E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > All COBB Tuning AccessPORT Flash for N54 335i Discussion Here



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-13-2012, 10:11 AM   #4335
import36
Burrito bowl connoisseur
import36's Avatar
United_States
58
Rep
3,503
Posts

Drives: 2015 Nissan GTR Black Edition
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Seven Cities

iTrader: (1)

sorry this may be a dumb question....and may have been answered somewhere in the 199 pgs.....but does installing the AP on the car and switching between the various maps wipe out any coding that was done on the car? for example, i'm looking to get my windows and sunroof coded again to close withthe key fob...but since i change maps from time to time...just curious if the coding gets wiped out.
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2012, 10:33 AM   #4336
cleex024
Major
38
Rep
1,481
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 335i Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Woodbridge

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by import36 View Post
sorry this may be a dumb question....and may have been answered somewhere in the 199 pgs.....but does installing the AP on the car and switching between the various maps wipe out any coding that was done on the car? for example, i'm looking to get my windows and sunroof coded again to close withthe key fob...but since i change maps from time to time...just curious if the coding gets wiped out.
naw its ok...ive been coding lately and i have cobb installed and nothing changes.

whos coding for u?
__________________
Space Gray l 6MT l OSG LSD w/ VAC Race Diff Cover l Cobb e30 l Morr vs8.2 l UUC SSK w/ DSSR l VSRF Catless Dps l RPI Intercooler l CDV Removed l HID AE 8000k l ETS Catback l AST 5200 w/ Vorshlag Camber Plates l ER Dual Oil Coolers l Rear Camber and Toe Arms l K&N Drop In l Solid Tranny/Diff/Subframe Bushings l Bridgestone RE-11
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2012, 10:36 AM   #4337
jkrig
Second Lieutenant
jkrig's Avatar
20
Rep
256
Posts

Drives: 07' e90 335i (SGM)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Virginia Beach

iTrader: (0)

import.....I was curious about that myself, I work with steelrsfan and he was going to do some coding for me so we could A) be sure his rig could "speak' to early DME...B) see if I needed cobb at map 0 for him to code(he seems to think so)...and if coding would remain after flashing back to aggressive maps...so hopefully Ill be back in town next week and Ill know, if you don't have an answer by then...
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2012, 10:55 AM   #4338
import36
Burrito bowl connoisseur
import36's Avatar
United_States
58
Rep
3,503
Posts

Drives: 2015 Nissan GTR Black Edition
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Seven Cities

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cleex024 View Post
naw its ok...ive been coding lately and i have cobb installed and nothing changes.

whos coding for u?
yeah i meant to ask you if you had any issues coding with the Cobb installed...or if the coding was wiped out once you flashed to a different map.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkrig View Post
import.....I was curious about that myself, I work with steelrsfan and he was going to do some coding for me so we could A) be sure his rig could "speak' to early DME...B) see if I needed cobb at map 0 for him to code(he seems to think so)...and if coding would remain after flashing back to aggressive maps...so hopefully Ill be back in town next week and Ill know, if you don't have an answer by then...
i was going to have steelrsfan code my windows/sunroof/side mirrors again if possible. i say again because i lost my original coding (from gt35r Ben) when my dme was replaced.
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2012, 10:58 AM   #4339
BMWsky
Major
United_States
16
Rep
1,244
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Webster NY

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by import36 View Post
sorry this may be a dumb question....and may have been answered somewhere in the 199 pgs.....but does installing the AP on the car and switching between the various maps wipe out any coding that was done on the car? for example, i'm looking to get my windows and sunroof coded again to close withthe key fob...but since i change maps from time to time...just curious if the coding gets wiped out.
No, the coding takes place in a seperate section of the DME that isn't effected by the flash tune. I had a local guy code my car last summer and have since reflashed, changed maps, uninstalled, re-installed, etc, with no issues.
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2012, 11:07 AM   #4340
cleex024
Major
38
Rep
1,481
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 335i Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Woodbridge

iTrader: (2)

well if anyones interested i would like to code someone elses car...import you interested?

i could actually do it as early as this afternoon lol
__________________
Space Gray l 6MT l OSG LSD w/ VAC Race Diff Cover l Cobb e30 l Morr vs8.2 l UUC SSK w/ DSSR l VSRF Catless Dps l RPI Intercooler l CDV Removed l HID AE 8000k l ETS Catback l AST 5200 w/ Vorshlag Camber Plates l ER Dual Oil Coolers l Rear Camber and Toe Arms l K&N Drop In l Solid Tranny/Diff/Subframe Bushings l Bridgestone RE-11
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2012, 11:19 AM   #4341
Simon76
Private
Simon76's Avatar
Sweden
0
Rep
53
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (1)

Just got my car into limp mode while hitting 7k in 3d gear.
Errorcode P30FF
Turned off the car and started again. No problem.
I was running stg1+FMIC aggressive ST.
Tried to do some datalogging, but i have no idea how to read it..
__________________

COBB Stg 2+, ETS FMIC, BMS DCI, VRSF DPs, FORGE DVs, BMS OCC, ER CP
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2012, 11:23 AM   #4342
mandown
New Member
0
Rep
29
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Huntsville, Alabama

iTrader: (0)

Has anyone else had issues with capturing 0-60 times with the updated firmware and beta maps? I can only record the 0-60 if I baby the car to 60 and a 20 sec 0-60 is not very impressive. When I get on it, it records no data.

Thanks,
__________________
2007 335i / Cobb / BMS DCI /
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2012, 11:24 AM   #4343
import36
Burrito bowl connoisseur
import36's Avatar
United_States
58
Rep
3,503
Posts

Drives: 2015 Nissan GTR Black Edition
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Seven Cities

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWsky View Post
No, the coding takes place in a seperate section of the DME that isn't effected by the flash tune. I had a local guy code my car last summer and have since reflashed, changed maps, uninstalled, re-installed, etc, with no issues.
excellent....thanks for the feedback!
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2012, 11:32 AM   #4344
rader1
Banned
39
Rep
2,197
Posts

Drives: Cobb Stage 2+ 135i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Roanoke, VA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon76 View Post
Just got my car into limp mode while hitting 7k in 3d gear.
Errorcode P30FF
Turned off the car and started again. No problem.
I was running stg1+FMIC aggressive ST.
Tried to do some datalogging, but i have no idea how to read it..
Download virtual dyno(it's free) and you can use it for a simplified, but effective, csv grapher.

http://www.bradbarnhill.com/projects/VirtualDyno/
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2012, 11:53 AM   #4345
Simon76
Private
Simon76's Avatar
Sweden
0
Rep
53
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (1)

Still have no idea..
Attached Images
   
__________________

COBB Stg 2+, ETS FMIC, BMS DCI, VRSF DPs, FORGE DVs, BMS OCC, ER CP
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2012, 11:57 AM   #4346
Simon76
Private
Simon76's Avatar
Sweden
0
Rep
53
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (1)

?
Attached Images
 
__________________

COBB Stg 2+, ETS FMIC, BMS DCI, VRSF DPs, FORGE DVs, BMS OCC, ER CP
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2012, 12:06 PM   #4347
enrita
Major General
enrita's Avatar
Sweden
99
Rep
7,382
Posts

Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon76 View Post
Still have no idea..
you should clean the log so you get only 3rd gear..... the code means you have a boost leak. just search for it.
__________________
07 335i AT - MOTIV 750 - MHD E85 BMS flash - BMS PI - JB4G5 - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - Custom midpipes with 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - LUX H8 - Level 10 AT upgrade
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2012, 12:13 PM   #4348
rader1
Banned
39
Rep
2,197
Posts

Drives: Cobb Stage 2+ 135i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Roanoke, VA

iTrader: (0)

it looks like you're logging too many channels at once. keep it simple unless you specifically suspect is off.

log: RPM, boost, AFR(bank 1 or 2), timing(cylinder 1 is normally the quietest) and TPS actual.

In order to get a somewhat accurate dyno be sure you are on level ground, no wheel spin and the vehicle weight/tire sizes are accurate
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2012, 12:36 PM   #4349
Simon76
Private
Simon76's Avatar
Sweden
0
Rep
53
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (1)

AFR?
Attached Images
 
__________________

COBB Stg 2+, ETS FMIC, BMS DCI, VRSF DPs, FORGE DVs, BMS OCC, ER CP
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2012, 12:40 PM   #4350
135i
Cobb Stage 2+/ICarbon/HPF/Stett
135i's Avatar
12
Rep
488
Posts

Drives: E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Deep in the Heart

iTrader: (0)

Today I got two codes on stage 2+ ST v400

P3100
P2A87

Hmmm
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2012, 12:44 PM   #4351
rader1
Banned
39
Rep
2,197
Posts

Drives: Cobb Stage 2+ 135i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Roanoke, VA

iTrader: (0)

There is a key on the left side of the screen to tell you what each color line represents.
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2012, 12:46 PM   #4352
UltraRacer13
Wannabe Track Rat
UltraRacer13's Avatar
British Virgin Islands
26
Rep
923
Posts

Drives: 08 335xi e92 MT
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Texas

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mandown View Post
Has anyone else had issues with capturing 0-60 times with the updated firmware and beta maps? I can only record the 0-60 if I baby the car to 60 and a 20 sec 0-60 is not very impressive. When I get on it, it records no data.

Thanks,
just did this yesterday on v400 stg 1 aggressive. 4.699 0-60
__________________

XI | COBB | AST | Vorshlag | PFC | STETT | StopTech | Apex | DCI
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2012, 01:25 PM   #4353
Legato2057
First Lieutenant
Legato2057's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
393
Posts

Drives: 2008 monaco blue e90 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (1)

Just installed the COBB stage 1 sport v4.00 Linear throttle map. Absolutely love it! It's still very drivable day to day but you can definitely feel the power is there. And soon as you go WOT...just awesome! I should be installing my ER FMIC later this week and then trying the 1+!
__________________
2008 Monaco Blue/Tan interior 335i sedan. Mods: AFE intake w/ scoops, AFE Exhaust, ER FMIC, Koni FSD/Eibcach Pro-Kit, Breyton Race GTS wheels w/ Continental ExtremeContact DW tires, Cusco OS strut bar. BavAuto Black/Beige seat covers w/ black floor mats, M3 rep trunk lip, eBay front splitters.
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2012, 02:23 PM   #4354
BMWsky
Major
United_States
16
Rep
1,244
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Webster NY

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 135i View Post
Today I got two codes on stage 2+ ST v400

P3100
P2A87

Hmmm
That P2A87 is a VANOS code that usually accompanies the P3100. Try cleaning or ordering new ones.
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2012, 03:15 PM   #4355
enrita
Major General
enrita's Avatar
Sweden
99
Rep
7,382
Posts

Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon76 View Post
AFR?
since you just installed an FMIC and you did not have the issue before you probably have a boost leak , recheck all hoses and connections.
__________________
07 335i AT - MOTIV 750 - MHD E85 BMS flash - BMS PI - JB4G5 - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - Custom midpipes with 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - LUX H8 - Level 10 AT upgrade
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2012, 03:17 PM   #4356
enrita
Major General
enrita's Avatar
Sweden
99
Rep
7,382
Posts

Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 135i View Post
Today I got two codes on stage 2+ ST v400

P3100
P2A87

Hmmm
I am aware of another person getting P2A87 after flashing V400 so maybe its related to the maps.
Did you mail cobb and send some logs ?
__________________
07 335i AT - MOTIV 750 - MHD E85 BMS flash - BMS PI - JB4G5 - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - Custom midpipes with 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - LUX H8 - Level 10 AT upgrade
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
135i cobb, 335i cobb, 535i cobb, accessport n54, bmw cobb, bmw cobb tuning, cobb 135i, cobb 335i, cobb 535i, cobb ap, cobb bmw, cobb n54, cobb tuning bmw, cobb tuning n54, cobb tuning n55, flash n54, flash n55, n54 accessport, n54 cobb, n54 cobb tuning, n54 flash, n54 flash tune, n55 cobb, n55 flash, n55 flash tune

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:33 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST