E90Post
 


Horizon LED
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > All COBB Tuning AccessPORT Flash for N54 335i Discussion Here



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-14-2011, 03:26 PM   #2509
Magic-Man
Banned
United_States
21
Rep
1,063
Posts

 
Drives: N54
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Northeast

iTrader: (2)

Anyone have a rev hang issue in DS when when flooring it & then letting off on the 300 maps?
Appreciate 0
      09-14-2011, 06:29 PM   #2510
805beemer
Captain
United_States
7
Rep
617
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 135i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lompoc, CA

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magic-Man View Post
Anyone have a rev hang issue in DS when when flooring it & then letting off on the 300 maps?
isn't that the point of ds mode. when reving the motor up to say 6000 rpms and then back off throttle it will hold there on my car which is stock for a good 10-20 seconds before up shifting to see whether i will get back on the gas or if I've had enough fun.
Appreciate 0
      09-14-2011, 07:06 PM   #2511
TMack
Road Warrior
United_States
3
Rep
110
Posts

 
Drives: '08 535xi AT
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kansas City

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NYAWE60 View Post
You're about spot on with the last part about flooring it. Its far from sedate, I might have been a bit misleading. Let me assure you a car of this size moving the way it does is incredible. I've found myself cheesing on so many occasions over the past 12 hours. I cant wait to leave to go home on the freeway again
I'm running Cobb on my 535xi and it's FAR from sedate. It actually scares me.
__________________
2008 535xi (debadged) * Platinum Gray * Black Dakota * Sport * Premium * Cold Weather * Comfort Access * Navigation * Bamboo Anthracite * 30% Tint (50% Windshield) * Bumper Plugs * GP Thunder v2 7500k Angel Eyes * Avant Garde M310 19" (staggered) * KW Variant 3 coilovers * Cobb Stage 1
Appreciate 0
      09-14-2011, 07:31 PM   #2512
tomob63
Captain
tomob63's Avatar
7
Rep
628
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 335i
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (13)

Send a message via AIM to tomob63
3.01 is out:
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=585798
__________________
2009 335i
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2011, 04:37 AM   #2513
Chipped B6
Favorite ride of all time?: Blondes.
Chipped B6's Avatar
United_States
48
Rep
1,089
Posts

 
Drives: Boooooost!
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Far away

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 228i Coupe  [0.00]
2013 ActiveHybrid 3  [0.00]
2014 M5  [2.00]
2011 Z4 35is  [4.80]
2011 M3 Coupe  [0.00]
Z4 35is support yet?!
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2011, 09:15 AM   #2514
Concorde
Private
Concorde's Avatar
Canada
0
Rep
68
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i lci
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quick question here : could I buy a second hand AP from a subaru or mazda owner and use it to flash my car ? I guess not, but I'd like to know why ...

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2011, 09:23 AM   #2515
nafoo
Major
nafoo's Avatar
United_States
17
Rep
1,148
Posts

 
Drives: Boosted Bimmer
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Earth

iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Concorde View Post
Quick question here : could I buy a second hand AP from a subaru or mazda owner and use it to flash my car ? I guess not, but I'd like to know why ...

Thanks
No. Because? You drive a BMW.
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2011, 10:31 AM   #2516
COBB Tuning
Major
COBB Tuning's Avatar
112
Rep
1,044
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (0)

To all BMW AP users:

Before updating your AccessPORT, please delete the ROM file from your file listing in AP Manager. Please note, this will not delete your stock ROM file that the AP uses during the un-install process. Once this is deleted, you should now have enough memory and space on the AP and no problems updating the firmware on your AccessPORT.

If your AccessPORT is currently stuck in Updating mode, please connect to AP Manager, click on the Updates tab, and press Ctrl+Shift+F11. This will allow you to exit updating mode. Then, delete your ROM, check the "Force update" box, and do the update again.

As always, if you have any other questions, please call us at 866-922-3059 or email us at tech@cobbtuning.com

Ian
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2011, 12:55 PM   #2517
Glowin
Captain
Glowin's Avatar
United_States
15
Rep
922
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dzenno View Post
I had no idea I'd even try Cobb back then when Shiv was here...I thought that a flash wouldn't be compatible with the wastegates on my car and boost control would be foooked...it was by complete chance that I got a great price on an AP, took the trial to give it a whirl...

after running and seeing how SOLID AFRs looked at part throttle shocked me immediately!

That was the major reason for it...piggies can't come even close to flash AFR or timing control...on top of everything Cobb really surprised me with the depth of logging capabilities which, when you're as anal retentive as me about how the car runs, is VERY important..
Super lean (high teens) AFR's under partial throttle, to the point the car would stutter (so it was noticeable while driving - not just on the AFR gauge), has been my life story this year...

At least your success story is a good backup plan if my new Procede doesn't work out. I'll miss my boost and AFR gauges though on the dash. I wish Cobb would incorporate them like the piggies have.
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2011, 12:58 PM   #2518
dzenno
Banned
Canada
114
Rep
5,883
Posts

 
Drives:
Join Date: Feb 2006

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glowin View Post
Super lean (high teens) AFR's under partial throttle, to the point the car would stutter (so it was noticeable while driving - not just on the AFR gauge), has been my life story this year...

At least your success story is a good backup plan if my new Procede doesn't work out. I'll miss my boost and AFR gauges though on the dash. I wish Cobb would incorporate them like the piggies have.
I'd sell the procede and get a jb4 instead as you can run it totally passthrough AND keep the gauges + shift light + meth integration going while running any of the Cobb maps and waiting on Cobb to deliver the rest...procede won't give you all this without actually running a map as it has no such mode/map..
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2011, 01:39 PM   #2519
BMWsky
Major
United_States
15
Rep
1,244
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Webster NY

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glowin View Post
...I'll miss my boost and AFR gauges though on the dash. I wish Cobb would incorporate them like the piggies have.


I would die and go to heaven if the data logging from Cobb was displayed on the iDrive.
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2011, 03:17 PM   #2520
kaigoss69
Brigadier General
kaigoss69's Avatar
United_States
63
Rep
3,084
Posts

 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX

iTrader: (5)

Stupid question of the day: I've updated the firmware on the AP... do I need to uninstall and reinstall (which takes considerably longer and drains my dying battery) or can i just load the new maps???
__________________
Mobridge DA2 > JBL MS-8 > ARC XDi 600/4 > JBL Gti 408 Mids & Vifa XT19 Tweeters; PG Ti2 1600.5 > Morel HCW-10 & IDMax 15
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2011, 03:18 PM   #2521
NYAWE60
First Lieutenant
United_States
3
Rep
387
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 535i Sport
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWsky View Post
I would die and go to heaven if the data logging from Cobb was displayed on the iDrive.
That would be similar to the GTR. . . damn you just put that thought in my head, CURSE YOU
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2011, 04:58 PM   #2522
djsniggedy
Captain
djsniggedy's Avatar
16
Rep
663
Posts

 
Drives: Car
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Queens, NY

iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaigoss69 View Post
Stupid question of the day: I've updated the firmware on the AP... do I need to uninstall and reinstall (which takes considerably longer and drains my dying battery) or can i just load the new maps???
You should be able to flash the new map over. No need to uninstall/reinstall. The first process just marries the AP to the car and takes longer.
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2011, 07:25 PM   #2523
BMWsky
Major
United_States
15
Rep
1,244
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Webster NY

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NYAWE60 View Post
That would be similar to the GTR. . . damn you just put that thought in my head, CURSE YOU

Appreciate 0
      09-16-2011, 01:39 AM   #2524
Dr_Dirt
Major
Dr_Dirt's Avatar
United_States
19
Rep
1,475
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i 6AT
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: DFW

iTrader: (1)

Someone should make a piggie just for gauges .
__________________
Verizon LTE speed
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2011, 11:36 AM   #2525
Glowin
Captain
Glowin's Avatar
United_States
15
Rep
922
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dzenno View Post
I'd sell the procede and get a jb4 instead as you can run it totally passthrough AND keep the gauges + shift light + meth integration going while running any of the Cobb maps and waiting on Cobb to deliver the rest...procede won't give you all this without actually running a map as it has no such mode/map..
Thanks for reminding me... I'll miss my shift light and beep too!

If I was to sell the Procede though, I'd have a hard time justifying spending $500 on a JB4 just to get the gauges and the shift light. I'm not running meth (and have no short term plans for it unfortunately, and if I was, I like the new Procede setup, though I haven't researched JB4's I have to admit). Not to mention the PITA of install/uninstall under the hood - I still have a year warranty left and I take my time, so it's an hour of work each time.

Has anyone contacted Cobb to see if they are interested / can incorporate the gauges like boost at least into the dash? Or a shift light concept?
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2011, 11:40 AM   #2526
dzenno
Banned
Canada
114
Rep
5,883
Posts

 
Drives:
Join Date: Feb 2006

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glowin View Post
Thanks for reminding me... I'll miss my shift light and beep too!

If I was to sell the Procede though, I'd have a hard time justifying spending $500 on a JB4 just to get the gauges and the shift light. I'm not running meth (and have no short term plans for it unfortunately, and if I was, I like the new Procede setup, though I haven't researched JB4's I have to admit). Not to mention the PITA of install/uninstall under the hood - I still have a year warranty left and I take my time, so it's an hour of work each time.

Has anyone contacted Cobb to see if they are interested / can incorporate the gauges like boost at least into the dash? Or a shift light concept?
its expensive for sure and IMHO not worth it but I just offered you some advice on what's "possible" at the moment...

Not sure what Cobb will be doing in terms of other features but the AP already has a shift light feature built into it, you just need to plug it into the obd port and mount the thing somewhere on the vent say and there you go...other features will probably be AP driven as well but who knows, tuning first gimmicks last
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2011, 11:43 AM   #2527
themyst
Major General
themyst's Avatar
South Korea
86
Rep
6,602
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i LCI
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC

iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to themyst
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_Dirt View Post
Someone should make a piggie just for gauges .
That idea is being considered by BMS.
__________________
E90 LCI N54 6AT
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2011, 11:45 AM   #2528
korben dallas
Private First Class
1
Rep
114
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E90 335i
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PA

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glowin View Post
Has anyone contacted Cobb to see if they are interested / can incorporate the gauges like boost at least into the dash? Or a shift light concept?
I doubt they will be able to do anything like remapping the gauges (including shift light via turn signals), though the AP itself can function as a shift light if you mount it on your dash. When your shift point is reached the screen will turn red.
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2011, 11:47 AM   #2529
dzenno
Banned
Canada
114
Rep
5,883
Posts

 
Drives:
Join Date: Feb 2006

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by korben dallas View Post
I doubt they will be able to do anything like remapping the gauges (including shift light via turn signals), though the AP itself can function as a shift light if you mount it on your dash. When your shift point is reached the screen will turn red.
Of course they are, they just need to write code for it...all info is right on the canbus, all they need to do is register as a node on the canbus, get all the data and send it over to the gauges which basically have no choice but to move but those are gimmicks and there's some of us that want to run 10s and 11s first on a solid tune
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2011, 11:59 AM   #2530
korben dallas
Private First Class
1
Rep
114
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E90 335i
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PA

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dzenno View Post
Of course they are, they just need to write code for it...all info is right on the canbus, all they need to do is register as a node on the canbus, get all the data and send it over to the gauges which basically have no choice but to move but those are gimmicks and there's some of us that want to run 10s and 11s first on a solid tune
Well, "able to" may have been the wrong choice of words, but I gotta think that there is a decent gap between reading info from the canbus and rewriting tables to changing functionality of components from a flash perspective.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
135i cobb, 335i cobb, 535i cobb, accessport n54, bmw cobb, bmw cobb tuning, cobb 135i, cobb 335i, cobb 535i, cobb ap, cobb bmw, cobb n54, cobb tuning bmw, cobb tuning n54, cobb tuning n55, flash n54, flash n55, n54 accessport, n54 cobb, n54 cobb tuning, n54 flash, n54 flash tune, n55 cobb, n55 flash, n55 flash tune

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST