E90Post
 


E92-lighting
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > All COBB Tuning AccessPORT Flash for N54 335i Discussion Here



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-08-2012, 09:12 PM   #5347
benzy89
Banned
United_States
32
Rep
2,396
Posts

Drives: '08 E90 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern NJ

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [3.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by d3UCE818 View Post
Thanks for the help ! I will Send them an email and see what they say.

What are the dangers of e85 ? Do you just mix e85 and 91 in your gas tank 50:50? If there is an informational thread on e85 post a link plz!
E85 has the same "danger" potential as any other pump gas -- Don't put fire or a light cigarette near it & you'll be fine. I posted this a little higher up on the page, but it'll answer your mix ratio question. I think if you aim for 93-94 octane mix, your logs will look good with the blend.

Quote:
Here's an octane calculator that takes into account E85. Just plug in how many gals of 91 + how many gallons of E85 and you should be able to mix 93.

http://www.intercepteft.com/calc.html

**The calculator is assuming that the E85 is of standard value and is equivalent to 105 octane & that the gas you're using already has 10% ethanol. Based on this, a combination of 2 gallons of E85 + 10 gallons of 91 will give you a fuel of about ~93 octane. The 335 gas tank is close to 16 gallons when it's bone dry, so try to do some quick mental math when you go to the pump. There's nothing wrong with doing a 50:50 blend, but since the COBB maps aren't going to take advantage of the higher octane, its a waste IMO to run "98" octane.
Appreciate 0
      06-08-2012, 10:57 PM   #5348
BMJ
Captain
BMJ's Avatar
17
Rep
963
Posts

Drives: 335
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Australia

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueBimmer View Post
Is this common maintenance on 335s? ( I did it long ago on my E34 @ 120k miles and used Redline fluid). Is it still better than BMW fliud? Can you get the dealer to change it under warranty?

thanks in advance.
i paid for mine, did last week. fluid is ment to be life time but i don't agree as there's been a noticable differnce in my car since i changed it. smoother shifts and no more cluncky down shifts. No warrenty as BMW states it's life time fluid. I used whatever bmw use, i am not sure what it is. I advise any steptronic with over 55 000 to look at having it done.

Cheers
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2012, 02:32 PM   #5349
new2the3
Lieutenant Colonel
new2the3's Avatar
76
Rep
1,873
Posts

Drives: 2009 135i
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Log Advice

Hey guys, this was my first time logging, and I was only able to do a quick pull in second gear. This was on Stage 1 Sport (with CA 91 Octane), after driving on the Cobb tune for about 10 miles... I added a couple gallons of E85 afterwards (not shown in this pull).

Any advice would be appreciated. http://www.yourfilelink.com/get.php?fid=809723
__________________
2009 135i: AW/CR Aluminum Trim, 6 speed, M-Sport, Premium, Heated Seats, Ipod, BMW Performance Pedals, BMW Performance SSK, BMW Performance Exhaust, BMW Performance Grills E93 M3 FSB
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2012, 05:28 PM   #5350
benzy89
Banned
United_States
32
Rep
2,396
Posts

Drives: '08 E90 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern NJ

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [3.75]
New plugs + Fixed o2 Sensors + COBB Stg 2+ Sport =

So glad that my misfires got fixed, love the power that Stage 2+ provides. Very excited to see what Aggressive is like
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2012, 06:05 PM   #5351
rader1
Banned
39
Rep
2,197
Posts

Drives: Cobb Stage 2+ 135i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Roanoke, VA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by benzy89 View Post
New plugs + Fixed o2 Sensors + COBB Stg 2+ Sport =

So glad that my misfires got fixed, love the power that Stage 2+ provides. Very excited to see what Aggressive is like
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2012, 09:08 PM   #5352
benzy89
Banned
United_States
32
Rep
2,396
Posts

Drives: '08 E90 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern NJ

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [3.75]
This is the only thing that went through my head when I finally got to the highway after everything was installed

Appreciate 0
      06-10-2012, 12:24 PM   #5353
El Duce
Private First Class
4
Rep
106
Posts

Drives: 4 wheels and a steering wheel
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

So is V4 now definitely out of beta?
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2012, 12:32 PM   #5354
Wookie420
Major
Wookie420's Avatar
Germany
20
Rep
1,024
Posts

Drives: 2010 335i Coupe/Space Gray
Join Date: May 2010
Location: DFW, TX

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2010 335i (E92)  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Duce View Post
So is V4 now definitely out of beta?
I don't think so, just checked the map download page and v4.01 is still beta. Latest full release is still v3.01
__________________

COBB Stage 2+ AGGRESSIVE / STETT Cold-Air Intake / STETT Charge Pipe / TiAL Blow-off Valve / ETS 5" Front-Mount Intercooler / Active Autowerke 3" Catless Downpipes / Active Autowerke Signature Exhaust / AST 4100 Coilovers / OS Giken Superlock LSD / All MOTUL Fluids
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2012, 12:40 PM   #5355
El Duce
Private First Class
4
Rep
106
Posts

Drives: 4 wheels and a steering wheel
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wookie420 View Post
I don't think so, just checked the map download page and v4.01 is still beta. Latest full release is still v3.01
Have most of the issues with V4 been hashed out by now? I'm still running V2, even though I've added an IC 6 months ago.

But I haven't upgraded the downpipe yet, so all of the Stage 2s are still out of the question correct? I can basically just go to V3, although I don't know the difference between stock, linear, aggressive V1 or V2 throttle is.
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2012, 01:12 PM   #5356
tullnd
Private
0
Rep
88
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i A/T
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cincinnati

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by El Duce View Post
Have most of the issues with V4 been hashed out by now? I'm still running V2, even though I've added an IC 6 months ago.

But I haven't upgraded the downpipe yet, so all of the Stage 2s are still out of the question correct? I can basically just go to V3, although I don't know the difference between stock, linear, aggressive V1 or V2 throttle is.
Upgrade to V3. It's solid.

Stock and linear throttle mapping are a choice, but I'm an auto, so stock seems to be the better option for me. Manuals tend to prefer linear I think, but for some stock is a personal preference. The alternative throttle V1 and V2 are only available for stage 1, but I never bothered with them.

I'd just do Stage 1 Aggressive(if you have 93 octane, otherwise do Sport) with either linear(manual) or stock(auto) throttle mapping. You can always return to your older map if you don't like it.

I'm running Stage 2+FMIC aggressive with stock throttle map. It's quite fun.
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2012, 01:19 PM   #5357
El Duce
Private First Class
4
Rep
106
Posts

Drives: 4 wheels and a steering wheel
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tullnd View Post
Upgrade to V3. It's solid.

Stock and linear throttle mapping are a choice, but I'm an auto, so stock seems to be the better option for me. Manuals tend to prefer linear I think, but for some stock is a personal preference. The alternative throttle V1 and V2 are only available for stage 1, but I never bothered with them.

I'd just do Stage 1 Aggressive(if you have 93 octane, otherwise do Sport) with either linear(manual) or stock(auto) throttle mapping. You can always return to your older map if you don't like it.

I'm running Stage 2+FMIC aggressive with stock throttle map. It's quite fun.
Yeah, I just update the firmware on the AP, then downloaded Stage 1 V3 aggressive, Stage 1 V4+FMIC sport and aggressive . . . all with the stock throttle map.

I don't have to reload the stock tune first do I? Just reflash with the version of my choice?
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2012, 01:41 PM   #5358
benzy89
Banned
United_States
32
Rep
2,396
Posts

Drives: '08 E90 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern NJ

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [3.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Duce View Post
Have most of the issues with V4 been hashed out by now? I'm still running V2, even though I've added an IC 6 months ago.

But I haven't upgraded the downpipe yet, so all of the Stage 2s are still out of the question correct? I can basically just go to V3, although I don't know the difference between stock, linear, aggressive V1 or V2 throttle is.
I'd recommend updating both your Maps & Firmware on the AccessPORT. I'm not sure how the the v2 Maps, but an approved upgrade (non-Beta) is never a bad thing & will prob get a few more "safe" horses out of the car.

Because you don't have DPs, Stage 2+FMIC maps are a no go, but b/c you upgraded your IC you can run Stage 2+. The different throttle mapping are for personal preference but basically go:
  • Stock -- Same throttle set up as OEM
  • Linear -- Designed w/ track racing in mind. The amount of pressure applied to the throttle is proportionate to how much power you'll get back (25% throttle = 25% power, 75% throttle = 75% power, etc)
  • Alternate is for MT users who had trouble with the Stock mapping
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2012, 01:59 PM   #5359
enrita
Major General
enrita's Avatar
Sweden
102
Rep
7,381
Posts

Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

iTrader: (0)

He cannot run stage 2+ but the v401 beta stage 1+.


Quote:
Originally Posted by benzy89 View Post
I'd recommend updating both your Maps & Firmware on the AccessPORT. I'm not sure how the the v2 Maps, but an approved upgrade (non-Beta) is never a bad thing & will prob get a few more "safe" horses out of the car.

Because you don't have DPs, Stage 2+FMIC maps are a no go, but b/c you upgraded your IC you can run Stage 2+. The different throttle mapping are for personal preference but basically go:
  • Stock -- Same throttle set up as OEM
  • Linear -- Designed w/ track racing in mind. The amount of pressure applied to the throttle is proportionate to how much power you'll get back (25% throttle = 25% power, 75% throttle = 75% power, etc)
  • Alternate is for MT users who had trouble with the Stock mapping
__________________
07 335i AT - MOTIV 750 - MHD E85 BMS flash - BMS PI - JB4G5 - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - Custom midpipes with 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - LUX H8 - Level 10 AT upgrade
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2012, 02:09 PM   #5360
El Duce
Private First Class
4
Rep
106
Posts

Drives: 4 wheels and a steering wheel
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by enrita View Post
He cannot run stage 2+ but the v401 beta stage 1+.
Yeah, that's what I'm installing right now. Updated the firmware for the AP, then downloaded the maps I mentioned above. Should be interesting going from V2 93 octane to V4.01 Stage 1+FMIC.

Hopefully there won't be any issues. I have the AP still loaded with the stock tune and the V2s just in case.
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2012, 07:30 PM   #5361
fireline43
Lieutenant
13
Rep
497
Posts

Drives: 2013 Mercedes C250
Join Date: May 2012
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (0)

I have 93 octane available but how safe on the turbos is it? I'm running stage 1 sport now. I want the car to last long
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2012, 07:43 PM   #5362
benzy89
Banned
United_States
32
Rep
2,396
Posts

Drives: '08 E90 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern NJ

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [3.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by fireline43 View Post
I have 93 octane available but how safe on the turbos is it? I'm running stage 1 sport now. I want the car to last long
You can run Aggressive (data log to make sure the quality of the 93 there). Run Sport (or even Drive) as a DD Map if you're super concerned about reliability & longevity of the car.

I run Sport as my DD, but for Car Meets & the weekend I run Aggressive and love the surprise from that extra bump in power
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2012, 07:45 PM   #5363
fireline43
Lieutenant
13
Rep
497
Posts

Drives: 2013 Mercedes C250
Join Date: May 2012
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (0)

That's sounds smart benzy, I'll stick to that
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2012, 07:46 PM   #5364
Jake@MOTIV
Jake@MOTIV's Avatar
36
Rep
949
Posts

Drives: 135i, 335i
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: MD & NC

iTrader: (7)

If you guys like the aggressive maps wait till you fine tune it to your car and can run the values your car wants
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2012, 08:13 PM   #5365
benzy89
Banned
United_States
32
Rep
2,396
Posts

Drives: '08 E90 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern NJ

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [3.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyLow335i View Post
If you guys like the aggressive maps wait till you fine tune it to your car and can run the values your car wants
We talking the custom ATP maps?? I've been considering that, but $500 is a bit steep. Might wait until I finalize all my others mods (might change my intake to something sealed to avoid heat soak) & upgraded turbos.
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2012, 08:16 PM   #5366
E90SoFlo
Banned
70
Rep
2,673
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Naples, FL

iTrader: (9)

meth mapsss
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2012, 08:39 PM   #5367
Mangler
First Lieutenant
Mangler's Avatar
5
Rep
334
Posts

Drives: 08' 335i, ZHP 330i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Southeast

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
88 .  [0.00]
2008 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by benzy89
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyLow335i View Post
If you guys like the aggressive maps wait till you fine tune it to your car and can run the values your car wants
We talking the custom ATP maps?? I've been considering that, but $500 is a bit steep. Might wait until I finalize all my others mods (might change my intake to something sealed to avoid heat soak) & upgraded turbos.
How many here have ever custom tuned other platforms? With how close the off the shelf maps are, it only costing $500 to get your car custom tuned to your mods is cheap. Especially for a BMW.

T
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2012, 08:45 PM   #5368
BobS
Lieutenant Colonel
BobS's Avatar
36
Rep
1,987
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jersey City, NJ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyLow335i View Post
If you guys like the aggressive maps wait till you fine tune it to your car and can run the values your car wants
Does it make a big difference? I've been contemplating getting a custom tune. I'm assuming it doesn't matter what version of ots map you run ( v3 or v4 )?
__________________

ESS 625 ACM-R Upgrades
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
135i cobb, 335i cobb, 535i cobb, accessport n54, bmw cobb, bmw cobb tuning, cobb 135i, cobb 335i, cobb 535i, cobb ap, cobb bmw, cobb n54, cobb tuning bmw, cobb tuning n54, cobb tuning n55, flash n54, flash n55, n54 accessport, n54 cobb, n54 cobb tuning, n54 flash, n54 flash tune, n55 cobb, n55 flash, n55 flash tune

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:43 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST