E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > All COBB Tuning AccessPORT Flash for N54 335i Discussion Here



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-14-2012, 10:45 AM   #4379
enrita
Major General
 
enrita's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

Posts: 7,323
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by paapaa View Post
I did as said on install manual.
Tried install-got error Unsupported vehicle ROM,
but Tools menu didn’t open like it should do

what can I do now? doors were closed but afterwards I realized that
trunk was open. can this cause that cannot open tools menu and
load a dump to the AP?

emailed to Cobb but still wanted to ask here, if anyone knows about this...
or what to try.
Did you try updating the AP firmware first? all doors should be closed. just retry
__________________
07 335i AT - TD St.2 Turbos - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by http://www.protuningfreaks.com/) - JB4G5 ISO - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - E85 Walbro - Injen Intake - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - AR DPs - midpipes 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - Level 10 AT upgrade - Alpina AT Flash
enrita is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
      03-14-2012, 10:48 AM   #4380
Cozy
Major
 
Cozy's Avatar
 
Drives: E82 135i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Surrey, England

Posts: 1,489
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by paapaa View Post
I did as said on install manual.
Tried install-got error Unsupported vehicle ROM,
but Tools menu didn’t open like it should do

what can I do now? doors were closed but afterwards I realized that
trunk was open. can this cause that cannot open tools menu and
load a dump to the AP?

emailed to Cobb but still wanted to ask here, if anyone knows about this...
or what to try.
Did you retry with the trunk shut? If I remember right, Cobb did say that if you couldn't access the ROM dump function then to contact them. There will be a reason for it and nothing major I doubt, I've had a few hiccups myself and they've been really helpful, even half way across the world .
Cozy is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      03-14-2012, 10:54 AM   #4381
paapaa
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335i AT Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Finland

Posts: 208
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to paapaa
Quote:
Originally Posted by enrita View Post
Did you try updating the AP firmware first? all doors should be closed. just retry
yes i did. FW v1.6.5.0-3649
ahaa, god damn the trunk....
paapaa is offline   Finland
0
Reply With Quote
      03-14-2012, 10:57 AM   #4382
paapaa
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335i AT Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Finland

Posts: 208
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to paapaa
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamJay View Post
Did you retry with the trunk shut? If I remember right, Cobb did say that if you couldn't access the ROM dump function then to contact them. There will be a reason for it and nothing major I doubt, I've had a few hiccups myself and they've been really helpful, even half way across the world .
BMW is 60km from me...and i realized too late when returnng home... that trunk was open when i tried the installation arghh.yes, i believe its not a big deal to make the dump work.will have to try again soon with trunk closed.
paapaa is offline   Finland
0
Reply With Quote
      03-14-2012, 02:44 PM   #4383
Simon76
Private
 
Simon76's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sweden

Posts: 53
iTrader: (1)

These are two pulls, directly after each other.
The first went well. The second try put the car in limpmode at 7k.
Errorcode P30FF. Boostleak. again..
The loggs shows boost, timing, rpm, afr.
Itīs clear the boost drops when the car went limp..
If itīs a boostleak, why doesnīt it show in the first logg?
Or any logg after for that matter..
Only when driving stg1+ aggressive, not when driving 1+ sport..
I have checked for leaks with no success, will try smoke in next step.
Attached Images
  
__________________

COBB Stg 2+, ETS FMIC, BMS DCI, VRSF DPs, FORGE DVs, BMS OCC, ER CP
Simon76 is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
      03-14-2012, 02:55 PM   #4384
COBB Tuning
Major
 
COBB Tuning's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 1,043
iTrader: (0)

We have seen boost leaks caused by faulty divertor valves or a bad wastegate control solenoid. What version map are you using?

Ian
COBB Tuning is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-14-2012, 02:56 PM   #4385
enrita
Major General
 
enrita's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

Posts: 7,323
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBB Tuning View Post
We have seen boost leaks caused by faulty divertor valves or a bad wastegate control solenoid. What version map are you using?

Ian
he is using V400 as far as i know . Fellow swede
__________________
07 335i AT - TD St.2 Turbos - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by http://www.protuningfreaks.com/) - JB4G5 ISO - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - E85 Walbro - Injen Intake - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - AR DPs - midpipes 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - Level 10 AT upgrade - Alpina AT Flash
enrita is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
      03-14-2012, 03:25 PM   #4386
Simon76
Private
 
Simon76's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sweden

Posts: 53
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBB Tuning View Post
We have seen boost leaks caused by faulty divertor valves or a bad wastegate control solenoid. What version map are you using?

Ian
Quote:
Originally Posted by enrita View Post
he is using V400 as far as i know . Fellow swede
Yes,
Stg1+FMIC ST Aggressive I8A0S v400
It only happens when i use this specific map.
Not when using sport or stg1 Aggressive..

Where do i go from here??
__________________

COBB Stg 2+, ETS FMIC, BMS DCI, VRSF DPs, FORGE DVs, BMS OCC, ER CP
Simon76 is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
      03-14-2012, 03:30 PM   #4387
enrita
Major General
 
enrita's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

Posts: 7,323
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon76 View Post
Yes,
Stg1+FMIC ST Aggressive I8A0S v400
It only happens when i use this specific map.
Not when using sport or stg1 Aggressive..

Where do i go from here??
did you send the logs to cobb?
__________________
07 335i AT - TD St.2 Turbos - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by http://www.protuningfreaks.com/) - JB4G5 ISO - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - E85 Walbro - Injen Intake - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - AR DPs - midpipes 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - Level 10 AT upgrade - Alpina AT Flash
enrita is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
      03-14-2012, 03:43 PM   #4388
Simon76
Private
 
Simon76's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sweden

Posts: 53
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by enrita View Post
did you send the logs to cobb?
No.
Since I have to struggle with the English language, I'd rather not explain it all again..
Hopefully Ian responds here first..
__________________

COBB Stg 2+, ETS FMIC, BMS DCI, VRSF DPs, FORGE DVs, BMS OCC, ER CP
Simon76 is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
      03-15-2012, 02:06 AM   #4389
paapaa
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335i AT Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Finland

Posts: 208
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to paapaa
yes!!! got the current Unrecognized rom to the AP.
what helped:
-carīs trunk closed or the last AP firmware i just updated.
now just sending the file to Cobb
paapaa is offline   Finland
0
Reply With Quote
      03-15-2012, 02:52 AM   #4390
sparkyblue
Captain
 
sparkyblue's Avatar
 
Drives: E82 135i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fremont, California

Posts: 646
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2008 BMW 135i  [0.00]
I'm updating my Cobb AP on OS X and everything seemed to be working just fine, its an AP-BMW-001 v1.6.5.0-2639.

What I did specifically was, plug in AP to laptop, open up AccessPORT Manager (2.0.1.5), click "Begin Firmware Update" and my AP has rebooted once or twice already.

But now its stuck on a "Checking AccessPORT updater software..." screen for the past 30 minutes. Is it supposed to take this long? Or is something wrong.
sparkyblue is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-15-2012, 03:23 AM   #4391
enrita
Major General
 
enrita's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

Posts: 7,323
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkyblue View Post
I'm updating my Cobb AP on OS X and everything seemed to be working just fine, its an AP-BMW-001 v1.6.5.0-2639.

What I did specifically was, plug in AP to laptop, open up AccessPORT Manager (2.0.1.5), click "Begin Firmware Update" and my AP has rebooted once or twice already.

But now its stuck on a "Checking AccessPORT updater software..." screen for the past 30 minutes. Is it supposed to take this long? Or is something wrong.
update the AccessPort Manager software itself first to the latest BETA release. So when you open AccessPort Manager go to the Options tab and check off the checkbox for "Check for beta AccessPORT Manager". Once you've done that you'll be asked to upgrade to 2.0.2.0 AccessPort Manager
__________________
07 335i AT - TD St.2 Turbos - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by http://www.protuningfreaks.com/) - JB4G5 ISO - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - E85 Walbro - Injen Intake - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - AR DPs - midpipes 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - Level 10 AT upgrade - Alpina AT Flash
enrita is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
      03-15-2012, 03:44 AM   #4392
sparkyblue
Captain
 
sparkyblue's Avatar
 
Drives: E82 135i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fremont, California

Posts: 646
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2008 BMW 135i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by enrita View Post
update the AccessPort Manager software itself first to the latest BETA release. So when you open AccessPort Manager go to the Options tab and check off the checkbox for "Check for beta AccessPORT Manager". Once you've done that you'll be asked to upgrade to 2.0.2.0 AccessPort Manager
I still have the "Checking AccessPORT updater software..." pop-up open, will it hurt or possibly even brick my AccessPORT? Or can I press "Cancel" and perform the update as you said above?

Thanks for the help!

EDIT::

I went ahead and canceled it, updated the AccessPORT Manager to the 2.0.2.0 and now its doing its thing. Hopefully I wont encounter any more problems. Thanks!
sparkyblue is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-15-2012, 04:18 AM   #4393
Cozy
Major
 
Cozy's Avatar
 
Drives: E82 135i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Surrey, England

Posts: 1,489
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkyblue View Post
I still have the "Checking AccessPORT updater software..." pop-up open, will it hurt or possibly even brick my AccessPORT? Or can I press "Cancel" and perform the update as you said above?

Thanks for the help!

EDIT::

I went ahead and canceled it, updated the AccessPORT Manager to the 2.0.2.0 and now its doing its thing. Hopefully I wont encounter any more problems. Thanks!
Have a search for a thread I created named "COBB AP Stuck Updating". I had the same issue as you which lead to another problem where the AP was unable to communicate with my ECU. I've been working through it with COBB who have been fantastic, it just highlights that YOU MUST run the lastest beta AP Mangager if you want to use the lastest beta AP firmware.
Cozy is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      03-15-2012, 07:17 AM   #4394
sparkyblue
Captain
 
sparkyblue's Avatar
 
Drives: E82 135i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fremont, California

Posts: 646
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2008 BMW 135i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamJay View Post
Have a search for a thread I created named "COBB AP Stuck Updating". I had the same issue as you which lead to another problem where the AP was unable to communicate with my ECU. I've been working through it with COBB who have been fantastic, it just highlights that YOU MUST run the lastest beta AP Mangager if you want to use the lastest beta AP firmware.
Yikes. My cars actually about to go into the dealer for some maintenance and I might not have it back for a few days. Thats why I uninstalled the AP & decided to upgrade firmware / try out the latest v400 Beta maps. (Install/Uninstall takes forever!)

I hope I wont have any issues flashing once I get her back. Thats what scares me the most every time I change maps or install/uninstall. Something going wrong and in turn messing up something in the cars ECU causing me a huge headache.

So far so good though! Cobb AccessPORT is great!
sparkyblue is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-15-2012, 07:28 AM   #4395
ajsalida
Lieutenant Colonel
 
ajsalida's Avatar
 
Drives: 95 M3, 02 R1150GSA, 09 335xi
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SW USA

Posts: 1,613
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamJay View Post
Have a search for a thread I created named "COBB AP Stuck Updating". I had the same issue as you which lead to another problem where the AP was unable to communicate with my ECU. I've been working through it with COBB who have been fantastic, it just highlights that YOU MUST run the lastest beta AP Mangager if you want to use the lastest beta AP firmware.
Yes but you don't need either beta AP or beta firmware to run v400 maps. Or am I missing something by not updating to beta? v400 IJEOS maps run fine on my car with just the latest (non-beta) AP/firmware versions.
ajsalida is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-15-2012, 07:32 AM   #4396
enrita
Major General
 
enrita's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

Posts: 7,323
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajsalida View Post
Yes but you don't need either beta AP or beta firmware to run v400 maps. Or am I missing something by not updating to beta? v400 IJEOS maps run fine on my car with just the latest (non-beta) AP/firmware versions.
you are not missing anything.
__________________
07 335i AT - TD St.2 Turbos - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by http://www.protuningfreaks.com/) - JB4G5 ISO - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - E85 Walbro - Injen Intake - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - AR DPs - midpipes 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - Level 10 AT upgrade - Alpina AT Flash
enrita is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
      03-15-2012, 08:19 AM   #4397
2Times
I'd hit it
 
2Times's Avatar
 
Drives: black on black e92 335xi
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Boostin, MA

Posts: 611
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 335xi  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajsalida View Post
Yes but you don't need either beta AP or beta firmware to run v400 maps. Or am I missing something by not updating to beta? v400 IJEOS maps run fine on my car with just the latest (non-beta) AP/firmware versions.
Ditto... I just downloaded 1 v400 map without updating anything... works fine for me.
2Times is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-15-2012, 08:31 AM   #4398
Cozy
Major
 
Cozy's Avatar
 
Drives: E82 135i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Surrey, England

Posts: 1,489
iTrader: (0)

You can download v400 no problem, it's via the website and not the AP, you just transfer from PC folder to AP. I had a problem becuase I tried to download the latest beta AP firmware from the AP Manager without having the latest beta release of AP Manager, the unpdate process screwed up and messed with the AP. I had to download the beta AP Manager then wait for another beta release of AP firmware to clear it of its bugs, now it's fine.
Cozy is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      03-15-2012, 11:23 AM   #4399
rader1
Banned
 
Drives: Cobb Stage 2+ 135i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Roanoke, VA

Posts: 2,197
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamJay View Post
You can download v400 no problem, it's via the website and not the AP, you just transfer from PC folder to AP. I had a problem becuase I tried to download the latest beta AP firmware from the AP Manager without having the latest beta release of AP Manager, the unpdate process screwed up and messed with the AP. I had to download the beta AP Manager then wait for another beta release of AP firmware to clear it of its bugs, now it's fine.
what did your AP do when it was screwed up? i think i have the same thing going on
When i try to update the firmware it always errors and says "An error occured while updating accessport. View log?"
also, whenever i try to transfer a map to or from the AP it says "Failed to send"

and, for icing on the cake, i can no longer view live data or datalog

I'm emailing Cobb as we speak.
rader1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-15-2012, 11:31 AM   #4400
themyst
Major General
 
themyst's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335i LCI
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC

Posts: 6,602
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to themyst
Quote:
Originally Posted by rader1 View Post
what did your AP do when it was screwed up? i think i have the same thing going on
When i try to update the firmware it always errors and says "An error occured while updating accessport. View log?"
also, whenever i try to transfer a map to or from the AP it says "Failed to send"

and, for icing on the cake, i can no longer view live data or datalog

I'm emailing Cobb as we speak.
I've heard of others with the same issue (can't view live or datalog) seems firmware got botched somewhere. Cobb will get it sorted out.
__________________
E90 LCI N54 6AT
themyst is offline   South Korea
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
135i cobb, 335i cobb, 535i cobb, accessport n54, bmw cobb, bmw cobb tuning, cobb 135i, cobb 335i, cobb 535i, cobb ap, cobb bmw, cobb n54, cobb tuning bmw, cobb tuning n54, cobb tuning n55, flash n54, flash n55, n54 accessport, n54 cobb, n54 cobb tuning, n54 flash, n54 flash tune, n55 cobb, n55 flash, n55 flash tune

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST