E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > Canada > First Emissions test.....?'s



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-31-2016, 08:46 PM   #1
Msport335
Captain
Msport335's Avatar
Canada
27
Rep
628
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i m-sport e90
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Burlington

iTrader: (0)

First Emissions test.....?'s

Car is a 2009 335i FBO..... with catless downpipes

do i need anything to pass its first emissions test or can i just set up an appointment and hope for the best.

do i keep it flashed with the MHD 94 octane map or flash back to stock?


any insight would be appreciated



thanks
__________________
E90 LCI M-sport/ 6AT/ LSD/ FBO+
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2016, 11:02 AM   #2
armansiu
Second Lieutenant
Canada
7
Rep
211
Posts

Drives: e90 328xi
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: GTA

iTrader: (0)

I think the emission test now doesn't really check the "emission gas" anymore.
I remember when I was with my e46, they just plug in the code checker and check if I have any error codes and that's it.
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2016, 12:27 PM   #3
Msport335
Captain
Msport335's Avatar
Canada
27
Rep
628
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i m-sport e90
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Burlington

iTrader: (0)

if its true that we are allowed 1 "incomplete" on the test then i should be okay taking it in as is since my MHD only reads the catalyst as being "incomplete"
__________________
E90 LCI M-sport/ 6AT/ LSD/ FBO+
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2016, 12:50 PM   #4
armansiu
Second Lieutenant
Canada
7
Rep
211
Posts

Drives: e90 328xi
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: GTA

iTrader: (0)

i am not sure. my mechanic said it needs to pass all tests. one of my O2 sensors failed, so need to replace before test. don't flame me if i am wrong. lol
Appreciate 0
      04-04-2016, 12:19 PM   #5
F(x)
Registered
F(x)'s Avatar
Canada
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: TL
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: West of Toronto

iTrader: (0)

https://www.ontario.ca/page/drive-cl...ts-and-repairs

You will definitely need to fix the O2 sensor. Do you have access to any code readers (Torque app + BT OBD dongle)?
Appreciate 0
      04-04-2016, 05:51 PM   #6
marcvtec
Lieutenant Colonel
43
Rep
1,904
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: toronto

iTrader: (0)

you will need the bms down pipe fix to be installed.
O2 sensors "must not be the one fault code"
__________________
COBBPowered,WedgeTuned,Spec2+clutch&Alum.flywheel, Wavetrac diff, lockdown kit, DCI, Forge DV's, AR catless DP's, AA Race FMIC, M3 links & Sways, 19' BBS LM's wrapped in PSS, ECS 2 piece cross drilled/slotted rotors, HPS 5.0 pads, M3 Spoiler, AC roof Spoiler, Aero Lip, Vorsteiner Diffuser, m3 sides, Tinted, And One Happy BMW Driver.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2016, 05:22 PM   #7
DejanE92
Private First Class
DejanE92's Avatar
Canada
10
Rep
162
Posts

Drives: 2009 335xi coupe
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Kitchener

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
when I did mine few weeks ago all I did was flash back to stock and drove the car about 40km never went over 3k rpm cats showed ready only evap was off still passed and I don't have my primary cats didn't use dp fix either
__________________
Cobb Stage2+FMIC l VRSF DP l VRSF 7" IC l ER CP l BMS DCI l PTF Tune l KW V1 l Fuel-It! Stage 2 l
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2016, 06:06 PM   #8
TheBingoBalls
Colonel
Canada
235
Rep
2,449
Posts

Drives: E90 325i, R56 MINI Cooper
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Msport335 View Post
if its true that we are allowed 1 "incomplete" on the test then i should be okay taking it in as is since my MHD only reads the catalyst as being "incomplete"
This is the only thing that doesn't "pass" for me the last two times I've had it tested - always reads "not ready", I guess because it's not warmed up or I haven't driven it long enough pre-test. But if that's the only problem, should be no problem passing.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2016, 07:38 PM   #9
Msport335
Captain
Msport335's Avatar
Canada
27
Rep
628
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i m-sport e90
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Burlington

iTrader: (0)

passed yesterday. flashed MHD to stage 0 and installed wedge dp fix. Evap was the only thing not ready but still passed.:thump:

time to turn it back up again
__________________
E90 LCI M-sport/ 6AT/ LSD/ FBO+
Appreciate 0
      05-10-2016, 03:56 PM   #10
rick100
Major
74
Rep
1,182
Posts

Drives: 328
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: canada

iTrader: (0)

you are allow to have 1 in the no ready state out of the 8 parameters

the information is online
Appreciate 0
      05-11-2016, 06:00 PM   #11
marcvtec
Lieutenant Colonel
43
Rep
1,904
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: toronto

iTrader: (0)

my statement was wrong,
any one code is allowed.
__________________
COBBPowered,WedgeTuned,Spec2+clutch&Alum.flywheel, Wavetrac diff, lockdown kit, DCI, Forge DV's, AR catless DP's, AA Race FMIC, M3 links & Sways, 19' BBS LM's wrapped in PSS, ECS 2 piece cross drilled/slotted rotors, HPS 5.0 pads, M3 Spoiler, AC roof Spoiler, Aero Lip, Vorsteiner Diffuser, m3 sides, Tinted, And One Happy BMW Driver.
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2016, 11:03 PM   #12
Treize
Private First Class
Canada
3
Rep
195
Posts

Drives: 2009 BMW 335i Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
I have a 2009 335i with catless dp with the MHD tune and this is the readout from the MHD app:

http://imgur.com/jMxb8KQ

There's 1 incomplete and 4 "not avails" which I'm assuming is because they aren't valid for the car. Would this pass emissions?
Appreciate 0
      06-13-2016, 09:27 AM   #13
MajesticBlueNTO
New Member
2
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Thornhill

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Treize View Post
I have a 2009 335i with catless dp with the MHD tune and this is the readout from the MHD app:

http://imgur.com/jMxb8KQ

There's 1 incomplete and 4 "not avails" which I'm assuming is because they aren't valid for the car. Would this pass emissions?
As long as you only have 1 incomplete (Not Ready) and no codes that light up the Check Engine Light, you will pass.

correct, the "not available" means those tests are not valid for the car.
Appreciate 0
      06-13-2016, 09:34 PM   #14
Treize
Private First Class
Canada
3
Rep
195
Posts

Drives: 2009 BMW 335i Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by MajesticBlueNTO View Post
As long as you only have 1 incomplete (Not Ready) and no codes that light up the Check Engine Light, you will pass.

correct, the "not available" means those tests are not valid for the car.
Great! Thank you for your response.
Appreciate 0
      06-15-2016, 09:44 PM   #15
Captain Canuck
Enlisted Member
7
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Great White North

iTrader: (0)

I did mine 2 weeks ago with MHD installed. I had stock exhaust at the time but because MHD was installed it showed cats not ready. Still passed.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:48 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST