E90Post
 


Viva Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > All COBB Tuning AccessPORT Flash for N54 335i Discussion Here



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-29-2012, 02:19 PM   #6095
Br0
MFCEO
Br0's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
191
Posts

Drives: 09' e92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Htown

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by enrita View Post
Cobb is load based and boost cap is for all cobb maps 18.5 psi.
your pipe gave up because it probably was crappy to begin with it. There are tons of people running stage 3 boost levels and power with stock downpipe without any issues.
I guess u mean "people....with stock chargepipes", not downpipes.

Ya, I was guessing it wasn't tune related (besides obvious increased boost levels) but just wanted to be sure. I've heard of tons of pipes going with diff tunes, so I guess the proof is in the pudding. Going to give stock pipe one more go
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-29-2012, 02:41 PM   #6096
enrita
Major General
enrita's Avatar
Sweden
97
Rep
7,361
Posts

Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Br0 View Post
I guess u mean "people....with stock chargepipes", not downpipes.

Ya, I was guessing it wasn't tune related (besides obvious increased boost levels) but just wanted to be sure. I've heard of tons of pipes going with diff tunes, so I guess the proof is in the pudding. Going to give stock pipe one more go
yes CP of course.
__________________
07 335i AT - MOTIV 750 - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by MOTIV) - BMS PI - JB4G5 - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - Custom midpipes with 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - LUX H8 - Level 10 AT upgrade
Appreciate 0
      08-29-2012, 03:41 PM   #6097
Br0
MFCEO
Br0's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
191
Posts

Drives: 09' e92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Htown

iTrader: (1)

One more question:

When charge pipe blew, threw about 3-4 codes. I did NOT use AP to clear the codes, or ever use AP to clear any codes since i installed it (was only a day).

I then uninstalled cobb. I am assuming from my reading that all tuner codes will be cleared from uninstall, even though i didnt use AP to manually clear any codes before uninstall?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-29-2012, 03:44 PM   #6098
enrita
Major General
enrita's Avatar
Sweden
97
Rep
7,361
Posts

Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Br0 View Post
One more question:

When charge pipe blew, threw about 3-4 codes. I did NOT use AP to clear the codes, or ever use AP to clear any codes since i installed it (was only a day).

I then uninstalled cobb. I am assuming from my reading that all tuner codes will be cleared from uninstall, even though i didnt use AP to manually clear any codes before uninstall?
correct all codes are deleted after uninstall. There are NO tuner codes though... only the codes of the CP.
__________________
07 335i AT - MOTIV 750 - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by MOTIV) - BMS PI - JB4G5 - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - Custom midpipes with 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - LUX H8 - Level 10 AT upgrade
Appreciate 0
      08-29-2012, 04:11 PM   #6099
Br0
MFCEO
Br0's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
191
Posts

Drives: 09' e92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Htown

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by enrita View Post
correct all codes are deleted after uninstall. There are NO tuner codes though... only the codes of the CP.
Thank you sir

Will head to the dealer with confidence.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-29-2012, 09:54 PM   #6100
Fun w/N54
Lieutenant
United_States
8
Rep
463
Posts

Drives: '11 E92 335is AW/CR/DCT
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: WI

iTrader: (0)

So I removed tune and took car to dealer this week. Read that the V401 was out of beta so udated the AP Manager, the firmware and loaded a few of the released V401. Loaded ST Aggressive on car and no problems. Did see ALL of the released maps on the AP when I was selecting my map for loading, where did they come from? Also I think they took up too much room on AP since I connected it back to the PC today and was going to delete the S2 maps for sure and I get prompted that my ECU file is not on AP anymore...and if I didn't restore it it would load a 'stock' file? Never seen that before. So I said YES restore and then come back and says it already contains one would you like to replace it? Hmmm what am I missing? And no the ECU file was not listed when I viewed all files on AP.

Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      08-29-2012, 09:54 PM   #6101
Freddy's 335xi
Lieutenant
Freddy's 335xi's Avatar
Canada
6
Rep
482
Posts

Drives: 2008 335xi e90
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 335xi  [0.00]
Hi new here

just installed S1 aggressive but get failure when AP tries to back up to computer or save datalogs using Mac 10.7.4

AP software is updated

any ideas?
__________________
2008 JB E90 335xi, sport, premium sound, euros, blacklines, M steering, CF trim, rear fog, short shifter, lux 5.0, splitters, VMR 701, kw v1, CDV delete, 50% tint, window trim and grill vinyl wrapped
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2012, 01:11 AM   #6102
VNeBLOB42
Lieutenant Colonel
VNeBLOB42's Avatar
United_States
20
Rep
1,679
Posts

Drives: 14' GMC Terrain SLT-2
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Folsom, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
007 335i E92  [3.83]
Send a message via Skype™ to VNeBLOB42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fun w/N54 View Post
So I removed tune and took car to dealer this week. Read that the V401 was out of beta so udated the AP Manager, the firmware and loaded a few of the released V401. Loaded ST Aggressive on car and no problems. Did see ALL of the released maps on the AP when I was selecting my map for loading, where did they come from? Also I think they took up too much room on AP since I connected it back to the PC today and was going to delete the S2 maps for sure and I get prompted that my ECU file is not on AP anymore...and if I didn't restore it it would load a 'stock' file? Never seen that before. So I said YES restore and then come back and says it already contains one would you like to replace it? Hmmm what am I missing? And no the ECU file was not listed when I viewed all files on AP.

Thanks.
When you updated the firmware, all 401 and 402 I believe were loaded on your AP. Not sure about the ECU prompt u got. I know my stock ECU isn't shown in the AP Manager either. But it's gotta still be saved. Wondered that myself.
__________________

SOLD:: PTF Pro eTune by Dzenno / COBB S1+ E50
Alpina B3 Flash / ETS FMIC / ER CP / CPE DCI
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2012, 10:05 AM   #6103
Fun w/N54
Lieutenant
United_States
8
Rep
463
Posts

Drives: '11 E92 335is AW/CR/DCT
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: WI

iTrader: (0)

I think so as well...but never saw that message before. I have seen the stock ecu file in the past listed in the AP so that bothers me a bit and I think I saved it back in the day on my PC. Guess we will see when I try to uninstall it.
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2012, 11:10 AM   #6104
SalemChiro
Second Lieutenant
4
Rep
266
Posts

Drives: 135i vert
Join Date: May 2012
Location: MA

iTrader: (0)

I'm new to COBB and recently flashed my car for the first time.

When the time comes to uninstall COBB, will the AP automatically flash the stock map or will I have to select a map?

thanks
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2012, 11:13 AM   #6105
VNeBLOB42
Lieutenant Colonel
VNeBLOB42's Avatar
United_States
20
Rep
1,679
Posts

Drives: 14' GMC Terrain SLT-2
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Folsom, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
007 335i E92  [3.83]
Send a message via Skype™ to VNeBLOB42
Quote:
Originally Posted by SalemChiro View Post
I'm new to COBB and recently flashed my car for the first time.

When the time comes to uninstall COBB, will the AP automatically flash the stock map or will I have to select a map?

thanks
When you go to "Uninstall" from the AP, the car will automatically uninstall the tune and put your stock ECU flash back in.
__________________

SOLD:: PTF Pro eTune by Dzenno / COBB S1+ E50
Alpina B3 Flash / ETS FMIC / ER CP / CPE DCI
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2012, 11:33 AM   #6106
Manny_World
Colonel
Manny_World's Avatar
United_States
150
Rep
2,573
Posts

Drives: e92 335i, e34 525i & e60 530i
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: N Las Vegas

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [4.17]
1994 BMW 525i  [5.00]
2007 BMW 530i  [4.33]
Here's my situation. I'm moving west where there's no 93 octane gasoline, but 85 ethanol. My question is, will it be safe to still run my aggressive map with maybe 91/85 mix or should I suck it up and run my drive map? Thanks in advance.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2012, 11:42 AM   #6107
Ænema
Captain
10
Rep
961
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Arizona Bay

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny_World View Post
Here's my situation. I'm moving west where there's no 93 octane gasoline, but 85 ethanol. My question is, will it be safe to still run my aggressive map with maybe 91/85 mix or should I suck it up and run my drive map? Thanks in advance.
Yep, that'll work. In fact, a custom map of 91+e85 will make heaps more power than the aggressive maps. I suggest talking to jake@protuningfreaks
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2012, 12:27 PM   #6108
benzy89
Banned
United_States
29
Rep
2,395
Posts

Drives: '08 E90 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern NJ

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [3.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny_World View Post
Here's my situation. I'm moving west where there's no 93 octane gasoline, but 85 ethanol. My question is, will it be safe to still run my aggressive map with maybe 91/85 mix or should I suck it up and run my drive map? Thanks in advance.
Use this E85 Octane Calculator (http://www.intercepteft.com/calc.html), scroll to the Octane Result from Blending 2 Fuels calculator & aim for 94 Octane. Your "home made" 94 gas should allow you to run the Aggressive Map without having any problems. Log It to make sure the car's running happy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ænema View Post
Yep, that'll work. In fact, a custom map of 91+e85 will make heaps more power than the aggressive maps. I suggest talking to jake@protuningfreaks
+1 for ProTune by PTF, Jake's been able to work wonders by building both a custom Pump Gas Map & an E85 Blend Map
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2012, 12:39 PM   #6109
Manny_World
Colonel
Manny_World's Avatar
United_States
150
Rep
2,573
Posts

Drives: e92 335i, e34 525i & e60 530i
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: N Las Vegas

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [4.17]
1994 BMW 525i  [5.00]
2007 BMW 530i  [4.33]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ænema View Post
Yep, that'll work. In fact, a custom map of 91+e85 will make heaps more power than the aggressive maps. I suggest talking to jake@protuningfreaks
Quote:
Originally Posted by benzy89 View Post
Use this E85 Octane Calculator (http://www.intercepteft.com/calc.html), scroll to the Octane Result from Blending 2 Fuels calculator & aim for 94 Octane. Your "home made" 94 gas should allow you to run the Aggressive Map without having any problems. Log It to make sure the car's running happy.
Thank you both
SN: That calculator is AMAZING!!!!!!!
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2012, 01:26 PM   #6110
VNeBLOB42
Lieutenant Colonel
VNeBLOB42's Avatar
United_States
20
Rep
1,679
Posts

Drives: 14' GMC Terrain SLT-2
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Folsom, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
007 335i E92  [3.83]
Send a message via Skype™ to VNeBLOB42
Quote:
Originally Posted by benzy89 View Post
+1 for ProTune by PTF, Jake's been able to work wonders by building both a custom Pump Gas Map & an E85 Blend Map
+2
Well, i am a little premature right now, FMIC and ER CP is ready for install this weekend. Ready for Jake @ PTF S1+ E85....very soon...

Benzy,

your sig inspired me to do this, see attachment.
My buddy has photoshop, and we made a custom intel i7 processor sticker. Was thinking to add E85 to the S1+???

Manny,

take a look at my log, i have 20% E85 mix with 91ACN fuel. Not sure if my 91 ACN is = to yours, but I am sure if it isn't, your 91 is probably a bit better anyway. Log is 20% E85 / 80% ACN91 S1 Agg. 401.
E85 works wonders to get the octane level you need.
Attached Images
 
Attached Files
File Type: txt Pull 1_S1 Agg.txt (17.3 KB, 38 views)
__________________

SOLD:: PTF Pro eTune by Dzenno / COBB S1+ E50
Alpina B3 Flash / ETS FMIC / ER CP / CPE DCI

Last edited by VNeBLOB42; 08-30-2012 at 01:33 PM.
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2012, 03:01 PM   #6111
frank35
Private
1
Rep
84
Posts

Drives: 335I JB3 DCI
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SF

iTrader: (0)

a question, if a fault code (CEL) with AP installed, it is possible to detect the code with the dealer BMW and diagnostic machine?
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2012, 03:23 PM   #6112
enrita
Major General
enrita's Avatar
Sweden
97
Rep
7,361
Posts

Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by frank35 View Post
a question, if a fault code (CEL) with AP installed, it is possible to detect the code with the dealer BMW and diagnostic machine?
you mean if there is a code in the ECU can BMW read it? Answer is yes.
__________________
07 335i AT - MOTIV 750 - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by MOTIV) - BMS PI - JB4G5 - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - Custom midpipes with 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - LUX H8 - Level 10 AT upgrade
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2012, 03:29 PM   #6113
frank35
Private
1
Rep
84
Posts

Drives: 335I JB3 DCI
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SF

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by enrita View Post
you mean if there is a code in the ECU can BMW read it? Answer is yes.
then it is not necessary to remove the ap, no?
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2012, 03:32 PM   #6114
enrita
Major General
enrita's Avatar
Sweden
97
Rep
7,361
Posts

Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by frank35 View Post
then it is not necessary to remove the ap, no?
takes 10 minutes to uninstall so i would remove it if you have warranty work. Codes will be deleted though but if you have an issue you will probably get the codes back even stock.
__________________
07 335i AT - MOTIV 750 - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by MOTIV) - BMS PI - JB4G5 - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - Custom midpipes with 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - LUX H8 - Level 10 AT upgrade
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2012, 07:16 PM   #6115
walters48
New Member
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: 2012 335is Red/Saddle Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey(So.)

iTrader: (0)

Questions

Is there a Cobb AccessPORT available for my 2012 335is w/ about 1K miles on it?
Is there a Cobb shop in the Phila metro area?
Thanks
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2012, 10:08 PM   #6116
benzy89
Banned
United_States
29
Rep
2,395
Posts

Drives: '08 E90 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern NJ

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [3.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by VNeBLOB42 View Post
+2
Well, i am a little premature right now, FMIC and ER CP is ready for install this weekend. Ready for Jake @ PTF S1+ E85....very soon...

Benzy,

your sig inspired me to do this, see attachment.
My buddy has photoshop, and we made a custom intel i7 processor sticker. Was thinking to add E85 to the S1+???
You're gonna love the power bump from Stage 1 to Stage 1+, and the ProTune is only gonna make it better. I actually stole the PTF symbol in my sig, the person who made the original one was hoping that every1 that got a PTF Tune would use it


Quote:
Originally Posted by walters48 View Post
Is there a Cobb AccessPORT available for my 2012 335is w/ about 1K miles on it?
Is there a Cobb shop in the Phila metro area?
Thanks
335is = N54 so it gets COBB support. I'm pretty sure that Helix Motorsports has COBB AP's in stock & when you buy any tune you get a Free Dyno (not sure how many pulls)
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
135i cobb, 335i cobb, 535i cobb, accessport n54, bmw cobb, bmw cobb tuning, cobb 135i, cobb 335i, cobb 535i, cobb ap, cobb bmw, cobb n54, cobb tuning bmw, cobb tuning n54, cobb tuning n55, flash n54, flash n55, n54 accessport, n54 cobb, n54 cobb tuning, n54 flash, n54 flash tune, n55 cobb, n55 flash, n55 flash tune

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:06 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST