E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > All COBB Tuning AccessPORT Flash for N54 335i Discussion Here



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-20-2012, 02:35 AM   #6755
VNeBLOB42
Lieutenant Colonel
VNeBLOB42's Avatar
United_States
20
Rep
1,679
Posts

 
Drives: 14' GMC Terrain SLT-2
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Folsom, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
007 335i E92  [3.83]
Send a message via Skype™ to VNeBLOB42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koreyy View Post
okay i just swapped #2 coil to #1 which #2 was misfired and now i get misfire on #1 so im assuming coil is the problem and the weird thing is #4 also got misfire. from that result i think im gonna replace all of the coils not the SP. i will let you guys know after when i receive the coils and replaced them.
Yes you are correct on #1. As for #4, could be the same problem.
__________________

SOLD:: PTF Pro eTune by Dzenno / COBB S1+ E50
Alpina B3 Flash / ETS FMIC / ER CP / CPE DCI
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2012, 01:21 PM   #6756
Koreyy
KOrey
United_States
5
Rep
547
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Coupe
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Philadelphia

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [0.00]
i just replaced all the coils to new. and test drive wot up to 150 mph twice, it runs like a charm again and no hiccups or no engine light on

Last edited by Koreyy; 12-21-2012 at 01:40 PM.
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2012, 02:53 PM   #6757
VNeBLOB42
Lieutenant Colonel
VNeBLOB42's Avatar
United_States
20
Rep
1,679
Posts

 
Drives: 14' GMC Terrain SLT-2
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Folsom, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
007 335i E92  [3.83]
Send a message via Skype™ to VNeBLOB42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koreyy View Post
i just replaced all the coils to new. and test drive wot up to 150 mph twice, it runs like a charm again and no hiccups or no engine light on
10-4
__________________

SOLD:: PTF Pro eTune by Dzenno / COBB S1+ E50
Alpina B3 Flash / ETS FMIC / ER CP / CPE DCI
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2012, 03:10 PM   #6758
Koreyy
KOrey
United_States
5
Rep
547
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Coupe
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Philadelphia

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by VNeBLOB42 View Post
10-4
sorry what does 10-4 mean? lol
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2012, 03:23 PM   #6759
D25mn
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
39
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 BMW 335is
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (0)

Just got a 335is was wondering what maps are recommended for it, been searching through and I haven't seen to much on it.
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2012, 03:53 PM   #6760
benzy89
Banned
United_States
28
Rep
2,396
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern NJ

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [3.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by D25mn View Post
Just got a 335is was wondering what maps are recommended for it, been searching through and I haven't seen to much on it.
You need to install the COBB tune onto your 335is. It'll tell you what ROM your car has, which corresponds to the OTS (Off the Shelf) Maps on the COBB website. Also, what mods do you have installed on the car & what octane gas?
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2012, 05:39 PM   #6761
D25mn
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
39
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 BMW 335is
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (0)

No mods, stock, 93 octane
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2012, 05:44 PM   #6762
VNeBLOB42
Lieutenant Colonel
VNeBLOB42's Avatar
United_States
20
Rep
1,679
Posts

 
Drives: 14' GMC Terrain SLT-2
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Folsom, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
007 335i E92  [3.83]
Send a message via Skype™ to VNeBLOB42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koreyy View Post
sorry what does 10-4 mean? lol
its an acknowledgment

Roger

got it

sounds good

copy

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ten-code

__________________

SOLD:: PTF Pro eTune by Dzenno / COBB S1+ E50
Alpina B3 Flash / ETS FMIC / ER CP / CPE DCI
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2012, 05:50 PM   #6763
VNeBLOB42
Lieutenant Colonel
VNeBLOB42's Avatar
United_States
20
Rep
1,679
Posts

 
Drives: 14' GMC Terrain SLT-2
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Folsom, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
007 335i E92  [3.83]
Send a message via Skype™ to VNeBLOB42
Quote:
Originally Posted by D25mn View Post
No mods, stock, 93 octane
S1 Aggressive, but not knowing all that's available for 335is and not knowing your ECU ROM, but by others, Stock with 93 you can go as far as S1 Aggressive. but always log to see if your car is happy.

But I believe it may recommend DCI (Dual Cone Intake) or Drop in Air Filter. or at least its a good idea.

read this for logging:

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=696472
__________________

SOLD:: PTF Pro eTune by Dzenno / COBB S1+ E50
Alpina B3 Flash / ETS FMIC / ER CP / CPE DCI
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2012, 06:30 PM   #6764
Koreyy
KOrey
United_States
5
Rep
547
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Coupe
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Philadelphia

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by VNeBLOB42 View Post
its an acknowledgment

Roger

got it

sounds good

copy

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ten-code

oh lol thanks for the info.
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2012, 06:58 PM   #6765
techwhiz
Lieutenant Colonel
techwhiz's Avatar
United_States
20
Rep
1,672
Posts

 
Drives: e90 335i Sedan - Arctic
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bay Area, Ca

iTrader: (3)

AP stuck on the "Updating" screen.
Cobb gone for the holidays...... HELP!
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2012, 07:12 PM   #6766
benzy89
Banned
United_States
28
Rep
2,396
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern NJ

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [3.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by D25mn View Post
No mods, stock, 93 octane
Stage 1 Maps -- Since you have access to 93 octane you can run the Aggressive Maps, just data log to make sure you're not having significant timing corrections. Any of the DCIs would also help the car breath a better.

I'd also highly recommend an FMIC for your next mod over DPs or Meth.

Quote:
Originally Posted by techwhiz View Post
AP stuck on the "Updating" screen.
Cobb gone for the holidays...... HELP!
I assume it's plugged into your computer & updating the AP Manager version?
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2012, 07:16 PM   #6767
techwhiz
Lieutenant Colonel
techwhiz's Avatar
United_States
20
Rep
1,672
Posts

 
Drives: e90 335i Sedan - Arctic
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bay Area, Ca

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by benzy89 View Post

I assume it's plugged into your computer & updating the AP Manager version?
Yes, the software says it's waiting for the AP to reboot.
The AP is stuck on the updating screen.

--Update
Connected to a PC instead of my Mac and was able to finish update and recover.

Last edited by techwhiz; 12-21-2012 at 07:54 PM.
Appreciate 0
      12-25-2012, 10:48 PM   #6768
Thom
New Member
0
Rep
10
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Has anyone used p&l to tune their 335? likes? dislikes?
Appreciate 0
      12-27-2012, 01:43 AM   #6769
nukezero
Major
United_States
65
Rep
1,205
Posts

 
Drives: '09 335I Cpe
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sunny Socal

iTrader: (4)

I am going to buy a Cobb and would like to know the best throttle map to use for stage 1 sport especially for my 6MT manual?

Should I use sport + linear or sport + stock throttle ??

I do not want to run aggressive mode yet.
__________________
2009 335i 6MT - M-Sport - All stock
Appreciate 0
      12-27-2012, 02:33 AM   #6770
Ænema
Captain
10
Rep
961
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Arizona Bay

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nukezero View Post
I am going to buy a Cobb and would like to know the best throttle map to use for stage 1 sport especially for my 6MT manual?

Should I use sport + linear or sport + stock throttle ??

I do not want to run aggressive mode yet.
It's just a matter of personal preference. Stock is a little more aggressive and linear is a little easier for(some) people modulate. Personally, i think stock throttle is WAY funner.
__________________
"I'm not surprised you get along well with all the other neighbours. If you put fifty children with Down's syndrome in a room there is going to be a lot of hugging." David Thorne
Appreciate 0
      12-27-2012, 08:47 AM   #6771
135Pats
Turbo's Here
135Pats's Avatar
United_States
61
Rep
5,691
Posts

 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (2)

Depends how much you like the power delivery of forced induction...stock throttle lets you roll into boost, and you get a much stronger feeling of boost building as you apply throttle/load. Linear throttle attempts to produce a more NA feel and powerband, which I wasn't wild about. Stock throttle for me...
__________________
E88 N54 Alpinweiss/Coral Red/Motiv HTA 3586r Tial .82AR/Meisterschaft Race/Berk Resonated/ER CP/Synapse/VRSF FMIC/FFTEC LPFP/HFS-4 DO Stainless Lines/BMS Thermostat Delete/Rob Beck PCV Valve + Cap/BMS OCC/ST Coilovers/M3 FCA + Tension Rods/M3 Subframe Bushings/M3 FSB/DINAN Camber Plates/Apex ARC-8/Project Kics/VAC Hubs/Rogue Transmission Mounts/Alpina TCU Flash/Icarbon/Kerscher/BMW Performance
Appreciate 0
      12-27-2012, 05:09 PM   #6772
Drawn05
Captain
Australia
15
Rep
796
Posts

 
Drives: Yes
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Left

iTrader: (0)

When I installed Cobb the first time it stated that it detected IJCOS and I installed it without a problem. Now I have uninstalled Cobb and just ran the BT tool to check for errors when I noticed this.

Name:  BT tool DME.JPG
Views: 289
Size:  33.1 KB

It appears as though my ECU is actually IGDOS??? Would this have had negative consequences??? It was my fault for not double checking but I assumed the Cobb AP would find out what it wanted.

Anyone had this issue?
Appreciate 0
      12-27-2012, 10:56 PM   #6773
Ænema
Captain
10
Rep
961
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Arizona Bay

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drawn05 View Post
When I installed Cobb the first time it stated that it detected IJCOS and I installed it without a problem. Now I have uninstalled Cobb and just ran the BT tool to check for errors when I noticed this.

Attachment 800733

It appears as though my ECU is actually IGDOS??? Would this have had negative consequences??? It was my fault for not double checking but I assumed the Cobb AP would find out what it wanted.

Anyone had this issue?
The BT is WRONG.The AP installed the correct ROM.
__________________
"I'm not surprised you get along well with all the other neighbours. If you put fifty children with Down's syndrome in a room there is going to be a lot of hugging." David Thorne
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2012, 08:28 AM   #6774
KennyPowers
Brigadier General
95
Rep
4,637
Posts

 
Drives: .....
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gulf Coast

iTrader: (13)

quick question

if i purchased a used accessport from a 335i, and i want to use it on a 1m......can i use the USB cord and download the appropriate maps from cobbs website for the 1m and use the accessport with no issues?

i am pretty sure this is how it works, but i would like to know for sure before buying it.

thanks for any responses.
__________________
2015 M3 6MT
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2012, 10:22 AM   #6775
benzy89
Banned
United_States
28
Rep
2,396
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern NJ

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [3.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by KennyPowers View Post
quick question

if i purchased a used accessport from a 335i, and i want to use it on a 1m......can i use the USB cord and download the appropriate maps from cobbs website for the 1m and use the accessport with no issues?

i am pretty sure this is how it works, but i would like to know for sure before buying it.

thanks for any responses.
As long as the AP is "unmarried" from the car, it can be installed on an N54 BMW with COBB Maps
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2012, 12:20 PM   #6776
KennyPowers
Brigadier General
95
Rep
4,637
Posts

 
Drives: .....
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gulf Coast

iTrader: (13)

Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by benzy89 View Post
As long as the AP is "unmarried" from the car, it can be installed on an N54 BMW with COBB Maps
excellent, thank you
__________________
2015 M3 6MT
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
135i cobb, 335i cobb, 535i cobb, accessport n54, bmw cobb, bmw cobb tuning, cobb 135i, cobb 335i, cobb 535i, cobb ap, cobb bmw, cobb n54, cobb tuning bmw, cobb tuning n54, cobb tuning n55, flash n54, flash n55, n54 accessport, n54 cobb, n54 cobb tuning, n54 flash, n54 flash tune, n55 cobb, n55 flash, n55 flash tune

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST