar
United_States
79
Rep
7,415
Posts

 
Drives: AW e90
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vegas?

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to Duhst
i need some help pleaseeee!
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2009, 01:56 AM   #3
frahuang
First Lieutenant
frahuang's Avatar
Taiwan
3
Rep
359
Posts

 
Drives: 08 328i e90 Blk/Blk 6MT
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Irvine, CA, USA

iTrader: (14)

You need to get warning cancellers and battery relay harness.
__________________
08 328i e90 Black/Black 6MT, BMS POWER BOX, Eibach Pro System, Blacklines, M3 Spoiler, 197 BBS Wheels, Xenon and Homelink

Appreciate 0
      05-01-2009, 10:14 AM   #4
jaespark87
Captain
jaespark87's Avatar
15
Rep
720
Posts

 
Drives: AW 2011 128i
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by frahuang View Post
You need to get warning cancellers and battery relay harness.
, PM E90 Andy. he sells the harness
__________________
Tint
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2009, 10:20 AM   #5
Delta0311
Brigadier General
Delta0311's Avatar
56
Rep
3,873
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 BMW 335xi E92
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NJ

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaespark87 View Post
, PM E90 Andy. he sells the harness

The guy got banned. I did find some OEM E90 HIDs for sale (with ballasts and everything) but they are not cheap.

http://www.bmwpartswheels.com/bmw-he...ghts-1568.html

The entire kit is $2,400
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2009, 10:23 AM   #6
Duhst
That Go
Duhst's Avatar
United_States
79
Rep
7,415
Posts

 
Drives: AW e90
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vegas?

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to Duhst
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delta0311 View Post
The guy got banned. I did find some OEM E90 HIDs for sale (with ballasts and everything) but they are not cheap.

http://www.bmwpartswheels.com/bmw-he...ghts-1568.html

The entire kit is $2,400
wow that penny is a little to pretty for me!!

how about something like this??
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/HID-X...Q5fAccessories
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2009, 12:14 PM   #7
mds82
Major General
mds82's Avatar
128
Rep
5,857
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 325xi
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Central Connecticut

iTrader: (40)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to mds82 Send a message via Yahoo to mds82
what year is you car?

many of the older models, such at the 2006's have always had problems with HID kits. I was never able to get my HID fogs working with my 2006 325xi.
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2009, 01:23 PM   #8
Soni
Major General
Soni's Avatar
Canada
99
Rep
8,377
Posts

 
Drives: Just a car
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: CANADA eh!

iTrader: (35)

Garage List
2007 335i Coupe  [4.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by mds82 View Post
what year is you car?

many of the older models, such at the 2006's have always had problems with HID kits. I was never able to get my HID fogs working with my 2006 325xi.
have you tried Xeon Depot unit? My don't throw error with their unit after adding a resistors. I have Jan 07 production date!
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2009, 01:24 PM   #9
pdjafari
Colonel
pdjafari's Avatar
43
Rep
2,402
Posts

 
Drives: Axe Murderer with headlights
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Earth

iTrader: (5)

I have had 2 xenon depot kits. The first one was perfect and ran with resistors without any problems.

I just ordered a second kit 1 month ago and after install this kit flickers and abruptly turns off...not sure why this isnt working like the old kit. Same thing...same car
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2009, 01:33 PM   #10
Soni
Major General
Soni's Avatar
Canada
99
Rep
8,377
Posts

 
Drives: Just a car
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: CANADA eh!

iTrader: (35)

Garage List
2007 335i Coupe  [4.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdjafari View Post
I have had 2 xenon depot kits. The first one was perfect and ran with resistors without any problems.

I just ordered a second kit 1 month ago and after install this kit flickers and abruptly turns off...not sure why this isnt working like the old kit. Same thing...same car
you might want to switch the resistor from the good kit and see if the resistor is causing the problem and ask them to replace it if it is the resistor.
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2009, 01:37 PM   #11
pdjafari
Colonel
pdjafari's Avatar
43
Rep
2,402
Posts

 
Drives: Axe Murderer with headlights
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Earth

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soni View Post
you might want to switch the resistor from the good kit and see if the resistor is causing the problem and ask them to replace it if it is the resistor.
The first kit I had I removed and sold, then I decided to order another set (same set). The kit came w/ 2 resistors, whats teh chance they are both bad?? I wonder if I can get a resistor from Radio Shack
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2009, 01:39 PM   #12
Soni
Major General
Soni's Avatar
Canada
99
Rep
8,377
Posts

 
Drives: Just a car
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: CANADA eh!

iTrader: (35)

Garage List
2007 335i Coupe  [4.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdjafari View Post
The first kit I had I removed and sold, then I decided to order another set (same set). The kit came w/ 2 resistors, whats teh chance they are both bad?? I wonder if I can get a resistor from Radio Shack
maybe wrong resistor chance is higher :P
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2009, 01:49 PM   #13
alanchan
Major
alanchan's Avatar
Canada
21
Rep
1,402
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 323i
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

iTrader: (21)

why not use Parachute kit?
I had it installed, no problem works great.
I was told any 55watts digital ballast should be error free now
good luck
__________________
323i, Arctic metallic , Cream beige leatherette interior , Titanium matt trim , Premium , Auto , 18" style 189 sport wheels , 335i bumper + kidney grills, CF pillars, Chrome window trim package , LCI halogen.
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2009, 01:51 PM   #14
JonLerd
Lieutenant
7
Rep
543
Posts

 
Drives: Alpine White 335i coupe
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Orange County / Los Angeles

iTrader: (3)

you need a capacitor, the system sends a 95% duty cycle square wave to the lights which is why you are having problems maintaining this hid kit. go to radio shack get a 4700uF capacitor ther about 4 bucks each and wire them across the terminals as you would with a load resistor. if you need more help pm me. observe the correct polarity..shoudl cost you no more han 9 bucks.

-Jon
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2009, 03:11 PM   #15
Duhst
That Go
Duhst's Avatar
United_States
79
Rep
7,415
Posts

 
Drives: AW e90
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vegas?

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to Duhst
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdjafari View Post
after install this kit flickers and abruptly turns off...not sure why this isnt working like the old kit. Same thing...same car
this is the same thing that is going on with my lights right now!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonLerd View Post
you need a capacitor, the system sends a 95% duty cycle square wave to the lights which is why you are having problems maintaining this hid kit. go to radio shack get a 4700uF capacitor ther about 4 bucks each and wire them across the terminals as you would with a load resistor. if you need more help pm me. observe the correct polarity..shoudl cost you no more han 9 bucks.

-Jon
PM'd!!!
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2009, 03:17 PM   #16
frahuang
First Lieutenant
frahuang's Avatar
Taiwan
3
Rep
359
Posts

 
Drives: 08 328i e90 Blk/Blk 6MT
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Irvine, CA, USA

iTrader: (14)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delta0311 View Post
The guy got banned. I did find some OEM E90 HIDs for sale (with ballasts and everything) but they are not cheap.

http://www.bmwpartswheels.com/bmw-he...ghts-1568.html

The entire kit is $2,400
Wonder why he got banned?? He's good guy and contributed to the forum with lots of information.

BTW, this is the harness from Andy.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=240025
__________________
08 328i e90 Black/Black 6MT, BMS POWER BOX, Eibach Pro System, Blacklines, M3 Spoiler, 197 BBS Wheels, Xenon and Homelink


Last edited by frahuang; 05-01-2009 at 03:33 PM.
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2009, 03:30 PM   #17
jaespark87
Captain
jaespark87's Avatar
15
Rep
720
Posts

 
Drives: AW 2011 128i
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by frahuang View Post
Wonder why he got banned?? He's good guy and contributed to the forum with lots of information.
word... i just came back from vacation for a month and hes gone ???
__________________
Tint
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2009, 03:39 PM   #18
Delta0311
Brigadier General
Delta0311's Avatar
56
Rep
3,873
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 BMW 335xi E92
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NJ

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaespark87 View Post
word... i just came back from vacation for a month and hes gone ???
Yeah your telling me. I spend weeks at my job just surfing the net and trying to find a perfect conversion kit. Just as I'm about to seal the deal the dude gets banned, wtf? Well I think he has a myspace. I might hit him up on that.
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2009, 06:42 PM   #19
Duhst
That Go
Duhst's Avatar
United_States
79
Rep
7,415
Posts

 
Drives: AW e90
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vegas?

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to Duhst
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonLerd View Post
you need a capacitor, the system sends a 95% duty cycle square wave to the lights which is why you are having problems maintaining this hid kit. go to radio shack get a 4700uF capacitor ther about 4 bucks each and wire them across the terminals as you would with a load resistor. if you need more help pm me. observe the correct polarity..shoudl cost you no more han 9 bucks.

-Jon
http://cgi.ebay.com/NICHICON-GOLD-TU...3A1%7C294%3A50

something like this??
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2009, 08:50 PM   #20
JonLerd
Lieutenant
7
Rep
543
Posts

 
Drives: Alpine White 335i coupe
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Orange County / Los Angeles

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duhst View Post
yeah that would work, the one at radio shack is a axle type where the leads come out from opposite ends makes it a little easier to just connect to the wires. But this type can be used also just make sure the leads are long enough for you to work with.

email me for pics unless someone can tell me how you can attach an image with out havign to host it then i can post. thanks
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2009, 08:59 PM   #21
veightkiller
Brigadier General
veightkiller's Avatar
Canada
46
Rep
4,154
Posts

 
Drives: e90 335i
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Vancouver,B.C

iTrader: (3)

+1 for Andy
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2009, 11:04 PM   #22
Duhst
That Go
Duhst's Avatar
United_States
79
Rep
7,415
Posts

 
Drives: AW e90
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vegas?

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to Duhst
JonLerd-

i've noticed that there are TONSSSS of different 4700uF capacitor like 10v 25v 50v and i think 60v does it matter which one i get?

and i also tried to search radio shack online and it said that it didnt have what i was looking for....? any idea? maybe its just not listed online?
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST